We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Puno hostels

Reviews of Puma Backpacker Hostel

Hostel | jr. Antonio Arenas, Nº150, Circunvalación Norte cercado Puno, Peru 01

80.8% Overall Rating

63 out of 69 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

"The owners were lovely and helpful if we needed it. The bed was super warm and comfortable. There wasnt anyone else staying on the top floor so it felt like we had an appartment to ourself. We had hot water all the time…"

Read all Puma Backpacker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puno?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puno

Maria Angola Inn
12.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Kuntur Inn
29.90 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Inka's Rest
8.00 USD

Hostel 80.9% 1056 reviews
Qelqatani Hotel
15.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 93.4% 20 reviews
Intiqa Hotel
33.34 USD

Hotel 89.5% 13 reviews
Tayka Hostel
23.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Maison Del Lago
17.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Bothy Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 82.7% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.8%

Overall Rating

63 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Puma Backpacker Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
61.6%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 62 of 66 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were lovely and helpful if we needed it. The bed was super warm and comfortable. There wasnt anyone else staying on the top floor so it felt like we had an appartment to ourself. We had hot water all the time too.

Disliked: Bathroom could have been a little cleaner but apart from that, everything was great.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen, very quiet, helpful staff. Gave us an extra breakfast on the day we arrived though they didn't have to.

Disliked: A bit far from the center, not a pleasant walk at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaime Guzman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2013 Jaime would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel owner was very eager to help us and conversed with us in a very friendly manner.

Disliked: Jaime left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anton Gligorescu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 October 2013 Anton would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice and understanding, as we were forced to delay our check in by a day, with less than 24 hours notice, due to strikes and road blockades in Juliaca. They did not charge us for the no show, and we ended up staying three nights, instead of one. The place is very clean and cosy in a homey way, our bed was very comfortable, and their small kitchen served us well (we are backpackers). Would recommend it!

Disliked: There are a few dogs in the area, which I guess is quite normal in many parts of Peru, but I'm quite scared of dogs, so I preferred not to come back to the hostel too late at night.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013

Liked: They owners seemed very friendly, but unfortunately it turned out that it was only superficial and they were just trying to get money off us.

Disliked: The bathroom looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in weeks and we were ripped off by the owners when purchasing our bus ticket through them (60 soles instead of 25).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Arjen Kingma

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2013 Arjen would recommend this property

Liked: Simple but tidy.

Disliked: The location. Its somewhat dodgy at nights and hard to find. Also, the hosts are eager to show their own contacts with the trips, but when you say that you've got other plants it's no problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Arthur Eaves

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

11 February 2013 John Arthur would recommend this property

Liked: Great family staff, EXCELLENT BEDS, as well as nice view of Titicaca from our room. Besides waking up to pancakes after a late night, I was happy to find 2.5L of waters for sale, very cheap. Thanks guys!

Disliked: Location was about a 15 minute uphill walk from Jr. Lima

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wong ka wai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 wong would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is owned by a warm family, the lady is very nice and helpful. I booked my Lake titikaka tour when I arrive at 1900, they offer me a cheap price..so nice...Also, the lady make breakfast for me in early morning

Disliked: a bit far from the center, you need to walk uphill

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was safe and secure.

Disliked: was freezing, despite blankets and a little heater in the communial area. was the coldest place we stayed in so far.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ryan Tomko

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012

Liked: Very friendly family owners - when they were present. It was very cold at night, but the owners gave us extra blankets,

Disliked: Too far away from anything to do. One night we were stuck outside for over 15 minutes in the dark ringing the bell, because no one was at home to let us in. The hostel owners weren't really around a lot. There weren't enoug bathrooms for all the guests - constantly dirty and out of toilet paper.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family was very friendly, facilities were good and clean, showers were really hot.

Disliked: It is quite a bit up the hill/out of town, but as I didn't go out for dinner and as there isn't really a nightlife in town I didn't really care and just stayed at the hostel. Prices on hostelbooker are in Dollar but when I wanted to pay in Sol they wanted 5 Dollar more, so I just payed in Dollar as it was cheaper. Better have a look at the exchange rate before paying

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The communal shower was huge, also coffee (and milk!!) for breakfast along with a pancake was good. When we arrived at the bus station, the taxi drivers kept tellling us the property was miles away. It took ages to get there by taxi but there was a road that led directly down to town, so not far walking distance at all.

Disliked: Cold- when we arrived mid afternoon the whole building was freezing. There were blankets on the beds but overnight was still chilly, with no heating in the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly, helpful and approachable hosts. Kitchen is freely available for use. Nice hot showers.

Disliked: Bit far from main town but not really a problem due to hosts being able to call a taxi for you at any hour.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff who'll help you with anything. Also plenty of blankets available for the cold nights. And the hottest shower I've had whilst travelling!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aneta Karlikova

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2012 Aneta would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really friendly and very helpful in providing information about Puno and other places in Peru as well. The showers are really hot and the whole place is clean.

Disliked: Even though it is close to the downtown, it is up the hill so you need to do quite a hike to get there, nevertheless you can get there using a cheap mototaxi that will charge you 3 nuevo soles.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: homely atmosphere, the staff is very helpful and forthcoming, when I arrived in the missle of the night they did not charge me the first half-night. it's a bit of a hike out of the city center, but the advantage is it's a quiet neighborhood, free of car honks of the center

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

scott lindsay

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2012 scott would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean, good sheets, pillows and towels. The owners are helpful - the day I left they used their car (it might be a taxi some of the time) and for a taxi fare took me and two others to the bus station even making sure that we found the right gate and the terminal tax pay point (something that wasn't obvious to the uninitiated).

Disliked: Others have commented on the distance from town. Yes it is a little bit outside but nice and quiet at night and probably only 10 minutes walk or 3 -4 sols for a taxi. Not really a problem. From the bus station allow about 7 sols one way.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff (family) are super sweet and very helpful.

Disliked: It's rather far up the hill. Be ready for a climb

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT value for the money. Clean, big bathroom with HOT shower. Very friendly and helpful hosts, run by a couple and their children. for five bucks a night, internet and television/chill out room, free breakfast of pancakes and tea, and a great view of lake titikaka.

Disliked: nada

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rosella Bissonnette

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2011 Rosella would recommend this property

Liked: Very secure!

Disliked: Kinda far away from town but taxis are only 3 soles...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owners were really helpful, they offered us a ride to the terminal cheaper than by taxi, the breakfast was excellent (pancakes - ricooooo!!!!), the view is amazing.

Disliked: we were staying in a dorm downstairs, where we didn´t like the bathroom; we could go upstairs instead, so actuallz it wasn´t a problem at all..

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2011

Liked: The owners are very friendly and do try to make you feel comfortable. We got a cup of tea on arrival and they do have some brochures about trips.

Disliked: Also, we did not get a house key.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Biggs

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2011 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: The family running the hostel is extremely friendly and helpful. They booked my 2-day Lake Titicaca tour and onward bus ticket to Bolivia for me, without even leaving the house. I really appreciated the security of the property and the amenities available.

Disliked: It was pretty cold a night. However, they provide plenty of blankets, so all was well. The hostel is up the hill from the Plaza de Armas, which is bit of a hike, but it is safe and there's a great view from the top.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the "staff" / owners!

Disliked: Room was very cold

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice hostel, very small and run by a couple. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable and showers warm! They make pancakes for you at breakfast time and will happily book any bus tickets for you. If you're doing an overnight trip to the lake, they'll keep your backpack safe for you. They'll even order you a take away pizza if you don't feel like cooking!

Disliked: The location isn't the best as it's further out of town than most hotels/hostels but taxis there are dtill very cheap from the city centre.


See all Puno hostels