HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Puma Backpackers Hostel Puno Hostel

Jr. Antonio Arenas 150, Puno, Peru

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 79%

Location 65%

Safety 85%

Staff 86%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Cooker
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free Internet Access
  • Fridge Freezer"
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Mini Supermarket
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • WiFi

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 07:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Pet Friendly"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puno?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 76%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 79%

Location 65%

Safety 85%

Staff 86%

Value 81%

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Good location

Disliked: She was very abrasive and overvjarged us for our stay and then for laundry. Consistently seemed to be trying to scrape more money out of us

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Pancakes for breakfast

Disliked: Cold and dark. Not special. Not a place to feel welcomed. Bathroom was dirty, beds in a two bed dorm were okay.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Owner is super nice, and the breakfast is yummy!

Disliked: Bathrooms weren´t super clean, Internet works sporadically, Really cold at night and in the mornings!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: peaceful, good value aand decent facilities

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owners were lovely and helpful if we needed it. The bed was super warm and comfortable. There wasnt anyone else staying on the top floor so it felt like we had an appartment to ourself. We had hot water all the time too.

Disliked: Bathroom could have been a little cleaner but apart from that, everything was great.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good kitchen, very quiet, helpful staff. Gave us an extra breakfast on the day we arrived though they didn't have to.

Disliked: A bit far from the center, not a pleasant walk at night.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff was very nice and understanding, as we were forced to delay our check in by a day, with less than 24 hours notice, due to strikes and road blockades in Juliaca. They did not charge us for the no show, and we ended up staying three nights, instead of one. The place is very clean and cosy in a homey way, our bed was very comfortable, and their small kitchen served us well (we are backpackers). Would recommend it!

Disliked: There are a few dogs in the area, which I guess is quite normal in many parts of Peru, but I'm quite scared of dogs, so I preferred not to come back to the hostel too late at night.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel owner was very eager to help us and conversed with us in a very friendly manner.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: They owners seemed very friendly, but unfortunately it turned out that it was only superficial and they were just trying to get money off us.

Disliked: The bathroom looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in weeks and we were ripped off by the owners when purchasing our bus ticket through them (60 soles instead of 25).

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Simple but tidy.

Disliked: The location. Its somewhat dodgy at nights and hard to find. Also, the hosts are eager to show their own contacts with the trips, but when you say that you've got other plants it's no problem.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability