We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Baluarte Citadino - Stay Cool Hostel

Hostel | Rua Castilho, number 1, 1st floor, right side, Lisbon, Portugal 1250-066

82.3% Overall Rating

98 out of 108 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2015)

Mariano Gutierrez Dandridge thinks…

"La amabilidad y el ambiente tan agradable, no te sientes como un cliente sino como un invitado. Ana es encantadora y cocina muy bien, una vez nos preparó favas y estuvo delicioso. La…"

Read all Baluarte Citadino - Stay Cool Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Check in is possible between 14:00 and 23:00. If you arrive later than this time, you may not be able to check in and your booking will be cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Eurostars Hotel Das Letras
336.11 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Salitre Hostel
13.71 USD

Hostel 86.2% 67 reviews
Lisbon Dreams Guesthouse
26.23 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 172 reviews
Hotel Nacional
42.15 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Dom Carlos Liberty
44.59 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Turim AV. Liberdade Hotel
1,124.10 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Dom Sancho I
40.47 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 89.0% 156 reviews
Lisboa Central Hostel
20.23 USD

Hostel 98.5% 334 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.3%

Overall Rating

98 out of 108 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Baluarte Citadino - Stay Cool Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
84.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 55 of 104 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mariano Gutierrez Dandridge

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'
Zwiedzanie i kultura

17 August 2015 Mariano would recommend this property

Liked: La amabilidad y el ambiente tan agradable, no te sientes como un cliente sino como un invitado. Ana es encantadora y cocina muy bien, una vez nos preparó favas y estuvo delicioso. La relación precio-calidad es muy buena.

Disliked: podría mejorar la ventilación y podrían también alquilar mantas por la noche

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

16 June 2015

Liked: Clean, nice furniture, good location.

Disliked: No heater. No built-in, nor even extra portable one. Limited extra blankets. In January!!!! Coldest night of our lives.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura
Odwiedziny u przyjaciól lub rodziny
Praca/wolontariat

04 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My stay in this hostel was very well! I felt so good there. Room was very nice, staff was so lovely, and i also liked other travelers. I think that hostel is in good part of the city and if i come again i won't change...

Disliked: For me was everything good!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Biznes / konferencja

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the hostel very much.

Disliked: wi fi is useless from some of the locations at the hostel especially it is hard to connect in the rooms near the entrance. But except this, it is a very good place to stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Seop Hing Cecilia Fung

Dla rodzin z dziećmi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

30 May 2014 Seop Hing Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff (and the lovely baby!), location, value of money, clean and big room, comfortable beds and wifi

Disliked: well, the only blemish is that the staff seldom sat in the reception counter so it is difficult to find any help. but i think it is okay.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Zwiedzanie i kultura

21 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: average accomodation for very little money, helpful staff

Disliked: the whole ceiling of the bathroom for women was mouldy, the door lock for the rooms wasn't very secure, noisy in the night because of very thin walls

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fábio Martins

Sam

Biznes / konferencja

20 March 2014 Fábio would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place, near to marquês and bairro alto, but also quiet and calm. If you are looking for calm place, with everything, (Internet, kitchen, television) and good location, so it's this hostel which you have to choose.

Disliked: If you want party hostel, with bar and parties inside it's not the right one to choose

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chi Fung Hui

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zwiedzanie i kultura
Sport, przygoda lub aktywnosc na swiezym powietrzu

16 October 2013 Chi Fung would recommend this property

Liked: Unbeliebably high level of security! You enter the hostel building by scanning your fingerprint! Breakfast is also awesome given the room rate is low. Cosy common and dining area which males you feel at home. Highly recommended!

Disliked: As a reminder the hostel is OPPOSITE to the eurobank instead of 'in front of'. It's a little steep walk from the city centre to the hostel but you will be fine.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

typu 'City Break'
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, modern facilities such as usage of fingerprints instead of keys

Disliked: Ladies bathroom was disgusting during all stay, nobody cleaned it therefore ladies and men had to use one toilet.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great people, design

Disliked: Very instable bunk beds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Deborah Baker

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura

18 September 2013 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was very helpful. Great accommodation for the price! Well maintained and very clean. Great location too.

Disliked: Deborah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Liew

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Plaza/opalanie

15 August 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Lucinda was really friendly. The guesthouse was extremely clean.

Disliked: none

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Laura Barragán Chávez

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy

27 July 2013 Ana Laura would recommend this property

Liked: I like this hostel, the breakfast is include and very good, well, the typical (toast, cereal, milk, etc).

Disliked: You have to see the check in is at 14:00 !!! I got there at 07:00 and I couldn't put my luggage there until 14:00.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

typu 'City Break'
Zwiedzanie i kultura

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fingerprint entrances, it made me feel very safe and secure. The staff (Maria) was very friendly, helpful and informative. It was also very clean and the rooms were nice.

Disliked: The beds are very squeaky. You need a key to lock your door from the inside and sometimes the shower water is cold. These are tiny, insignifcant complaints compared to all the wonderful pluses about this hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Plaza/opalanie
Romantyczny wypad
Zwiedzanie i kultura
Sport, przygoda lub aktywnosc na swiezym powietrzu

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great for couples with nice, clean double rooms, and the breakfast and towels were included, relatively cool in the summer!! not a party hostel, but rather for people who like quiet and smaller hostels

Disliked: this sounds ridiculous, but there were not enough bowls to have cereal for breakfast.. in fact, we found only 1

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

baran mat

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Wydarzenia / festiwale
Imprezy/zycie nocne

02 June 2013 baran would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and clean enough. Not like big hostels dont expact good atmosphere but they didnt offer this also. Rooms were small but ok.

Disliked: baran left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

typu 'City Break'

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, a lovely room with private bathroom, free wifi, lift, towels included in the price, security.

Disliked: The breakfast wasn't nice (cheap toast-style bread, etc), but there is a supermarket 5min away on foot, where you can buy nice bread and then use butter etc. from the breakfast buffet to make your own sandwiches. The shop opens from 9am. There is no electric kettle, so you have to boil water in a pan to make tea.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TALIA MOTOLINIA

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Zwiedzanie i kultura

31 March 2013 TALIA would recommend this property

Liked: i really like the kindly staff and the facilities

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

typu 'City Break'

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, Location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lubos Mikyska

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Wydarzenia / festiwale
Sport, przygoda lub aktywnosc na swiezym powietrzu

07 December 2012 Lubos would recommend this property

Liked: everything perfect

Disliked: Lubos left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura
Sport, przygoda lub aktywnosc na swiezym powietrzu

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location – close to two metro stations and a night bus route, 15 minutes walk to Barrio Alto. (Downhill to Avenida metro/buses and uphill to Rato metro.) Close enough to Rossio for trains. Cheap for a double room. Clean, comfortable beds, temperature okay in October. Kitchen had a good supply of leftover cooking bits (pasta, rice, oil, wine! etc.) Two computers with free internet were handy and available.

Disliked: Noisy doors and key-operated locks meant repeated door slamming at night – you will need earplugs. It took a week for them to reply to my email to change my booking slightly. Staff had problems processing my card payment and were quite accusatory when it did not process first time. Booked a double room, got a twin. Unfriendly atmosphere – people were awkward when I said hello in the (small) kitchen. No real outside space for eating/drinking. Small lounge with TV, so if people are watching films there’s no opportunity to chat. No tours/dinners/social stuff arranged. Breakfast unimpressive – cheap bread, chocolate cereal, fruit and marmalade. No kettle or oven. Would have been unbearably hot in summer, and it was noisy with the window open.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tjaša Kranjec

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy

21 September 2012 Tjaša would recommend this property

Liked: Really good hostel. good location, nice breakfast, friendly staff.

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Butera

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'
Romantyczny wypad
Zwiedzanie i kultura

09 September 2012 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing cooking and lounging facilities. The rooms were great and the hostel itself was extremely clean. I was so happy and comfortable staying here. Maria the receptionist is the best!!! So helpful and kind! There is a super market right up a big hill (to the left of the hostel if you are facing it called Pingo Doce) thats amazing and cheap. The hostel sign is difficult to see so its directly across the street from the Eurostar hotel..then you will see a little cafe on the corner. To enter the hostel its the big doors right beside the cafe just press the button for them to let you in. AMAZING PLACE!

Disliked: It is not the hostels fault, but some guests need to learn how to respect and follow simple rules more, like dont just wash your dishes, dry them and put them away (as per the sign above the sink). Dont leave a mess and expect the hostel to clean up after you. .^nothing bad to say about the hostel :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alfonsas Stonis

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Zwiedzanie i kultura

03 September 2012 Alfonsas would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice in very good old style building.

Disliked: Alfonsas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Zacharia

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Imprezy/zycie nocne

20 August 2012 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was exactly as described and even better. The best hostel I have been to.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels