We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Good Bye Lenin Hostel

Hostel | Ul. Chlabowka 44, Jaszczurowka, Zakopane, Poland 34-500

93.9% Overall Rating

240 out of 245 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2014)

Sarah Smith thinks…

"This is the best hostel I've stayed in so far by a long stretch, and I can't imagine how any others could beat it in terms of homeliness, atmosphere, staff and character, not to mention location.…"

Read all Good Bye Lenin Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 48.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zakopane?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zakopane

Pensjonat u Ani
19.30 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Guesthouse Benita
10.59 USD

Apartment 91.7% 46 reviews
Hotel Murowanica
41.11 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Target Hostel
10.59 USD

Hostel 93.1% 59 reviews
villa Toscana
30.27 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hostel Stara Polana
9.08 USD

Hostel 90.5% 372 reviews
Top Hostel
8.99 USD

Hostel 89.0% 24 reviews
Helios Hotel
42.38 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

240 out of 245 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Good Bye Lenin Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 203 of 222 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I've stayed in so far by a long stretch, and I can't imagine how any others could beat it in terms of homeliness, atmosphere, staff and character, not to mention location. There's really no way it could be any better. 9 euros is an insane price for such a stunning setting, great rooms, free breakfasts and social aspect. The hostel is tucked away in a peaceful woodland less than 5 minutes walk from the entrance to the national park, and 2 minutes to the bus stop into Zakopane or to Morskie Oko. It has everything you could possibly need, and a spacious outdoor area which is great in warmer weather.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Louise Harris

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: 3rd time we have stayed here. Nice hostel. We got a good nights sleep on comfy beds and the hostel itself still has lovely character and uniqueness, but...

Disliked: breakfast used to be much better, more choice as well as juice and chilled milk for cereal which wasn't available this time. Some of the décor has been removed and this spoils the atmosphere quite a bit. There used to be a very good rule about taking shoes off when you enter the front door to avoid dirt in the rooms, however this is no longer enforced meaning that floors in rooms are dirtier and especially bathroom floor! There also used to be a decent selection of drinks available for purchase in the hostel, but now there are none, just a small selection of food. If you want drinks you will need to walk 10-15min down the hill to the nearest shop. Overall, not a "bad" experience, but certainly not the excellent experience we have had in the past!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilary Cant

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere, close to the mountains, comfy beds, great little hostel, helpful staff for local areas :)

Disliked: Kitchen was great but a little small

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a fantastic stay. There is a living room area where everyone hangs out together at the hostel, which immediately makes it more welcoming than other places. The staff and volunteers make it a really special place. We ended up staying an extra night and got to know these people really well and had some great times with them. A lovely place to stay - strongly recommended!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arpit AGARWAL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 June 2014 Arpit would recommend this property

Liked: A true friendly environment with a feel of living with friends, at home. Staff is super friendly, location is amazing. A place for travellers and run by Travellers. Its scores 10/10. If you dont like meeting new people, socializing with strangers, have fun together, dont visit them.

Disliked: Arpit left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Leach

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: My partner and I stayed in the double private room which had great views of the surroundings, as the hostel is nestled within the forest away from the busy centre of Zakopane. The hostel has a beautiful timber interior and is full of Zakopane charm, with a lounge area which is great for meeting other travellers. The staff were incredibly helpful - providing us with information for hikes and even offering us a lift! We would have stayed longer had we not already made a reservation at our next hostel.

Disliked: Samuel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fatih Ertem

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 May 2014 Fatih would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, clean places, hot water, silence and safety

Disliked: Bad road of entrance

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Meyer

Alone

Relaxation/spa

19 May 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. Unfortunately it rained most of the time I was there but I was given some rain gear and boots that other quest had left at the hostel so that helped a lot. Hostel is about 15 min walk from the center but overall the location is really great especially if your there to hike and spend time in the mountains

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful wooden hostel at the foot of the Tatra National Park. We had the double room upstairs, which was perfect!

Disliked: Nada.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff! we wanted somewhere close to nosal ski slope and somehwere out of town with a bit of character and chose the hostel because of the beautiful surroundings. Not too far from the town by bus which can be caught just down the road.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beatiful room, clean, great atmosphere, beatiful area

Disliked: a bit far from the centre.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Monica Valtierra

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 February 2014 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: Is a cozy cabain in the middle of the mountain, very comfortable and relaxing.

Disliked: It was far away from the centrum

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maryia Babenka

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2014 Maryia would recommend this property

Liked: Most af all - the warm and cosy, home-like atmosphere at the hostel!

Disliked: there wasn't and wardrobe and curtains at the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap. friendly, helpful staff. quite far from the centre of zakopane and the better ski slopes but a nice location in mountain scenery.

Disliked: it felt a bit like crashing at a freshers student's house.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Callum Quigley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 October 2013 Callum would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, friendly helpful staff, nice and clean rooms and facilities. Stan, the owner even drove myself and my girlfriend to Poprad across the border so we didn't have to pay a full taxi fare which was very kind of him.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Attard Montalto

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 September 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel was very picturesque and situated close to the starting point of several hiking routes.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This a nice place, worth a visit

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and great atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taylor Eisenman

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2013 Taylor would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Nice facilities.

Disliked: Taylor left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy feel. Beds/Bathrooms/Lockers/Computer/Wifi all available in fully adaequat condition.

Disliked: Kitchen facilities bit small.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

julie ho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2013 julie would recommend this property

Liked: Location of the hostel is situted in the mountain range and ideal for the hiking paths! I stayed here for 4 nights and wished I had stayed longer. The facilities were always clean and the staff was friendly. If you're looking for a place to enjoy nature, relax, and clear your mind, GBL hostel is the place to go! A bus ride away from Krakow and another short commute to the hostel. I recommend this place to everyone!

Disliked: That I had to check out :(

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely location, friendly staff, homey vibe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly stuff in the hostel and a really charming atmosphere there. Plus, it's very close to Tatra National Park.

Disliked: Small things, like there were no table in my room and that bathroom door were difficult to unlock but otherwise, it was great.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Good Bye Lenin Hostel in February with two friends of mine and we had a lovely time. it's a lovely hostel, warn and charming. The rooms are very clean, spacious and comfy beds. Staff were amazing, we had a great couple of evenings chatting and spending time all together. Would recommend it to everybody, fantastic hostel and great location. Not far from ski slopes or from walking trails :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Yap Hon Sheng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 April 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Goodbye Lenin Hostel is among the best hostel I've stayed in. Why? 1. Great First Impression: I was pleasantly surprised to receive two welcome email from them. The first provides detailed direction on how to get to the hostel; the second provides a list of activities available in Zakopane. 2. Friendly Staff: I met a total of 3 Staff at Goodbye Lenin Hostel and all of them were fantastic. We chatted as my friends and I prepared dinner, they suggested some fantastic restaurants to try out and offered advice on the different Ski slopes in Zakopane. 3. Great Facilities and Services: Well-equipped Kitchen, decent complimentary breakfast and Ski & Snowboarding equipment & attire

Disliked: Kevin left no negative feedback.