We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Warsaw hostels
See all Warsaw hotels

Reviews of Hostel Helvetia

Hostel | ul. Kopernika 36/40, (entrance located on, Sewerynow Street) Warsaw, Poland 00-924

89.1% Overall Rating

331 out of 344 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/05/2015)

"The location is excellent and can't be beat. It's close to the center, but just a few blocks away so it's not too loud at night."

Read all Hostel Helvetia reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Warsaw?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Warsaw

Helvetia Plus - double rooms
13.15 USD

Hostel 89.0% 36 reviews
Fest Hostel
13.15 USD

Hostel 97.1% 17 reviews
The Warsaw Hostel
10.52 USD

Hostel 85.0% 59 reviews
Hostel AGA
10.52 USD

Hostel 85.7% 32 reviews
MOON HOSTEL
8.54 USD

Hostel 88.1% 85 reviews
Tatamka Apartment
19.72 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Tatamka Hostel
7.89 USD

Hostel 89.3% 805 reviews
Royal Route Residence
25.04 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

331 out of 344 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Helvetia'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 249 of 280 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2015

Liked: The location is excellent and can't be beat. It's close to the center, but just a few blocks away so it's not too loud at night.

Disliked: I felt like the price was high for an average hostel. The rooms and bathrooms were nothing special. Also for the price you pay, breakfast is not up to par with other hostels I've stayed at for the same price. All you get is cereal and bread with coffee or tea. Other places offer meat, cheeses, and veggies/fruits but if you want that here you have to pay even more. I'm surprised that it's won the value award so many times. Also they tell you to book directly with the hostel, which is fine. But then they ask you to make sure to write a review on the booking site you used. If the booking sites are screwing them over so much, then maybe they should think of different ways to reach their customers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Cornes

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2015 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Whats not to like, good bunk room with clean bedding, lockers, light and plug socket for each bunk. Good showers with hot water, good kitchen and dining area with a simple but adequate breakfast thrown in. Wifi in all the rooms and central to the city. Everything I look for in a hostel. Had four days here and really liked everything about Warsaw.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Franco Macedo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2015 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are clean, good location, nice staff.

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was perfect! it's close to the old town and the very busy centrum metro station. they're all in walking distance. during our 3 days staying in warsaw, we just walked most of the time. the staff was also very friendly and helpful!

Disliked: the only thing that disturbed me was the bed. it was shaky... i was sleeping on the bottom but i could literally feel the person on top moving. and the sheet! when i first saw it, it scared me a little because it was not changed... there was quite an amount of dandruff, but then i saw another sheet they provided to cover the original sheet, i was relieved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and helpful, even when I arrived close to midnight. The lockers were huge. The entire hostel was very clean and the furniture was sturdy and comfy. The common room was very big, the free breakfast was a nice bonus, and the wifi was very fast. The place was rather quiet, but I stayed for only a night just two days before Christmas, so not a prime time for travelers. Overall, this was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, and I hope to return someday!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Huge lockers capable of storing even two cabin baggage. Individual plugs and bed-lights. Fair breakfast with two options of bread, butter, jams and cereals as well as tea and coffee and milk. They change the door code every morning which helps to increase security. Staff always up to help you. Well located near the main street and 15min walking to old town and main train station.

Disliked: Nothing at all

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

elif tan

Alone

City break

26 September 2014 elif would recommend this property

Liked: very central, fast wifi, very clean.

Disliked: poor breakfast. and my room was very cold.. i slept with quilt and 2 blankets..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hui-Ching Chen

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Hui-Ching would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good. It's about 10 minutes walk to the old town, and you have the direct transfer to the airport which is very convenient.

Disliked: Hui-Ching left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Guntemberg Oliveira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2014 Guntemberg would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Guntemberg left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ningxin Wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2014 Ningxin would recommend this property

Liked: The place was really amazing. I chose to stay there because the staff always seemed to respond to comments placed on their hostel. They were really warming and helpful. The WiFi was super reliable all the time--and it's in the rooms too. Overall, I would definitely stay there again the next time I go to Warsaw.

Disliked: It can be a pretty quiet place so if you are looking for parties, it isn't the hostel for you. They also closed off the common area for whatever reason from 1am - 6am so it could be inconvenient. They say you can knock on the closed window where reception is if you want to go into the common room outside of the opened hours, but I never tried.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

matt wesp

Alone

City break

20 June 2014 matt would recommend this property

Liked: room was big. storage space under the beds was perfect and came with key

Disliked: TV channel options and kitchen sink area was not very big

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and nice saff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very central, quiet, and clean place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

callum taylor

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2014 callum would recommend this property

Liked: location , breakfast n common room

Disliked: bit noisy

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aigul Sulaimanova

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 February 2014 Aigul would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything in this hostel. Its clean and cozy, location is great, facilities are good, and the price is pretty reasonable!

Disliked: Nothing. Everything is great!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We spend one Night, and the staff was extremely kind with us. Is a quiet and nice hostel with a good location to walking around Warsaw.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fernando Lopes

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 January 2014 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is well located (3minutes walk from Nowy Swiat), it has spacious and free lockers under the bed (i stayed in a 6 bed dorm and each person had space equivalent to half a bed of space, locked with a key). It was very quiet during the night also, even though i got one snorer in the bedroom, but thats not hostel fault :). The hostel staff was also helpful.

Disliked: The breakfast could have a little bit more (inexpensive) options, like for example honey or strawberry jam.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay in the hostel. It's very clean and the staff was really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpful and mostly interested front desk staff-accommodating and helpful

Disliked: staff changed everyday. Too noisy-no quiet hours enforced. Inconvenient and inadequate breakfast space. No juice or yogurt for breakfast...maybe coffee if you figure out how to make a pot for yourself. Not a youth hostel-mostly older people and big, disruptive groups stayed during my time

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a room was huge with lovely decoration. location is also good. breakfast is with some ham and cheese. it was lovely. friendly staff.

Disliked: one of shower head was dirty which is by the door. please clean it. needs hanger for cloths in the shower room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zbigniew zarnoch

Alone

City break

07 October 2013 zbigniew would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, quiet street, clean, friendly staff

Disliked: zbigniew left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, good breakfast service.

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sennur Kurtuldu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013

Liked: good location,close to city centre,

Disliked: it's not safe. i have stolen my leather jacket in luggage room and the staff didn't do any force to find it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

KYUNGMIN LEE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2013 KYUNGMIN would recommend this property

Liked: staff very kind and friendly

Disliked: price is little expensive


See all Warsaw hostels
See all Warsaw hotels