HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Secret Garden Hostel Krakow Hostel

ul. Skawinska 7, Krakow, Poland

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 96%

Location 96%

Safety 99%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 20.74USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Krakow?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 96%

Location 96%

Safety 99%

Staff 98%

Value 97%

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - The staff were friendly and laid back- Only a 15 minute walk to city centre- Great showers and bathrooms- Warm rooms with enough blankets, comfy pillows and mattresses and plenty of room- Good breakfast- Tasty hot chocolate- Staff will help you arrange day trips- Clean- Safe- Quiet neighbourhood- Lots of lovely restaurants nearby in a lovely, cultured area- Excellent value for money

Disliked: The only thing was that the doors to the rooms could have been more soundproofed, as some other travellers would speak in the corridor in the morning, which was very audible from our room. It woke us up a couple of times.Otherwise, our room was excellent value for money.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's in a great part of town, much quieter than the touristy Old Town area but still within walking distance. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, the hostel is very charming. The free breakfast is really good and I appreciated the book shelves with books to take or a place to leave books. All of the staff is very helpful. They helped me with directions to the train station, they printed some bus tickets for me, and they helped me figure out which train to take to Prague. They're fantastic!

Disliked: This is a small suggestion, but I was there during a very hot week in August. I always had the window open, but that didn't help much. It would have been nice to have a fan.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Firstly, the reception staff, speak perfect English. The rooms all have an individual theme, mine was the Tulip. It is quite the most Cosmopolitan hostel, I've stayed-i. A party of very young French Students, then English-as 2nd language Student Party, individuals and small malee groups from Poland, perhaps Czech, met a new delightful, German friend. Some individuals, don't repond if you greet them, but that shows how diverse, culturally, Secret Garden's Guest-spectrum, is!. It's location, on a quiet street, that, for some reasonattracts daily visits, from Parking-Police, off the main road towards the heart of Krakow, Gwovny Rynek. If you want to visit Oscar Schindler's factory, it's 4km walk, across the River Wisla, want to visit Auschwitz (70zl(£18)) or Saint Faustina's huge sanctuary, a tram goes to it, for 3,8Zl(90p) from Plac Wolnich tram stop, 90m away. It's location is perfect, though. Quiet, as off main road, so sleep is undisturbed, yet the trams into the heart, run most of the night! A lot of alcohol almost cheaper than water, retails everywhere in Krakow. The food, is cheap, and the ice-cream, is about a third of our prices for similar. I love Karaoke, and visited a lot of them, but whomever is there, I felt, and was, safe. One could infer that every hostel, there is good, but that would be a false perception. I passed other one's, nearby, on my routes, I wouldn't make an enquiry about, if it were dark and snowing. I needed my boarding-pass printed, as the guest pcs' there are not tied-up to a printer. The unintrusive, but very skilled Reception-staff, sorted it for me! If you're an early-bird, breakfast is ready! if not, no one bothers if you eat alone! I made a bowl of instant porridge, for my home journey, at 2.30am today! Oh, one point, if you think you need a taxi, from Kazimierz, it's about 100Zl, but you don't need that, at night. If you walk from Secret Garden, towards Rynek Gwovny along u. Skawinska, left onto u. Krakowska, then u. Stradomska u.and then fork right at the Dominican church, (St, Neville's?) (incidentally, this church is the only one with an English Holy Mass, at 10.00am Sunday) onto u. Grodska, and walk up on the right hand side, almost to Rynek Gwovny, you come to tram-lines cutting across what is almost a mini dual carriageway. with pedestrian crossing traffic-lights(There's a special Police, on mountain-bikes, who pull-you for J-walking, in daylight)This is Dominikanska! Get there before 13 minutes past the hour, and there's an hourly tram, till 04.13 am the, 902, which approaches the tramstop on your right, from the right! (a tram stop either side of the cut which Grodska makes with Dominikanska, but only the right-hand one, goes towards the airport. You buy a ticket in the (English translation) ticket machine. You MUST get the type 11 (2 ticket, which covers central Krakow, and the peripheral areas, like the airport 10 miles away. It's 4zl for both types of one-journey trips, but only the 11-type carries you that far! 4zl is a quid! It's terminus is Terminal one. This is great, as it's your departure lounge to return home! Terminal two, is the Arrivals Terminal. You have a 15-20 minute walkfrom 2 to 1, as they're making a building-site of the airport, finished this winter!

Disliked: TV was only in Polish. Guest PCs' had the cable for sound, removed, to avoid noise-nuisance, for guests in adjacent room. I suggested installing said cable, in the daytime, as I had a Polish-language book/cd that I could not use, having travelled-light, without laptop.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the staff were great, especially Patricia, as was the breakfast and availability of the kitchen for making a cup of tea at any time. The room was very comfortable. It was really good.

Disliked: Nothing really

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: We had a 4Person-room for 3 nights and it was definitely worth its price. We just payed a few Euros and got that private room including breakfast. Very recommendable place,I would come Back every time I visit Krakow!By foot you can get everywhere and the rooms are nicely designed

Disliked: The one thing that keep me from saying "it was absolutely perfect" was the smell of the room. It really stank. We also found mould in one corner of the room, maybe that was the reason. We didnt have to use this bed so it was not that big kind of problems but I think it would be better if the mould gets remoted. But all in all the positive aspects would win and we would definitely come back!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We arrived at 7:30am having got a night train to Krakow. Even though check-in wasn't until 12pm the receptionis let us into our room then for no extra cost.The room was clean and bright. The bed was comfy and had lots of pillows (appreciated by the other half). The toilet and shower were also clean. There was a heated towel rail in the bathroom which was perfect for drying clothes overnight.Breakfast was cereal, bread, cheese and ham with as much tea and coffee as you could drink which was lovely.

Disliked: The wifi was a little slow, but then we weren't there to use the wifi.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Lovely room. Great service and very clean!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Ideal location, at Jewish quarters, perfect for us as the aim of our visit was Auschwitz. Just a ten- min walk to Wavel castle and 15 more to the city centre, so we didn't even think of using public transport; plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants around and on our way to the center Staff can speak very good English and is very friendly, polite and helpful.. They can organise all your stay- transfer from and to the airport, plenty of trips, you needn't even call as they contact the companies; good and cheap restaurants recommended, free maps offered at reception...everything to make your stay easy and enjoyable. The decoration is very nice, cosy rooms, everything provided as towels, hand-wash liquid and even a hair dryer and TV: cleanness at a very high standard. The kitchen is good size, fully equipped, always tidy and clean, you can have coffee and a good choice of tea at any time and even if you miss breakfast time, there is always something in the fridge. I worried that it could be noisy as that is my experience with low- budget hotels but I was pleasantly surprised that it was very quiet all day and night long- no shouting, loud music and night-long parties; actually most of the time we felt that we were the only guests, except at breakfast time when we could meet no more than five other people in the dining area. I can fully recommend The secret garden hostel, as it exceeded my expectations at any point.

Disliked: Our room was very hot, I didn't expect air conditioning but it could be a kind of relief from the summer heat if we could open the window properly and have some fresh air in. We were lucky that the temperatures dropped down the evening of our arrival, otherwise we wouldn't be able to sleep.My son complained after the first night that the mattress is too hard but I was fine.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I rarely write reviews, but had to in this case. Best hostel I've EVER stayed in US/Europe. Very secure, felt safe leaving my luggage for the day and was very quiet. Perfect for those who want to avoid a party/rowdy scene. My flight was 12 hours delayed and Anna at the desk helped me arrange airport pick up and was extremely helpful. Anytime I return to Kaimierz, I'll stay here. (Also perfect location, very clean--including bathrooms, and I saw mostly older travelers (i.e., not 18)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: everything about the property was amazing..we stayed at the apartment with the garden view. the apartment was on the same street but in a seperate building. the door looked automatically and you had two keys to get in so it was very secure.. we had a full kitchen ..two bedroom..walk in wardrobe and a beautiful bathroom and a sitting room with a tv with a few english channeks.. the staff spoke outstanding english and I would hifhly recommend this hotel!!!

Disliked: nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability