HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Travellers House

Hostel | Rua Augusta, number 89, 1st floor Lisbon, Portugal 1100-048

97.1% Overall Rating

931 out of 938 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

"The breakfast ist blast, the staff very friendly and helpful and the activites offered by the hostel are great."

Read all Travellers House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept maximum of 8 guests per booking. Please note that in case you would be booking for more people, your booking will be cancelled and the 10% payment will be non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisbon RiverView Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 91.0% 53 reviews
SPRU Lisbon Summer Accommodation
16.45 USD

Hostel 86.7% 3 reviews
Lisbon Lounge Hostel
18.98 USD

Hostel 95.1% 320 reviews
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
18.98 USD

Hostel 96.0% 20 reviews
Artbeat Rooms
31.63 USD

Hostel 97.5% 190 reviews
Goodnight Hostel
16.45 USD

Hostel 95.9% 31 reviews
Downtown Design Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 82.2% 131 reviews
Home Lisbon Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 99.5% 63 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.1%

Overall Rating

931 out of 938 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers House'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
98.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 734 of 824 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast ist blast, the staff very friendly and helpful and the activites offered by the hostel are great.

Disliked: The rooms are nice and cozy, but the air conditionar is very loud during the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John McBride

Alone

City break

22 August 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel. Joao and his team run a great hostel - clean and safe, knowledgeable and friendly staff, perfect location and superb breakfast and facilities. Can't wait to get back.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica mudryk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2014 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfast! Bacon and eggs, toast or crepes. Really delicious. Could not ask for a better location. Right on the main street, so easy to find and in the heart of the city. I could even look out at the ocean from my window. The hostel organises great activities everyday so wonderful to meet new people and have a great time. The staff are so friendly and nice. Great help and advice. The common rooms are so comfortable and have a fantastic vibe. Wifi is fantastic. Don't bother going anywhere else!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a private single room which was massive by European standards. The shared bathroom was always clean and I never had to wait for a shower. The staff was awesome with helping me plan my activities, finding veggie restaurants, navigating the transit systems, etc. LOVED: gorgeous, clean facilities, security card access to rooms, warm and helpful staff, free breakfast (eggs, toast & bacon or crepes, cereal, juice & coffee), strong wifi throughout the building, cool atmosphere, welcoming common area, guests of all ages (I'm a little older than the average hosteller and never felt out of place.) Thanks so much TH! Willow from Vancouver

Disliked: My room faced a very busy pedestrian street (Rua Augusta) which was really, really loud. For some people this would be a big problem, however I sleep with earplugs so no issues. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room that's not facing this street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JORGE MAYA

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 JORGE would recommend this property

Liked: Location is superb for everybody who travels their first time to Lisbon. Friendliness and helpfulness are marvellous and make Travellers house unique. I would greatly recommend this place. I would myself come again to Travellers House all times visiting this fabulous city.

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Travellershousehostel was one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. A private double room was a bit more expensive, but the room was massive and the bed comfy. Washrooms were clean. Above all else was the staff. Juan provided friendly service and excellent advice. Included in with the hostel was excellent eggs and bacon or pancakes. Location was outstanding. Beautiful location easy access to all other areas.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good place while travel alone. Easy to get in touch with others, and the hostel events each evening makes this even more easy! The common areas are cosy, and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. When I had a whole day+evening until my plane left, they were helpful and let me have a shower in the evening ect. On asking for tips to fado or where to eat, I experienced that they dit not send us to the typically tourist place, but places they honestly liked and could recommend. The location is great! Very easy to locate on arrival and in the middle of everything.

Disliked: Nothing! If I would have to say something, the bathrooms are not very private. This was not a problem for me, but if i was shyer it might have been.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corinne Hall

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Corinne would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff. Good location. Clean room. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: Noisy air-conditioner in our room. Double room was a bit small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever stayed at! Very clean, big rooms; lovely, helpful staff. Free breakfasts and loads of night time activities!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfectly central and great people!

Disliked: noisy street

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helena Reimann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2014 Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect hostel!!! The best hostel I've stayed in! The breakfast was amazing. Two nice ladies make you scrambled eggs with toast and/or pancakes with chocolate.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabina Kim

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

29 March 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Let me tell you, I don't know if all hostels in Portugal are just of higher standards, but this hostel must be the best one I have ever stayed in. This hostel is even better than staying in a hotel. The breakfast is top, you can even get freshly cooked bacon and eggs from the lovely ladies (I called them 'Mãe' - mum) or even crêpes! The common area is so lovely, the beds are super comfy, location couldn't be any better. However the best thing we liked about the hostel was the friendliness and how helpful our hosts were - each and every one of them, giving us a tour around the hostel and helping us with our luggage! We travelled as a family of 3 (ages 27, 65, 72) and we felt immediately welcomed by the crew. The travellers staying at the hostel are also very mixed (background and ages) and so we, esp. My parents did not feel excluded. They offer and organise various events and day trip. We've taken up on the day trip to the mountains, Sitra and to the beach, was soooo lovely and I've participated in the wine tasting event - marvellous. I would honestly come back to Lisboa just to stay in this hostel. Thank you everyone for making,urn experience a lasting one!!!

Disliked: nothing , everything was perfect

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The very friendly staff. They have goog tipps to have fun in the city.

Disliked: There ist nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin An

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: The view is incredible and the nighttime events are very entertaining.

Disliked: Erin left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decoration of the lobby area was very nice. The breakfast was good and the cooking lady's were nice. It was a pretty clean place and the rooms were nice and felt clean. The bathrooms were not bad.

Disliked: The shower was pretty bad. The first time I attempted was awed il and uncomfortable. The pressure was bad and it was either too cold or too hot. The second time was better but not ideal. The windows weren't great and you could hear everything that was going on outside. Lastly, I just have to say that the your to sintra given from the hostel was a total rip off. It was 25 euro and didn't include any meal, entrance or guided tour. What did the 25 euro go to? The tour guide was very live but not very helpful, I felt like they stole my money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place is a definition of a good hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved this place.

Disliked: There is nothing I would change about my experience.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana maria Hoyos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014 Ana maria would recommend this property

Liked: Very good an very friendly staff.

Disliked: Ana maria left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruno Fonti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2014 Bruno would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, fun environment, good breakfast and nice beds

Disliked: I paid for an extra night and it was more expensive from what I was paying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a fantastic stay! The staff were really helpful and friendly , the free breakfast was great and the place was spotless! Will definitely come back when we return to Lisbon!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Knoner Thames

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: perfect

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredible. So so helpful. Breakfast was insane (good insane). Atmosphere and facilities were excellent. Very warm.

Disliked: The shower takes a while to master - either too hot or too cold. But it's doable and definitely made up for by all the other good qualities.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulo Lopes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: O melhor hostel que eu já fiquei hospedado. A atmosfera é fantástica e o staff nota dez! Toda noite há um evento no hostel com muita adesão dos hóspedes propiciada pela constante iniciativa do staff em contribuir com uma maior interação entre as pessoas. A localização é excelente e você pode obter ótimas dicas de atrações/restaurantes/etc com o pessoal do hostel.

Disliked: A única ressalva neste hostel é quanto ao espaço reduzido nos banheiros. No entanto, isso é devido à idade do prédio que abriga o hostel (que é muito bonito!).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The entire concept was well conceived from a traveller's perspective.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel in a great location in a phenomenal city. Staff is helpful and atmosphere is relaxed and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels