HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Lisbon Calling Hostel

Hostel | Rua de São Paulo Nº 126, 3D, Lisbon, Portugal 1200-429

95.1% Overall Rating

114 out of 116 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

"4 beds room was lovely. its valuable. stuff was kind, friendly and helpful. kitchen is so cool! I like this place :)"

Read all Lisbon Calling Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisbon Old Town Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 92.2% 346 reviews
Lost Inn Lisbon
17.71 USD

Hostel 98.1% 6 reviews
Lisb'on Hostel
15.94 USD

Hostel 93.6% 121 reviews
Boho Cais do Sodré - Guesthouse
31.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
PH in Chiado
21.51 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Sunset Destination Hostel
15.17 USD

Hostel 96.5% 71 reviews
Evidencia Light Sta. Catarina Hotel
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.9% 34 reviews
Passport Lisbon Hostel
12.65 USD

Apartment 93.7% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

114 out of 116 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lisbon Calling Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 84 of 116 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 4 beds room was lovely. its valuable. stuff was kind, friendly and helpful. kitchen is so cool! I like this place :)

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eunike Suci

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

05 December 2013 Eunike would recommend this property

Liked: The character of the hostel is one of the best I ever know. The hospitality was great, and the interior design of the rooms was superb. The room was very quiet, the kitchen was perfect. I stayed in the room with classic theme, so everything is designed accordingly. My room is huge, the wooden floor is very clean, two windows facing to the church give amazing view of the street and the church.

Disliked: Would be perfect if the room has a desk to work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were really nice and very helpful and welcoming. The room was great and the decor quirky and very clean. Great location, within walking distance from alot of facilities. Really enjoyed are stay there and will be recommending it to friends.

Disliked: Didnt dislike anything!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Paolo Paraluppi

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Paolo would recommend this property

Liked: Particular and enjoyable style and atmosphere, clean and big rooms, very friendly and helping staff. A little bag of fresh made bread is hung on each room's door every morning for the breakfast.

Disliked: Paolo left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessie Gant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2013 Jessie would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked how cute the place was it felt like staying at a friend's apartment. The kitchen was also really nice and the staff was so helpful. The bed was also very comfortable.

Disliked: The door to my bedroom didn't lock but this was fine because the place was basically empty. The showers also didn't provide any privacy, but again no one was there so this wasn't that bad. There weren't many people staying there in February and there were no activities or dinners, which would have been nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carmem Freitas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Carmem would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and attentive people. Helpfull with maps and getting around the city. Confotable beds and cleanliness. I felt like I was very wekcomed and felt home, totally recommended!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Bohac

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2012 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, located very central, you feel very confortable in the warm and friendly atmosphere. It was my second stay and I always recommend it to my friends and family.

Disliked: My mattress was too soft

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small, friendly and homely

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was amazing!!! It is a very charming property with amazing beds! I wish I had more time there. And the staff was all very helpful. It is within walking distance to great fado places and the very charming old parts of town. Its also very close to the metro and a train station. I highly recommend this place!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Jones

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, quite central and near good transport links for buses, metro, trains and trams. Lots of character, really cool artwork and a clean and well-equipped kitchen. Staff were all very friendly and really willing to help. Never felt more at home at a hostel before.

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was located right near te main station which made it really easy to catch trams and trains to areas inside and outside liabon like the beaches. The hostel was really homely and definitely the best I've ever stayed in. My friend and I had a whole room to ourself and it was really quiet. The staff were so lovely and helpful. It was really easy to check in

Disliked: The hostel was not located in the best part of town for resterants, shops etc but like any city you have ti walk anyway so this was not a big deal

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hotel I've been to. The staff is so friendly and the atmosphere is unlike any other. The location is great, short walk to Barrio Alto, as well as the train station. Breakfast was small but good. Definitely stay here!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Rosato

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 November 2011 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: El hostal me encantò!! La posicion es perfecfta, los chicos son todos super amables y la estructura espectacular...y limpia!!

Disliked: Todo perfecto!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Mike Hogg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2011

Liked: Very nice building and good rooms. Kitchen was better than what you would expect in your own home.

Disliked: Wifi was slow and had an issue with the beds

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpfull!

Disliked: Pretty hard to find for the first time, maybe a sign of name of the hostel in the top of the door ? :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly and helpful. The whole atmosphere makes you feel like home rather than a hostel - you can use the chill out area, the kitchen, the DVD library, WiFi, ... they have thought of everything. It's only 5 min walk to the train station and ~10 min walk to some nice restaurants.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The fact it is run by a bunch of friends who genuinely care about welcoming you. Its gorgeous and full of cool ideas.

Disliked: Built in sink plug in male bathroom did not work so could not hand wash clothes. Got into minor trouble with English bloke for exploding Peri Peri sauce. Chili out man!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and atmosphere. would definitely recommend it to everyone

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Bos

With my spouse / partner

City break

31 July 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, good location in a nice area. Breakfast is standard but good. Really helpfull staff.

Disliked: The pillow

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The environment was great and the hostel has a very cool and orignial decor. I also found the staff friendly and helpful with answers to the different questions I had. The hostel is also very centrally located. So all in all very good value for the money!

Disliked: There really weren't anything that I disliked as such.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very spacious and clean. I felt right at home, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I liked everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's the best hostel I've ever checked in. You feel like in your own appartment which comes with lovely details and really nice and helpfull staff.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike about.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very charming renovated old building. Great atmosphere. Very central. Friendly people.

Disliked: It was a very good experience, nothing to say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are fantastic - cool architecture, cozy, comfortable, light - simply perfect. Extremely friendly, cool and helpful staff - you get the impression you are staying at some friends' place without them bothering you, very nice atmosphere. It is simply THE BEST HOSTEL I have ever stayed at, and I have been all around the world. Also the location is excellent, fully centrally located in an interesting, urban and hip part of town but still pretty quiet.

Disliked: If you don't like this hostel you should really stay at the Hilton or Marriott!


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels