HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Salitre Hostel

Hostel | Rua do Salitre 134, Lisbon, Portugal 1250-204

90.6% Overall Rating

36 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/03/2014)

Magdalena Choluj thinks…

"Very clean, friendly and cosy hostel! Staff members were extremely helpful and professional. Very good location, major attractions and museums within walking distance. Definitely worth recommendation!"

Read all Salitre Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Altis Prime Hotel
117.34 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Lisbon Dreams Guesthouse
27.61 USD

Guesthouse 94.9% 171 reviews
Lisbon Guests
20.71 USD

Guesthouse 83.3% 136 reviews
Altis Suites
100.08 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hotel Altis
96.63 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Hotel Nacional
51.77 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Baluarte Citadino - Stay Cool Hostel
13.80 USD

Hostel 87.2% 91 reviews
Eurostars Hotel Das Letras
412.76 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

36 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Salitre Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 21 of 36 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magdalena Choluj

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2014 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, friendly and cosy hostel! Staff members were extremely helpful and professional. Very good location, major attractions and museums within walking distance. Definitely worth recommendation!

Disliked: Magdalena left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice clean rooms which weren't overcrowded, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Needed a few more plug sockets for charging phones etc. Some repairs needed e.g. loose plug sockets, leaking taps in bathrooms, but I understand maintenance is due soon.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maja ošabnik

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 December 2013 maja would recommend this property

Liked: ...very nice and helpfull hostel, highly recommend to all who likes friendly staff in the centre of town and cool vibe :)

Disliked: maja left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Teerawit Chotipanich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Teerawit would recommend this property

Liked: location is easy for traveling by subway

Disliked: wooden floor which always making noisy sound all every walking steps

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, easy to reach from the airport with the metro and within walking distance from many interesting places.

Disliked: Noise from the hallway and from other rooms was audible in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Grimes

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 September 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location not too far from barrio alto. Very homely feel to it. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location - just a few minutes walk from the Rato metro stop and a no of bus services giving you access to all parts of the city. Also very easy to walk to the main areas in under 30 minutes.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful, we got the night train from Madrid so arrived at about 9 in the morning but they were happy to check us in and made up our beds as quickly as they could so we could have a nap, they also kept our bags there until the evening on the day we left. The hostel was really clean and had everything you needed including a good kitchen and nice breakfast.

Disliked: The location could be a bit better as its a few metro stops to the centre but we knew this when we booked it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, lovely clean room, great facilities and easy to locate - no complaints

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly atmosphere and the cleanliness; cimfortable location

Disliked: no dislikes

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Allison Kett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: It's not in the centre of town, but only a 5-10 minute comfortable metro ride away at €1.40 a single ride. Close to major attractions including tram 28 and located close to major inter-country bus stops. Stayed in a 10 person dorm that was spacious, kept clean, excellent wifi access. Breakfast isn't strictly a buffet as they describe, nonetheless it is a solid hostel breakfast where even the coffee is good.

Disliked: Allison left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Austin Polnow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2013 Austin would recommend this property

Liked: Great thing was arriving from the airport was very easy. Just one change of trains on the Lisbon metro & I arrived at the Rato station. From there it is a short 2 or 3 minute walk and you have arrived. when I entered the front it struck me just how small this was compared to most hostels I have stayed in. It has beautiful wood floors & a wonderful set of details that made it feel like home. Beds were very dean, firm & new. For the price I was very pleased to have a breakfast included.

Disliked: While the small facilities added an atmosphere of home I would be very worried to stay during peak summer season. people would be packed very tight &the staff would have a difficult time keeping up with it all. Also the street level windows in the front brought in street lights which made it hard to sleep.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

HERMELINDA LUNA

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 HERMELINDA would recommend this property

Liked: It was nice. the high celing of the room was nice.

Disliked: there was something i did´n like: i had to wash my breakesfast dishes. the baths and rest-room were outside of my room

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great staff, very clean and organised!

Disliked: Very good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agatha Hilario

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013 Agatha would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay in Salitre Hostel. I felt a familiar atmosphere and the staff, Jenifer and Figo, is very helpful all the time. I would definitely stay there again and I recommend it!

Disliked: Agatha left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jose Silva

Alone

Business / conference

02 May 2013 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Staff really helpful, very nice calm and relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anuj Chaudhary

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Anuj would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money and well located.

Disliked: Anuj left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beatiful and clean!!!! Good location, very friendly staff, delicious breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dirk Vertongen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Dirk would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet side street close to everything, yet a little outside the tourist zone. Easy access to the Rato metro station. Old mansion lovelingly redone. Decent breakfast.

Disliked: No garden or view, just an enclosed, narrow patio in the back. One feels a little cooped up.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fancesco Boselli

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 August 2012 Fancesco would recommend this property

Liked: everything!

Disliked: -


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels