HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Pouso dos Anjos Guesthouse

Hostel | Rua dos Anjos, 31, Anjos, Lisbon, Portugal 1150-034

82.9% Overall Rating

77 out of 89 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/11/2011)

Timothy Walton-Smith thinks…

"The Staff are friendly and cool. They were helpful and courteous. I liked them very much."

Read all Pouso dos Anjos Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.90
  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Cheap Hostel
24.84 USD

Hostel 86.3% 5 reviews
Perola dos Anjos Pension
17.94 USD

Guesthouse 88.3% 63 reviews
Residencial Castromira
27.60 USD

Hostel 75.7% 53 reviews
Residencial Castromira II
12.42 USD

Guesthouse 79.2% 17 reviews
Lisbon City Hotel
34.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.1% 11 reviews
Lisbon Style
26.22 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
S'Tiles
25.32 USD

Hostel 87.1% 29 reviews
Private Accomodation
20.70 USD

Apartment 77.6% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.9%

Overall Rating

77 out of 89 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Pouso dos Anjos Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 70 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

brian kearney

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 August 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: This was one of the worst hostels or guest houses that i have ever stayed in. A group of 3 had booked 3 separate rooms. we arrived at 9 pm when we got their the guy at the desk had advised me that my card had been declined and that i was lucky that he had not cancelled the reservation. I advised him that i had lost my wallet the previous week and had cancelled my credit card but thanked him for not canceling the reservation. This is when it went down hill. He then advised that he could see my 2 friends bookings but the paperwork had not come through on one of the bookings. After about 20 mins wait at reception he came back and advised that he had a solution. That we all had to stay in one room for one night & for the other 3 days we will have our own room. so out of the 3 rooms we had booked we had one. we asked what happened to the other 2 rooms he advised their was a infestation of bugs in the 2 rooms. and that they can not use those 2 rooms. we should of said goodbye at this stage but my friends had already paid in advance for their rooms. We went to the room where all 3 of us will stay and it was in the outdoor terrace where if you read prior reviews people sit out and relax smoke and drink. our room was like a garden shed in the garden with 4 beds and no towels. the noise from people in the garden was to loud and we found it very hard to sleep. the next afternoon they did provide us with 3 rooms. these rooms where basic the bathrooms had issues with the shower heads and water flowing every where. The issue with these rooms was that they where on the 1st floor and you could hear everyone walking past it sounded like a herd of elephants would pass when more than 2 walked past your room or went up or down the stairs. it was just way to noisy you will not get a good nights sleep. so when we where checking out we advised that the 1st night we where not paying full price for a shared shed/room out in the garden. We thought this would be a fair solution but they where not having any of it. after a heated conversation of over 30 mins they agreed to refund my friends 15 euros each and i had to pay full price as he claims my booking was cancelled even though he told me at the start it was not. This hostel but a complete damper on the lisbon experience my advise STAY AWAY.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Pedro Silva

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

29 May 2012 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: it's location

Disliked: cleanliness

22.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012

Liked: Fairly close to the city center and the metro station.

Disliked: The hostel is very cramped and not in a friendly area of Lisbon. There is no elevator and the rooms are small and old. The staff is totally disorganized and incapable of solving administrative problems. I booked a room and was given another which was not what I had expected - it had part of the bathroom (shower and sink) in the room, without walls to separate it from the rest of the room. It's overpriced for what it offers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Walton-Smith

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff are friendly and cool. They were helpful and courteous. I liked them very much.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike aout this place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, great breakfast, free wifi-connection, good location, good recomondations....

Disliked: ...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very neat, stylish interior, friendly people

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of staff, the location itsself and the beautiful, calmfull garden!

Disliked: There´s nothing I disliked

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: The cold in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

15 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Lovely place.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

11 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and quite large, especially when you compare it with the price you pay for it!

Disliked: It's located in a street that's located in a poor part of the city, so that brings down the beautifullness of the property.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice room

Disliked: no lift

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JORGE ANDRES DAVILA ORDOÑEZ

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

11 August 2010 JORGE ANDRES would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable

Disliked: 2€ for 30 min of internet

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful old house witha lovely relaxing garden and very friendly staff

Disliked: Take care when first locating the pplace - the other part of Rua dos Anjos across the main road is less nice!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karsten Kotsch

17 June 2010 Karsten would recommend this property

Liked: I have been there the second time and felt like coming home, the staff is so friendly, the house so peaceful and uncomplicated, I will always come back!

Disliked: Karsten left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pouso dos Anjos is full of character features and interesting things on the walls and in the public areas. I had a room at the back, overlooking the charming garden, but it wasn't that quiet because it was next to the stairwell and conversations from reception carried up the stairs and through the walls. I'd definitely stay there again, but make sure I have one of the rooms that isn't next to the stairwell.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

William Keistler

03 November 2009 William would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Helpful. Nice room. Quiet.

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Taylor

01 November 2009 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Great value and nice people - The garden was a lovely oasis!!

Disliked: Alan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful and clean room, friendly staff, great breakfast (but not earlier than 8.30), garden!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very nice place,with traditional Portuguese feeling. We were really enjoying the atmosphere, lovely and helpful staff and specially the nice garden.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well placed, close to the Metro or an easy walk downtown. Staff were very good. Room clean and comfortable. Good range of food for breakfast. Garden was a bonus.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice location with very nice garden and very halpfull staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

25 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is nice and near metro station.My room was rather big and confortable.There's a nice little garden where to rest, read or have breaksast.The room was clean but they changed bath towels only after four days; if you want a change you have to pay 2 euro!They don't have wireless internet and price to connect using hostel's PC is not cheap, 2 euro for 30 minues. There is an internet point near hotel at 50 cent for hour.Also brakfast, 5 euro, is not cheap.I think they have to include in price breakfast and changing towel daily.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mathieu Chapelle

23 August 2009 Mathieu would recommend this property

Liked: the garden is wonderful and it is close to the city center. Even if you are lazy, it is close to the metro too !

Disliked: Mathieu left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

19 August 2009

Liked: They ordered taxi to take us to casualty.Reasonable location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice value for money, location, cleaniness and services available

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels