HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Salitre Hostel

Hostel | Rua do Salitre 134, Lisbon, Portugal 1250-204

92.8% Overall Rating

44 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2014)

Alexander Georgiev thinks…

"Very clean and spacious dorms. Bang-for-buck, perfect to crash at. Good wifi. No curfew."

Read all Salitre Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisbon Dreams Guesthouse
30.29 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 172 reviews
Lisbon Guests
26.93 USD

Guesthouse 85.0% 138 reviews
Hotel Nacional
50.49 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Baluarte Citadino - Stay Cool Hostel
17.50 USD

Hostel 83.5% 97 reviews
Eurostars Hotel Das Letras
59.92 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Turim AV. Liberdade Hotel
134.64 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hostel Palace Lisboa - Holstein
13.33 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Vip Diplomatico
33.66 USD

Hotel 4 star 81.1% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

44 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Salitre Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
96.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 25 of 44 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexander Georgiev

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and spacious dorms. Bang-for-buck, perfect to crash at. Good wifi. No curfew.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Brimblecombe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, friendly staff, nice kitchen area Roomy dorms, Good value for money Easy to find from the metro station.

Disliked: Poor hot water in showers when trying to shower at the same time as someone else

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darko Stojanovski

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 May 2014 Darko would recommend this property

Liked: all that you would expect from a hostel

Disliked: no such a thing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larissa Murador Blanco

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was lovely. The rooms were clean, so as the kitchen. The location is near a metro station and bus stops to the main attractions, and a 15 minutes walk to Cidade Alta, the place with the restaurants and parties.

Disliked: The street was kinda scary at night. The breakfast started to late (8:30)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magdalena Choluj

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, friendly and cosy hostel! Staff members were extremely helpful and professional. Very good location, major attractions and museums within walking distance. Definitely worth recommendation!

Disliked: Magdalena left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice clean rooms which weren't overcrowded, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Needed a few more plug sockets for charging phones etc. Some repairs needed e.g. loose plug sockets, leaking taps in bathrooms, but I understand maintenance is due soon.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maja ošabnik

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 December 2013 maja would recommend this property

Liked: ...very nice and helpfull hostel, highly recommend to all who likes friendly staff in the centre of town and cool vibe :)

Disliked: maja left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Teerawit Chotipanich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Teerawit would recommend this property

Liked: location is easy for traveling by subway

Disliked: wooden floor which always making noisy sound all every walking steps

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to reach from the airport with the metro and within walking distance from many interesting places.

Disliked: Noise from the hallway and from other rooms was audible in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Grimes

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 September 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location not too far from barrio alto. Very homely feel to it. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location - just a few minutes walk from the Rato metro stop and a no of bus services giving you access to all parts of the city. Also very easy to walk to the main areas in under 30 minutes.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful, we got the night train from Madrid so arrived at about 9 in the morning but they were happy to check us in and made up our beds as quickly as they could so we could have a nap, they also kept our bags there until the evening on the day we left. The hostel was really clean and had everything you needed including a good kitchen and nice breakfast.

Disliked: The location could be a bit better as its a few metro stops to the centre but we knew this when we booked it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, lovely clean room, great facilities and easy to locate - no complaints

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly atmosphere and the cleanliness; cimfortable location

Disliked: no dislikes

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Allison Kett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: It's not in the centre of town, but only a 5-10 minute comfortable metro ride away at €1.40 a single ride. Close to major attractions including tram 28 and located close to major inter-country bus stops. Stayed in a 10 person dorm that was spacious, kept clean, excellent wifi access. Breakfast isn't strictly a buffet as they describe, nonetheless it is a solid hostel breakfast where even the coffee is good.

Disliked: Allison left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Austin Polnow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Austin would recommend this property

Liked: Great thing was arriving from the airport was very easy. Just one change of trains on the Lisbon metro & I arrived at the Rato station. From there it is a short 2 or 3 minute walk and you have arrived. when I entered the front it struck me just how small this was compared to most hostels I have stayed in. It has beautiful wood floors & a wonderful set of details that made it feel like home. Beds were very dean, firm & new. For the price I was very pleased to have a breakfast included.

Disliked: While the small facilities added an atmosphere of home I would be very worried to stay during peak summer season. people would be packed very tight &the staff would have a difficult time keeping up with it all. Also the street level windows in the front brought in street lights which made it hard to sleep.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

HERMELINDA LUNA

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 HERMELINDA would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice. the high celing of the room was nice.

Disliked: there was something i did´n like: i had to wash my breakesfast dishes. the baths and rest-room were outside of my room

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great staff, very clean and organised!

Disliked: Very good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agatha Hilario

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013 Agatha would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay in Salitre Hostel. I felt a familiar atmosphere and the staff, Jenifer and Figo, is very helpful all the time. I would definitely stay there again and I recommend it!

Disliked: Agatha left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jose Silva

Alone

Business / conference

02 May 2013 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really helpful, very nice calm and relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anuj Chaudhary

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Anuj would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money and well located.

Disliked: Anuj left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beatiful and clean!!!! Good location, very friendly staff, delicious breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dirk Vertongen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Dirk would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet side street close to everything, yet a little outside the tourist zone. Easy access to the Rato metro station. Old mansion lovelingly redone. Decent breakfast.

Disliked: No garden or view, just an enclosed, narrow patio in the back. One feels a little cooped up.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fancesco Boselli

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 August 2012 Fancesco would recommend this property

Liked: everything!

Disliked: -


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels