HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Residencial Munaywasi

Guesthouse | Colón No.250, Trujillo, Peru 51

89.9% Overall Rating

54 out of 59 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/03/2014)

"Munay Wasi is a nice place to stay. We had a private double room for 3 nights, it was supposed to come with a shared bathroom, but ours was right outside the room, and we pretty much had it to ourselves the whole…"

Read all Residencial Munaywasi reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Trujillo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Trujillo

Portada del Sol
21.70 USD

Hostel 73.3% 6 reviews
B&B Orrego
14.00 USD

Hostel 45.7% 3 reviews
Hostel Cocosbeach
7.50 USD

Hotel 81.3% 43 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

54 out of 59 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Residencial Munaywasi'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 57 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamas Baranyay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Tamas would recommend this property

Liked: Quit but at good lcation. Large and not crowdy. Family feeling.

Disliked: Tamas left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Munay Wasi is a nice place to stay. We had a private double room for 3 nights, it was supposed to come with a shared bathroom, but ours was right outside the room, and we pretty much had it to ourselves the whole time. The owners and staff were really nice and helpful, especially when our midday bus to Lima on our leaving day was cancelled. We arrived back at the hostel at a loose end, and they let us use the facilities totally free of charge until we could get on another bus 6 hours later.

Disliked: The breakfast was quite basic, and the showers, although hot, weren't very strong.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

michaela genitheim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2013

Liked: great location, very helpful staff, enjoyed meeting and chatting with the seniora and other travelers at the breakfast table.

Disliked: a bit more expensive than what I am used to in peru

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was nice lady

Disliked: Bathroom not so clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

24 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, nice breakfast, clean and simple. Location very good.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was so friendly and made us feel really welcome. When we arrived around 10am she allowed us to have breakfast for free including eggs, bread and tea/coffee. She also provided us with lot's of info on the attractions in and around the town. There is a good kitchen available for guest use with a large supermarket in walking distance.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2013

Liked: To be honest, the owner let us in very early and was friendly.

Disliked: The pictures on Hostelbookers show the owners private rooms, not the guest rooms. The guest rooms are small, and without real windows, they just go to the corridor. Bathrooms have not been cleaned for a while. At least the hostel is not good value if you compare to other offers in Trujillo. I can't recommend.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Vogel

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was really nice and let me check in early before my travel companion arrived later that day. I had come overnight on the bus and she invited me to have breakfast that day. She provided a great map and "insiders guide" to Trujillo that helped us find a couple cool spots off the beaten path. The rooms were clean and bathrooms nice. They let us leave our bags in a locked room after we checked out and waited up for us to come gab them before we left on an overnight bus.

Disliked: It's a couple blocks from the plaza, which is accurately described on hostelbookers, but not accurately located on google maps.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner gives you a little map of the city to help you get around, and also offers tips about the cheapest ways of transportation.

Disliked: It's close to clubs and noisy places, so you will hear music in the middle of the night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly lady who owns the place. We arrived on an overnight bus and turned up very early. She was great, welcomed us in and gave us all the information we needed, maps etc. Even threw us a tree breakfast in that morning. Guest have access to a tv/mini seating area, internet, dining lounge and the kitchen if you are not in the dorm.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean. Working hot showers. Stable wifi. Great breakfast. Helpful staff who speak English well.

Disliked: There is a live outdoor music venue around the corner, and on Fri/Sat nights the music plays until 3am, and can be heard really well at the hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

christopher coleman

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Near town centre and secure

Disliked: Only shared bathrooms,which were not cleaned every day

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Steffen Boessl

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Steffen would recommend this property

Liked: They have the perfect pillows... for me a important thing.

Disliked: Steffen left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nevena Pencheva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 June 2012 Nevena would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this property was great- amazing location (5 min walk to the main street with all restaurants and things to see/do), very safe, the family who owns the house are very sweet, helpful and nice, great value for the money!

Disliked: Nothing, everything went great for me!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pierre Schulz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Pierre would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay, really feeling like home. Great tips and advices, good breakfast. Sure gonna come back next time,really worth another stay!

Disliked: nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice family owned residence. Rooms are new and shared bathrooms are clean. Can be noisy on the weekend (Friday and Saturday) as there is a disco in front. Common rooms are OK ans not the ones shown on Hostelbookers. Kitchen is not available for people who take the dorms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a bathroom to ourselves even though we opted for a shared bathroom. The owner was lovely she even gave us money for a cab because we had changed all our Peruvian soles for dollars just because she was concerned about our safety. The room was quite rustic but it had character! The water was always hot when you wanted a shower.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! nice bathroom with hot shower!

Disliked: to much light in the room during the day, difficult to sleep late...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, safe, you get akey to the front door which is better than always knocking, bathroons were really good

Disliked: probably a little pricy compared to other places we,ve stayed, expected a litle more from the private room, a tv would have been nice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clean

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christiane Koch

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

11 February 2012 Christiane would recommend this property

Liked: I appreciate the pick up from the airport, and that the hostel overall is very clean, nice staff.

Disliked: Well, the breakfast is nothing spectaculus, could be improved, quality of the bread, at least two sorts of marelade, but at least you get something

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheila Ball

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Sheila would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and kitchen available for use. Spacious, clean rooms, each with their own bathroom (though not attached). Hot water 24/7. Great place to meet new people. Centrally located but not too loud. I would definitely go back and highly recommend it.

Disliked: A bit loud in the morning when people were having breakfast since our window was facing towards the passageway - but that was at 930 am, so not bad overall!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mary Morrow

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2012 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: There was some confusion about my reservation, but everything was taken care of. They helped me find a tour I wanted and let me hang out until my bus left.

Disliked: Mary left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff and the showers : big and hot water..

Disliked: the breakfast : good but the same every day..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ville Viita

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 Ville would recommend this property

Liked: There are 8 rooms and 6 bathrooms, so almost everybody practically have their own toilet and shower. Place is very safe and secure and the owner is very helpful. She also speaks English. Location is good, near the center and Cruz del Sur bus terminal and buses to Chan Chan and Huanchaco. Good kitchen and coffee and tea available all day, if you boil your own water. We stayed there first one night, but decided to stay one more, and after visiting Huanchaho we came back for one more night. Extra plankets available.

Disliked: Water run out couple of times from two toilets while we stayed there. Wi-Fi didn't work. Noisy weekend nights because of bar close to the hostel.