We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Alfama Patio Hostel

Hostel | Escolas Gerais, 3, Patio dos Quintalinhos, 1, Lisbon, Portugal 1100-213

94.9% Overall Rating

487 out of 494 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2015)

felix francisco rangel gamez thinks…

"the best option ever, the free breakfast in mornings is so yummi! You can save a lot of money with this benefit. Staff is so friendly and helpful. It worths every dollar spend here. 100% recommended!"

Read all Alfama Patio Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.10

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisbon Chillout Apartments
22.24 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Lisbon Soul Hostel
13.35 USD

Hostel 81.1% 46 reviews
Alfama Hill
27.81 USD

Apartment 92.7% 7 reviews
B. Mar Hostel
19.46 USD

Hostel 81.7% 780 reviews
Johnie's Place Lisbon Hostel & Suites
11.12 USD

Hostel 94.6% 294 reviews
This is Lisbon Hostel
14.46 USD

Hostel 93.5% 206 reviews
Hostel Graça 28
14.46 USD

Hostel 92.4% 6 reviews
Residencia Oliveira
11.12 USD

Hostel 71.3% 175 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.9%

Overall Rating

487 out of 494 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alfama Patio Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 372 of 443 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michele Watson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2015 Michele would recommend this property

Liked: staff super friendly and helpful

Disliked: Michele left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

felix francisco rangel gamez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2015 felix francisco would recommend this property

Liked: the best option ever, the free breakfast in mornings is so yummi! You can save a lot of money with this benefit. Staff is so friendly and helpful. It worths every dollar spend here. 100% recommended!

Disliked: Some flies on inside and outside of biulding were annoying. You can get lost easily because of the location.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are good, the rooms are spacious.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Radoslaw Kakowski

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 April 2015 Radoslaw would recommend this property

Liked: Outstanding location

Disliked: None

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close contact to the receptionist and easily got to know other guests. Nice terrace and awesome fex for breakfast. Nice offers from the hostel to discover the city or to have a great portuguese meal in the hostel with others.

Disliked: thin walls. quite loud because of wooden planks as floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2015 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the family atmosphere here amongst solo travellers from all over so much that I returned after a few days in Dublin. The dinners that they put on often are fairly priced compared to restaurant prices and delicious with lots of free wine or sangria on BBQ night. The staff are super friendly and learn your name which makes it feel more like a family hostel. The facilities were also great, and the hostel is in a really nice, historical part of Lisboa, and if you are wandering around the city, you can always go to the other two 'sister' hostels for rest or wifi which is great! Breakfast was free and tasty with pancakes (crepes), orange, pineapple, juice and toast. Sitting up on the rooftop patio was really nice in the morning sun!

Disliked: Wifi could be a bit stronger out on the patio, but that doesn't matter when you have lots of travellers to talk to!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Virpi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2015 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Home away from home. Best hostel I've ever been to. Super comfortable. Good set-up, perfect location in the old town. Nice vibe and good arrangement of events!

Disliked: I want to go back :(

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Yehya Mohammed

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 February 2015

Liked: near a lot of monuments walking distance to the downtown

Disliked: just two toilets for the all rooms and one place to wash hands!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location. Very home-y feeling. Old house converted into a hostel. The staff was really friendly. Breakfast was delicious.

Disliked: During the winter, it is a cold walk to the other floors and the outside patio is too cold to eat in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christine Widders

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2015 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Was good :-)

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lisa Gerecht

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 October 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Pancakes in the morning? - AWESOME!

Disliked: Sometimes the hot water did not work prober.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Abraham

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a great place for a traveller who wants to chill out but still be in a good location to see Lisbon and it's sights. The staff were super friendly, helpful and accommodating, and the beds and showers were some of the best I've stayed in for a hostel. There's plenty of activities to get involved in, I can't recommend the day trip to Sintra enough, my tour guide Pedro was fantastic and I had a great day. Overall a great place to see Lisbon and unwind afterwards.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Tierney

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: First the facilities were amazing! The view from the hostel made it worth the rate. It was so tempting to Sit and read or write in my journal . Also the staff was so friendly and helpful. All kinds of directions and recommendations of places to see! The beds were comfortable and the free breakfast way delish!!!

Disliked: For me it was a little far from the center of town. Also the building is older so At one point the door lock just kept spinning around. They were very quick to get the problem fixed!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly staff, absolutely beautiful house-very well maintained and taken care of, stunning view and great location

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aude Le henaff

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

27 July 2014 Aude would recommend this property

Liked: Accueil très sympathique. Cadre chaleureux et vue sur le tage. Super terrasse sur le toit.

Disliked: Aude left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable, and great views of the city. Nicely located in Alfama and close to the metro and tram. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Need to fix locks and some of the storage units, but there are also safes for smaller valuables so I thought things were secure enough.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, quiet hostel with fantastic kitchen, courtyard and balcony areas. The showers and toilet areas were not great, but useable. Most staff members were very nice and helpful. You should be aware that a lot of families seem to stay here (with little children).

Disliked: Pancakes were a nice novelty but the entire breakfast was entirely too sugary for a good start to the day. The only savoury option was a piece of bread, and only fresh item were poor quality oranges. Having said that, the pancakes were very nice but they only had jams and sugar to go with it (we only saw one lemon in our 7 day stay. Another negative point is that the hostel has a pretty good security system that some staff don't bother to utilise. There is a security camera at the door where you should show your hostel bracelet to be let in, but one staff member in particular didn't bother to check the video and would often leave the door wide open (which isn't great because we'd seen pickpockets operating in the area).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Hechter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The cosiness

Disliked: Sounds from the tram

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good service and facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Conor Magee

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: Had a really great experience at this hostel. As it's a small hostel, its a really great place to meet fellow travelers particularly if you are alone. The staff are great and one of the best parts about this hostel. Helpful and welcoming right from the laid back check in to recieving a personally written postcard at check out, and always on hand for advice for how to get places/what to do. They really get to know you and always greet you on a first name basis. A great advantage the hostel has is that it is part of a small group of 3 hostels, all located within walking distance to each other but totally different vibes, but being a guest of one allows you to get involved with activites from all 3. All group activites are co-ordinated so all 3 hostels are included so even on the couple of occasions that I was the only person partaking from my hostel, they had someone to pick me up and join the bigger group so it was I was never on my own. Speaking of which, there are many activites every single day/night so you can base your trip around the hostel, they usually have tours during the day and social activites in the evening. The hostel I was in was charming and away from the hustle and bustle from Lisbon central but still within short walking distance and it had a very authentic feel to it. The rooftop terrace is amazing and really relaxing, and the BBQ/pub crawl on Friday night was so much fun (as well as the one at their other hostel on Saturday night). As for the hostel facitilites, it pretty much has everything you would need. I was in the 6 bed mixed room with en suite bathroom. The bathroom was small but plenty big enough to have a shower and a change of clothes nearby. The bedroom was quite roomy and there was plenty of room between the bunk beds, comfy beds too with probably the best pillow I've had in a hostel. Big lockers that had plenty of room for my luggage (they will also provide you with a free lock if needed). Also every bed has a bed side lamp whose socket can be used for phone chargers etc as well. There's a perosnal safe beside each bed which doubles as a bed side table for putting your things. There is wifi throughout the hostel as well as a computer near reception that is free to use. Free breakfast in the morning (crepes, bread rolls and spreads and cereals) and a €9 three course dinner each night if you wish (another good way of meeting people as they sit everyone together for this). There is a mini-market nearby where you can buy most essentials also. Would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone including solo travelers and to get involved with the activites organised. If you want the best of both worlds (staying in the city but also being in a quiet authetic Portugeuse neigborhood), this is definitely the place to stay. I would definitely stay here again (or in any of their 3 hostels). I felt very much at home here. Staying here and the activities really made my stay in Lisbon.

Disliked: Some have mentioned the hills to get here from the station and while it is manageble (but still tiring) with just hand luggage, I would recommend a tram if coming from the city centre or a short taxi from the nearby metro station if you have a lot of baggage. The hostel can be hard to find at first but once you know where you are it's location then becomes an advantage in my opinion. Some of the activites can be a little on the pricey side but it is worth it if you want to meet fellow travelers. Drinks from the hostel are pretty pricey too but I guess you're paying for the convenience factor, but the nearby mini-market negates this complaint. Overall these are very very minor complaints for the overall experience and I wouldn't want it to put anyone off. I'm just home a day and I'm already missing it quite a lot!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Mangel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, amazing breakfast, friendly atmosphere, very comfortable beds, free walking tours, great vibe, beautiful views, amazing area, very clean bathroom. Amazing value for the money. The employees at this hostel were very friendly and personable, and encouraged return visits. I felt very welcome, relaxed, and had a great time.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice rooms. Breakfast was perfect and the staff helpful. Totally recommended to stay there!

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronald Williams

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Ronald would recommend this property

Liked: An icon of backpackers' hostels, yet it has all the amenities that one would desire. Staff are great.

Disliked: Their lockers are not secure. Anyone could open them if they wanted.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Alfama Patio hostel offers a nice, relaxed and familiar atmosphere. It is a beautiful and clean place. You have a wonderful view from the terrace and direct access to the famous yellow tram that takes you to the coty center. In my point of view Alfama is the most urban and therefore most authentic and beatutiful area in Lisbon

Disliked: The tours that are organized by the hostel are a little bit expensive. Way cheaper to do the trips on you own.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels