We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of This is Lisbon Hostel

Hostel | Rua da Costa do Castelo 63, Lisbon, Portugal 1100-335

93.7% Overall Rating

191 out of 193 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2014)

Lotje van der Velden thinks…

"I have really never had such a good stay at any hostel. This hostel is real value for money; it's clean and safe, the breakfast is more than sufficient, and the roof terrace is at least as good as…"

Read all This is Lisbon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Hotel Mundial
57.08 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Johnies Place
12.69 USD

Hostel 93.7% 289 reviews
Lisbon Soul Hostel
16.49 USD

Hostel 84.1% 42 reviews
We Love F****** Tourists
17.76 USD

Hostel 98.5% 13 reviews
Baixa Guest House
38.06 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Guest House Bela Flôr
15.22 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Vistas de Lisboa
12.67 USD

Hostel 79.1% 25 reviews
Norte GuestHouse
30.45 USD

Hostel 83.7% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

191 out of 193 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'This is Lisbon Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 131 of 186 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was clean, nice and comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful terrace

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lotje van der Velden

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Lotje would recommend this property

Liked: I have really never had such a good stay at any hostel. This hostel is real value for money; it's clean and safe, the breakfast is more than sufficient, and the roof terrace is at least as good as described on the website! It also has a barbecue, by the way. But apart from that, the people I met were the coolest. You could say the people make the hostel - but it's the hostel that made it possible for everyone to meet, and the staff that made me feel like I was at home. Go. Stay. Now!

Disliked: Not so much a comment as a helpful note to fellow travellers - it is really worth taking a taxi from the airport, not because the hostel is far away from the city center, but because you will be dragging your bags up so many stairs you will end up exhausted otherwise.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The patio has an awesome view. Great place to drink some vinho verde. They offer group dinners which seems like a nice way to meet other travelers if that's what you're interested in. The bathrooms were very clean but impossible to lock the stall doors. The kitchen and breakfast are clean and accessible. We went on the free walking tour. It was lead by a nice Argentinian gentleman and he took us all around the old part of the city and shared with us the history of Lisbon. I highly recommend it. It's also really nice to have reason lights over te bed.

Disliked: The space is super noisy. The front door is really heavy so any time domes walks in or out the door slams and rattles the wall. This woke me up every single time. Maybe bring ear plugs and a sleeping pill if you stay here. The beds are a bit shaky so whenever your bunk buddy rolls over the whole bed moves.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice terrace, friendly staff

Disliked: One needs to climb a lot from everywhere, or take lifts, The shared bathrooms could be better, breakfast could have more variety

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good location, great roof top !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Battista

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, really cool view from the massive terrace. Cool people working there.

Disliked: Nathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florian Rickert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like a great shared flat where you live with friends. The kitchen, living room and my room all opened to the HUGE terrace so this terrace was like the center of the hostel where everybody hangs around from time to time and which has a great view. I came because of the supposedly fantastic terrace and I was not disappointed! :) Also liked the wooden floor and the extra clean bathrooms. They had awesome choices of (organic?) tea.

Disliked: In the shower I used it was possible to change temperature by turning the knob. But it took a while to react. As in many places. This is more a correction of other comments I read than a complaint.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and the staff very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

madelyn tavarez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2014 madelyn would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is very cozy! From the moment you step in it feels like home. It is pretty small so everyone gets together in the common room and everyone is very friendly. We all had breakfast and dinner together and hung out talking in the living room until the wee hours of the morning. There is unlimited free coffee and tea and the breakfast is very big and yummy. I would definitely go back and stay here and I would definitely recommend it to friends and family. If all hostels were like this I would never even consider staying in a hotel. Another great thing is the 6 person bedroom. Try to get this one if you can! It has a huge terrace with a great view of the city and the mountains. It is absolutely to die for! They also helped us plan excursions and there was a morning Yoga class available for 4 Euros! I wish I could have stayed longer. Felt like a very relaxing home away from home.

Disliked: madelyn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff here are friendly and helpful. The view from the terrace was beautiful both during the day and night. But the best part is that it's very cozy and feels like you belong there. It's a very welcoming atmosphere and so relaxing.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kind staff, great terrace and view over lisbon, clean rooms and good facilities, one of the best hostels ive stayed at

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Jirovec

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: i chose this hostel because of its localization and the view you get from the terrace. the localization is just perfect for people who like origine antique neighbourhoods. and you can get to the down town in just few minutes walk. the staff were very helpful and friendly. the hostel was nice clean.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darko Soldat

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2013 Darko would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is probably the best hostel where I was staying in more than 20 countries I have visited so far. Friendliness of staff and communicate in several languages ​​(English, French, Portuguese, Serbo-Croatian, Macedonian) is something I am very thrilled. The view from the balcony of the hostel at the core of the city is amazing and gives you a moment of inspiration while you drink your morning coffee.

Disliked: Although breakfast is solid and extensive, I suggest that they should add some meat option to breakfast offer.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuel Antonio Martínez-Sistac y Orozco

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 Manuel Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Is on the city center but off the beaten path of Baixa and Chiado that can be annoying.

Disliked: Stairs... i dont care bc is exercise but travelling with someone that does not like to walk or too old, going up the hill can be tiring. Anyway theres a new public elevator that is free and open most of the day.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cosy, nice balcony, excellent room lay out, good breakfast, good walking tours, fantastic terrace, clean bathrooms

Disliked: Showers have a button which needs to be held in constantly. Buzzer to get inside the hostel was right outside the room window and was noisy all night. But otherwise a fantastic stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matija Parun

Alone

City break

15 August 2013 Matija would recommend this property

Liked: Location, terrace, view, facilities, free walking tour, recommendations for night life,... The terrace makes you want to stay there the entire day and I met some cool travelers from around the world. Staff was superhelpful and Catarina was a cool guide!

Disliked: Showers go like this: cold water for the first couple of button-presses, then lukewarm for the next 12 seconds, then super hot forever. And there's nothing you can do about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a nice Hostel with very friendly stuff and a great atmosphere. The terrace was awesome !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Eyles

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: -Short walks to most of Lisbon's sights and attractions. 5 easy minutes walk to Supermarket. -Beautifully located in the old part of Lisbon on a quiet street. -Large social, chilled terrace with amazing views over the old part of town. -Affordable prices with free breakfast foods and drinks. -Very clean, with lots of facilities to the ratio of people. Such as power points, showers, toilets cooking utensils etc. -Well stocked kitchen with everything you could need for cooking. -Friendly and helpful staff, with a real homely feel to it, which is nice when travelling around Europe! Also- - €10-15 for a taxi from Oriente train/bus station. - 5 minutes walk to Santa Apolina station - 10 minutes walk to Rossio station for day trips to Sintra etc - Tram stops about 2 minutes walk from Hostel. All in all a great hostel, with everything you need. Would recommend a stay here any day. P.s The walk up to the Hostel is not that bad, it's short and reasonably gradual. The other people complaining about it in their reviews should either hit the treadmill or don't go to a city that's built on hills!

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a nice place with such helpful staff. There is a lovely terrace with a great view. They do this thing where you pay, I think it was 7 euros, and if there are enough people (5ish minimum) they cook you an all you can eat traditional Portuguese dinner! Was by far the best part! Also had free walking tours

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful terrace, friendly staff and interesting tours to do each day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, very knowledgable and friendly. Lots of information available re tourist attractions and tours (ie walking tour, sintra tour) which can be booked at the hostel. Nice and clean rooms and bathroom. Yummy bread and jam at breakfast. Great kitchen and lovely free tea provided. The free walking tour was brilliant, highly recommended! Great location, walking distance to most attractions (be ready for lots of hills and cobbles all over Lisbon!) Really brilliant hostel, would definately recommend!

Disliked: That there weren't more people staying there as there were never enough people for the hostel made dinners to go ahead (7 euro with a glass of wine). Beds were a tad bit hard (noticed this after long days of walking!) Also it is cheaper to head out to Sintra independently (half the price than what the hostel offers).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere and friendley staff. good breakfast.

Disliked: the beds were to hard.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff, eco-friendly attitude, small and cosy

Disliked: showers need unblocking - fill up a bit quick. can't regulate temperature in showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eryka Pawlak

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Eryka would recommend this property

Liked: This is Lisbon hostel is one of the best hostel's I've stayed in so far! It's in a great location, only a 5 minute walk to the supermarket and the castle, 10 minutes down to the Se and waterfront. Although make sure to follow the hostel's directions or you'll end up going up a ton of steps to get there as its on a hill. Everything in the hostel is nice and new and squeaky clean. The room we stayed it opened up to the terrace which had incredible views. The room was nice and spacious with huge ceilings and big windows to let the morning light in. There was a huge locked storage area under the bed to put all your stuff, which was great. Breakfast was included and filling- bread, several cereals, EGGS! oj and milk. The staff were super friendly and helpful as well. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Disliked: Nothing!


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels