We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Faro hostels

Reviews of Hotel Monaco

Hostel | Rua João Batista Severino, Urb. Monte da Ria - Montenegro, Faro, Portugal 8005-237 Faro

86.9% Overall Rating

54 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2013)

DAWN SHORT thinks…

"We had a five day break here - the staff were wonderful - helpful and informative. The location is great served by regular buses to town, beach and airport. The pool area was clean and well looked…"

Read all Hotel Monaco reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Faro?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Faro

Rialgarve
16.45 USD

Guesthouse 90.2% 9 reviews
Hospedaria Frangaria
50.60 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.1% 62 reviews
Hostel 33
15.18 USD

Hostel 94.7% 49 reviews
Sleepin Faro
10.12 USD

Hostel 65.5% 59 reviews
Guesthouse São Filipe
13.92 USD

Guesthouse 80.6% 79 reviews
Hotel Residencial S. Algarve
22.14 USD

Hostel 88.3% 92 reviews
Faro Central Guesthouse
10.12 USD

Guesthouse 73.7% 45 reviews
1878 Hostel
14.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

54 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Monaco'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 37 of 53 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JOHN HILL

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 JOHN would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No food in evening

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DAWN SHORT

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 DAWN would recommend this property

Liked: We had a five day break here - the staff were wonderful - helpful and informative. The location is great served by regular buses to town, beach and airport. The pool area was clean and well looked after. The room and facilites perfect. The barman in particular was very good - making excellent Sangria and caipirinha :) Would definately return.

Disliked: Having to go home!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anna Blausz

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 July 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Generally ok

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was nice to get breakfast, close to the airport

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ornella Ngomba Kalonji

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 June 2013 Ornella would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived and received a warm welcome (in English!). Our room was clean, just a little bit of dust in the drawers in the closet. For the rest for cleanliness it was perfect. Every morning we got the best breakfast you can have for free. There is a free shuttle to airport, beach and downtown Faro. There is a bus stop 2min away, but you can easily walk to the mall. The pool is clean and big enough. The staff (reception, bar/lounge, breakfast room, drivers AND cleaning ladies) was polite and very helpful. We didn't even use many of the services this hotel offers, but I am sure it would have been as good as the ones we did use. I had a great stay. It was more than worth the money and I would recomand this to everyone who needs a break.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's convenience for Faro Airport

Disliked: nothing it served the purpose an overnight stop before a early flight

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was clean and great value. We stayed on 4th May 2013. For £30 we had bed and breakfast and a free shuttle to the airport. It was a nice hotel with a small pool. It even had a spa although I never tried it. If I return to the Algarve i will definitely stay here

Disliked: I would have liked a restaurant although there is a good cheap self service place only a few minutes away. The drinks in the bar were just a little expensive but it is a hotel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Timr

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: a pool, perfect clean room, willing staff

Disliked: nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013

Liked: Nothing absolutely good

Disliked: Air-conditioning was not working in the room and the reception did not even bother to explain. Arrived in the room with the bed not done, there were no pillows. The toilet is very cramp and the hair dryer is just ridiculous.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very comfortable and clean for that price

Disliked: The hotel is a little bit afar from the city center, but on the other hand near to the airport (about half an hour walking)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john scard

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 March 2013 john would recommend this property

Liked: Close to airport, spotlessly clean and knowledgable staff.

Disliked: The only fault I could find was that the remote for the tv didn't work.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was less than 10mins drive from Faro airport as well as 10mins taxi drive into faro town center

Disliked: limited room service in regards to ordering dinner and no off season access to the pool

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sara scarboro

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012 sara would recommend this property

Liked: good budget hotel.. close to airport

Disliked: average room service food

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really close to the airport and we got a free lift there in the morning.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool is a lovely place to unwind and take time out from travelling.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for airport and easy to drive into Faro. Our bedroom on the 4th floor was modern and well equipped. The pool was a bonus with its pleasant garden.

Disliked: The dining room in the basement was depressing and dated. The breakfast was adequate but dull with tinned fruit and orange squash in a country with so many beautiful fresh oranges.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Lister

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at this hotel at the end of our holiday and it was so great to stay somewhere so friendly, clean, equipped and helpful after staying a a 'less than equipped' Hostel in Sevilla! The Hotel is located very close to the Airport (it cost us 5.50 Euros in the taxi) and they have their own private FREE bus to the beach and to Faro town centre which go and come back at a couple of different times a day and to be honest, if you want to stay in Faro later to have some drinks, its only a short public bus ride (1.80 Euro) to the area (Montenegro) and then a 5 minute walk to the hotel from the bus stop. Or of course you could catch a taxi which is only about 8 Euro. The Hotel itself isn't swanky as such but it's looked after nicely and they have a bar that serves salads, pizza and burgers until late. The Breakfast is decent - self serve - Croissants, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, scrambled egg, sausages, toast, coffee, tea, (weird tasting) Juice etc. The Pool looked amazing........but we didnt have time to try it :( The staff are lovely and they even gave us a packed lunch as we were leaving too early to have our free breakfast on our last morning. It's basically a nice hotel with hostel prices and I would definitely stay here again. PS don't be put off by it's non-central location, it's SO easy to get around what with the free bus and the close proximity to public transport.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a typical hotel so don't expect lots of young people hanging around and hostel organized activities. Close the airport (bus, taxi - 6eur) and the Praia de Faro (about 2km from the airport), close to car rental companies if you need to return your car. We got clean room with the bathroom, terrace, air conditioning, there is quite nice swimming pool, free parking places in the front of the building. They offer a free bus to the city and to the beach. Very good deal for such a money.

Disliked: No free wifi.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Cuff

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break

23 July 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful reception staff. Excellent pool area for a very hot day. Comfortable, clean rooms. Great location near airport for short stays, easily accessible for other transport as well.

Disliked: Not a thing.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Countess Barbara Blair

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

20 July 2011 Countess Barbara would recommend this property

Liked: Location was near to the Motorbike Rally site. Nice pool area. The staff are very friendly and helpful apart from one new member of staff who was very rude and unhelpful.

Disliked: Had a problem with Bed Bugs and had to move rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for over night stay near airport

Disliked: Nil

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really good place to stay if you are flying out of Faro. It isnt very close to anything but the airport. It is only an 8 euro taxi ride from the bus station though. The hotel is very relaxing and they let me hang out by the pool and in the bar until my flight. They also gave me late check out. Would definitely recommend this hotel to people wanting some quiet time and that are waiting to catch a flight.

Disliked: Not close to the centre of town.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

joanne mcanuff

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

16 April 2011 joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The view from my own private balcony, the mini bar and the spaciousness of the room.

Disliked: The pool is a bit small and cold but beach is accessible by bus quite easily

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful and happy reception staff. Room had great view.

Disliked: Air conditioning in our room noisy.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the airport

Disliked: Taxi to airport is expensive


See all Faro hostels