HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Lisbon Happy Hostel

Hostel | Rua dos Correeiros n.º 161, 3ª andar, Lisbon, Portugal 1100-164

89.7% Overall Rating

76 out of 80 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/04/2014)

LLOYD PHELPS thinks…

"Fantastic location. Friendly staff who make it very welcoming with a relaxed atmosphere. Great value for money."

Read all Lisbon Happy Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Sweethome Lisbon
22.95 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 182 reviews
Norte GuestHouse
23.62 USD

Hostel 83.7% 44 reviews
Hostel Vistas de Lisboa
16.18 USD

Hostel 78.6% 21 reviews
City Center Hostel
20.25 USD

Hostel 81.7% 10 reviews
We Love F****** Tourists
32.39 USD

Hostel 97.6% 6 reviews
Goodnight Hostel
22.95 USD

Hostel 95.8% 29 reviews
Golden Tram 242 Lisbonne Hostel
24.29 USD

Hostel 96.0% 50 reviews
Downtown Design Hostel
22.95 USD

Hostel 86.4% 124 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

76 out of 80 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lisbon Happy Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 49 of 76 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LLOYD PHELPS

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 LLOYD would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location. Friendly staff who make it very welcoming with a relaxed atmosphere. Great value for money.

Disliked: A lot of stairs!! It's not advertised from the street so we found it a bit hard to find.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is in the centre, the place is clean and its located in a silent area of the city.

Disliked: No proper heating system, so the room is quite cold. The staff is not really fluent in english and they're not well versed about the city. Hence, they are not really helpful regarding the touristic information.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco Rodrigues

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: The room and kitchen all very clean and tidy.

Disliked: Marco left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - all sights within walking distance - nice and clean kitchen - room simple but clean

Disliked: - hard to find (no sign or even a note on the doors) - We booked a room with two single beds. A few days before the stay they called asking if we would also accept one with a double bed instead (claiming there had been some mistake in their book-keeping) but when I mentioned that I had read that similar things had happened to other guests before it suddenly wasnt a probem anymore -strange! - we didn't get a receipt when we paid

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast saved a lot of money. Centrally located. The other houseguests were all very friendly

Disliked: There was only one bathroom and it was quite small,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is clean and good location, nice kitchen!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nga Wing Ho

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2013 Nga Wing would recommend this property

Liked: gd location with metro and train station nearby, close to tourist point, very clean, nice and helpful staff

Disliked: it located at the 3th or 4th floor with no lift but i knew it from the property desription

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was accessible and very relaxing. We had access to tea, coffee&toast at all hours, always hot water. The rooms were supplied with radiators, extra woollen blankets and even a hot-water bottle.. The staff were friendly and helpful, one lady allowed us to check in for our flights on her own personal laptop.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really small hostel, with a nice staff. You are in the city center and you have the impression to be in an appartment, to live in the city! It was really nice!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

João Camilo

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

03 March 2012 João would recommend this property

Liked: The Location is TOP!! Plus, for a low budget for a night (22€ for 2 beds in a suite is really awesome) I couldn't find any place better than Lisbon Happy Hostel

Disliked: The room view was for the back, so you could smell pancakes from the dinner bellow! Never the less, I love pancakes, and the primary reason for choosing this Hostel was the location and obviously the really low price!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location.

Disliked: We booked a private room with ensuite bathroom, but were placed in a basic double room. I believe this was a genuine mistake as the manager was out when we arrived. The manager was very nice and apologetic about it when we checked out. Probably our fault for not kicking up a fuss!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easily reached as it is located in the middle of Lisbon. Good connection to public transport.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff who were very helpful. The late check-out time. The hostel was very clean. For proximity to the main attractions this hostel is one of the best!

Disliked: If arriving after-hours you will need to call so be sure to bring necessary phone-numbers. This hostel was very good, however it seemed a bit overpriced for the value received. Gets a bit hot, although fans are provided. Impossible to open windows as there is a strong smell of pancakes (this is not negative if you really like pancakes).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good accomodation for this price. Everything clean, near the centre of town. You prepare breakfast - which time you want.

Disliked: Not all speak english.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, right in the centre of town. Owner was really helpful, giving recommendations on places to see, eat, etc. and was always happy to help with anything. Free breakfast plus a microwave in the kitchen. Highly recommended. Great value.

Disliked: The shared bathroom is small, but it is a manageable size and there weren't queues for it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location! Amazing local knowledge (especially great places to eat and drink)! Clean and security was perfect.

Disliked: Very private which meant we did not get to meet any other travellers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011

Liked: the location: in the heart of the city, everything is near by. the price.

Disliked: the owner never showed up at the hostel, there was only a cleaning lady, whom couldn`t speak english. when you had any questions you had to call the owner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, helpfulness of the staff, price.

Disliked: no elevators

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and very centrally located and the breakfast was 'help yourself' at any time.

Disliked: There was no way to leave luggage as the property was not staffed. There was no one at the property on our arrival and no signage saying Lisbon Happy Hostel. We just had the street number to use and then called the telephone number. (Fortunately we had a mobile, as we don't always travel with one!) There was no real chill out area as the seating in the kitchen was uncomfortable and there were only 2 stools in the small lounge area.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Roger Gisbert

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday

16 August 2010 Roger would recommend this property

Liked: It has many combinations with public transport

Disliked: It was very difficult to take contacte with the staff there, because they didn't answer most of the callings

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

30 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, friendly staff, good value for money

Disliked: stairs (it's on the 3rd and 4th floor), temperature (too warm), very simple breakfast, small shared bathroom (on the 3rd floor)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very helpful and the location is good. Althought the first impression was not very good..... everything whent very okey!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

04 June 2010

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right in the centre of town, good quality beds, wooden shutters on the windows keep out any noise from the bars and restaurants on the streets below. Has WiFi for internet access. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: new, clean, central locationwhen we showed up no one was here to let us in. someone staying here finally let us leave our bags and we walked around. we finally got a hold of someone hours later by calling their cell number. no one is on staff at the hostel. this hostel goes by 2 names. happy hostel and sweet home hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels