We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Johnies Place

Hostel | Calçada da Graça 18F, Lisbon, Portugal 1100-265

93.7% Overall Rating

279 out of 289 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2014)

"Perfect for our week in Lisbon after Boom festival. Lot of services at offer, helpful staff and nice rooms, kitchen, common room and even a smoking room with an old well inside. Clean and good atmosphere."

Read all Johnies Place reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.88
  • Towel USD 1.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Payment in cash on arrival preferred. Credit card Payments: Please note that after booking you will receive our e mail address. You’ll need to send your card security code of the card you used when booking (this is the last 3 digits number on the back of your card) in order to fully secure your booking. Failure to do so may result in losing your reservation

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisbon Soul Hostel
20.71 USD

Hostel 84.1% 42 reviews
This is Lisbon Hostel
20.71 USD

Hostel 93.7% 193 reviews
Alfama Patio Hostel
18.11 USD

Hostel 97.1% 475 reviews
Hostel Graça 28
19.42 USD

Hostel 98.1% 3 reviews
Lisbon Chillout Apartments
19.42 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Alfama Hill
32.37 USD

Apartment 92.7% 7 reviews
Hotel Mundial
64.73 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Guest House Bela Flôr
15.54 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

279 out of 289 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Johnies Place'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 207 of 282 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and amazing staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for our week in Lisbon after Boom festival. Lot of services at offer, helpful staff and nice rooms, kitchen, common room and even a smoking room with an old well inside. Clean and good atmosphere.

Disliked: From city center the walk can be a little tiresome, as it is located on top of a hill.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gary Murphy

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 August 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: The property had great atmosphere! The staff were incredibly helpful and helped us to find another hostel for a friend at a very busy time! Would recommend to others and will return again! 10/10

Disliked: Gary left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Hynes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 July 2014 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful place and lovely people. Nice facilities.

Disliked: Only 1 shower for 2rooms. Breakfast a bit average.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is great, very helpful in all ways and honest. Additionally, the facilities are good and everything is very clean.

Disliked: The nearest metro station which is Martim Moniz is a bit tough at night since it is known a bit for its redlight activities.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, cool decoration, quiet, friendly staff, good location

Disliked: sound carries so if there are noisy people staying it could be noticeable. we had no problems however.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, room with private bathroom, nice interior and atmosphere, breakfast included in the room rate

Disliked: Not very helpful and well-organized staff; the receptionist forgot to open the front door for us and we had to wait almost 2 hours before we could get inside.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ludwig Hecker

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2014 Ludwig would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, located in city centre and nice, warm-welcoming staff. We really liked it.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren McKaskill

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 February 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay at Johnie's Place! The hostel was lovely - neat and tidy - and the staff were very friendly. The facilities, breakfast and common area was nice, a good place to relax. We took advantage of the airport pick-up service which Johnie's Place offers which worked really well and meant there was no stress getting from the airport to the hostel. The hostel is in a good location, up the hill and close to Castle St Jorge. I'd highly recommend Johnie's Place if you're visiting Lisbon!

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is clean, with friendly staff and with free Internet access. Nice location, not in the city center, but close to the tram line.

Disliked: Location is nice, but sometimes at night when you try to make your way back to the hostel it seems a bit too far and up the hill (that's why I put it in what I dislike). It would not be nice if you were alone, but in a group - OK.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassandra Lien

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

03 August 2013 Cassandra would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the kitchen is very convenient.

Disliked: The location. The neighborhood is a little scary at night if you are by yourself. The area to go out in is a 20 minute walk from the hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and atmosphere, lockers in room, nice location (cute "old-time" shops nearby as well as supermarkets, less touristy area), close to the old tram and to great view-points of the city, close to the train station (15 mins walk downhill), free wi-fi and computer use, well-equipped kitchen, actual bathroom (not shared showers) - homey feel to the whole stay. It's a lovely cosy place - despite being almost fully booked, there weren't that many people there, they were all very friendly and up for conversation and dinner, I had a great time meeting fellow travellers.

Disliked: May be a bit far from the centre if you're only in town for a short time and looking to go out to the bars in Barrio Alto etc. (I did though and it wasn't that much of a problem). Otherwise I'd wholeheartedly recommend this hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice hostel. Excellent value for money. Very pleasant and extremely accommodating staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located in a beautiful old building in a beautiful old neighbourhood, between the most stunning view in Lisbon and the coolest bar (Botequim), Johnie's Place offers an authentic experience of the city in every respect. What makes Johnie's Place unique is the people you'll encounter within. During my lengthy stay, I consistenly encountered genuine, good-natured and passionate people from around the world (several of whom were repeat visitors), which I largely attributed to the warm, generous and personable hospitality of the owner and her helpers. From day one, I felt like a welcome guest in the home of a friend, which goes a long way when traveling solo. In addition, Johnie's boasts all the standard trimmings of a good hostel, and lots of spaces to mix with other travelers or take a little down time for yourself, even at full capacity. I've been to a lot of hostels, including others in Lisbon, and I can't recall a happier stay than at Johnie's. It made for a very memorable and satisfying visit to an already amazing city, and was essential to my experience and appreciation of Portguese culture. Johnie's Place will be my only choice of accomodation for inevitable future visits to Lisbon!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Highly recommend

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt like home, which is exactly what I wanted for my 2 week stay. Attracted lovely people and staff are so helpful and nice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had such a memorable time at Johnie's. Relaxed atmosphere that attracted really delightful people. Staff were so nice and helpful - really made it feel like home. Great location too, adjacent to Alfama and walking distance to Bairro Alto. Felt very cleand safe too, as well as great value for money. Highly recommend fellow travellers to enjoy a long stay in Lisbon at Johnies. Lisbon's a great city!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i loved this hostel, you really feel like at home, good environment.....nice people...everything so clean....and in the old center of Lisbom!! in a quiet area and also close to everything. Is cheap, and sometimes they make very nice dinners with music, and good feeling...I really recommend this place to everyone!!

Disliked: nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Beautiful, well-located, clean and welcoming place. The staff is likeable and the atmosphere between customers is warm and friendly. I particularly appreciated the equipped kitchen!

Disliked: Nothing to say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really relaxing atmosphere in a wonderful neighborhood. Anyone can live a few days in a truly Portuguese lifestyle. The service is impeccable and the attendants are very attentive and kind persons. Really one of the best hostels I've ever been. I recommend it to anyone who travels to this awesome city, Lisbon.

Disliked: really nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of history surrounding the hostel itself. Good location even though it is at the top of the hill

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

19 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xu Zhang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Xu would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

edmund forsyth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 February 2013 edmund would recommend this property

Liked: brilliant facilities, excellent staff, great location, very cheap, free breakfast, interesting place to stay in, more than just a bed, free internet. really very good. will stay again and fully endorse anyone to do the same

Disliked: slightly cold, but this seems pretty standard in portugal lol.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels