HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of B. Mar Hostel

Hostel | Largo Terreiro do Trigo 16-1º, Lisbon, Portugal 1100-603

87.0% Overall Rating

723 out of 756 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/09/2014)

Sara Canullo thinks…

"The staff were very welcoming and the it's set in a beautiful and central location. It was easy to walk everywhere and we could hear live fado from the alleyway at night. In all respects perfect"

Read all B. Mar Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Guests can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival. Deposits paid are non refundable. Cancelation or change reservation only by e-mail. Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Alfama Hill
31.63 USD

Apartment 92.7% 7 reviews
Lisbon Chillout Apartments
25.30 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Alfama Patio Hostel
17.70 USD

Hostel 96.3% 477 reviews
Lisbon Soul Hostel
11.39 USD

Hostel 84.1% 42 reviews
Lisbon Amazing Hostels - Sé/Alfama
12.65 USD

Hostel 74.9% 86 reviews
Smile Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 91.0% 351 reviews
Guesthouse Brasil Africa
24.04 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 9 reviews
Downtown Residence
17.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

723 out of 756 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'B. Mar Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 390 of 726 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Canullo

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very welcoming and the it's set in a beautiful and central location. It was easy to walk everywhere and we could hear live fado from the alleyway at night. In all respects perfect

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fado outside the window

Disliked: bad breakfest just sweets

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Maartje Schrauwen

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 August 2014 Maartje would recommend this property

Liked: A cute hostel. Just perfect for Lisboa, the atmosphere was exactly like the city (;

Disliked: The shower was cold :(

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price for a private room of 3 in the a big city. A free breakfast in the morning is a big plus. The location is central.

Disliked: As it happens with hostels in old buildings - not enough toilets/bathrooms (only two for the whole floor). But most importantly - NO HOT WATER at the 4th floor, whether you go shower at night when everyone else is fast asleep or early in the morning. Not much air in the rooms (no fans or airconditioning) as little room to the inside of the building does not provide enough ventilation on summer nights. hence, the stufiness in some rooms). No elevator and the stairs up to 4th floor (where the reception was) are quite narrow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and really friendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was recently renovated, and the bathroom was big and clean. The staff was friendly. The room was also big enough for four persons.

Disliked: There was a lot of noise form the street; people walking by, many fado singers. The mattress of the bed was very soft and thin. Breakfast was poor (only bread and marmalade).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff value for money

Disliked: Noisy at night (street noise)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing value for money, great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wan Ying Ho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 Wan Ying would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a quaint "local" feel to it, and at nights you can hear faint Fado songs from the alleyways of Alfama through open windows. The view we had was one of the blue sea. The staff was extremely helpful - I had a lovely one hour chat with one of them on history of Portugal.

Disliked: The building is a little old, so doors can be a little difficult to lock/open. Be prepared to climb stairs, so heavy luggage not advised. It will be great if we can get a locker in the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really friendly, good location and a verry nice livingroom and kitchen to chill.

Disliked: There was no nutela for breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, location and space

Disliked: Only wifi in certain areas and didn't always world well Outside of our room was very loud

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2014

Liked: Quite Nothing except the common areas

Disliked: Noise in the street (no phonic isolation at all)!! Impossible to sleep, we had to buy ear plugs! All of the services are very low or absent: Its dirty, its very small, the bathroom smells mold, there are almost no furnitures, no place for a night table beside the bed, almost no plugs. We couldnt pay with a credit card, had to pay cash a big amount, had the impression to trade on the black market (bill hand writed, no tax paid). The lady at the reception speaks very bad english and is not nice. Its old, we had the impression to be swindled and asked for our money, and to sleep in a slum.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luis Guerra

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

28 May 2014 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Good large room for the money

Disliked: Bathroom a bit too small; breakfast could be better; reception shouldn't be on the 4th floor (a lot of steps up...)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

patrick ivanovic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2014 patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and clean place, with a very helpfull stuff and a great view on the river (at least from our room on the third floor). There are several nice little pubs and Fado-Bars around and the metro and the city-center are very close too. Would definitely go there again!

Disliked: Breakfast wasn't that special, but nobody is perfect ;-).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janne Posti

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2014 Janne would recommend this property

Liked: great

Disliked: maybe the position at 4th floor

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, 24h reception, friendly staff, good breakfast, walking distance to attractions, perfect for short stays

Disliked: A bit noisy at night and early morning

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014

Liked: The room was clean and nice. We were near a bathroom and the hostel seemed very secure.

Disliked: The staff was horrendous. They were rude and unprofessional. When we arrived to check-in we were going to pay with a credit card, as is customary when paying a large bill. They told us they don't accept credit cards, but said we could pay the next morning, or even at check out once we had cash. When we went to check-out they told us that we would have to pay in exact cash because they didn't have change. After a few minutes of arguing she gave us change for our key deposit, but she was very difficult to deal with. If they aren't going to accept credit or debit cards then the need to have plenty of change on hand. The breakfast staff was also very cold, not welcoming.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Xavier

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 April 2014 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, good location and super friendly staff! They were so kind that Cristina (receptionist) was worried about the bed size as my husband and I are quite tall. Had a great chat to the girl from Cabo Verde (forgot her name), she even checked the weather forecast for us!

Disliked: Nothing. It was just perfect!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Olivia Maria Alves Coelho

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Olivia Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Large and beatiful room, nice and clean bathroom, great location.

Disliked: A lot of stairs (be prepared if you have luggage), the doors were hard to lock/unlock.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Unterkofler

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: a

Disliked: a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Endija Kreslina

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Endija would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location, helpful staff, good breakfast, spacious and clean rooms,

Disliked: No internet connection in the room, had to go to the common areas. Also, lots of stairs, no elevator.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inge Rijn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Inge would recommend this property

Liked: The young people from all the different country's.

Disliked: Nothing. It 's nice when everybody speaks English. I think many guests like brown bread instead of white.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Enan Hoque

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Enan would recommend this property

Liked: Good price, good location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Lots of stairs! Pack light.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Enan Hoque

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Enan would recommend this property

Liked: Quirky nice hostel. Friendly staff. Recommended!

Disliked: Enan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abigail Clark

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: Beira Mar doesn't do itself justice when described by the word 'hostel'. It was beautifully decorated and very bohemian, being located in the old town gave it outstanding character whilst still being close to the city centre and the staff were all fantastic. We felt like we we're staying in a five star hotel. I cannot recommend this place more.

Disliked: Abigail left no negative feedback.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels