We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Lisbon Old Town Hostel

Hostel | Rua do Ataíde 26A, Lisbon, Portugal 1200-035

92.2% Overall Rating

342 out of 346 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/09/2014)

Nynke van der Wal thinks…

"This is the first review I write on Hostelbookers. That means this hostel was great!! So its really worth it to leave a review. The staff is really friendly, every minute of the day, they will always…"

Read all Lisbon Old Town Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Breakfast, linen and internet access are included in all our fares. Lisbon Old Town Hostel reserves the right of allocation for bookings in dorms according to the rates mentioned above.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisb'on Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 93.6% 121 reviews
Lisbon Calling Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 95.0% 117 reviews
Lost Inn Lisbon
12.65 USD

Hostel 97.8% 9 reviews
PH in Chiado
21.51 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Boho Cais do Sodré - Guesthouse
31.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Passport Lisbon Hostel
12.65 USD

Apartment 93.7% 49 reviews
Evidencia Light Sta. Catarina Hotel
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.9% 34 reviews
Sunset Destination Hostel
11.37 USD

Hostel 96.5% 72 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

342 out of 346 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lisbon Old Town Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 268 of 305 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nynke van der Wal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2014 Nynke would recommend this property

Liked: This is the first review I write on Hostelbookers. That means this hostel was great!! So its really worth it to leave a review. The staff is really friendly, every minute of the day, they will always help you and tell you more about the hotspots of Lisbon. One evening the owner of the hostel was playing guitar in a bar and he told us. It was a really nice evening. The place of the hostel is really good, really close to baro alto, but still in a quiet street, so it was perfect! They also got a dinner for the whole hostel, thats really nice and a good place to meet the other people of the hostel. Furthermore the rooms were really big and the bathrooms were good. The people who stayed there were really nice! It was also good that you dont have to be on time for the free breakfast because you could take breakfast till 12, so you could still sleep till late in the morning after a night going out. I can everyone recommend this hostel and lisbon, i had a great time! Thank you all

Disliked: Nynke left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were a group of 27 persons. The stuff was fantastic and very helpful. I'm sure that many of us will come back. We also enjoyed Urbi's dinner in the hostel (You'll find the link for this offer on the the old town hostel website). Our stay coulden't have been better!! Wir waren eine Gruppe von 27 Personen. Das Personal war fantastisch und sehr hilfsbereit. Ich bin mir sicher, dass einige von uns zurückkommen werden. Zusätzlich hatten wir die Möglichkeit Urbi's dinner zu geniessen (kann man via website vom old town hostel buchen). Unser Aufenthalt hätte nic besser sein können!! Nous étions 27 personnes. Le personel était fantastique et aimable. Je suis sure que quelques-un d'entre nous retouneront. Nous avons eu la possibilté de savourer le dîner de Urbi (on peut le résérver sur la page web de l'hostel). Nôtre séjour n'auraient pas pu être mieux!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margarita Bashkina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2014 Margarita would recommend this property

Liked: What I liked most are the fantastic buns for breakfast and, of course, the magnificent city Lisbon itself:) What is more the hostel is located near the splendid, wild and free,Tejo river. It's in the heart of the city so I was capable of getting access to every sights of it including Zoological garden. And not to forget that there, just right next to the hostel, lives a great and awesome boxer dog who I played football with:)

Disliked: Leaving it too sooon as it was really comfortable there)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Squeaky floors

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Unacceptable smell of urine in room from broken toilet next door ( double room on 1st floor). Very noisy frat house type atmosphere throughout the building from afternoon time of arrival to small hours of the morning e.g. drinking and table thumping fun!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, comfort, staff

Disliked: Funky smell in room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Shepherd

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere! It was one of the first hostels I stayed in, but now I got a lot of comparisons and I still love to think back to Lisbon Old Town Hostel!

Disliked: Dennis left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Marsh

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean well-kept facilities, friendly and helpful staff, big rooms with comfortable beds - one of the best hostels I've been to anywhere in the world.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miriam Schaller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

12 February 2014 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, everything was really chilled out, the staff was friendly, each room was nicely decorated and comfortable.

Disliked: The included breakfast is not special, but still okay. It´s not really a party hostel, but you can make your own party there and nobody will complain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. The sleeping accomodation is spacious and it is in a great location five minutes walk from the Baixa-Chiado metro station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I mainly loved the staff, so helpful and the hostel was so clean and the overall atmosphere of the hostel was really nice and friendly. It had great facilities and it felt homely and there was an impressive harmony between the staff and the guests where it resembled more of a friendship.

Disliked: Did not dislike anything at all.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Fransiska Mariana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013 Fransiska would recommend this property

Liked: Unlimited breakfast

Disliked: The location description was a bit confusing. It said: walk straight down the road while in fact we're walking 'up' the road

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Las habitaciones son muy amplias y comodas. El hostel es super lindo en general, los chicos de la recepcion con muy amables, es especial Joao, que nos recomendo muchisimos lugares donde ir y nos dio muy buenos consejos.

Disliked: Los baños eran un poco chicos para la cantidad de gente que habia.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and extremely helpful staff!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Pendleton

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Decent kitchen, really friendly staff and good rooms with breakfast and fruit store nearby

Disliked: The kitchen was not really well stocked, but sufficient for basic cooking. It's a bit of a walk from the center of town....but that's ok, all the more excuse for pastries!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people

Disliked: Not so good atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ramona Dworschak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Ramona would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and helpful, also the hostel was in good condition.

Disliked: It was a little loud because of the squeeking old floors and the beds.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colin Raymond

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, clean, with a friendly atmosphere and staff.

Disliked: Colin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Radoslaw Kakowski

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Radoslaw would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, extremaly friendly staff :), good atmosphere

Disliked: none

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, had a nice atmosphere and a rather good breakfast

Disliked: The shower cabins were very small. Fortunately there were not many guests, because it was hard to get dressed/ undressed within the cabin

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carrie Paris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2012 Carrie would recommend this property

Liked: After traveling for quite around Europe it was so refreshing to come to a hostel where the staff takes an interest in every single traveler who walks through their doors. From the moment I entered into the cozy and inviting living room I knew that my I had chosen the right place for my stay! The location is incredible and I had no problem finding the hostel even without a map! The staff is inviting and the faciilities exceeded my expectations. For taking a break they have a warm sitting room with comfy beanbags, couches, TV/DVD player, and communal computers. During my stay I was surrounded by other passionate travelers who shared their food, wine and conversations with anyone interested. I met some lovely people and I'm left with some great memories. For those looking for a quiet, inviting hostel with a knowledgable staff in an amazing and beautiful city- this is DEFINITELY IT!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing! Even in the colder weather the beds were warm and cozy and the I never had a moment with nothing to do!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lively with other travellers. Very friendly helpful staffs who are happy to help you with planning your trips.

Disliked: Shower room wasn't the best. Due to central location it can be loud at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thiis a nice hostel. I stayed there for two nights, and after 20 days I had to stay again for one night in Lisbon. I chose to stay at the same hostel again. I think that it has a nice atmosphere, the staff are friendly and nice. It's clean, and I do believe that it worths its money. I would recommended to other travelers.

Disliked: I didn't like that it's a bit difficult to find from the metro stop. Specially, if you stop at "Cais do Sodre", you have to walk a hill, not the best if you carry your backpack. Also, I wouldn't recommended to people with hight fear. To go to the reception and the rooms, you have to walk in a small balcony which 1 or two floors high..


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels