HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal Cocosbeach Trujillo Hostel

Av. Larco 1500, Huanchaco, Trujillo, Peru

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 72%

Location 83%

Safety 88%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 7.00USD
  • Towel 1.50USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Trujillo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 72%

Location 83%

Safety 88%

Staff 88%

Value 86%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really nice owner. Helps as much as he can

Disliked: No kitchen

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly staff, only one guy spoke English and he wasn't there all the time so you may struggle if your Spanish is lacking. Cute room, you could hear the ocean at night you were that close! Ensuite was fine, everything was clean enough.

Disliked: So this isn't actually in Trujillo - its in Huanchaco which is a gorgeous beach town about 20 minutes outside. A taxi from Trujillo will cost around 15-20 soles but there are a tonne of huanchaco mini buses (with an A, B or H in the window) which will take you there for 1.50 soles, around 50 cents. They take longer but drop you off on the main road by the sea. This wasn't explained to us at the hostel so we paid more money than we'd have liked on a taxi!It is a little bit out of the way but only a 5-10 minute walk along the beach from all the cafes and bars. Only problem is that it isn't a backpackers hostel at all. Its a guesthouse for south Americans - we were the only gringos there and it isn't a good place to meet people or socialise. There's a bar and balcony but both were empty by 9 or 10 at night.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location of the hostel is awesome! Directly at the most beautiful beach, you only have to cross the street to get to the beach. The rooms are nice, well equipped and very clean. The bathroom has hot water and is really nice. There is also very good internet access in the room. My room had a TV and a table, yes and generally I was very happy with the room! For peruvian standards (and I have visited a lot of peruvian cities now as I travelled all over Perú in the last weeks) it is a very nice and clean room :) I liked it!I also appreciated how helpful and friendly the staff was. They always tood their time to answer all my questions and help me with whatever help I needed. There are also a lot of surfing schools around, a lot of other hostels and restaurants. Everything you need is around.

Disliked: The food in the restaurant is bad and there is no vegetarian food at all. But there are a lot of restaurants around (even one vegetarian only 3 min. walking away) so this was not a real problem for me.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was quite

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is good, near the main street and ocean, it is easy to find. Clean and big room, friendly staff speaking in English.

Disliked: On weekends there is a little bit noisy.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The place is pretty nice and quiet. I think we were the only people there. It´s set kind of down the beach away from where most of the hostels are and there isn´t much going on around there. It worked for us for a night and they held onto our bags until we caught a night bus outta town.

Disliked: There was a little confusion about breakfast prices, but it was fine. Also, my friend had her laundry done and it came back not really clean, but they washed it again at no charge.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: near the beach, tv, wifi.

Disliked: no much people i his moment of the year, but is the same for all the town

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: That it is located opposite the beach

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: great cheap place, friendly staff, nice beds.

Disliked: a bit of a walk down the beach but not terribly far I guess. rooftop needs more chairs. This is not really a party hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Listen to the waves. Location: away from the noisy touristic chaos. Clean, simple rooms. The owner speaks fluent English (better than me) and he is resourceful in guiding the surrounding places.

Disliked: This place is like a guesthouse with no common areas. The main floor is used as a restaurant/ bar and guests stay in rooms on the second and third floors.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability