HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lagos hostels
See all Lagos hotels

Reviews of Casa Amarela

Hostel | Rua Infante Sagres nº4 (office) nº 8 (house), Lagos, Portugal 8600

92.9% Overall Rating

106 out of 112 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/05/2013)

"Excellent, safe location (city center!), super friendly + helpful staff :), beautiful + clean rooms. We are absolutely satisfied and will definitely come back there whenever we are in Lagos :-)!"

Read all Casa Amarela reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.57

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please be very careful of people approaching you on the street offering you rooms or claiming to be from CasaAmarela, our workers always have the full name and detailed information of the guests. We are a reputable company with a good name on the market and we are fully legitimate and legally recognized. Book with us, Book with safety For Security reasons, we strongly advise you not to go with anyone on the street, always check in at the office.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lagos?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lagos

Hostel Caza de São Gonçalo
26.26 USD

Hostel 86.4% 12 reviews
Hotel Lagosmar
38.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.7% 8 reviews
Cool Guesthouse
18.38 USD

Guesthouse 83.1% 10 reviews
Casa Sousa
22.32 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 109 reviews
Caravela Hostel
11.82 USD

Guesthouse 85.5% 107 reviews
Central Guesthouse Lagos
15.76 USD

Hostel 66.4% 4 reviews
Pensao Mar Azul
32.83 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 36 reviews
Hotel Cidade Velha
36.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.7% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.9%

Overall Rating

106 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Casa Amarela'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 80 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent, safe location (city center!), super friendly + helpful staff :), beautiful + clean rooms. We are absolutely satisfied and will definitely come back there whenever we are in Lagos :-)!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Fischer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

24 June 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Ich habe noch nie so ein liebevolles Hostel gesehen. Sehr sehr sauber. Toller Garten! Und die 2 Mitarbeiterinnen sind nur der Wahnsinn!!!

Disliked: Das ich nur 4 Tage dort war

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, freindly housekeeper great hospitality, nice rooms....etc. Cleaning every day ! Good informations about the surroundings and trips around the town.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, had a fully equipped kitchen. Had a great backyard with a big table and chairs. Also a small pool and sun chairs. Was close to everything without having to hear any noise from people partying. When we arrived it wasnt actually where we were staying

Disliked: The staff didnt speak much english which wasnt a problem, but they were unable to provide any help when needed. The staff were around too much during the day. They were in the common areas for the majority of the day and were quite loud. When we arrived there was no one there to assist us. or let us in. Despite we had already told them when we were to arrive. We had to find a pay phone to call.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 November 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in an apartment for 2 ppl which was LOVELY, spacious, in a great location and fully furnished - altho the bed let the place down (looked like a small double mattress on a large single bed frame - mattress hung over the edge of the frame!). Was cleaned to a high standard each day which was great to come home to. It didn't have any heating tho and it can get quite cold at night this time of year, and if you have any queries about anything you have to call because there are no staff on site.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stefanie Luhrs

14 October 2008 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great for couples. Large bedroom, kitchen facilities and bathroom. Onwer was most helpful! Recommended great restaurants and places to see.

Disliked: Stefanie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monika Falubova

06 October 2008 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: This place is more likely hotel then hostel. We stayed in Casa Amarela, our apartment had small kitchen and bathroom. They cleaned our room every single day, put new towels etc.. This place has a back garden, grill and to our surprise small pool. Place is in the city centre, close to all bars and restaurants and it is less than 15 minuts from the beach. The stuff and owners are very helpful and just lovely, I hope I will have a chance to go back there, I just loved it!

Disliked: Monika left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mico tegeltija

16 September 2008 mico would recommend this property

Liked: location and price

Disliked: mico left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 September 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You have your own appartment with room service. Its very clean and absolutely central (there's even a shared terrace on the top of the building). And all this for not that much money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tobias Wolf

09 September 2008 Tobias would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, fantastic facilities- pool, kitchen, bbq area etcHuge room, cable tv, the list goes on...Highly recommended!

Disliked: Tobias left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carrie Tansey

05 September 2008 Carrie would recommend this property

Liked: friendly, nicest people ever....definately stay here!!!!!

Disliked: Carrie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James McDougall

02 September 2008 James would recommend this property

Liked: The room was great and the common kitchen was excellent!! The outdoor terrace was great fun and I loved firing up the barbi, we also spent some quality time in the pool, loved it, coming back next year!!

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 August 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This mother-daughter team owns three properties in Lagos which they rent out during the busy summer season, both were very welcoming and provided great information to our questions. The place where we stayed at had a shared kitchen and courtyard which I was not aware of when I booked it and it was a nice bonus. Our place was centrally located and our room had a safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heidi Blank

10 August 2008 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were great! thankyou to Venessa for being so lovely and helpful!

Disliked: Heidi left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James David

09 July 2008 James would recommend this property

Liked: Big spacious rooms. More guesthouse than hostel. B&B but without breakfast. Very comfortable and friendly.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 July 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, balcony, plum tree, helpful family running it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holly Beetham

24 June 2008 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Staying here was the highlight of our trip to Portugal! Why even consider anything else? The owners were absolutely amazing ... helpful, friendly and so generous! They have several properties offering a range of experiences. We chose their tranquil oasis ... a group of apartments all with full kitchens and access to a beautiful yard and terrace with a pool, fruit trees, BBQ and dining table. Super comfortable and the perfect place to relax. Minutes from the best beaches and the downtown for shopping and dancing. The other guests staying in the apartment complex were lovely and we could easily choose to socialize with them or enjoy the privacy of our own quarters - the best of both worlds. Unbelievable value, super clean and so relaxing. The owners were enthusiastic hosts and they really went out of their way to take care of us. Why book anywhere else? Also, I loved little visits in the yard from the neighbourhood cat I named "Blackie" ... he is a real little treasure if you feeling at all homesick for your pets.

Disliked: Holly left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best place I have ever stayed at, extremely helpful and friendly owner lady who speaks excellent english.Will surely return to Lagos and Casa Amarela

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

vivian ojeda

09 June 2008 vivian would recommend this property

Liked: The nicest couple (you will ever meet) own these guesthouses and will try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The apartment has everything you would need .Definitely a place to be recommended

Disliked: vivian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was working well in this place, location was really in the center of a town. It was comfortable and clean but still very cosy. And the couple runing the place were great !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

david emery

13 May 2008

Liked: clean and good value, but felt isolated.

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taylor Steffan

11 May 2008 Taylor would recommend this property

Liked: ideal location, super helpful staff, stayed in an adorable apartment for a great value --- we were there only 2 nites and on they came in and cleaned it for us while we at the beach the first day. trust their restaurant recommendations- so good! only complaint- they said check out by noon so we got up early to check out ahead of time and have a full day at the beach but no one showed up at the office until 1220, so we had to wait. also, the showers run out of hot water so if you have a few people with you, scatter your shower times. still my best hostel experience to date!

Disliked: Taylor left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzy Cragg

08 May 2008 Suzy would recommend this property

Liked: The swimming pool and outside area

Disliked: Suzy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They showed us how to get to places and helped us find cheap but amazing places to eat and one of the people in our group couldn´t come and they got us a different room so we didn´t have to pay as much.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Antonio Vieira

05 May 2008 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the city center.

Disliked: Antonio left no negative feedback.


See all Lagos hostels
See all Lagos hotels