HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Faro hostels

Reviews of Residencial Dandy

Guesthouse | Rua Filipe Alistão n.º 62, 1º, Faro, Portugal 8000-343

68.5% Overall Rating

155 out of 195 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2014)

"Good value accommodation located centrally in the old town within a couple of minutes walking distance to the train and bus station."

Read all Residencial Dandy reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Faro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Faro

Hotel Faro
84.36 USD

Hotel 4 star 86.7% 3 reviews
Faro Central Guesthouse
22.09 USD

Guesthouse 69.9% 41 reviews
Hotel Residencial S. Algarve
32.47 USD

Hostel 88.3% 92 reviews
Baixa-Portugal Terrace Hostel
36.15 USD

Hostel 96.6% 34 reviews
Hotel Santa Maria
66.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 3 reviews
Guesthouse São Filipe
29.46 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 76 reviews
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
30.13 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.7% 19 reviews
Casa d'Alagoa
26.78 USD

Hostel 94.3% 135 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.5%

Overall Rating

155 out of 195 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Residencial Dandy'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
60.0%
Value
67.2%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 142 of 184 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: It is right by the central bus station amd right in the center of the old town

Disliked: Rooms are really small, wifi doesnt work in rooms but only on the roof of the hotel which is quite weird, generally price is a bit too high as other hotels in same price offer way better rooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value accommodation located centrally in the old town within a couple of minutes walking distance to the train and bus station.

Disliked: It is basic and old fashioned but good value.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014

Liked: Cheap, funny little Portuguese hostel. Cheap. Traditional decor and lovely skylight window.

Disliked: Guy who runs it was a bit grumpy but that was fine, everything was what I expected for the price apart from my room was in the basement and so I woke up in pitch black, which I would not recommend. Quite claustrophobic and the only light was horrible.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

20 May 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything. The porter was extremely rude, unhelpful and overall ruined my experience. The door to my room was off the hinges when I arrived and when I complained the man blamed me. The water to the building stopped running and again, when I asked about it the man 1) Blamed me, 2) Told me it wasn't his problem. There was no wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby with the same man who was completely unpleasant. The windows, doors, walls, etc were not sounds proof and you could hear every single thing that happened outside (and its on a rather rowdy street). I've stayed in a lot of hostels over the past few months and this was by far the worst. And honestly, it ruined my time in Faro.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 May 2014

Liked: Nice building

Disliked: The pórter was rude and unfriendly. He told me not to put my bag on the bed and charged me double . He said he was confused regarding the bill.- and did amend it but became unfriendly when i had to pay with card not euros.the room was nice but later pervaded with a horrible smell.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Einar Davidsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2014 Einar would recommend this property

Liked: I am actually still staying here at the Residential Dandy and today is the 31st of january. Very central in Faro, but no noise or any unplesantness. This is off season when i am writing this and the place is perfect for me spending a prolonged holiday in Portugal. Good value for the money. Helpful staff. Oldfashioned, but everything is working, like TV, Internet, and warm water etc. To me quiet and no stress surroundings is a must and that is absolutely the case here.

Disliked: Nothing much to dislike unless you crave luxury and would like to spend a lot more money. I inquired at other hotels near by and this is by far the cheapest.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

martin hanley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 martin would recommend this property

Liked: it is central old and nice price

Disliked: no kettle in the room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

leon Murray

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013

Liked: great location and in a quiet area... friendly staff

Disliked: I seen the other rooms at DANDY and they looked nice. However the room they put me in I felt was like a cell room and down stairs in a corner, i felt like because I was only there 1 night i didn't matter, very old style room, other peoples hairs on bed, no remote for the tv and felt I may disturb the others as it was loud and couldn't turn it down. The shower room was near my room and not bad but rusty poles and quite out dated. To be honest I stayed in BETTER hostels for less during the rest of my trip, also if there was meals provided I never knew about them, I feel bad about this review because of the price bracket but I just had to let you know the truth about my stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, close to the Marina and old town

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pontus Eriksson

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2013 Pontus would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the most and especially transportation.

Disliked: It was just a little bit weird.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fridge, microwave and ice machine are available for the guests in a common place.

Disliked: the owner is rude and the service slow... we were waiting 30 minutes for him to give us a room, after have heard he did not have any room more, because we have booked only 2 days previously (it does not make sense).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Coel Jordan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Coel would recommend this property

Liked: It was very traditional. The hostel was very clean.

Disliked: The wifi did not work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SIMON PORTER

Alone

Relaxation/spa

10 July 2013 SIMON would recommend this property

Liked: LOVELY AND QUIET LOVELY NIGHTS SLEEP THANK YOU TO ALL

Disliked: SIMON left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gabriela Vilimkova

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: We were positively surprised by the cooking facilities (not a real kitchen, rather a small area on the balcony). It was really, really close to the town centre and to the port.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Typical portuguese old fashion style residence

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013

Liked: The location is pretty good. It's placed directly at the harbor and the pedestrian zone in the city center. As Faro is kind of small, you can reach everything on foot from the hostel. It has some charme, the interior reminds of an old English residence. The free wi-fi is a nice service, but not available in all rooms. The hostel is quite clean.

Disliked: The service could be better. English is very rare, they are not the most friendly guys on earth. Everything is old, especially the bathroom: It's rusty and not in a good condition (but it's clean!). Rooms without windows have no air conditioning. So it might get quite hot in there. Wi-Fi isn't available in all rooms, only in the chill-out-area.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property has so much character, you really feel as though you are staying in a real Portuguese home complete with ornaments and indoor plants. Despite the extra decorations around the place it maintains a very clean environment, our room and the shared bathroom were kept impeccably clean. Great location within walking distance to the train & bus station, lots of cages & restaurants and tourist attractions. Quiet.

Disliked: The staff were efficient but slightly cold on our arrival. I guess it was to be fair as we arrived after midnight but we were hushed every step we took and even setting our heavy bags down as gently as possible drew a stern look and a short, sharp "shhh!" Also, although the front door could shut it was mostly left open and we walked in and out not seeing any members of staff during most of our stay. I didn't feel unsafe but could see how at a busier time of year this could be seen as insecure.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An old fashioned interior has its charm! :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brooke cleggett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 brooke would recommend this property

Liked: I would describe this accommodation as more of a hotel than hostel . Good location 2 mins walk to the bus . The room had a fridge and cable tv which was unexpected and the room was cleaned each day by staff .

Disliked: brooke left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013

Liked: Central location - the other hostel where they found me a room at last was just as central.

Disliked: Beware that when you make a booking for this hostel, the staff at Residencial Dandy don't actually reserve a room or bed for you! When I and another couple checked in, the landlord made a few phone calls to find a place for the couple, even though they, just like me, had made a reservation. He then disappeared with them to another hostel to show them where he'd found a room for them. After some time he came back and told me there was no other room, would I like to share with another girl? I'd booked a single room, which I told him. His English was very basic, and he certainly hadn't seen the need to learn the word "sorry". He was prepared to give me only a three-euro discount for sharing a room rather than having a single room, otherwise he threatened that there would be no room for me at all! This was after ten o'clock at night, so I decided to accept. He then asked another girl if she could share her room with me, but she had booked a single room too and said no. Then the landlord seemed very angry with both of us. He made some more phone calls and found me another single room in another hostel after all, where he led me grumbling and in a foul mood. The room there was okay (and the receptionist was friendly and spoke English), but I thought it was extremely unprofessional of the first hostel's landlord.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: old style, too many artificial flowers and other things. no help from the staff

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the bus station, so it is very convenient if you arrive to Faro by bus. It is in an ok building, and has a security system. Rooms are small but very clean and with small balcony, which is great. In our room we had a fridge, so that was really cool.

Disliked: It is not a party hostel, it is very quiet, someone could like it, but if you are looking for a hostel where you can meet a lot of party people, than this is not a place for you

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable basic accommodation in a good area and free internet

Disliked: Hosts spoke very little English but we managed fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ZUZANA PRAZENICOVA

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

04 August 2012 ZUZANA would recommend this property

Liked: This property has got a great deal of character is beutifully furnished with a old furniture which gaves its potential. it is family run hotel. Very nice would stay again :-)

Disliked: ZUZANA left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Had to share bathroom


See all Faro hostels