We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Travellers House

Hostel | Rua Augusta, number 89, 1st floor Lisbon, Portugal 1100-048

99.1% Overall Rating

957 out of 964 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2015)

Spencer Chad thinks…

"The second we walked in the door we were greeted with the excitement and kindness of old friends. The staff were above and beyond helpful throughout our stay making sure our time was utilized the…"

Read all Travellers House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept maximum of 8 guests per booking. Please note that in case you would be booking for more people, your booking will be cancelled and the 10% payment will be non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisbon RiverView Hostel
21.93 USD

Hostel 89.5% 59 reviews
SPRU Lisbon Summer Accommodation
14.26 USD

Hostel 88.6% 4 reviews
Lisbon Lounge Hostel
18.64 USD

Hostel 95.1% 321 reviews
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
29.61 USD

Hostel 96.8% 28 reviews
Artbeat Rooms
29.61 USD

Hostel 96.5% 203 reviews
Goodnight Hostel
14.26 USD

Hostel 98.2% 45 reviews
Downtown Design Hostel
20.84 USD

Hostel 85.8% 142 reviews
Home Lisbon Hostel
21.93 USD

Hostel 99.4% 73 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
99.1%

Overall Rating

957 out of 964 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers House'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
100.0%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
100.0%
Value
98.4%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 754 of 850 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Spencer Chad

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2015 Spencer would recommend this property

Liked: The second we walked in the door we were greeted with the excitement and kindness of old friends. The staff were above and beyond helpful throughout our stay making sure our time was utilized the most. Hostel had a great atmosphere to meet people and make friends. Breakfast was cooked for you in the morning and the dishes taken care of after. Everything you could think of needing as a backpacker the hostel covered it - right down to battery packs for your phone for the day. We ran into Alex on the metro on our way to the airport during his day off and he gave us both a hug and a good bye. The people here truly care. Gonzolo's nightly outings were fantastic and he is so knowledgeable.

Disliked: Spencer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Levine

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2015 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, great activities planned by hostel, great breakfast and food available, clean.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Sern Song

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015 Ben Sern would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place to stay and made even better with the helpfulness of the staff working there

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Good location and lovely staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Davis

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2015 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: João and the team are amazing and couldn't do enough to help; making my first visit to Lisbon truly memorable. Their evening activities are to be especially recommended. The hostel has a great vibe, with a warm and welcoming atmosphere. It's tastefully decorated in a beautiful, historic building. Definitely one of my top 5 hostels.

Disliked: Stephen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dakota Sands

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2015 Dakota would recommend this property

Liked: location location location

Disliked: walk up NYC apt style

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabelle Vogel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2015 Isabelle would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly located in the city center, very friendly and helpful staff, yummy breakfast and comfortable beds. We enjoyed our stay very much and always felt safe!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Hietala

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2015 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at, everything was perfect! The place looks great, the location is superb (easy to get everywhere in the city or catch a train to the beaches or Sintra), all the staff are very friendly, it's excellent value for money... You will feel at home! This is the first hostel where I've seen staff preparing the breakfast for you, made to order (your choice: eggs & bacon or crepes or granola) AND they even wash the dishes for you. The activities the hostel organizes are worth attending too!

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful staff, great central location, great free cooked breakfast, our double room was nice and spacious, towels were provided for free, they had evening activities, a comfy lounge and always someone around to explain and give directions, highly recommended.

Disliked: There could have been more showers/sinks as it got a bit crowded in the mornings. A wardrobe in our room would have been nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An awesome hostel ran by some incredible people! They are very helpful and organise events every night, which makes it really easy to meet people. Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claudia Schmid

Alone

City break

19 April 2015 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast, helpfull staff, big rooms

Disliked: --

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ayse Habibe Kucuk

Alone

City break

14 April 2015 Ayse Habibe would recommend this property

Liked: Great location , very welcoming friendly stuff , clean and stylish interior

Disliked: Nothing everything was perfect !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Alves

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 February 2015 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, colective activities, awesome location

Disliked: Felipe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place had by far the best complementary breakfast of our trip. Along with coffee and tea, they personally make each guest eggs, bacon, toast or chocolate crepes. The private rooms were great, the culture is very outgoing and they have a new event every night. When we were there they made us several different types of sausages, all you can drink wine and cheese for only 6 euros. The staff was really friendly and helped with all of our questions. We had a great time at this hostel, and I would recommend this place to anyone.

Disliked: The only negative was being on the 5th floor it was a hike up to the room every time. Other than that no complaints.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marina Miji?

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2015 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fenomenal, the breakfast is great (especially when acompanied by a comedy show by Maria - one of the staff members), our room was cute and the other facilities were also great - we spet our last evening watching movies at the TV room since our flight was in the middle of the night, and that was great. Highly recommend this place and will sure come back someday! :)

Disliked: Absolutely no bad comment ;)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The activities they run every night are great and a good way to meet people. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we had was a double private ensuite and it was amazing for a hostel, best on our while trip.

Disliked: The location is just out of the old town where you find the better bars and food.. Being winter the location was a little dead and pricey. The breakfast room furniture needs a refresh or just get rid of the bulky carpet!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really great hostel with nice People. If i am back in lisbon i will be back in this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Gregory

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2015 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this hostel were amazing. They sat us down, gave us maps of the city and explained the best way to spend the three nights we had in Lisbon. They told us about the best bars and restaurants as well as site seeing and activities. They gave us the option to eat and go out with the people from the hostel but also explained how we could do it individually if we wanted to. The day trips they recommended to us proved to be some of the best parts of our trip. The breakfast and facilities were great.

Disliked: This hostel didnt really have a party atmosphere. Families were staying here on holiday and we had a sixty-year old man in our room who turned out the lights in our room at about 10pm every night. I would recommend this hostel to those who want to get a cultural experience but not for those who want to party.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahmed Makkawi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2014 Ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: Simply everything is perfect, tours every night,very friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best places I have stayed so far. Best stuff, and different kind of activities very night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast ist blast, the staff very friendly and helpful and the activites offered by the hostel are great.

Disliked: The rooms are nice and cozy, but the air conditionar is very loud during the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John McBride

Alone

City break

22 August 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel. Joao and his team run a great hostel - clean and safe, knowledgeable and friendly staff, perfect location and superb breakfast and facilities. Can't wait to get back.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica mudryk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfast! Bacon and eggs, toast or crepes. Really delicious. Could not ask for a better location. Right on the main street, so easy to find and in the heart of the city. I could even look out at the ocean from my window. The hostel organises great activities everyday so wonderful to meet new people and have a great time. The staff are so friendly and nice. Great help and advice. The common rooms are so comfortable and have a fantastic vibe. Wifi is fantastic. Don't bother going anywhere else!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a private single room which was massive by European standards. The shared bathroom was always clean and I never had to wait for a shower. The staff was awesome with helping me plan my activities, finding veggie restaurants, navigating the transit systems, etc. LOVED: gorgeous, clean facilities, security card access to rooms, warm and helpful staff, free breakfast (eggs, toast & bacon or crepes, cereal, juice & coffee), strong wifi throughout the building, cool atmosphere, welcoming common area, guests of all ages (I'm a little older than the average hosteller and never felt out of place.) Thanks so much TH! Willow from Vancouver

Disliked: My room faced a very busy pedestrian street (Rua Augusta) which was really, really loud. For some people this would be a big problem, however I sleep with earplugs so no issues. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room that's not facing this street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JORGE MAYA

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 JORGE would recommend this property

Liked: Location is superb for everybody who travels their first time to Lisbon. Friendliness and helpfulness are marvellous and make Travellers house unique. I would greatly recommend this place. I would myself come again to Travellers House all times visiting this fabulous city.

Disliked: Nothing at all


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels