HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Alfama Patio Hostel

Hostel | Escolas Gerais, 3, Patio dos Quintalinhos, 1, Lisbon, Portugal 1100-213

97.1% Overall Rating

457 out of 463 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Conor Magee thinks…

"Had a really great experience at this hostel. As it's a small hostel, its a really great place to meet fellow travelers particularly if you are alone. The staff are great and one of the best parts…"

Read all Alfama Patio Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisbon Soul Hostel
15.20 USD

Hostel 83.9% 38 reviews
Alfama Hill
34.55 USD

Apartment 92.7% 7 reviews
B. Mar Hostel
20.73 USD

Hostel 87.5% 698 reviews
Johnies Place
13.82 USD

Hostel 93.8% 279 reviews
This is Lisbon Hostel
16.58 USD

Hostel 96.7% 179 reviews
Hostel Graça 28
16.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Residencia Oliveira
11.06 USD

Hostel 75.5% 166 reviews
Lisbon Amazing Hostels - Sé/Alfama
13.82 USD

Hostel 80.6% 71 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.1%

Overall Rating

457 out of 463 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alfama Patio Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
97.6%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 353 of 412 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good service and facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Conor Magee

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: Had a really great experience at this hostel. As it's a small hostel, its a really great place to meet fellow travelers particularly if you are alone. The staff are great and one of the best parts about this hostel. Helpful and welcoming right from the laid back check in to recieving a personally written postcard at check out, and always on hand for advice for how to get places/what to do. They really get to know you and always greet you on a first name basis. A great advantage the hostel has is that it is part of a small group of 3 hostels, all located within walking distance to each other but totally different vibes, but being a guest of one allows you to get involved with activites from all 3. All group activites are co-ordinated so all 3 hostels are included so even on the couple of occasions that I was the only person partaking from my hostel, they had someone to pick me up and join the bigger group so it was I was never on my own. Speaking of which, there are many activites every single day/night so you can base your trip around the hostel, they usually have tours during the day and social activites in the evening. The hostel I was in was charming and away from the hustle and bustle from Lisbon central but still within short walking distance and it had a very authentic feel to it. The rooftop terrace is amazing and really relaxing, and the BBQ/pub crawl on Friday night was so much fun (as well as the one at their other hostel on Saturday night). As for the hostel facitilites, it pretty much has everything you would need. I was in the 6 bed mixed room with en suite bathroom. The bathroom was small but plenty big enough to have a shower and a change of clothes nearby. The bedroom was quite roomy and there was plenty of room between the bunk beds, comfy beds too with probably the best pillow I've had in a hostel. Big lockers that had plenty of room for my luggage (they will also provide you with a free lock if needed). Also every bed has a bed side lamp whose socket can be used for phone chargers etc as well. There's a perosnal safe beside each bed which doubles as a bed side table for putting your things. There is wifi throughout the hostel as well as a computer near reception that is free to use. Free breakfast in the morning (crepes, bread rolls and spreads and cereals) and a €9 three course dinner each night if you wish (another good way of meeting people as they sit everyone together for this). There is a mini-market nearby where you can buy most essentials also. Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone including solo travelers and to get involved with the activites organised. If you want the best of both worlds (staying in the city but also being in a quiet authetic Portugeuse neigborhood), this is definitely the place to stay. I would definitely stay here again (or in any of their 3 hostels). I felt very much at home here. Staying here and the activities really made my stay in Lisbon.

Disliked: Some have mentioned the hills to get here from the station and while it is manageble (but still tiring) with just hand luggage, I would recommend a tram if coming from the city centre or a short taxi from the nearby metro station if you have a lot of baggage. The hostel can be hard to find at first but once you know where you are it's location then becomes an advantage in my opinion. Some of the activites can be a little on the pricey side but it is worth it if you want to meet fellow travelers. Drinks from the hostel are pretty pricey too but I guess you're paying for the convenience factor, but the nearby mini-market negates this complaint. Overall these are very very minor complaints for the overall experience and I wouldn't want it to put anyone off. I'm just home a day and I'm already missing it quite a lot!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Mangel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, amazing breakfast, friendly atmosphere, very comfortable beds, free walking tours, great vibe, beautiful views, amazing area, very clean bathroom. Amazing value for the money. The employees at this hostel were very friendly and personable, and encouraged return visits. I felt very welcome, relaxed, and had a great time.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice rooms. Breakfast was perfect and the staff helpful. Totally recommended to stay there!

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronald Williams

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: An icon of backpackers' hostels, yet it has all the amenities that one would desire. Staff are great.

Disliked: Their lockers are not secure. Anyone could open them if they wanted.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Alfama Patio hostel offers a nice, relaxed and familiar atmosphere. It is a beautiful and clean place. You have a wonderful view from the terrace and direct access to the famous yellow tram that takes you to the coty center. In my point of view Alfama is the most urban and therefore most authentic and beatutiful area in Lisbon

Disliked: The tours that are organized by the hostel are a little bit expensive. Way cheaper to do the trips on you own.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Vitaly Mimoladov

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Vitaly would recommend this property

Liked: It was the most friendly hostel ever. First when you arrive you have your own plans but then when you have idea about activities offered by hostel's administration you just rethink your schedule because you just may not stend up against their offers. We did prefer Portuguese Buffet in Location Hostel (Rossio) and it was a fairy tale especially because of endless house wine... Will remeber these evenings at hostel's terrace with the jingle of tram 18...

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

philip greenwood

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 philip would recommend this property

Liked: magical I've already submitted this review saying how good the place is, how nice the staff are and how well it is located. Carolina, the manager, is exceptional

Disliked: having to leave

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

phil greenwood

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 phil would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible welcoming atmosphere. Through the steel doors into a magical kingdom. All the staff are quality people and the manager (Carolina) is delightfully Portuguese and a very kind smiley person. The atmosphere and the social programme is very relaxing.

Disliked: Having to leave it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Ketteler

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

18 May 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Really great hostel in a nice part of the town! Staff was always helpful and it was great to stay here! Thanks for everything!

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room is nice, clean, with lockers, heater, beg light (no curtains), enough plugs. Hot and clean showers with separate doors, never queue. Toilets are in good condition. Kitchen is very nice and well equipped. Breakfast is wonderful as the lady makes you pancakes. Tea and coffee anytime (nice tea bags). Wifi everywhere.

Disliked: none.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a magical place! Extremely friendly staff, clean facility, amazing dinners every night, overall just the best hostel I've ever stayed in!

Disliked: That I wasn't in Lisbon Lin enough to participate in any of Alafma's activities such as bike riding, bbq's, and pub crawl

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brieuc Penault

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2013 Brieuc would recommend this property

Liked: amazing

Disliked: not much

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catalin Mates

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Catalin would recommend this property

Liked: Location was top notch, close to tram 28 in the lovely Alfama, lovely lovely personnel, always helpful, very clean.

Disliked: Nothing really, maybe just that the breakfast could use some non-sugary stuff also.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere, felt like a home away from home. Cool location, only 15 minutes or so to walk into town. Very clean and with very comfortable beds!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Berrens

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Really warm and welcoming property, very cosy and neat, good located. We could do everthing by foot.

Disliked: Caroline left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewis Rattray

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was fantastic, met some really cool people, and the staff are super friendly and helpful, if we come back to Lisbon, we'll stay here again for certain!

Disliked: Can't fault it!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Perryman

Alone

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: This was by quite a long way the best hostel I've ever stayed at, and I've stayed at a lot of hostels! The hostel itself is cosy with nice areas to hang out and great views of Lisbon, the staff were fantastically friendly and helpful, the food and free breakfast was brilliant, and I met some amazing people here. And also, it's amazingly cheap..!! Honestly a couple of the best days of my life here!

Disliked: absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a home away from home most friendly staff and nothing is not possible for them to help you....very knowledgeable, kind and hospital. i really enjoyed staying here.

Disliked: nothing other than walking up and down the hills...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inés Iglesias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Inés would recommend this property

Liked: It was great to meet the stuff. They are kind and friendly. Also, there are some social activities such as really cheap guide tours and bbq with liv music. The atmosphere can't be better. Indeed, the brakfast was really good and full of variety.

Disliked: I have anything bad to say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arlou Arteta

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Arlou would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying here, the atmosphere was excellent it was like a home away from home, the location was great a short 10 -15 minute walk into town and right in the heart of the Alfama district and the staff were so genuinely friendly and helpful. A special mention to the Carolina and Creousa who went above and beyond to accommodate anything that I needed and took the time to share the best places to go to and even took us out on a memorable night out. Much love to you both! X

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ismael fabregas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 ismael would recommend this property

Liked: Very near the historical center, though in a hills, but this is Lisboa, there are 7 hills. Also there was a mix up with my plain and i arrived one day later and they discounted me that night, very cool.

Disliked: too many stairs if are loaded but is ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maike Belbe

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Maike would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and since the the moment of arrival we really felt as if we were really welcome. The Otter guests made this hostel very nice as well.

Disliked: Maike left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luciano Mendonça Sanches

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

20 October 2012 Luciano would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and freindly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels