HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Lisbon Old Town Hostel

Hostel | Rua do Ataíde 26A, Lisbon, Portugal 1200-035

94.4% Overall Rating

337 out of 340 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/04/2014)

Dennis Shepherd thinks…

"Amazing atmosphere! It was one of the first hostels I stayed in, but now I got a lot of comparisons and I still love to think back to Lisbon Old Town Hostel!"

Read all Lisbon Old Town Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Breakfast, linen and internet access are included in all our fares. Lisbon Old Town Hostel reserves the right of allocation for bookings in dorms according to the rates mentioned above.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisb'on Hostel
18.80 USD

Hostel 95.1% 110 reviews
Lisbon Calling Hostel
22.11 USD

Hostel 95.4% 111 reviews
Lost Inn Lisbon
16.59 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
PH in Chiado
27.64 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Passport Lisbon Hostel
13.82 USD

Apartment 92.9% 43 reviews
Evidencia Light Sta. Catarina Hotel
20.73 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.6% 28 reviews
Hostel Inn Bairro Alto
20.73 USD

Hostel 97.7% 15 reviews
Sunset Destination Hostel
17.97 USD

Hostel 96.9% 53 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

337 out of 340 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lisbon Old Town Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
98.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 262 of 299 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Shepherd

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2014 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere! It was one of the first hostels I stayed in, but now I got a lot of comparisons and I still love to think back to Lisbon Old Town Hostel!

Disliked: Dennis left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Marsh

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean well-kept facilities, friendly and helpful staff, big rooms with comfortable beds - one of the best hostels I've been to anywhere in the world.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miriam Schaller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

12 February 2014 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was great, everything was really chilled out, the staff was friendly, each room was nicely decorated and comfortable.

Disliked: The included breakfast is not special, but still okay. It´s not really a party hostel, but you can make your own party there and nobody will complain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. The sleeping accomodation is spacious and it is in a great location five minutes walk from the Baixa-Chiado metro station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I mainly loved the staff, so helpful and the hostel was so clean and the overall atmosphere of the hostel was really nice and friendly. It had great facilities and it felt homely and there was an impressive harmony between the staff and the guests where it resembled more of a friendship.

Disliked: Did not dislike anything at all.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Fransiska Mariana

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013 Fransiska would recommend this property

Liked: Unlimited breakfast

Disliked: The location description was a bit confusing. It said: walk straight down the road while in fact we're walking 'up' the road

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Las habitaciones son muy amplias y comodas. El hostel es super lindo en general, los chicos de la recepcion con muy amables, es especial Joao, que nos recomendo muchisimos lugares donde ir y nos dio muy buenos consejos.

Disliked: Los baños eran un poco chicos para la cantidad de gente que habia.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and extremely helpful staff!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Pendleton

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Decent kitchen, really friendly staff and good rooms with breakfast and fruit store nearby

Disliked: The kitchen was not really well stocked, but sufficient for basic cooking. It's a bit of a walk from the center of town....but that's ok, all the more excuse for pastries!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people

Disliked: Not so good atmosphere

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ramona Dworschak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Ramona would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and helpful, also the hostel was in good condition.

Disliked: It was a little loud because of the squeeking old floors and the beds.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colin Raymond

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, clean, with a friendly atmosphere and staff.

Disliked: Colin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Radoslaw Kakowski

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Radoslaw would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, extremaly friendly staff :), good atmosphere

Disliked: none

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, had a nice atmosphere and a rather good breakfast

Disliked: The shower cabins were very small. Fortunately there were not many guests, because it was hard to get dressed/ undressed within the cabin

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carrie Paris

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 October 2012 Carrie would recommend this property

Liked: After traveling for quite around Europe it was so refreshing to come to a hostel where the staff takes an interest in every single traveler who walks through their doors. From the moment I entered into the cozy and inviting living room I knew that my I had chosen the right place for my stay! The location is incredible and I had no problem finding the hostel even without a map! The staff is inviting and the faciilities exceeded my expectations. For taking a break they have a warm sitting room with comfy beanbags, couches, TV/DVD player, and communal computers. During my stay I was surrounded by other passionate travelers who shared their food, wine and conversations with anyone interested. I met some lovely people and I'm left with some great memories. For those looking for a quiet, inviting hostel with a knowledgable staff in an amazing and beautiful city- this is DEFINITELY IT!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing! Even in the colder weather the beds were warm and cozy and the I never had a moment with nothing to do!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, lively with other travellers. Very friendly helpful staffs who are happy to help you with planning your trips.

Disliked: Shower room wasn't the best. Due to central location it can be loud at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Thiis a nice hostel. I stayed there for two nights, and after 20 days I had to stay again for one night in Lisbon. I chose to stay at the same hostel again. I think that it has a nice atmosphere, the staff are friendly and nice. It's clean, and I do believe that it worths its money. I would recommended to other travelers.

Disliked: I didn't like that it's a bit difficult to find from the metro stop. Specially, if you stop at "Cais do Sodre", you have to walk a hill, not the best if you carry your backpack. Also, I wouldn't recommended to people with hight fear. To go to the reception and the rooms, you have to walk in a small balcony which 1 or two floors high..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Bengel

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

03 September 2012 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent atmosphere and extremely helpful staff. Delicious breakfast was served every morning and common dinners were a great opportunity to meet other travellers. The perfect place for a perfect holiday- a home away from home!

Disliked: Rooms are very noisy as it is an antique hostel, but other travellers were very respectful and quiet after 12am.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly helpful staff. Dinner at hostel every evening. Lost of guide books and information. Spacious rooms. Exercise every day walking up the hill to the hostel :)

Disliked: Lockers a bit too small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are AWESOME- super friendly and helpful. They helped me with directions and advice for everything I wanted to do. The place itself is great, clean, hot showers, I would definitely recomend. So close to Bairro Alto for the nightlife :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Smyth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Firstly, unsure of his name but the guy on dayshift - What a legend!! He pretty much navigated my stay in Lisbon, told me what to ask for and even gave me some suggestions and advice for my continuing travels! This is a cool hostel, excellent location, didn't take the metro anywhere as all the Lisbon attractions are within walking distance, close to bars and restaurants and shops aswell. They havea cool common area with computers and free internet, dvd's, good, clean bathrooms and free breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphre, great staff, great location and good price! all we need in a hostel!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Frame

Alone

Business / conference
City break

01 July 2012 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: great location. great value. nice staff. awesome hostel!

Disliked: nothing!


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels