HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hostal El Ancla Guesthouse

Avenue La Rivera 198, Huanchaco, Trujillo, Peru

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 79%

Location 82%

Safety 91%

Staff 82%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels Included
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 2.17USD
  • Breakfast 0.93USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Trujillo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 79%

Location 82%

Safety 91%

Staff 82%

Value 88%

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Room sizeShowers

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Rooms are nice and spacious and are cleaned daily. It's across the road from the beach and only a 10-15 min walk to the main area of town. Nice quiet hostel but is really more like a hotel.

Disliked: Staff were nice but the front desk was rarely attended which made it difficult when you needed information. When we went to check out there was only cleaning staff and they weren't able to call us a taxi or contact any of the staff. The just hailed a taxi off the street and assured us it was safe.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Always very clean; decor in the hostel is great and such a good atmosphere. Lovely views of beach and ocean.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It doesn't have 'ocean view rooms' as it says in the advertisement. Asked for a discount because of this untruth and was flatly refused, really only wanted a token gesture to acknowledge the incorrect description. Room we received was dark, old and musty.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is more like a hotel. It is very clean and in a decent location.

Disliked: The breakfast was not included and you could get a breakfast for way better value for the money in town. Also on the last day we had to wait until the evening to catch a night bus, and they were trying to charge us 20 soles (the cost of a night stay) to shower in a room!!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice private room for less than a dorm room normaly costs.

Disliked: nothing special.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Arriving from Lima by car it was great to be welcomed even though my car alarm kept sounding for the next 48hrs due to me using the key to open the door and not the fob! Great lads working there and the kitchen staff/cleaner were on the move all day.Room was big enough for the whole family and the table football was fun.Short walk along the seafront to the town.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Consistent hot water. Right in front of the beach. Excellent value. I would stay there again.

Disliked: It doesn't have a kitchen, but they let me use their fridge.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We were welcomed by a nice, but business-like lady. Settled in our room which was very big for a hostel, a good bed, a nice TV, a bathroom with one of the best hot showers we've encountered in South America until now (we've been travelling for 9 weeks now). We actually stranded here cause we couldn't get a bus to Mancora (from Lima) and decided to go to Trujillo. The lady of the hostel was very nice to help us out with getting a busticket to Mancora, she called every company for us and even wanted to buy our tickets for us in Trujillo (which is a 20 minute drive, costs about 15 soles) because she was gonna go there anyway. When the wifi wasn't working, she offered us to use her laptop for as long as we wanted (we're actually writing this review on it). Great friendly service. Great breakfast with good eggs and freshly made juices!Location: across the street from the beach. About a 10 minute walk to the center of Huanchaco.Price: we paid 36 soles for a matrimonial ensuite which is very cheap if you look at what you get + the location.

Disliked: The walls are kind of thin, and as there were young kids here on our stay it was a bit loud. But nothing that earplugs didn't fix!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: staff was friendly

Disliked: noice at the corridor

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability