HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of JLC Hostel

Hostel | 26 Old Buncag Road, Barangay Mandaragat, Puerto Princesa City, Philippines 5300

87.1% Overall Rating

39 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2014)

"nice clean and very friendly people, i can recommend and they organise tour like city tour, underground river tour and honda bay tour which i really enjoyed"

Read all JLC Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Princesa City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puerto Princesa City

Lola Itang Pension House & Restaurant
15.53 USD

Hostel 83.3% 7 reviews
Oss transient house
9.20 USD

Hostel 83.8% 3 reviews
Romy's Place
6.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
House of Rose
8.05 USD

Guesthouse 84.5% 33 reviews
Albon Pension House
15.18 USD

Campsite 83.3% 6 reviews
D' Lucky Garden Inn & Suites
16.33 USD

Hotel 77.0% 28 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

39 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'JLC Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 41 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richie robinson

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

24 April 2014 richie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good staff, cheap. Good spot for a night before a flight.

Disliked: Nothing, all good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice clean and very friendly people, i can recommend and they organise tour like city tour, underground river tour and honda bay tour which i really enjoyed

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

francisco molinero

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 francisco would recommend this property

Liked: So good, so friendly, so clean

Disliked: francisco left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Myriam OUCHERFI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Myriam would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are quite big and have a window, they are clean and the bathrooms, even shared are spotless. The girls at the reception try their best to be helpfull and can arrange some tours. The location is not bad, once you understand the geography of Puerto Princesa.

Disliked: The single number 7 is very close to the road and the smoking area which makes it noisy and sometime you can smell the cigarette in the room. But, when I complained, they immediatly gave me another room which was much more quiet.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Janey Brant

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It wasn't very clean. The staff weren't very friendly or helpful and don't seem to have accurate information on any of the tourist attractions in Puerto Princesa. The staff made no attempt to ask other guests not to short through the walls to each other, despite this going on for over half an hour.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Wiper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: This is more like a home stay than a hostel but for all the right reasons. The rooms are basic but clean and the staff go out of their way to help you however they can. We came back to Puerto Princesa and stayed here for another two nights.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Stewart

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are really clean, the beds are comfortable and the staff are really friendly. The hostel is about a 5-10 minute walk from the main street, Rizal street but honestly unless you have not got the use of your legs the location really is not a problem. It's located on a residential street and I think the people that run the hostel also live there. We stayed one night as a stop over to El Nido and we were more than happy to stay again on our return so I think that says it all really!

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Whilst basic, this hostel/guest house is clean, quiet, close tot the centre and most of all run by a really friendly family who are very helpful in organising things. Great value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people who ran the hostel were so nice and friendly. They helped us set up a tour to go on during the day. The costs are very cheap and it's a great value for the money.

Disliked: The chickens outside were really loud, pretty much all night.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very nice & helpful. Location was near to market & bay walk.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

YIZHENG RUAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

26 November 2013

Liked: Very clean in the room. The owner are friendly.

Disliked: But the public bathroom and toilet seems not clean often, some places are dirty.A bit far to Jeepney place, also a bit far to center. Anyway, puerto princess is quite small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpfull owners!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, decent location to airport

Disliked: Hard to find if coming in at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Grimm

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people at the hostel. We arrived deep at night and they arranged everything to get best service at this time. The hostel is at a great condition for this price and very clean.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff very friendly and helpful. honest about booking prices etc. place is spotless too. oh and free coffee!

Disliked: only ' dislike ' but it's not really, is no internet access only wi-fi but speaking to the owner and he tells me theyr gonna be getting it as part of their re-fit coming up. not a gripe tho, as int cafe 50m up the road, and the staff are so friendly it makes up for it hahaha! no laundry either but it's cool as am a backpacker and dont mind a bit of handwashing now an then!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet, reasonably priced. Friendly staff. Good internet access. The location is a bit unfavourable, being 10 min walk from the centre of town. On the upside, this makes the hostel quieter. Overall good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gijs Jeuken

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 July 2012 Gijs would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay!!!! The owners are really warm and helpful. The whole place is VERY CLEAN!!!!!!! The place is in a quite little street just one block from the mainstreet. And the price is cheap! What else do you want, so GO HERE!!! We go back next week.

Disliked: Gijs left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family that runs the hostel is really nice and they are really helpful when it comes to booking tours and activities. Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. It wasn't too hot either, even though we didn't have an AC. The fan worked well. We also met some interesting people there.

Disliked: Unfortunately, there's not hot water in the showers, but you get used to it! And the Philippines is so hot, you probably would need lots of cold showers anyway.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Felix Wozniak

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

19 July 2012 Felix would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the price is very good!

Disliked: No character and atmosphere but by this price its ok ;)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, good location, easy to book tours in surrounding areas.

Disliked: None.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked this hostel, the owners were incredibly helpful in helping with bookings. Free coffee and outisde area for drying towels etc.

Disliked: no hot showers, but that's pretty standard.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pui Yeung

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 Pui would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to the Main Road.

Disliked: No hot water for shower.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the hostel was fantastic. It is really cheap for what you get. JLS is one of the cleanest places I have ever stayed. The staff are incredibly helpful. They helped s with everything we wanted to do.

Disliked: It was a little out of the way. Trikes are cheap though. Still worth a stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bartosz Dyrda

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Bartosz would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and open staff, clean rooms

Disliked: cold water and no air con

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophia Willig

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 May 2012 Sophia would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff. I stayed there twice in the beginning and the end of my trip to Palawan. The first time I booked (and payed) two nights but stayed only one because I couldn't get a permission for the underground river. Thus they gave me a discount for my second stay in the end of my trip. The rooms and bathroom were basic but good value for the money. The staff gave me good tips on what to do and how to get around.

Disliked: The location is a little remote so in the evening i felt safer taking trycicle to get back from "downtown". But as Puerto Princesa isn't that big it's no problem walking to the main street during daytime.