We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of B. Mar Hostel

Hostel | Largo Terreiro do Trigo 16-1º, Lisbon, Portugal 1100-603

81.7% Overall Rating

745 out of 780 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/02/2015)

"The proximity to Alfama, one of the oldest, if not the oldest neighborhood in Lisbon, which was incredible. The city center was less than a ten minute walk from the hostel. the international and local train station was…"

Read all B. Mar Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Guests can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival. Deposits paid are non refundable. Cancelation or change reservation only by e-mail. Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Alfama Hill
27.81 USD

Apartment 92.7% 7 reviews
Lisbon Chillout Apartments
22.24 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Alfama Patio Hostel
17.78 USD

Hostel 94.9% 494 reviews
Lisbon Soul Hostel
13.35 USD

Hostel 81.1% 46 reviews
Smile Hostel
17.80 USD

Hostel 89.7% 362 reviews
Guesthouse Brasil Africa
22.24 USD

Guesthouse 94.1% 19 reviews
Johnie's Place Lisbon Hostel & Suites
11.12 USD

Hostel 94.6% 294 reviews
Hostel 4U
31.14 USD

Hostel 92.3% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

745 out of 780 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'B. Mar Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 397 of 749 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Lion Hirth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2015

Liked: not much

Disliked: overpriced, very loud music playing until early morning, whole establishment is made without love

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2015

Liked: Nice paintings

Disliked: Not very clean, loud, shower not working well, bed smell, cold room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Heinz

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2015 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful room with sea view, friendly staff and well-equipped kitchen

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit drab with white bread only.....

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The proximity to Alfama, one of the oldest, if not the oldest neighborhood in Lisbon, which was incredible. The city center was less than a ten minute walk from the hostel. the international and local train station was also very close. Five Stars for location! The common area was quite nice. My room was very colorful, I liked it.

Disliked: The check in process was a bit difficult. The woman never seemed to have change for large bills, so I'd have to come back later for the change which they did provide promptly. I wasn't aware there was a ten euro deposit for the room keys, they may have left that out on the website site, or maybe I just missed it. The exterior of the building was typical Lisboa which was beautiful in its own right. This means that the building was very old and there wasn't any heating. My room was only chilly at night, luckily there was a spare bed in my room so i had two blankets. The halls were always cold, colder than outside, but it really doesn't inconvenience you, it is not like your hanging around the halls for hours.The complimentary breakfast was limited but you are staying at a hostel so you are most likely to bring your own food that you can store in the kitchen. Overall, there are small inconveniences, but it doesn't take away from the amazing experience you'll have in Lisbon.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Christopher Siemen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2015 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: -view on the river (from our room)

Disliked: -dirty sheets -very old furniture

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Pego

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

31 December 2014 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: B.Mar Hostel is incredibly located in the heart of Lisbon! You can reach different areas of the city within a 5/10 min walk. We stayed in a room with a gorgeous view to Tejo River and we were so well treated, specially by Lurdes which showed off a true Portuguese spirit. The hostel itself its massive so yes, you do have to walk up but c'mon, a bit of exercise can not hurt you!

Disliked: The only thing I would say about it is the fact that if you go during the winter, the rooms may get a bit chilly but they kindly offer you more blankets with no problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Canullo

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very welcoming and the it's set in a beautiful and central location. It was easy to walk everywhere and we could hear live fado from the alleyway at night. In all respects perfect

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fado outside the window

Disliked: bad breakfest just sweets

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maartje Schrauwen

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 August 2014 Maartje would recommend this property

Liked: A cute hostel. Just perfect for Lisboa, the atmosphere was exactly like the city (;

Disliked: The shower was cold :(

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price for a private room of 3 in the a big city. A free breakfast in the morning is a big plus. The location is central.

Disliked: As it happens with hostels in old buildings - not enough toilets/bathrooms (only two for the whole floor). But most importantly - NO HOT WATER at the 4th floor, whether you go shower at night when everyone else is fast asleep or early in the morning. Not much air in the rooms (no fans or airconditioning) as little room to the inside of the building does not provide enough ventilation on summer nights. hence, the stufiness in some rooms). No elevator and the stairs up to 4th floor (where the reception was) are quite narrow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and really friendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was recently renovated, and the bathroom was big and clean. The staff was friendly. The room was also big enough for four persons.

Disliked: There was a lot of noise form the street; people walking by, many fado singers. The mattress of the bed was very soft and thin. Breakfast was poor (only bread and marmalade).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff value for money

Disliked: Noisy at night (street noise)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing value for money, great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wan Ying Ho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Wan Ying would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a quaint "local" feel to it, and at nights you can hear faint Fado songs from the alleyways of Alfama through open windows. The view we had was one of the blue sea. The staff was extremely helpful - I had a lovely one hour chat with one of them on history of Portugal.

Disliked: The building is a little old, so doors can be a little difficult to lock/open. Be prepared to climb stairs, so heavy luggage not advised. It will be great if we can get a locker in the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really friendly, good location and a verry nice livingroom and kitchen to chill.

Disliked: There was no nutela for breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, location and space

Disliked: Only wifi in certain areas and didn't always world well Outside of our room was very loud

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2014

Liked: Quite Nothing except the common areas

Disliked: Noise in the street (no phonic isolation at all)!! Impossible to sleep, we had to buy ear plugs! All of the services are very low or absent: Its dirty, its very small, the bathroom smells mold, there are almost no furnitures, no place for a night table beside the bed, almost no plugs. We couldnt pay with a credit card, had to pay cash a big amount, had the impression to trade on the black market (bill hand writed, no tax paid). The lady at the reception speaks very bad english and is not nice. Its old, we had the impression to be swindled and asked for our money, and to sleep in a slum.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luis Guerra

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

28 May 2014 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Good large room for the money

Disliked: Bathroom a bit too small; breakfast could be better; reception shouldn't be on the 4th floor (a lot of steps up...)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

patrick ivanovic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and clean place, with a very helpfull stuff and a great view on the river (at least from our room on the third floor). There are several nice little pubs and Fado-Bars around and the metro and the city-center are very close too. Would definitely go there again!

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't that special, but nobody is perfect ;-).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janne Posti

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2014 Janne would recommend this property

Liked: great

Disliked: maybe the position at 4th floor

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, 24h reception, friendly staff, good breakfast, walking distance to attractions, perfect for short stays

Disliked: A bit noisy at night and early morning

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014

Liked: The room was clean and nice. We were near a bathroom and the hostel seemed very secure.

Disliked: The staff was horrendous. They were rude and unprofessional. When we arrived to check-in we were going to pay with a credit card, as is customary when paying a large bill. They told us they don't accept credit cards, but said we could pay the next morning, or even at check out once we had cash. When we went to check-out they told us that we would have to pay in exact cash because they didn't have change. After a few minutes of arguing she gave us change for our key deposit, but she was very difficult to deal with. If they aren't going to accept credit or debit cards then the need to have plenty of change on hand. The breakfast staff was also very cold, not welcoming.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Xavier

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 April 2014 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, good location and super friendly staff! They were so kind that Cristina (receptionist) was worried about the bed size as my husband and I are quite tall. Had a great chat to the girl from Cabo Verde (forgot her name), she even checked the weather forecast for us!

Disliked: Nothing. It was just perfect!


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels