HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Krakow hostels
See all Krakow hotels

Reviews of The Secret Garden Hostel

Hostel | ul. Skawinska 7, Krakow, Poland 31-066

95.1% Overall Rating

161 out of 164 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/06/2014)

Anna Catherine Greer thinks…

"I rarely write reviews, but had to in this case. Best hostel I've EVER stayed in US/Europe. Very secure, felt safe leaving my luggage for the day and was very quiet. Perfect for those who want to…"

Read all The Secret Garden Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Krakow?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Krakow

Rubinstein Apartment
20.88 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Tara Hostel
14.46 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Green Hostel
12.85 USD

Hostel 86.6% 13 reviews
B MOVIE HOSTEL
7.65 USD

Hostel 93.6% 229 reviews
Nathan's Villa Hostel
13.49 USD

Hostel 76.8% 461 reviews
ApartHotel Miodosytnia
32.13 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.6% 3 reviews
Kazimierz Residence
20.09 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Ars Hostel & Bar
16.06 USD

Hostel 95.5% 181 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.1%

Overall Rating

161 out of 164 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Secret Garden Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 132 of 140 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Catherine Greer

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Anna Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: I rarely write reviews, but had to in this case. Best hostel I've EVER stayed in US/Europe. Very secure, felt safe leaving my luggage for the day and was very quiet. Perfect for those who want to avoid a party/rowdy scene. My flight was 12 hours delayed and Anna at the desk helped me arrange airport pick up and was extremely helpful. Anytime I return to Kaimierz, I'll stay here. (Also perfect location, very clean--including bathrooms, and I saw mostly older travelers (i.e., not 18)

Disliked: Anna Catherine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charrisha adams

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2014 charrisha would recommend this property

Liked: everything about the property was amazing..we stayed at the apartment with the garden view. the apartment was on the same street but in a seperate building. the door looked automatically and you had two keys to get in so it was very secure.. we had a full kitchen ..two bedroom..walk in wardrobe and a beautiful bathroom and a sitting room with a tv with a few english channeks.. the staff spoke outstanding english and I would hifhly recommend this hotel!!!

Disliked: nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ease of access to city centre and closeness to Jewsih district (Kazimierz). Absolutely amazing staff, nothing was too much trouble. Taxi service from airport arranged by hostel. Also, the level of communication before our visit was outstanding. Breakfast was great.

Disliked: Some walls a bit too thin!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martha Collins

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Martha would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great,close to old Town. Very comfortable and homey.Immaculate. Delightful staff helped us arrange side trips. Very secure. Clean bathrooms and kitchen area. Nice breakfast,coffee and tea available all day free.

Disliked: Liked everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, fabulous big breakfast buffet , super clean, nice decor, a small secret garden in front. This place was absolutely great!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the Kazimierz district. The hostel was nice and clean. Our private double bed room was a spacious loft. Everything was clean. The staff was really friendly. The breakfast buffet was ok. The hostel was nice and quiet. If you want a party hostel this is not the place for you, but if you don't, this hostel is a good choice.

Disliked: The loft only had one very small window. It was very hot in Krakow (32-35°C). There was no airconditioning or even a fan, so it was way too hot in our room at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful, everything was clean and the room was lovely. It's a very quiet place and the location was good, round the corner from a tram stop and near lots of nice bars, cafes etc. in the Jewish quarter. One of the two of us liked the breakfast...

Disliked: ... the other one didn't like the breakfast! That same person also didn't like the pillows (too hard) and thought the floors were too creaky.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Nash

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

11 March 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutley superb hostel. Attentive and friendly staff, excellent facilities and wonderfully clean. Stay there, it's in walking distance to everything you can want in Krakow.

Disliked: A small point was that the walls were thin so on one night I was woken by some drunk clients of the hostel returning late. If you are a very light sleeper and plan to stay on Fri/Sat night then perhaps use ear plugs, but you shouldn't let this deter you from staying, it is a really great place.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely good quality hostel. Receptionists very helpful and friendly. Impressed with the hostel. In good location in the Jewish Quarter which has lots of atmosphere.

Disliked: Only small point that I could not operate the tv remote control as it kept getting stuck. Receptionist did try to help.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicola peacock

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 January 2013 nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Location. clean. friendly. Value for money.

Disliked: Breakfast was basic. But as expected for price.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

viviana ramazzotti

Alone

City break

20 November 2012 viviana would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best and loveliest hostel I have ever been, will definitely recommended to anybody visit Cracow.

Disliked: viviana left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was great for me a mature backpacker and traveller as it was immaculately clean, very well managed, no party animals and inconsiderate behaviour accepted, good breakfast and quiet location, but close enough to everything, this is a perfect choice for responsible people, couples and families, who value good management, no sneaking in others for free,

Disliked: The only downside was that the bed was firmer than I personally like, but that may suit others.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Not that vlose to the main old town square but ideal if you want to stay in the Jewish part of town

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So well organised. A great location - right on the edge of Kazimierz, a stone's throw from the river and only about 20/25 mins easy walk to main square, train station etc. Room was very clean. I had the single room and basically had my own private bathroom too. Breakfasts were very generous.

Disliked: Nothing - all was great!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Fowler

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: I emailed them a few days before we arrived and they got straight back to me, within the hour! The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable. Our room was perfect, the ensuite was clean and it was great to stay in a hostel that takes such great pride in how their rooms are presented.

Disliked: Nothing, it really was perfect, and I will be going back!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Perejma

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I've stayed in! Its not a party hostel but somewhere to unwind after hitting the city. The staff were so helpful and the bathrooms were so clean and big. Ill be back.

Disliked: The breakfast selection could have been bigger but if was fine for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The apartments are lovely and spacious and tastefully decorated. I would have expected to pay a lot more.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cheryl Howard

Alone

City break

30 January 2012 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: Really loved my stay at this hostel! The breakfast is delicious, the staff friendly and I really loved the pick-up/drop service from/to the airport. Absolutely loved the location.

Disliked: The walls are very thin and you can hear every single noise of people from neighboring rooms or out in the hallway.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Complimentary tea and coffee, full continental breakfast, 24 free access to computers and lounge, secure, friendly, very clean!

Disliked: There weren't many toilets / showers (shared)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tibor Szuszky

Alone

Business / conference

07 December 2011 Tibor would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money!; kindness of the staff (ladies); cleanness; smell :-)

Disliked: Tibor left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean warm and reasonably spacious.

Disliked: Our room was VERY noisy- our bed was sunk to floor level and when people were walking past at night it was though they were in our room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dylan tomkins

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 dylan would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were super helpful and friendly, the location was good without being too close to the town center, clean comfortable rooms, generally a great hostel.

Disliked: no complaints

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sophie parisse

Alone

City break

05 October 2011 sophie would recommend this property

Liked: I had the chance to sleep at one of their appartments, right in the midden of Kazilierz, wonderfull neat, big, wonderfull location, I recomand it to whoever wants to nestle in the middle of the history and jewisch community

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very pretty, with nice little touches in the rooms like photos and painted cabinets. It's not exactly in the centre of Krakow, which is great if you're looking for a quiet night's sleep. The staff were helpful and friendly and the place was always spotlessly clean.

Disliked: Road works were being done on the tram lines that pass by the hostel, a fact that the staff did not inform us of before our stay, 'because it's only for one week.' So getting there took us over an hour because we had no idea what stop to get off at or where to go from there.


See all Krakow hostels
See all Krakow hotels