We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of This is Lisbon Hostel

Hostel | Rua da Costa do Castelo 63, Lisbon, Portugal 1100-335

93.0% Overall Rating

202 out of 204 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2015)

"One member of staff (I don't know her name, really nice Portuguese lady with thick black hair) was great, incredibly helpful, friendly and chatty! The others were less so, but I did like that they all seemed to be…"

Read all This is Lisbon Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.08

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that reservations consisting of 10+ persons are classed as group and will be subject to our Groups Terms and Conditions. A member of the Groups Team will be in contact to arrange payment and reconfirm your booking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Hotel Mundial
48.77 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Johnie's Place Lisbon Hostel & Suites
10.84 USD

Hostel 94.6% 294 reviews
Lisbon Soul Hostel
14.09 USD

Hostel 82.3% 45 reviews
We Love F****** Tourists
15.17 USD

Hostel 98.9% 27 reviews
Baixa Guest House
32.51 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Vistas de Lisboa
13.55 USD

Hostel 77.5% 27 reviews
Norte GuestHouse
18.97 USD

Hostel 83.7% 44 reviews
Hostel 4U
28.18 USD

Hostel 92.7% 18 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

202 out of 204 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'This is Lisbon Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
95.2%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 140 of 197 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and the nice view at the hostel terrace...

Disliked: None.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Totally recommendable!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

16 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tania is a good owner and her czech girl is excellent

Disliked: You always have to ring to get inside, it makes noise and disturbs your sleep. Not enough water preassure in shower and not hot enough.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One member of staff (I don't know her name, really nice Portuguese lady with thick black hair) was great, incredibly helpful, friendly and chatty! The others were less so, but I did like that they all seemed to be locals. Great breakfast too (they give you eggs!) and terrace, and cat. The rooms are also very clean and comfy and spacious, this hostel definitely doesn't reflect the amazingly cheap price and I would recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: The toilets and showers didn't lock and the doors were kind of see through!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gustavo Barbosa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2015 Gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very good breakfast, great staff and a beautiful terrace!

Disliked: Gustavo left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Irene Pedroche Alonso

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 January 2015 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the breakfast, was tasty and different choices were offered: cereals, bread, juice, coffee. I also enjoyed the views from the terrace. They were trully amazing!

Disliked: It was located quite far from the center (Rossio) I takes more than 15 minutes walking uphill to reach the hostel from the neareast metro station. The hostel was located in an alley poorly iluminated at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santiago Almas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2015 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and value for money, which are the things for which I search the hostels for. Besides, I had variated breakfast, with cereals, bread, cheeses, juices, coffee, all excellent quality. Very clean and chilled and friendly atmosphere. Great staff as well, all helpful and easy to approach. I have been travelling for almost three months so far and this hostel is by far the one I liked the most. Absolutely recommended.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jim harmer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2015 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: Great helpful & friendly staff -a lovely place to stay

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mira Culic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015 Mira would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the terrace was amazing.

Disliked: Location. Had to climb up to get to the hostel but that's what gave such a beautiful view

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was clean, nice and comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful terrace

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lotje van der Velden

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Lotje would recommend this property

Liked: I have really never had such a good stay at any hostel. This hostel is real value for money; it's clean and safe, the breakfast is more than sufficient, and the roof terrace is at least as good as described on the website! It also has a barbecue, by the way. But apart from that, the people I met were the coolest. You could say the people make the hostel - but it's the hostel that made it possible for everyone to meet, and the staff that made me feel like I was at home. Go. Stay. Now!

Disliked: Not so much a comment as a helpful note to fellow travellers - it is really worth taking a taxi from the airport, not because the hostel is far away from the city center, but because you will be dragging your bags up so many stairs you will end up exhausted otherwise.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The patio has an awesome view. Great place to drink some vinho verde. They offer group dinners which seems like a nice way to meet other travelers if that's what you're interested in. The bathrooms were very clean but impossible to lock the stall doors. The kitchen and breakfast are clean and accessible. We went on the free walking tour. It was lead by a nice Argentinian gentleman and he took us all around the old part of the city and shared with us the history of Lisbon. I highly recommend it. It's also really nice to have reason lights over te bed.

Disliked: The space is super noisy. The front door is really heavy so any time domes walks in or out the door slams and rattles the wall. This woke me up every single time. Maybe bring ear plugs and a sleeping pill if you stay here. The beds are a bit shaky so whenever your bunk buddy rolls over the whole bed moves.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice terrace, friendly staff

Disliked: One needs to climb a lot from everywhere, or take lifts, The shared bathrooms could be better, breakfast could have more variety

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good location, great roof top !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Battista

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, really cool view from the massive terrace. Cool people working there.

Disliked: Nathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florian Rickert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like a great shared flat where you live with friends. The kitchen, living room and my room all opened to the HUGE terrace so this terrace was like the center of the hostel where everybody hangs around from time to time and which has a great view. I came because of the supposedly fantastic terrace and I was not disappointed! :) Also liked the wooden floor and the extra clean bathrooms. They had awesome choices of (organic?) tea.

Disliked: In the shower I used it was possible to change temperature by turning the knob. But it took a while to react. As in many places. This is more a correction of other comments I read than a complaint.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and the staff very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

madelyn tavarez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2014 madelyn would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel is very cozy! From the moment you step in it feels like home. It is pretty small so everyone gets together in the common room and everyone is very friendly. We all had breakfast and dinner together and hung out talking in the living room until the wee hours of the morning. There is unlimited free coffee and tea and the breakfast is very big and yummy. I would definitely go back and stay here and I would definitely recommend it to friends and family. If all hostels were like this I would never even consider staying in a hotel. Another great thing is the 6 person bedroom. Try to get this one if you can! It has a huge terrace with a great view of the city and the mountains. It is absolutely to die for! They also helped us plan excursions and there was a morning Yoga class available for 4 Euros! I wish I could have stayed longer. Felt like a very relaxing home away from home.

Disliked: madelyn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff here are friendly and helpful. The view from the terrace was beautiful both during the day and night. But the best part is that it's very cozy and feels like you belong there. It's a very welcoming atmosphere and so relaxing.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kind staff, great terrace and view over lisbon, clean rooms and good facilities, one of the best hostels ive stayed at

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Jirovec

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: i chose this hostel because of its localization and the view you get from the terrace. the localization is just perfect for people who like origine antique neighbourhoods. and you can get to the down town in just few minutes walk. the staff were very helpful and friendly. the hostel was nice clean.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darko Soldat

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2013 Darko would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is probably the best hostel where I was staying in more than 20 countries I have visited so far. Friendliness of staff and communicate in several languages ​​(English, French, Portuguese, Serbo-Croatian, Macedonian) is something I am very thrilled. The view from the balcony of the hostel at the core of the city is amazing and gives you a moment of inspiration while you drink your morning coffee.

Disliked: Although breakfast is solid and extensive, I suggest that they should add some meat option to breakfast offer.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuel Antonio Martínez-Sistac y Orozco

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 Manuel Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Is on the city center but off the beaten path of Baixa and Chiado that can be annoying.

Disliked: Stairs... i dont care bc is exercise but travelling with someone that does not like to walk or too old, going up the hill can be tiring. Anyway theres a new public elevator that is free and open most of the day.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, cosy, nice balcony, excellent room lay out, good breakfast, good walking tours, fantastic terrace, clean bathrooms

Disliked: Showers have a button which needs to be held in constantly. Buzzer to get inside the hostel was right outside the room window and was noisy all night. But otherwise a fantastic stay.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels