HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Faro hostels

Reviews of Residencial Dandy

Guesthouse | Rua Filipe Alistão n.º 62, 1º, Faro, Portugal 8000-343

73.9% Overall Rating

153 out of 188 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/01/2014)

Einar Davidsen thinks…

"I am actually still staying here at the Residential Dandy and today is the 31st of january. Very central in Faro, but no noise or any unplesantness. This is off season when i am writing this and the…"

Read all Residencial Dandy reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Faro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Faro

Hotel Faro
73.83 USD

Hotel 4 star 86.7% 3 reviews
Faro Central Guesthouse
13.73 USD

Guesthouse 65.9% 32 reviews
Hotel Residencial S. Algarve
25.88 USD

Hostel 88.3% 92 reviews
Baixa-Portugal Terrace Hostel
23.46 USD

Hostel 96.7% 28 reviews
Hotel Santa Maria
69.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 3 reviews
Guesthouse São Filipe
20.01 USD

Guesthouse 81.6% 75 reviews
Best Western Hotel Dom Bernardo
31.05 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 18 reviews
Casa d'Alagoa
19.32 USD

Hostel 94.1% 124 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.9%

Overall Rating

153 out of 188 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Residencial Dandy'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
63.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 137 of 177 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Einar Davidsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2014 Einar would recommend this property

Liked: I am actually still staying here at the Residential Dandy and today is the 31st of january. Very central in Faro, but no noise or any unplesantness. This is off season when i am writing this and the place is perfect for me spending a prolonged holiday in Portugal. Good value for the money. Helpful staff. Oldfashioned, but everything is working, like TV, Internet, and warm water etc. To me quiet and no stress surroundings is a must and that is absolutely the case here.

Disliked: Nothing much to dislike unless you crave luxury and would like to spend a lot more money. I inquired at other hotels near by and this is by far the cheapest.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

martin hanley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 martin would recommend this property

Liked: it is central old and nice price

Disliked: no kettle in the room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

leon Murray

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013

Liked: great location and in a quiet area... friendly staff

Disliked: I seen the other rooms at DANDY and they looked nice. However the room they put me in I felt was like a cell room and down stairs in a corner, i felt like because I was only there 1 night i didn't matter, very old style room, other peoples hairs on bed, no remote for the tv and felt I may disturb the others as it was loud and couldn't turn it down. The shower room was near my room and not bad but rusty poles and quite out dated. To be honest I stayed in BETTER hostels for less during the rest of my trip, also if there was meals provided I never knew about them, I feel bad about this review because of the price bracket but I just had to let you know the truth about my stay

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, close to the Marina and old town

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pontus Eriksson

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2013 Pontus would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the most and especially transportation.

Disliked: It was just a little bit weird.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fridge, microwave and ice machine are available for the guests in a common place.

Disliked: the owner is rude and the service slow... we were waiting 30 minutes for him to give us a room, after have heard he did not have any room more, because we have booked only 2 days previously (it does not make sense).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Coel Jordan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Coel would recommend this property

Liked: It was very traditional. The hostel was very clean.

Disliked: The wifi did not work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SIMON PORTER

Alone

Relaxation/spa

10 July 2013 SIMON would recommend this property

Liked: LOVELY AND QUIET LOVELY NIGHTS SLEEP THANK YOU TO ALL

Disliked: SIMON left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gabriela Vilimkova

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2013 Gabriela would recommend this property

Liked: We were positively surprised by the cooking facilities (not a real kitchen, rather a small area on the balcony). It was really, really close to the town centre and to the port.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

22 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Typical portuguese old fashion style residence

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013

Liked: The location is pretty good. It's placed directly at the harbor and the pedestrian zone in the city center. As Faro is kind of small, you can reach everything on foot from the hostel. It has some charme, the interior reminds of an old English residence. The free wi-fi is a nice service, but not available in all rooms. The hostel is quite clean.

Disliked: The service could be better. English is very rare, they are not the most friendly guys on earth. Everything is old, especially the bathroom: It's rusty and not in a good condition (but it's clean!). Rooms without windows have no air conditioning. So it might get quite hot in there. Wi-Fi isn't available in all rooms, only in the chill-out-area.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property has so much character, you really feel as though you are staying in a real Portuguese home complete with ornaments and indoor plants. Despite the extra decorations around the place it maintains a very clean environment, our room and the shared bathroom were kept impeccably clean. Great location within walking distance to the train & bus station, lots of cages & restaurants and tourist attractions. Quiet.

Disliked: The staff were efficient but slightly cold on our arrival. I guess it was to be fair as we arrived after midnight but we were hushed every step we took and even setting our heavy bags down as gently as possible drew a stern look and a short, sharp "shhh!" Also, although the front door could shut it was mostly left open and we walked in and out not seeing any members of staff during most of our stay. I didn't feel unsafe but could see how at a busier time of year this could be seen as insecure.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An old fashioned interior has its charm! :-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

brooke cleggett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 brooke would recommend this property

Liked: I would describe this accommodation as more of a hotel than hostel . Good location 2 mins walk to the bus . The room had a fridge and cable tv which was unexpected and the room was cleaned each day by staff .

Disliked: brooke left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013

Liked: Central location - the other hostel where they found me a room at last was just as central.

Disliked: Beware that when you make a booking for this hostel, the staff at Residencial Dandy don't actually reserve a room or bed for you! When I and another couple checked in, the landlord made a few phone calls to find a place for the couple, even though they, just like me, had made a reservation. He then disappeared with them to another hostel to show them where he'd found a room for them. After some time he came back and told me there was no other room, would I like to share with another girl? I'd booked a single room, which I told him. His English was very basic, and he certainly hadn't seen the need to learn the word "sorry". He was prepared to give me only a three-euro discount for sharing a room rather than having a single room, otherwise he threatened that there would be no room for me at all! This was after ten o'clock at night, so I decided to accept. He then asked another girl if she could share her room with me, but she had booked a single room too and said no. Then the landlord seemed very angry with both of us. He made some more phone calls and found me another single room in another hostel after all, where he led me grumbling and in a foul mood. The room there was okay (and the receptionist was friendly and spoke English), but I thought it was extremely unprofessional of the first hostel's landlord.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: old style, too many artificial flowers and other things. no help from the staff

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to the bus station, so it is very convenient if you arrive to Faro by bus. It is in an ok building, and has a security system. Rooms are small but very clean and with small balcony, which is great. In our room we had a fridge, so that was really cool.

Disliked: It is not a party hostel, it is very quiet, someone could like it, but if you are looking for a hostel where you can meet a lot of party people, than this is not a place for you

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable basic accommodation in a good area and free internet

Disliked: Hosts spoke very little English but we managed fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ZUZANA PRAZENICOVA

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

04 August 2012 ZUZANA would recommend this property

Liked: This property has got a great deal of character is beutifully furnished with a old furniture which gaves its potential. it is family run hotel. Very nice would stay again :-)

Disliked: ZUZANA left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Had to share bathroom

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

27 July 2012

Liked: it offered me a single room rate

Disliked: The room had no windows, generally the place had a chaotic feel to it. I asked the reception to order me a taxi which they forgot to do.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Rubeena Nisha

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Rubeena would recommend this property

Liked: The bedrooms were nice. They were cosy and had character. They were also quite clean and the sheets were changed whilst we were there. It was in a good location and easy to find. Easy access to the rest of Faro.

Disliked: The people didn't really speak english in the hostel. They could not facilitate an upgrade to en suite. The wireless didn't work reliably. They locked the front door so you had to ring a bell to be let in and the staff were less than friendly about letting me back in. That was a big flaw-unfriendly staff. The whole place was a little bit spooky like the atmosphere wasn't great and like we paid 23 pounds per head per night and in the UK you could get an alright hotel for that with friendly staff so I'm not sure it was worth the money. For this price i'd also expect en suite. Not close to the beach (30 min bus ride) it says that it's close to the airport but it's not really it's about 30 minutes on a bus.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Max Harrison

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

05 July 2012 Max would recommend this property

Liked: This is a beautiful period property - staircases everywhere and character coming out of every nook and cranny! The receptionist was lovely, her english was fantastic but it didnt need to be - she understood us and we understood her which is all you need. The room was very well equipped, bed was confortable, everything was clean and ready for us. She helped us find a wonderful restaurant (Taco Y Tequila - brilliant mexican food, friendly, fun loving staff and extremely generous) as well as this she helped us with a taxi in the morning but tried to help us save money by providing all the bus details you could need for Faro. All in all, it was great - if/when I go back to Faro I will be stayin here.

Disliked: nothing, it was lovely.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the friendliness

Disliked: the beds were very hard to sleep on, not so good for your back

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location not even 10 min's to the bus station. Very clean room with big bed and fridge/TV.

Disliked: The owner barely muttered 2 words to us, sure we can't speak Portugese but he could of cracked a smile.


See all Faro hostels