We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Salitre Hostel

Hostel | Rua do Salitre 134, Lisbon, Portugal 1250-204

86.7% Overall Rating

64 out of 65 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2015)

Andrew Starks thinks…

"Short metro ride from Rede Expresse bus station, 2 min walk from Rato metro station, 10 minute walk to main Avenida. Very helpful and friendly staff."

Read all Salitre Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.20

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that a pre-authorization is being process prior arrival in order to make sure that card is valid. We need a valid credit card to guarantee your booking request, if a valid credit card is not provided, the booking will be cancelled

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisbon Dreams Guesthouse
31.11 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 172 reviews
Hotel Nacional
41.19 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Baluarte Citadino - Stay Cool Hostel
14.28 USD

Hostel 82.1% 107 reviews
Eurostars Hotel Das Letras
328.39 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Turim AV. Liberdade Hotel
1,098.30 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hotel Vip Diplomatico
31.85 USD

Hotel 4 star 81.1% 5 reviews
Hotel Dom Carlos Liberty
39.18 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
OLÁ Backpackers
18.67 USD

Hostel 64.9% 203 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

64 out of 65 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Salitre Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
96.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 35 of 64 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary-Ann Onuegbu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015 Mary-Ann would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amanda Odelius

As a family with children

Family Holiday

08 May 2015 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious room. Quiet during night time.

Disliked: Not enough staff. Shower cabins needs upgrading

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Starks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2015 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Short metro ride from Rede Expresse bus station, 2 min walk from Rato metro station, 10 minute walk to main Avenida. Very helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: A little outdated.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Andrew Starks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2015 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. Short metro ride to Rede Expresse bus station and 10 minute walk to main Avenida. Quiet neighbourhood. 2 minute walk from Rato metro station.

Disliked: Since this is a converted apartment, it is not new and modern, but still clean and comfortable.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very nice and clean, the staff is extremely kind. You can reach the nearest underground station on foot in 2 minutes and the Avenida in 5-6. Breakfast is good and rich (do not expect an English one, but there are plenty of bread, jam, coffee, tea, milk, juice, cornflakes and fruit). In the end, it is very cheap. I would surely return there if I had to go back to Lisbon.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful space, very clean. there are 2 train stations within walking distance

Disliked: a little bit of a trek when coming home from a night out but manageable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, we have continued to come back 5 times this summer as we were always looked after. Martin who works on reception always made us feel right at home. He even leant us his own tent for a music festival :) top bloke! Martin recommended a restaurant Marisqueira on our first arrival and we have been back twice, the food was amazing! I would most definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a chilled, clean, friendly, central hostel in Lisbon.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Brooks

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Efficiently run hostel and very friendly staff who let me keep my bike inside. Do it yourself breakfast was cereal and toast with tea and coffee but it's help yourself. Nice clean rooms. Can't complain.

Disliked: Showers kept changing temperature if I'm being picky, but after a bit of sunburn it wasn't too bad.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucas Kohlmann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and good strucutre.

Disliked: Hostel lacks a nice space to chill and a few more bathrooms.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super nice.

Disliked: Security

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alexander Georgiev

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and spacious dorms. Bang-for-buck, perfect to crash at. Good wifi. No curfew.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Brimblecombe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, friendly staff, nice kitchen area Roomy dorms, Good value for money Easy to find from the metro station.

Disliked: Poor hot water in showers when trying to shower at the same time as someone else

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darko Stojanovski

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 May 2014 Darko would recommend this property

Liked: all that you would expect from a hostel

Disliked: no such a thing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Larissa Murador Blanco

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was lovely. The rooms were clean, so as the kitchen. The location is near a metro station and bus stops to the main attractions, and a 15 minutes walk to Cidade Alta, the place with the restaurants and parties.

Disliked: The street was kinda scary at night. The breakfast started to late (8:30)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magdalena Choluj

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, friendly and cosy hostel! Staff members were extremely helpful and professional. Very good location, major attractions and museums within walking distance. Definitely worth recommendation!

Disliked: Magdalena left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice clean rooms which weren't overcrowded, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Needed a few more plug sockets for charging phones etc. Some repairs needed e.g. loose plug sockets, leaking taps in bathrooms, but I understand maintenance is due soon.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maja ošabnik

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 December 2013 maja would recommend this property

Liked: ...very nice and helpfull hostel, highly recommend to all who likes friendly staff in the centre of town and cool vibe :)

Disliked: maja left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Teerawit Chotipanich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Teerawit would recommend this property

Liked: location is easy for traveling by subway

Disliked: wooden floor which always making noisy sound all every walking steps

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to reach from the airport with the metro and within walking distance from many interesting places.

Disliked: Noise from the hallway and from other rooms was audible in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Grimes

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 September 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location not too far from barrio alto. Very homely feel to it. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location - just a few minutes walk from the Rato metro stop and a no of bus services giving you access to all parts of the city. Also very easy to walk to the main areas in under 30 minutes.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful, we got the night train from Madrid so arrived at about 9 in the morning but they were happy to check us in and made up our beds as quickly as they could so we could have a nap, they also kept our bags there until the evening on the day we left. The hostel was really clean and had everything you needed including a good kitchen and nice breakfast.

Disliked: The location could be a bit better as its a few metro stops to the centre but we knew this when we booked it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, lovely clean room, great facilities and easy to locate - no complaints

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly atmosphere and the cleanliness; cimfortable location

Disliked: no dislikes

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Allison Kett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: It's not in the centre of town, but only a 5-10 minute comfortable metro ride away at €1.40 a single ride. Close to major attractions including tram 28 and located close to major inter-country bus stops. Stayed in a 10 person dorm that was spacious, kept clean, excellent wifi access. Breakfast isn't strictly a buffet as they describe, nonetheless it is a solid hostel breakfast where even the coffee is good.

Disliked: Allison left no negative feedback.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels