We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Gdansk hostels
See all Gdansk hotels

Reviews of Hostel Wolna Chata

Hostel | Krzywoustego 8, Gdansk, Poland 80-360

88.3% Overall Rating

43 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/09/2014)

Salma Berrada El Azizi thinks…

"The beds were comfortable and the living room area had the best wifi connection I've had in so very long. There's tea and coffee available all day long! I actually think it's great to choose a place…"

Read all Hostel Wolna Chata reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Gdansk?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Gdansk

Stara Karczma Pension
37.84 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 4 reviews
Willa Zbyszko
25.12 USD

Guesthouse 80.0% 12 reviews
Villa Sart
11.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.7% 42 reviews
Kogut czy Kura Hostel
12.11 USD

Hostel 88.4% 13 reviews
OPO Gdansk
19.67 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
GIM Apartments
15.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Guest Rooms MIKS | Pokoje Gościnne MIKS
17.86 USD

Guesthouse 85.7% 3 reviews
Willa Isabel
97.41 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.3%

Overall Rating

43 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Wolna Chata'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
72.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
93.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Salma Berrada El Azizi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014 Salma would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were comfortable and the living room area had the best wifi connection I've had in so very long. There's tea and coffee available all day long! I actually think it's great to choose a place outside the old town of Gdansk because you get to explore the rest of the lovely area. And there's much to explore, the Oliwa Park and Church are walking distance and the railway station less than 5 minutes. Also the staff is very helpful with directions and general advice.

Disliked: Maybe I didn't stay long enough to notice the little things that are shabby or something but I really thought it's an absolutely decent stay for the price.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Roksana Stasiak

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2013 Roksana would recommend this property

Liked: Generally everything was OK

Disliked: Roksana left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel wolna chata is a nice place to stay. Our room and bathroom were very clean and modern. The stuff was friendly.

Disliked: The hostel is quite far from the beach and the city centre.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Eduardo Chavarri Leal

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Carlos Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was extremely clean; the staff were friendly and willing to offer their help regarding the possible activities; a simple, though sufficient breakfast was included. The location of the place was close to a train station.

Disliked: Carlos Eduardo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel, we had a very pleasant stay and the staff are awesome.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anastasiia Solomakha

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 July 2012 Anastasiia would recommend this property

Liked: very nice staff, high level of cleanliness, delicious breakfasts

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Binns

Alone

Events / festivals

12 July 2012 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is really new looking and clean, awesome friendly staff, excellent garden with hammocks, nice continental breakfast, cool people :) SUPER close to the trams which connect the tricity and close to a galeria/supermarket

Disliked: nothing! (maybe if you want to be closer to city centre this is not for you but the SKM is so close and under $1!)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wilson Chagas

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2012 Wilson would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff people are very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The hostel is located far away from Gdansk downtown. And the biggest problem (in my point of view) is that there isn't any TV avaiable.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, facilities, bikes for rent, staff extremely helpful, eggs for breakfast. it's a bit far from Gdansk center, but close to Sopot. You can reach both by bikes that are available for rent at the hostel, and of course by public transport

Disliked: not much

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mariusz Stepien

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2012 Mariusz would recommend this property

Liked: I was lucky to have the whole 8-bed dorm just to myself that night ;)

Disliked: It's a bit far away from basically everything.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Terence O Shea

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 June 2012 Terence would recommend this property

Liked: hammocks

Disliked: Terence left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

miklos foti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2012 miklos would recommend this property

Liked: printed my boarding card - free, great breakfast

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alfonso Trigo

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

06 April 2012 Alfonso would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in a house, it made us feel like at home. The beds are confortable, the common spaces are small but great.

Disliked: The location could be better.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ekaterina Tepfer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

18 March 2012 Ekaterina would recommend this property

Liked: Very cozy place with helpfull staff and nice atmosphere.

Disliked: May be, location is not the best

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Ellison

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, well kept, clean with a good breakfast included - Great value for money!

Disliked: Not walking distance to old town.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bálint Hujter

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011 Bálint would recommend this property

Liked: Very silent, comfortable. Breakfast was rich and delicious.

Disliked: Far from Gdansk center (although near to Gdansk Oliwa SZKM train station)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RICHARD LITTLEFAIR

Alone

City break

24 September 2011 RICHARD would recommend this property

Liked: price, location, friendlyness, facilities.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, rooms, price, bike hire

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a nice garden and Kitchen. Breakfast is ok. Toilets bathrooms are quite clean. The bed is very comfortable. The locker is large enough for you to place your whole bag.

Disliked: Wifi always does not work. Staff is a bit cold. It's far away from the city centre.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALIAKSEI PARASIATSYEU

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 ALIAKSEI would recommend this property

Liked: Location is extremely good, both for sightseeing in Gdansk (15 minutes to city center by SKM commuter train) and visiting Open'er Music Festival in Gdynia (about an our from hostel door to main stage). Staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms are cozy and clean.

Disliked: There were no lockers in my room. But I could leave my valuable things at the reception desk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindi Dutton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011 Lindi would recommend this property

Liked: If you go to Gdansk, stay here. You might think why stay a little out of old town, this is why, in every direction you have wonderful things to do, walk to the beach, train to Sopot, train to old town, walk to Oliwa park. The train station is so close to the hostel, you can practically see it. The trains are frequent and cheap. We also went to Malbork castle which we could easily get to from Oliwa station. Staff were wonderful, they never got annoyed with all of my questions. Bikes are really good too (cheap hire). We stayed in 8 bed dorm which was clean and spacious enough (not like some places I've stayed). Good breakfast as well. We cooked whilst we were there, kitchen supplies are good. The kitchen is a little pokey but we never had any trouble for when we wanted to cook. They have an outdoors area if you want to eat outside and also lovely green grass and hammocks. Stay here and have a great time!

Disliked: Nothing to mention

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Schultz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The first day I arrived, I thought I made a grievous error in choosing this location, it's kind of in the suburbs-- but my best day in Gdansk was here in Olwia park and going to the Modern Art Museum in the park (free on Friday) and having a glass of red wine across the street.. The lack of hoards of tourists in this area, and that the hostel is on a residential street are really refreshing treats in this heavily touristed area of Gdansk, Sopot and Hel.

Disliked: There are only 3 showers and 4 toilets, which is usually ok. The directions are not great. When you get to the bottom of the stairs at the train station go right and then walk out-- you'll pass food vendors and you have to cross a street and sort of veer to the right/straight and then go straight from there. It tends to attract families also, so if you like that or not, there's a lot of those here, and older folks. Not as many young people to meet, but I did make a few friends here.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful stuff. Clean rooms! You could easily reach the public transport.

Disliked: Shared bathroom

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful owner, nice rooms (we stayed in the private double room). Bathrooms are also clean and good.

Disliked: There was a school group there when we stayed and they were quite noisy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean rooms, big lockers and friendly staff.

Disliked: There was only one bathroom.


See all Gdansk hostels
See all Gdansk hotels