HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Alfama Patio Hostel

Hostel | Escolas Gerais, 3, Patio dos Quintalinhos, 1, Lisbon, Portugal 1100-213

97.4% Overall Rating

465 out of 471 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/07/2014)

Aude Le henaff thinks…

"Accueil très sympathique. Cadre chaleureux et vue sur le tage. Super terrasse sur le toit."

Read all Alfama Patio Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.30

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisbon Chillout Apartments
26.36 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Lisbon Soul Hostel
15.81 USD

Hostel 84.1% 42 reviews
Alfama Hill
32.95 USD

Apartment 92.7% 7 reviews
B. Mar Hostel
19.77 USD

Hostel 86.2% 747 reviews
Johnies Place
13.18 USD

Hostel 93.8% 287 reviews
This is Lisbon Hostel
21.09 USD

Hostel 93.3% 188 reviews
Hostel Graça 28
19.77 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Residencia Oliveira
16.47 USD

Hostel 75.9% 169 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.4%

Overall Rating

465 out of 471 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alfama Patio Hostel'

Atmosphere
100.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
97.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 358 of 420 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aude Le henaff

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

27 July 2014 Aude would recommend this property

Liked: Accueil très sympathique. Cadre chaleureux et vue sur le tage. Super terrasse sur le toit.

Disliked: Aude left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable, and great views of the city. Nicely located in Alfama and close to the metro and tram. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Need to fix locks and some of the storage units, but there are also safes for smaller valuables so I thought things were secure enough.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, quiet hostel with fantastic kitchen, courtyard and balcony areas. The showers and toilet areas were not great, but useable. Most staff members were very nice and helpful. You should be aware that a lot of families seem to stay here (with little children).

Disliked: Pancakes were a nice novelty but the entire breakfast was entirely too sugary for a good start to the day. The only savoury option was a piece of bread, and only fresh item were poor quality oranges. Having said that, the pancakes were very nice but they only had jams and sugar to go with it (we only saw one lemon in our 7 day stay. Another negative point is that the hostel has a pretty good security system that some staff don't bother to utilise. There is a security camera at the door where you should show your hostel bracelet to be let in, but one staff member in particular didn't bother to check the video and would often leave the door wide open (which isn't great because we'd seen pickpockets operating in the area).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Hechter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The cosiness

Disliked: Sounds from the tram

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good service and facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Conor Magee

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: Had a really great experience at this hostel. As it's a small hostel, its a really great place to meet fellow travelers particularly if you are alone. The staff are great and one of the best parts about this hostel. Helpful and welcoming right from the laid back check in to recieving a personally written postcard at check out, and always on hand for advice for how to get places/what to do. They really get to know you and always greet you on a first name basis. A great advantage the hostel has is that it is part of a small group of 3 hostels, all located within walking distance to each other but totally different vibes, but being a guest of one allows you to get involved with activites from all 3. All group activites are co-ordinated so all 3 hostels are included so even on the couple of occasions that I was the only person partaking from my hostel, they had someone to pick me up and join the bigger group so it was I was never on my own. Speaking of which, there are many activites every single day/night so you can base your trip around the hostel, they usually have tours during the day and social activites in the evening. The hostel I was in was charming and away from the hustle and bustle from Lisbon central but still within short walking distance and it had a very authentic feel to it. The rooftop terrace is amazing and really relaxing, and the BBQ/pub crawl on Friday night was so much fun (as well as the one at their other hostel on Saturday night). As for the hostel facitilites, it pretty much has everything you would need. I was in the 6 bed mixed room with en suite bathroom. The bathroom was small but plenty big enough to have a shower and a change of clothes nearby. The bedroom was quite roomy and there was plenty of room between the bunk beds, comfy beds too with probably the best pillow I've had in a hostel. Big lockers that had plenty of room for my luggage (they will also provide you with a free lock if needed). Also every bed has a bed side lamp whose socket can be used for phone chargers etc as well. There's a perosnal safe beside each bed which doubles as a bed side table for putting your things. There is wifi throughout the hostel as well as a computer near reception that is free to use. Free breakfast in the morning (crepes, bread rolls and spreads and cereals) and a €9 three course dinner each night if you wish (another good way of meeting people as they sit everyone together for this). There is a mini-market nearby where you can buy most essentials also. Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone including solo travelers and to get involved with the activites organised. If you want the best of both worlds (staying in the city but also being in a quiet authetic Portugeuse neigborhood), this is definitely the place to stay. I would definitely stay here again (or in any of their 3 hostels). I felt very much at home here. Staying here and the activities really made my stay in Lisbon.

Disliked: Some have mentioned the hills to get here from the station and while it is manageble (but still tiring) with just hand luggage, I would recommend a tram if coming from the city centre or a short taxi from the nearby metro station if you have a lot of baggage. The hostel can be hard to find at first but once you know where you are it's location then becomes an advantage in my opinion. Some of the activites can be a little on the pricey side but it is worth it if you want to meet fellow travelers. Drinks from the hostel are pretty pricey too but I guess you're paying for the convenience factor, but the nearby mini-market negates this complaint. Overall these are very very minor complaints for the overall experience and I wouldn't want it to put anyone off. I'm just home a day and I'm already missing it quite a lot!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Mangel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, amazing breakfast, friendly atmosphere, very comfortable beds, free walking tours, great vibe, beautiful views, amazing area, very clean bathroom. Amazing value for the money. The employees at this hostel were very friendly and personable, and encouraged return visits. I felt very welcome, relaxed, and had a great time.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice rooms. Breakfast was perfect and the staff helpful. Totally recommended to stay there!

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronald Williams

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: An icon of backpackers' hostels, yet it has all the amenities that one would desire. Staff are great.

Disliked: Their lockers are not secure. Anyone could open them if they wanted.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Alfama Patio hostel offers a nice, relaxed and familiar atmosphere. It is a beautiful and clean place. You have a wonderful view from the terrace and direct access to the famous yellow tram that takes you to the coty center. In my point of view Alfama is the most urban and therefore most authentic and beatutiful area in Lisbon

Disliked: The tours that are organized by the hostel are a little bit expensive. Way cheaper to do the trips on you own.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vitaly Mimoladov

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Vitaly would recommend this property

Liked: It was the most friendly hostel ever. First when you arrive you have your own plans but then when you have idea about activities offered by hostel's administration you just rethink your schedule because you just may not stend up against their offers. We did prefer Portuguese Buffet in Location Hostel (Rossio) and it was a fairy tale especially because of endless house wine... Will remeber these evenings at hostel's terrace with the jingle of tram 18...

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

philip greenwood

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 philip would recommend this property

Liked: magical I've already submitted this review saying how good the place is, how nice the staff are and how well it is located. Carolina, the manager, is exceptional

Disliked: having to leave

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

phil greenwood

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 phil would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible welcoming atmosphere. Through the steel doors into a magical kingdom. All the staff are quality people and the manager (Carolina) is delightfully Portuguese and a very kind smiley person. The atmosphere and the social programme is very relaxing.

Disliked: Having to leave it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Ketteler

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

18 May 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel in a nice part of the town! Staff was always helpful and it was great to stay here! Thanks for everything!

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room is nice, clean, with lockers, heater, beg light (no curtains), enough plugs. Hot and clean showers with separate doors, never queue. Toilets are in good condition. Kitchen is very nice and well equipped. Breakfast is wonderful as the lady makes you pancakes. Tea and coffee anytime (nice tea bags). Wifi everywhere.

Disliked: none.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a magical place! Extremely friendly staff, clean facility, amazing dinners every night, overall just the best hostel I've ever stayed in!

Disliked: That I wasn't in Lisbon Lin enough to participate in any of Alafma's activities such as bike riding, bbq's, and pub crawl

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brieuc Penault

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 Brieuc would recommend this property

Liked: amazing

Disliked: not much

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catalin Mates

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Catalin would recommend this property

Liked: Location was top notch, close to tram 28 in the lovely Alfama, lovely lovely personnel, always helpful, very clean.

Disliked: Nothing really, maybe just that the breakfast could use some non-sugary stuff also.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere, felt like a home away from home. Cool location, only 15 minutes or so to walk into town. Very clean and with very comfortable beds!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Berrens

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Really warm and welcoming property, very cosy and neat, good located. We could do everthing by foot.

Disliked: Caroline left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewis Rattray

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was fantastic, met some really cool people, and the staff are super friendly and helpful, if we come back to Lisbon, we'll stay here again for certain!

Disliked: Can't fault it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Perryman

Alone

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: This was by quite a long way the best hostel I've ever stayed at, and I've stayed at a lot of hostels! The hostel itself is cosy with nice areas to hang out and great views of Lisbon, the staff were fantastically friendly and helpful, the food and free breakfast was brilliant, and I met some amazing people here. And also, it's amazingly cheap..!! Honestly a couple of the best days of my life here!

Disliked: absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a home away from home most friendly staff and nothing is not possible for them to help you....very knowledgeable, kind and hospital. i really enjoyed staying here.

Disliked: nothing other than walking up and down the hills...


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels