HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Travellers House

Hostel | Rua Augusta, number 89, 1st floor Lisbon, Portugal 1100-048

97.3% Overall Rating

917 out of 923 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/04/2014)

Helena Reimann thinks…

"Perfect hostel!!! The best hostel I've stayed in! The breakfast was amazing. Two nice ladies make you scrambled eggs with toast and/or pancakes with chocolate."

Read all Travellers House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept maximum of 8 guests per booking. Please note that in case you would be booking for more people, your booking will be cancelled and the 10% payment will be non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisbon RiverView Hostel
17.97 USD

Hostel 90.1% 50 reviews
SPRU Lisbon Summer Accommodation
17.97 USD

Hostel 86.7% 3 reviews
Lisbon Lounge Hostel
20.73 USD

Hostel 95.1% 319 reviews
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
20.73 USD

Hostel 100.0% 7 reviews
Artbeat Rooms
31.09 USD

Hostel 98.4% 175 reviews
Goodnight Hostel
19.35 USD

Hostel 95.9% 25 reviews
Downtown Design Hostel
13.82 USD

Hostel 88.7% 113 reviews
Home Lisbon Hostel
16.58 USD

Hostel 99.2% 44 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.3%

Overall Rating

917 out of 923 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers House'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
99.2%
Value
97.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 725 of 810 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfectly central and great people!

Disliked: noisy street

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helena Reimann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2014 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect hostel!!! The best hostel I've stayed in! The breakfast was amazing. Two nice ladies make you scrambled eggs with toast and/or pancakes with chocolate.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabina Kim

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

29 March 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Let me tell you, I don't know if all hostels in Portugal are just of higher standards, but this hostel must be the best one I have ever stayed in. This hostel is even better than staying in a hotel. The breakfast is top, you can even get freshly cooked bacon and eggs from the lovely ladies (I called them 'Mãe' - mum) or even crêpes! The common area is so lovely, the beds are super comfy, location couldn't be any better. However the best thing we liked about the hostel was the friendliness and how helpful our hosts were - each and every one of them, giving us a tour around the hostel and helping us with our luggage! We travelled as a family of 3 (ages 27, 65, 72) and we felt immediately welcomed by the crew. The travellers staying at the hostel are also very mixed (background and ages) and so we, esp. My parents did not feel excluded. They offer and organise various events and day trip. We've taken up on the day trip to the mountains, Sitra and to the beach, was soooo lovely and I've participated in the wine tasting event - marvellous. I would honestly come back to Lisboa just to stay in this hostel. Thank you everyone for making,urn experience a lasting one!!!

Disliked: nothing , everything was perfect

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The very friendly staff. They have goog tipps to have fun in the city.

Disliked: There ist nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin An

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: The view is incredible and the nighttime events are very entertaining.

Disliked: Erin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decoration of the lobby area was very nice. The breakfast was good and the cooking lady's were nice. It was a pretty clean place and the rooms were nice and felt clean. The bathrooms were not bad.

Disliked: The shower was pretty bad. The first time I attempted was awed il and uncomfortable. The pressure was bad and it was either too cold or too hot. The second time was better but not ideal. The windows weren't great and you could hear everything that was going on outside. Lastly, I just have to say that the your to sintra given from the hostel was a total rip off. It was 25 euro and didn't include any meal, entrance or guided tour. What did the 25 euro go to? The tour guide was very live but not very helpful, I felt like they stole my money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place is a definition of a good hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved this place.

Disliked: There is nothing I would change about my experience.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana maria Hoyos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014 Ana maria would recommend this property

Liked: Very good an very friendly staff.

Disliked: Ana maria left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Fonti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2014 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, fun environment, good breakfast and nice beds

Disliked: I paid for an extra night and it was more expensive from what I was paying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a fantastic stay! The staff were really helpful and friendly , the free breakfast was great and the place was spotless! Will definitely come back when we return to Lisbon!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Knoner Thames

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: perfect

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredible. So so helpful. Breakfast was insane (good insane). Atmosphere and facilities were excellent. Very warm.

Disliked: The shower takes a while to master - either too hot or too cold. But it's doable and definitely made up for by all the other good qualities.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulo Lopes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: O melhor hostel que eu já fiquei hospedado. A atmosfera é fantástica e o staff nota dez! Toda noite há um evento no hostel com muita adesão dos hóspedes propiciada pela constante iniciativa do staff em contribuir com uma maior interação entre as pessoas. A localização é excelente e você pode obter ótimas dicas de atrações/restaurantes/etc com o pessoal do hostel.

Disliked: A única ressalva neste hostel é quanto ao espaço reduzido nos banheiros. No entanto, isso é devido à idade do prédio que abriga o hostel (que é muito bonito!).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The entire concept was well conceived from a traveller's perspective.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel in a great location in a phenomenal city. Staff is helpful and atmosphere is relaxed and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniela Say

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: The location was incredible, right on the one of the main streets in town! The hostel has lots of activities on offer and I would highly recommend taking the 25euro tour to sinta/cabo de rocas/cacais, its good value if you can go with a group and makes transportation so much simpler.

Disliked: It was a very busy hostel of the building and the common areas aren't that spacious although and the 4 bed dorm rooms a quite cramped.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kamran Safdar

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 Kamran would recommend this property

Liked: I was greeted by João at the hostel - who gave me a great tour of the place and amazing tips for visiting Lisbon. The hostel was in a great location, a short walk from the metro and very centralised in the Baixa district of Lisbon. The hostel is very clean. The breakfast was amazing - crepes made fresh with chocolate were amazing!. The hostel run very good walking tours and and trips to Sintra. I would certainly stay here and recommended this place along my travels in Portugal.

Disliked: No elevator, but certainly not a problem asa few stairs are good exercise

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just perfect for your stay in Lisbon! One of the best hostels I've ever been to!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is the whole package- clean and safe, centrally located, attracting an amazing crowd of people... with freshly made pancakes for breakfest every morning! By far the best hostel I have ever stayed in. You rule!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the friendly staffe give very good advices where to go

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most amazing hostel I have ever stayed at! Fantastic staff, wonderful activities and great vibe! Will definitely return!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The activities they offer are brilliant and it enables you to meet other people and enjoy your stay even more. They staff are great, especially Alex but they are all so helpful and fun. Breakfast is great too!

Disliked: Nothing Except the Internet cut out sometimes but 90% of the time it was fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was expecting a lot from this hostel, considering the reviews and rewards it received. And I wasn't disappointed. The staff were fantastic. Anything we asked about they could help us with, and anything they didn't they researched it and got back to us with everything we needed. Despite the floors being squeaky and the beds being a little squeaky the rooms were really good. There was a massive storage area under the beds and an individual safe each. The breakfast was fantastic, and the dinners and activities they put on at night were really fun and great to meet other travellers. We also went on the day trip to Sintra that the hostel organised, which was definitely worth it based on the price and the ease of, the day. Especially avoiding the queues at the palace and the gardens!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great and friendly staff, really cool to hang out with. Numerous evening activities organized at affordable prices. These included an evening walk into the cultural Alfama area to listen to Fado. Also one evening there was grilled chorizos, cheese, bread and free flow of wine - which was amazing. Very very helpful staff, great location and secure. Cool lounge area with comfortable bean bags. Nice fresh breakfast, choice of either scrambled eggs or pancakes, also the standard cereals. Good reliable internet. Overall had an excellent stay, met and hung out with so many interesting people including staff members. Suitable for the solitary traveller or groups. A special mention to the ever helpful Alex and the charismatic Joao.

Disliked: Very small and thin pillow.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels