We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Gdansk hostels
See all Gdansk hotels

Reviews of Old Town Hostel

Hostel | Dluga Grobla 7, Gdansk, Poland 80-754

84.2% Overall Rating

188 out of 195 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2014)

Susan Lee thinks…

"Spacious dorm rooms and big lockers, comfy beds, large kitchen and a massive breakfast included in the price. Staff was friendly, helpful and informative. It takes under 10 minutes to walk to the Old…"

Read all Old Town Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Gdansk?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Gdansk

Hostel Cycle On
9.35 USD

Hostel 98.2% 8 reviews
La Guitarra Hostel Gdansk
6.68 USD

Hostel 96.7% 172 reviews
Happy Seven Hostel
8.02 USD

Hostel 93.5% 254 reviews
Happy 7 Hostel
16.03 USD

Hostel 88.0% 10 reviews
Hostel Zappio
13.36 USD

Hostel 86.2% 138 reviews
Riverside Hostel
9.35 USD

Hostel 96.3% 64 reviews
Vanila Studio
16.03 USD

Hostel 86.6% 17 reviews
Midtown Hostel
13.36 USD

Hostel 92.3% 61 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

188 out of 195 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Old Town Hostel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 157 of 182 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliya Petrova

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Zwiedzanie i kultura

02 November 2014 Liliya would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and very helpful staff

Disliked: Liliya left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'
Zwiedzanie i kultura

04 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: VERY helpful staff, big room, clean

Disliked: wlan didn't work in our room but in the common area

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'
Wydarzenia / festiwale
Urlop rodzinny
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Relaks / spa
Romantyczny wypad
Zwiedzanie i kultura

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing special.

Disliked: nothing specia.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Susan Lee

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zwiedzanie i kultura
Sport, przygoda lub aktywnosc na swiezym powietrzu
Praca/wolontariat

10 August 2014 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious dorm rooms and big lockers, comfy beds, large kitchen and a massive breakfast included in the price. Staff was friendly, helpful and informative. It takes under 10 minutes to walk to the Old Town and a grocery store (Lidl) and tram stop are located right across the street. The hostel is hidden behind another building, which keeps traffic noise down. There is a candy jar at the reception desk. :-)

Disliked: Susan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'
Zwiedzanie i kultura

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A short walking distance to the old town. Nice and clean hostel.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura
Odwiedziny u przyjaciól lub rodziny

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi not great, but desktop computer available for use.

Disliked: Could have been kept cleaner

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura

28 July 2014

Liked: The staff, they re lovely, and the breakfast is great considering the price you are paying, good beds too. It is a short walk to the city centre and there is a giant supermarket nearby and lots of buses and trams.

Disliked: My room was on the basement, awfully dark, and so is the kitchen, there are no windows, it s stuffy. The bathrooms and the kitchen were quite filthy, it is very close to the Old Town but NOT actually there, it s in horrible neighbourhood were I would be scared to walk around at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, very helpful with good service at all time Kitchen allows to save some money with the food, and have a nice break at the hostel Breakfast, coffee, tea included Good showers, and toilets facilities

Disliked: Not dislike, but what could be improved is maybe find a way to have non-mixed showers. It's not such a big deal either

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Mooney

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy

30 June 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The standard of hostels in Poland generally is quite high, but this is my favourite hostel. Having spent 14 months travelling* on three continents and extensively in Europe this is THE BEST HOSTEL that I have stayed at. Everyone is catered for from the party animals to OAP's. The decor is clean and contemporary without trying too hard, the dorm. was also clean and comfortable. Cleanliness is of a very good standard throughout (like the majority of hostels in Poland), all the facilities a backpacker require are well catered for. There is a decent breakfast included. The staff are knowledgeable and genuinely friendly without trying to be your new best friend. Although I enjoyed Gdansk and would like to visit again, this was the only place where the hostel outshone the city. *India, Nepal, Saudia Arabia, Greece, Turkey, Israel, Palestine, Italy, Spain, Morocco, Ethiopia, Kenya, Tanzania, Bulgaria, Romania, Slovenia, Austria, Slovakia, Croatia, Bosnia+Herzogovinia, Serbia, Macedonia, Poland, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Finland, Sweden, Denmark, Germany.

Disliked: Nothing. It should be the template for all hostels - everywhere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

typu 'City Break'
Imprezy/zycie nocne
Zwiedzanie i kultura

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff was amazing! everyone was so helpful and friendly. and hostel itself was really clean and cozy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

typu 'City Break'

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were nice, the room was very clean and there was a printer that I could use free of charge.

Disliked: The hostel was a bit further out of the centre than I had expected and to get into the hostel you had to go round to the back of the building which was pretty dark, so I don't think I would have liked that much if I'd been coming back alone at night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Plewicka-Szymczak

Dla rodzin z dziećmi

Wydarzenia / festiwale

04 August 2013 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Location, room

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Plaza/opalanie
Zwiedzanie i kultura

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good, clean place, good value for the money. Breakfast was the richest I've ever had in a hostel. Guests have free coffee, tea and even fruits all day long. Doing the laundry was also for free and the staff was kind to take care that the clothes are dry by the requested time. Recommend the place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleni Papantoniou

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Wydarzenia / festiwale

09 July 2012 Eleni would recommend this property

Liked: Cool atmosphere, great colors, quality in low prices. Good breakfast, nice people, clean bathrooms. The definition of a youth hostel! I would recommend it to anyone. For sure one of the best hostels I've ever visited in my life.

Disliked: Eleni left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PO HAN LIAN

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'
Zwiedzanie i kultura
Odwiedziny u przyjaciól lub rodziny

11 April 2012 PO HAN would recommend this property

Liked: Everything included. (free breakfast, internet, free tea, coffee, fruit, free landary!!)

Disliked: 10 minutes walk to the old town. Not so far, but for some ppl maybe.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul mellor

Sam

Sport, przygoda lub aktywnosc na swiezym powietrzu

30 November 2011 paul would recommend this property

Liked: staff very helpful. big thank you to marcin & his dad who took me to the euro stadium & gave me a brief lesson of gdansk history.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meinrad Eckert

Sam

Zwiedzanie i kultura

13 November 2011 Meinrad would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Free breakfast, linen, towel, internet. Short walking distance to phantastic old town of Gdansk, makes it a pleasant destination for every time of the year. Great value for westeners as Zloty exchange makes food shopping, dining and culture attractions inexpensive, while electronic purchases and the like have already reached western price level.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorge Paulos

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

typu 'City Break'
Zwiedzanie i kultura

30 October 2011 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: A perfect hostel to stay in Gdańsk without doubts! The location is not exactly on the main street of Main Town but you take 10min walking to it and 8min by tram to Gdańsk Główny train station, so it couldn't be more useful! All the things there are very good and the breakfast is awesome! Totally recommend :)

Disliked: Nothing was bad!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Bourke

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Zwiedzanie i kultura

08 September 2011 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, great facilities, Short walk to town, and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nil

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Massimiliano Leoni

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'
Relaks / spa
Zwiedzanie i kultura

17 August 2011 Massimiliano would recommend this property

Liked: The dining room, colors of the room and interior..

Disliked: No easy to find it!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Kahl

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Backpacking / rok przerwy
typu 'City Break'
Zwiedzanie i kultura

16 August 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: old building outside, but inside very new, clean and absolute friendly! i would recommend it everybody, close way to the city, nice atmosphere.. for people, who love small hostels.. the choice!!!

Disliked: nothing! except the old old building outside!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Z małżonkiem/partnerem

Urlop rodzinny

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Compliance rates and services.

Disliked: Noisy when a large company settles.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Willson

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy

03 August 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good location

Disliked: No common room area, hard to meet people

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Ze znajomymi lub innymi podróżnymi

Zwiedzanie i kultura

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was friendly

Disliked: the breakfast could have been richer, toilets were a bit our of shape and the location is not what you would expect from the old town hostel...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Sam

Backpacking / rok przerwy
Zwiedzanie i kultura

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at this hostel is really great. Adam especially was very helpful, recommending places to go and helping with travel plans outside of Gdansk. Also, they do laundry and the breakfast is pretty good. Beds are pretty comfortable too.

Disliked: Nada.


See all Gdansk hostels
See all Gdansk hotels