HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Barka Basia

Guesthouse

Bulwar Kurlandzki,78 km. Wisły, róg. ul. Podgórskiej i ul. Gazowej, Krakow, Poland

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 56%

Location 83%

Safety 77%

Staff 64%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Internet Access
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Restaurant

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 2.72USD
  • Breakfast 0.81USD
  • Linen 0.81USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Krakow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 56%

Location 83%

Safety 77%

Staff 64%

Value 77%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Staff were rude. Anyone could walk into the hostel part of the boat off the street. Bathrooms were dirty. It was very loud.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It's a boat on a river - you get to live on water for the time of your stay there. For this kind of money it's extremely cheap.

Disliked: There is a bar on top of the sleeping rooms, so from time to time it can get a little rowdy/lively up there. If you don't plan on going to sleep before 10-11pm you shouldn't care.The air flow in the rooms is barely there, if at all. On hot days, 30 degrees C+, the room changes to sauna. You can either open the door to the corridor for some more air or just live with it, but basically it's HOT.As you live on a river, there are LOTS of mosquitoes around, be sure to get some repellent.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is realt Nice right next to the river. The room was small but great.

Disliked: The staff was realt noisy both at 11pm and 7 o'clock in the morning. And it was impossible to ignore it. One of the staffmembers was really rude to us one day. He yelled at us first because he didnt allow us to pay for both our drink in the afternoon together with our dinner. we had to pay seperately and he accused that we wouldnt pay otherwise. and second because we would pay by credit card and not in cash even though they promote that you can pay both ways on their website. He was actually the reason that we did not have a great stay, really sad .... Another thing, it was hard to find because we found out that it was the wrong address from what it says on hostel bookers . But if you follow their guide of how to get there by public service you will find it.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the location and the fact that it was clean.

Disliked: Very noisy due to restaurant on top of accommodation and constant clanging of metal doors - no carpet on boats.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's a boat :)

Disliked: Don't go there when it's cold - we went there in spring, it was 9 grades at night and it was freezing. There is central heating but it was turned off.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Okay it's a boat - that makes a great atmosphere.

Disliked: We booked a double bed room and they seemed to be quite surprised about our booking. Finaly we had to sleep the first night in a twin (two single bed) room.After a certain time there is no warm water left - hurry up with your shower.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: it was on a boat and near kazimierz which is a great district

Disliked: i could not see in the room mirror well and had to go to the bathroom to get ready

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: novelty value, price was good, 2 sockets righ next to bed and free wi-fi.

Disliked: The atmosphere was unwelcoming, it wasn't very comfortable (no air-con and the bed was just cushions on top of wooden blocks). The showers were only open from 9pm - 10am as they were shared with th restaurant above. There were spiders and mosquitoes both in the room and in the showers. The restaurant was only mentioned in passing, and we were never invited to it. We even looked for a menu but none was available. The bar was right opposite our room so it was quite noisy in the evenings. The address on the website is completely wrong (other side of town) and the directions weren't very helpful. communication with the staff left much to be desired, as was highlighted when I was stopped from having breakfast as I hadn't ordered it he night before. In conclusion, you get what you pay for - I've stayed in worse places, but I've also stayed in many, many better ones.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Novelty of being on a boat.

Disliked: Very narrow bed (I know it's a boat but still) and could only shower between 9pm and 10am- very random and not particularly useful.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place is amazing to stay at - we loved it so much so that we stayed 2 extra nights. It is located on the Wisla, and so is close to everything. The people running and working the boat are all quite wonderful and very helpful. Cheap for what you're getting. And there's a restaurant/bar that you can come home to if need be. Sometimes it was great to just go sit up on the deck (where the restaurant is ) and have a drink.

Disliked: Nothing bad to say at all! You should know that the rooms are minimal, and the washroom facilities are all shared. But there are not many people that can stay on the boat at one time anyways - so the washroom/shower is always available.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability