HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Pensao Royal

Guesthouse | Rua do Crucifixo, nº 50 , 3º, Baixa, Lisbon, Portugal 1100-184

98.1% Overall Rating

182 out of 183 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/06/2014)

"Прекрасное место! Скромно, но очень чисто и уютно. Великолепные завтраки, ощущение, что гостишь у близких родственников, а не в чужом городе, тем более чужой стране! Хозяйке гестхауса особая благодарность, именно она…"

Read all Pensao Royal reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Living Lounge Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 98.6% 213 reviews
Downtown Design Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 82.2% 131 reviews
Golden Tram 242 Lisbonne Hostel
22.77 USD

Hostel 90.4% 62 reviews
City Center Hostel
10.12 USD

Hostel 81.7% 10 reviews
Goodnight Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 95.9% 31 reviews
Sweethome Lisbon
15.18 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 184 reviews
SPRU Lisbon Summer Accommodation
16.45 USD

Hostel 86.7% 3 reviews
Travellers House
20.24 USD

Hostel 97.1% 938 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.1%

Overall Rating

182 out of 183 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pensao Royal'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 115 of 181 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Прекрасное место! Скромно, но очень чисто и уютно. Великолепные завтраки, ощущение, что гостишь у близких родственников, а не в чужом городе, тем более чужой стране! Хозяйке гестхауса особая благодарность, именно она делает это место таким уютным и даже родным! Обязательно буду рекомендовать всем этот гестхаус для проживания в Лиссабоне.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The central location of this hostel couldn't be better. It is obvious that Paola takes great pride in her place; it is almost like staying with friends in their home. Each room is beautifully and ornately decorated. If you like the minimalist look of modern hotels, you might find it a little overwhelming. Paola is very helpful with advice about Lisbon, places to eat and visit and when is a good time, etc. And her breakfasts, OMG! - such an abundant and lovely spread of cakes, fresh fruit, pastries in an adorable room. Everything is made by Paola, and is delicious.

Disliked: At the end of a long day of walking and sangria with dinner, the steps up to the pension can seem a little daunting. But you will have worked off a little of your dinner by the time you crawl into bed!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient for Metro, buses, sightseeing, restaurants. Very clean. Paula was helpful and friendly. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Decor was quirky and very girly. Brighter bedside light for reading would be good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Paula was soo welcoming and helpful in every way. The breakfast was unreal, what a spread! Homemade cakes and pastries daily, fresh fruit, juices, etc. out of the ordinary, and we have traveled a lot. Room was funky and really comfortable. Most of all, when you stay at this place it is like staying at someone's home. We look forward to a return trip!

Disliked: We are elderly, so the stairs would have been a bit of an issue, if Paula had not helped us without luggage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Wright

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 March 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely one to recommend and a Lisbon gem. Paula is amazing, she makes this place a real home-from-home, is so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is fantastic and a real highlight - make sure you try the home-made cakes. Would definitely stay again, it's an ideal location and is great value for money. Thanks, Paula, for a great stay.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike here!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlyn O'Dowd

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Caitlyn would recommend this property

Liked: Paola was brilliant with heaps of tips we didn't know about even though we'd researched pretty well. The location is probably the best in the city.

Disliked: It was pretty perfect, just be aware that there's no heating so it's a bit chilly at night in winter! However there's lovely extra quilts for the bed :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Mawditt

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 November 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The women who runs the hostel (Paola) is really helpful and hospitable. We were given some valuable 'insider' knowledge which improved our experience of Lisbon and made it cheaper! Paola also provides an amazing breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of Pensao is great and Paula is the most welcoming hostess, with lots of great suggestions on where to go and practicalities like travel cards. The breakfasts were lovely and everywhere was very clean. I don't think I've ever felt so welcome at a hotel.

Disliked: The only dislike was that the street outside could be a bit noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The proprietor, Paula, is kind, helpful, caring, and a wonderful host. The location is incredibly convenient.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All I can do is repeat all the positive comments left by other reviewers. Very clean, brightly decorated and welcoming environment. Paula is a great host and obviously likes people to feel at home. And of course, the phenomenal breakfast! Very well situated in the centre of Lisbon too, close to various forms of transport making day trips very easy.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miranda Hughes

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Miranda would recommend this property

Liked: Both the guesthouse and its owner, Paula, are full of charm and personality. Rooms are cheerful, thoughtfully decorated and spotlessly clean. Paula is one of the hardest working people I've ever met and deserves all praise for her efforts. The breakfast is superb - all handmade by Paula throughout the night - and has to be seen to be believed. Would unhesitatingly return.

Disliked: No elevator wasn't a problem for me but may be for some as the property is on the third floor. But that's just an excuse to eat more cake at breakfast!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juho Toivola

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2013 Juho would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and location of the hotel were suberb, rooms couldn't be any better, and everything was perfected with the personal and friendly customer service of the hostel keeper. The highlight of ourday was the hotel breakfast, which was the best i've had in this price range (and, to be frank, is far better than many breakfasts at "premium" hotels).

Disliked: Juho left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Ponsford

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 June 2013 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Paula is absolutely lovely - she was so helpful and gave us loads of good advice. The breakfasts really are legendary, and served until 11am, so you can still have a lie-in. It's a really homely, cosy place, and really clean too. The location is also excellent and it's really easy to get there from the airport. We would definitely recommend Pensao Royal to anyone visiting Lisbon.

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Ehrlinspiel

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Paula is a very nice person and made our stay very preasant. She gave a lot of advice that was very helpful. When you come into the guest house you feel quite comfortable.

Disliked: Sometimes it was very loud at night when the the neighbours from above came home. We stayed three days and two times we woke up because of that. Bur it was just loud for a short time. (5-10 minutes i gues.)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mervin Ang

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Mervin would recommend this property

Liked: Paula was very helpful with directions and instructions. Rooms were very well-decorated and comfortable. Location of hostel was very convenient and central. And Breakfast was full of very delicious cakes and pastries! Really would recommend it to other travellers!

Disliked: Mervin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Page

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

31 March 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, it's clean, safe, quiet, Paula is always around to help or give advice. The breakfast is above and beyond and made from the heart. Paula cooks several cakes from scratch while the guests are sleeping during the night. I recommend this guest house as a nice and refreshing get away from the impersonal hotels and the cheap hostels. You get your moneys worth in company, warmth, and care from Paula. Thank you (Paula) for welcoming us and providing us with the best! You definitely work hard and deserve the world!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing in everything!

Disliked: Amazing in everything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: PAULA is the best!! VERY helpful with all sort of things! AND like all the other comments... her breakfast is AWESOME. Its more like a BRUNCH.. you will have a good start into the day!

Disliked: Some tiny dislikes: In the 3 bedroom ensuite room, we only had 1 mirror in the hall way, there was no mirror in the bathroom and it was not possible to close the door of the bathroom properly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christa harrison indermühle

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 christa would recommend this property

Liked: The Royal was bright and lively, and our host was abundantly helpful and kind. She generously allowed us to leave our bags when we appeared, as we arrived way before check-in, and again on our way out as we had a late flight. We appreciated her thoughtfulness. Our room was comfortable and the entirety of her place was clean and welcoming. Her breakfast spread was amazing as well. We also loved that she took the time to ask about our adventuring and served as a metaphorical guide--she gave clear directions and helped us map our time wisely.

Disliked: christa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

robert macintosh

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 robert would recommend this property

Liked: Paula, our favulous host, went out of her way to make our stay excellent. She has many tips on what not to do and what to do and how to save money on transportation, etc.. Breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. Definately a must for all travellers.

Disliked: nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Srayko

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Paula was super helpful! Amazing breakfast!!

Disliked: Couldn't ask for more!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was directly in front of the metro, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and breakfast was a veritable spread.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

egemen anil

As a family with children

Family Holiday

31 December 2012 egemen would recommend this property

Liked: I havent seen this much friendly staff before. Besides to that there were very rich breakfeast which was until 12! The rooms were very clean and the decoration of the hostel were amazing! Thank you

Disliked: NOTHING!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rita Alexandra Almeida Ferreira

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

16 December 2012 Rita Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Foi um dos melhores hostels/pensão onde fiquei. A decoração é um bocadinho com entrar no mundo da Alice no pais das Maravilhas! A cozinha é fantástica e o pequeno almoço exelente, com as suas empadas, tartes, bolachas, bolos, queijos, ovos, chá, enfim, nem dá para escolher de tão bom que é! A decoração peculiar está por todos o hostel, com flores, duendes, gailos, pássaros de lata, gatos! parabéns!

Disliked: Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Taysom

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2012 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: What isn't there to like about the property. Paula is just incredible. So warm and helpful, the perfect host. Everything spotless, and so welcoming. It's just like home- but with better breakfasts! Oh and the breakfasts- incredible. Paula's cooking skills are second to none. If you want the best cakes in Lisbon (basically a city of cakes anyways- you have to stay here). Also her local knowledge and tips are invaluable.

Disliked: Henry left no negative feedback.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels