HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Tagus Home

Hostel | Rua Camilo Castelo Branco, 22-2º, Lisbon, Portugal 1150-084

83.0% Overall Rating

99 out of 106 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/05/2014)

Izabela Etmanska thinks…

"It's a place worth recommending for travellers with limited budget. Good value for money. Hostel is located very close to the metro station from which you can take a blue line directly to the strict…"

Read all Tagus Home reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Hotel Dom Carlos Park
45.74 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
EasyLisbon Hostel
10.55 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Backpackers House
13.19 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Urban Garden Hostel
19.13 USD

Hostel 92.7% 120 reviews
Tagus Palace
14.51 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Lisboa Central Hostel
23.75 USD

Hostel 98.4% 332 reviews
Residencial Dublin
26.39 USD

Hostel 58.1% 9 reviews
Hotel Embaixador
52.11 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.0%

Overall Rating

99 out of 106 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tagus Home'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 72 of 102 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izabela Etmanska

Alone

City break

06 May 2014 Izabela would recommend this property

Liked: It's a place worth recommending for travellers with limited budget. Good value for money. Hostel is located very close to the metro station from which you can take a blue line directly to the strict centre (just 3 stops). Staff is super helpful, kitchen facilitated in necessary equipment if someone wants to cook or store food, living room available, depending on a location bathroom has got either shower or a bathtub. I had a single room which had a double bed and quite a lot of space. Very clean both in a room and communal areas.

Disliked: I can't say I disliked anything however the only thing I was confused about was poor signage so you better know the address well. Also, when I arrived noone seemed to be at the reception so I had to call the lady and wait for her to take me to another location. On arrival, I was asked to stay in the other part of the hostel for a first night (just around the corner) because my room was not available which wasn't a big issue. Generally, nothing to complain about - just to make you aware.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claudio Da silva graca filho

As a family with children

Family Holiday

15 April 2014 Claudio would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great and rooms/toilets/bathrooms are very clean.

Disliked: No staff before 9am and 17pm. Guests were constantly ringing the bell without an answer. The common areas are not very welcoming.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good sized rooms, and also shared facilities such as television, kitchen with fridge and cooking facilities.

Disliked: No reception, so hard to get in contact with someone if you have a problem. Couldn't find the other building we were meant to be staying in. The staff were very helpful once we did find them though.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1) Located near the Marquis de Pombal Square which is not in the strict tourist centre, but still a very good starting point for walking there and in a very civilized area surrounded by boutiques, shops, cafes and restaurants; 1 min from a metro station. 2) Although it is formally a hostel, the room quality was "hotel-ish" which was very reassuring. 3) The price-to-quality ratio is PHENONEMAL.

Disliked: 1) The owners have - it seems - a number of places in the area where they locate their guests. I arrived ca. 10 PM, tired after a day's travel, and was led by a lady from Tagus to a different place (admittedly only 5 mins away) just to find out that the key does not open the door (!), so we had to backtrack and I was allocated in an (empty) 5-bed room even though I paid for a single. I had to change rooms next day. It was not a BIG problem, but was altogether unprofessional and made me feel slightly uncomfortable - you arrive to a new place, possibly not knowing the language and area (as I did), and a complete stranger, not especially talkative or friendly, walks you in the middle of the night through a row of narrow deserted streets. Let's be honest: this is one of the scenarios that tourists should avoid as a rule. 2) The apartment is small and has zero atmosphere, one wall in the bathroom was dark and moist, the kitchen is dark and narrow... this not exactly a place where you would want to spend any amount of time. I found myself barricading in my room in the evening.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and relatively well placed.

Disliked: They have rooms in multiple different buildings, so you do your check-in at one address, but then might have to go to your room which is on the next street. Also I wasn't able to connect to their wi-fi and had to settle for the paid wi-fi instead.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel like an apartment and you stay in a room but everything is good. Kitchen, toilets are good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrei Flueras

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2013 Andrei would recommend this property

Liked: It's very close to the old city centre. You have a kitchen where you can cook , and a refrigerator. It also has a living room.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that it has only a bathroom for 4 rooms. When there about 10 persons in the apartament it's pretty hard.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good quality-price. The "lady of the house" was really friendly, helpful and wanted everything to be ok.

Disliked: There are actually two different buildings. I went first to the one mentioned in my confirmation, but then staff walked me to the other place (about 5 min walk). Not far away, but there weren´t all the time staff in the other building (if you would have needed to ask something).

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

William Zierer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2013

Liked: Location is excellent.

Disliked: WATCH OUT!!! The property is divided into two parts, only one of which is supervised by management. My side of the place was unsupervised. My third night, wild partying was permitted which only died out at 04:30 AM, so I got little sleep. Management was unavailable to correct the problem, so I checkout a day early and stayed elsewhere for the night. Refund was requested but not granted. WATCH OUT!!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Artur Walkowski

Alone

City break

03 October 2012 Artur would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere

Disliked: Artur left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miguel Arcanjo Caetano Victorino

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

01 July 2012 Miguel Arcanjo would recommend this property

Liked: tudo a simpatia dos atendentes e de otima qualidade, emfim recomendo a todos que quiserem vir a Lisboa e ter um atendimento de qualidade e de bom preço.

Disliked: tudo

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 April 2012

Liked: The place is pretty clean ans the kitchen is well equipped

Disliked: Walls are paper thin, you can hear every noice coming from all the rooms of this flat which is really annoying. If you are a light slepper you won t get a chance to catch some sleep. Also it seems that the old lady who actually rents the flat lives there , so she is literrally ALWAYS there watching TV and looking at you come and go A bit creepy. Also the living room is right in the middle of the flat so there is basically no way around it when you wanna go to the shower. Not too cool either.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiz Henrique Mello

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012 Luiz Henrique would recommend this property

Liked: It's very cheap for a single room! And it's a very comfortable room! The staff is great and also the location. 50m away from the subway. Really worth if you want a place to relax.

Disliked: It's not a place to meet people.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff Cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Paulo Sergio de Carvalho

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 February 2012 Paulo Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: The lady responsible for the building was very helpfull

Disliked: The owner was demanding for me to pay the last day when I wouldn't be there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeroen Mastenbroek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 December 2011 Jeroen would recommend this property

Liked: De prijs/kwaliteitsverhouding is zeer goed. De kamer was eenvoudig maar schoon, het personeel heel vriendelijk en het hostel is zeer centraal gelegen en op 100 meter van het metrostation. Wel raad ik aan om even het adres in te toetsen op googlemaps, zodat je weet waar ze gelegen zijn, is anders moeilijk om te vinden. Er is namelijk geen bord zichtbaar op straat, alleen bij de deurbel.

Disliked: Geen negatieve ervaring opgedaan!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location. Friendly staff. Good accomodations with a heater in the room. has tv and free internet,

Disliked: My room smell a lot of tobacco and the floor was crooked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location which is in the city center.

Disliked: Nothing particular.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pontus Lord

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2011 Pontus would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and quiet place with a very good location (about 10-15 min walk to City centre, very close to Metro Station and easy to get to by bus from Airport). Staff was friendly and helpful (although they did not know very much english). Very good value for money.

Disliked: I did not get a room at the adress I booked, but was sent to another room nearby (about 3 min walk from original adress). However this place was just as good as the original place.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rytis Urbonavicius

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

20 October 2011 Rytis would recommend this property

Liked: It was like staying in local house, huge shared apartment, very portuguese style, authentic atmosphere The kitchen and TV room are shared, good to meet other travelers or locals. Two bathrooms for 4 rooms, very clean. Stuff very friendly and speak little English so its fun.

Disliked: Ma window couldnt close properly

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Julien BONNET

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011

Liked: No Comments

Disliked: SHE HAD NO RIGHTS TO DO THAT ! The owner called the DAY BEFORE the booking saying something like "we have a problem [...] we don't have a room for you [...] you have another room waiting for you in an other hostel." I went to Tagus Home hostel in case of an extra room available, but the owner was not even there! The other hostel was 3 subway stops further, not in the city center anymore... Even though the other hostel was good, it is not acceptable to accept a booking 3 months in advance and cancel it only 1 day before. Obviously, she did not want me to book in another one! Unbelievable, unforgivable. Do NOT trust the owner

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Julien BONNET

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011

Liked: Well located, close to the city center.

Disliked: The doors are so bent that we can see inside the rooms from the corridor. Not to mention the sound isolation... Toilets inside the bathrooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Edward Seabra

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathrooms, although 2 of the 4 available were really smaller. Clean though small kitchen.

Disliked: The hostel is in a somewhat old building, with a wooden floor that makes walking noisy. The furniture in the room was kinda dusty too, and the drapes on the window didn't do much against daylight (which can be specially annoying if you wanna wake up late).

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011

Liked: Very close to the subway station.

Disliked: Although she was very friendly and as helpful as she could be, the host doesn't speak much English. The necessities can be covered, not much else.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for a week, and had a great experience. Rooms are basic, but clean, and the location is wonderful. It's nice having a kitchen and sitting room with television. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful about everything.

Disliked: The kitchen and bathroom were shared between 4 rooms. Some of the other guests were very respectful of the fact that the apartment was shared space. Others...not so much. All of the other rooms were occupied by groups, who could at times be very loud.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels