We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Gdansk hostels
See all Gdansk hotels

Reviews of Grand Hostel Gdansk

Hostel | Kolodziejska 2, Gdansk, Poland 80-836

88.5% Overall Rating

50 out of 53 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/08/2014)

"The location was perfect. In the middle of everything. Our room and shared facilities were clean and comfortable. Free Wifi worked everywhere. Breakfast was included on the price. It wasn't very big but can't complain…"

Read all Grand Hostel Gdansk reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Gdansk?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Gdansk

Grand Guesthouse
21.23 USD

Guesthouse 77.1% 4 reviews
Stay inn hostel Gdansk
13.65 USD

Hostel 96.5% 31 reviews
3City hostel
15.16 USD

Hostel 85.0% 33 reviews
Hostel4u
12.13 USD

Hostel 79.8% 24 reviews
Vanila Studio
22.74 USD

Hostel 86.6% 17 reviews
Midtown Hostel
18.19 USD

Hostel 91.4% 60 reviews
Riverside Hostel
12.13 USD

Hostel 94.9% 61 reviews
Hostel Zappio
16.68 USD

Hostel 85.4% 137 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

50 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Grand Hostel Gdansk'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 53 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, warm atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. In the middle of everything. Our room and shared facilities were clean and comfortable. Free Wifi worked everywhere. Breakfast was included on the price. It wasn't very big but can't complain about free food. Really value for money.

Disliked: Staff did their job but didn't seem extra keen on doing it. So basic service worked out well but we didn't feel like asking any extra info or anything because it felt like disturbing their chatting on FB or they played music in the reception so loudly you didn't want to shout over it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Heldur-Valdek Seeder

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2014 Heldur-Valdek would recommend this property

Liked: The host Marta was very optimistic and helpful in every case. The location is very good and I was surprised to get included breakfast within my dorm's price.

Disliked: When I entered it was raining and roof windows were left open, so I had to change the moist bed to another available bed.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was really good, staff were friendly, the common room was very pleasant, and had a Wii.

Disliked: 8bed dorm was a little small, but fortunately there was air con. There could have been more toilets, but there were lots of showers, and they were all clean.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014

Liked: Location and free breakfast

Disliked: Had booked and paid for a place in a 4 bed dorm but was put in a 8 bed dorm when I arrived as they said there was no room left in the 4 bed dorm. They did give me back the difference in cost after I asked. The linen given for the beds either did not fit or they had blood stains on them.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the city centre, 24/7 helpful staff, not too crowded.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Krzysztof Derwinski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2013 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful and pleasant. They work really hard to make the place awesome.

Disliked: Krzysztof left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cute little hostel in the middle of the old town, one of the rooms has also a hammock in it. very clean, the people are very very friendly, i will go there again and again :D

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La situación es perfecta en el centro de la ciudad. La habitación de 6 personas es muy agradable, justo en el ático, amplia y muy agradable. En la cocina puedes beber gratis lo que hay en la nevera.

Disliked: Tienes que quitarte los zapatos para subir a las habitaciones y dejarlos en la recepción. Este hecho no es un incoveniente, el problema es que cuando vas al baño y vas descalzo si alguien se ha duchado te mojas los calcetines o los pies.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, interior design, breakfast, free coffee and tee and a nice common area

Disliked: nothing i disliked!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Hanson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really cheerful and helpful, the room (delux) was amazing and surprisingly quiet.

Disliked: The shower next to our room wouldn't drain and kept filling up so showering was quite gross. There was a family with 4 young kids who were quite noisy and running around everywhere.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is nice and the breakfast is good. The location is perfect. I will definitely stay in this hostel again if I go back to Gdansk.

Disliked: The bed is not really comfortable and it is a little bit noisy in the street after midnight.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

CHEE SEONG CHANG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2012 CHEE SEONG would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is great

Disliked: CHEE SEONG left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Janelle Cridge

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Janelle would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, with a fun colour scheme throughout and they had private showers! The staff were super friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast wasn't too shabby either.

Disliked: The common area/lounge was quite small so if there were a few people in there already it felt like you were encroaching on their space. Other than that, I can't complain.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good and good price. The staff is quite friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Private room was very small and toilet paper was finished often, when I went to toilet. The walls were so thin that I woke up at nights everytime when someone walked at the stairs. Maybe this is not the best option for couple.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukasz Piecuszek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Lukasz would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice stuff, near to all the main attractions.

Disliked: Everything was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zsolt Csatószegi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2012 Zsolt would recommend this property

Liked: I am 100% satisfied! I just offer it for everybody!! I slept in a 8-bed-room alone! Every museums and main attractions are very close to hostel, within 5-10 min. walk distance!

Disliked: Maybe there is a little cold in my room as in my home, i like it, but other guest may ask the staff to take up the heater.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Wilder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2012 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved this hostel! The staff is friendly and just an absolute pleasure! They created an atmosphere that made me feel welcome, at home.The hostel is clean, secure, and very comfortable .

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the center or the city! The staff was great and the place was spotless during my entire stay.

Disliked: Had to take your shoes off to enter the second floor, but I get it, it's to keep the place super clean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were really helpful and comfortable inside layout

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Dirty bathrooms, VERY NOISY the building is very old and everything echoes, so you hear every footstep on the staircase, every conversation in the common room even if you are two floors up. Staff did not enforce quiet hours. Bring earplugs if you want a good night sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, clean, friendly staff.

Disliked: rather small common area

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dayenne Bax

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2011 Dayenne would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the staff, always there to give you advice about where to go and how to get back to airport. It's in the centre of the old town, near the trams and busses and main rail station. Lovely place!

Disliked: i think, nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is quite easy to find really centrally located. Has a nice kitchen,everythings nice and clean, beds are comfy, breakfast is nice enough. Staff are very welcoming. 24hr reception always a bonus.

Disliked: nothing really, being charged for a night when we arrived at 6am did kinda sux! we did book for the night but our bus was delayed hence we arrived at 6am, would have been nice to not be charged but is expected i guess. Also I asked for directions to the hostel from the bus station and was told to look on google maps, bit poor I think, thats your job!


See all Gdansk hostels
See all Gdansk hotels