We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Travellers House

Hostel | Rua Augusta, number 89, 1st floor Lisbon, Portugal 1100-048

98.7% Overall Rating

947 out of 954 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/05/2015)

"Super friendly and helpful staff, great central location, great free cooked breakfast, our double room was nice and spacious, towels were provided for free, they had evening activities, a comfy lounge and always someone…"

Read all Travellers House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept maximum of 8 guests per booking. Please note that in case you would be booking for more people, your booking will be cancelled and the 10% payment will be non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisbon RiverView Hostel
19.74 USD

Hostel 89.5% 59 reviews
SPRU Lisbon Summer Accommodation
14.26 USD

Hostel 88.6% 4 reviews
Lisbon Lounge Hostel
15.35 USD

Hostel 95.1% 321 reviews
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
21.93 USD

Hostel 98.2% 27 reviews
Artbeat Rooms
28.52 USD

Hostel 96.7% 200 reviews
Goodnight Hostel
14.26 USD

Hostel 97.0% 40 reviews
Downtown Design Hostel
20.84 USD

Hostel 85.0% 139 reviews
Home Lisbon Hostel
15.35 USD

Hostel 99.4% 72 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
98.7%

Overall Rating

947 out of 954 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers House'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
99.2%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
100.0%
Value
99.2%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 746 of 840 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful staff, great central location, great free cooked breakfast, our double room was nice and spacious, towels were provided for free, they had evening activities, a comfy lounge and always someone around to explain and give directions, highly recommended.

Disliked: There could have been more showers/sinks as it got a bit crowded in the mornings. A wardrobe in our room would have been nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An awesome hostel ran by some incredible people! They are very helpful and organise events every night, which makes it really easy to meet people. Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claudia Schmid

Alone

City break

19 April 2015 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast, helpfull staff, big rooms

Disliked: --

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ayse Habibe Kucuk

Alone

City break

14 April 2015 Ayse Habibe would recommend this property

Liked: Great location , very welcoming friendly stuff , clean and stylish interior

Disliked: Nothing everything was perfect !

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Alves

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

23 February 2015 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, colective activities, awesome location

Disliked: Felipe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place had by far the best complementary breakfast of our trip. Along with coffee and tea, they personally make each guest eggs, bacon, toast or chocolate crepes. The private rooms were great, the culture is very outgoing and they have a new event every night. When we were there they made us several different types of sausages, all you can drink wine and cheese for only 6 euros. The staff was really friendly and helped with all of our questions. We had a great time at this hostel, and I would recommend this place to anyone.

Disliked: The only negative was being on the 5th floor it was a hike up to the room every time. Other than that no complaints.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marina Miji?

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2015 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fenomenal, the breakfast is great (especially when acompanied by a comedy show by Maria - one of the staff members), our room was cute and the other facilities were also great - we spet our last evening watching movies at the TV room since our flight was in the middle of the night, and that was great. Highly recommend this place and will sure come back someday! :)

Disliked: Absolutely no bad comment ;)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The activities they run every night are great and a good way to meet people. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we had was a double private ensuite and it was amazing for a hostel, best on our while trip.

Disliked: The location is just out of the old town where you find the better bars and food.. Being winter the location was a little dead and pricey. The breakfast room furniture needs a refresh or just get rid of the bulky carpet!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really great hostel with nice People. If i am back in lisbon i will be back in this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Gregory

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2015 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this hostel were amazing. They sat us down, gave us maps of the city and explained the best way to spend the three nights we had in Lisbon. They told us about the best bars and restaurants as well as site seeing and activities. They gave us the option to eat and go out with the people from the hostel but also explained how we could do it individually if we wanted to. The day trips they recommended to us proved to be some of the best parts of our trip. The breakfast and facilities were great.

Disliked: This hostel didnt really have a party atmosphere. Families were staying here on holiday and we had a sixty-year old man in our room who turned out the lights in our room at about 10pm every night. I would recommend this hostel to those who want to get a cultural experience but not for those who want to party.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahmed Makkawi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2014 Ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: Simply everything is perfect, tours every night,very friendly staff. Very clean and comfortable

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best places I have stayed so far. Best stuff, and different kind of activities very night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast ist blast, the staff very friendly and helpful and the activites offered by the hostel are great.

Disliked: The rooms are nice and cozy, but the air conditionar is very loud during the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John McBride

Alone

City break

22 August 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel. Joao and his team run a great hostel - clean and safe, knowledgeable and friendly staff, perfect location and superb breakfast and facilities. Can't wait to get back.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica mudryk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfast! Bacon and eggs, toast or crepes. Really delicious. Could not ask for a better location. Right on the main street, so easy to find and in the heart of the city. I could even look out at the ocean from my window. The hostel organises great activities everyday so wonderful to meet new people and have a great time. The staff are so friendly and nice. Great help and advice. The common rooms are so comfortable and have a fantastic vibe. Wifi is fantastic. Don't bother going anywhere else!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a private single room which was massive by European standards. The shared bathroom was always clean and I never had to wait for a shower. The staff was awesome with helping me plan my activities, finding veggie restaurants, navigating the transit systems, etc. LOVED: gorgeous, clean facilities, security card access to rooms, warm and helpful staff, free breakfast (eggs, toast & bacon or crepes, cereal, juice & coffee), strong wifi throughout the building, cool atmosphere, welcoming common area, guests of all ages (I'm a little older than the average hosteller and never felt out of place.) Thanks so much TH! Willow from Vancouver

Disliked: My room faced a very busy pedestrian street (Rua Augusta) which was really, really loud. For some people this would be a big problem, however I sleep with earplugs so no issues. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room that's not facing this street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JORGE MAYA

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 JORGE would recommend this property

Liked: Location is superb for everybody who travels their first time to Lisbon. Friendliness and helpfulness are marvellous and make Travellers house unique. I would greatly recommend this place. I would myself come again to Travellers House all times visiting this fabulous city.

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Travellershousehostel was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. A private double room was a bit more expensive, but the room was massive and the bed comfy. Washrooms were clean. Above all else was the staff. Juan provided friendly service and excellent advice. Included in with the hostel was excellent eggs and bacon or pancakes. Location was outstanding. Beautiful location easy access to all other areas.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good place while travel alone. Easy to get in touch with others, and the hostel events each evening makes this even more easy! The common areas are cosy, and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. When I had a whole day+evening until my plane left, they were helpful and let me have a shower in the evening ect. On asking for tips to fado or where to eat, I experienced that they dit not send us to the typically tourist place, but places they honestly liked and could recommend. The location is great! Very easy to locate on arrival and in the middle of everything.

Disliked: Nothing! If I would have to say something, the bathrooms are not very private. This was not a problem for me, but if i was shyer it might have been.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corinne Hall

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Corinne would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff. Good location. Clean room. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: Noisy air-conditioner in our room. Double room was a bit small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever stayed at! Very clean, big rooms; lovely, helpful staff. Free breakfasts and loads of night time activities!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfectly central and great people!

Disliked: noisy street

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helena Reimann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2014 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect hostel!!! The best hostel I've stayed in! The breakfast was amazing. Two nice ladies make you scrambled eggs with toast and/or pancakes with chocolate.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabina Kim

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

29 March 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Let me tell you, I don't know if all hostels in Portugal are just of higher standards, but this hostel must be the best one I have ever stayed in. This hostel is even better than staying in a hotel. The breakfast is top, you can even get freshly cooked bacon and eggs from the lovely ladies (I called them 'Mãe' - mum) or even crêpes! The common area is so lovely, the beds are super comfy, location couldn't be any better. However the best thing we liked about the hostel was the friendliness and how helpful our hosts were - each and every one of them, giving us a tour around the hostel and helping us with our luggage! We travelled as a family of 3 (ages 27, 65, 72) and we felt immediately welcomed by the crew. The travellers staying at the hostel are also very mixed (background and ages) and so we, esp. My parents did not feel excluded. They offer and organise various events and day trip. We've taken up on the day trip to the mountains, Sitra and to the beach, was soooo lovely and I've participated in the wine tasting event - marvellous. I would honestly come back to Lisboa just to stay in this hostel. Thank you everyone for making,urn experience a lasting one!!!

Disliked: nothing , everything was perfect

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The very friendly staff. They have goog tipps to have fun in the city.

Disliked: There ist nothing to dislike


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels