HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Bothy Backpaker Hostel Puno Hostel

Giron Iquitos 136, Getting there: Iquitos with Pardo St, Puno, Peru

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 77%

Location 79%

Safety 87%

Staff 86%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 30.00USD
  • Towel 1.50USD

Important Information

WARNING about the taxis/cabs of the area:

Drivers might claim not to know where the hostel is in order to gain commission from elsewhere, so please, tell them the address and show them the map of the hostel.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puno?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 77%

Location 79%

Safety 87%

Staff 86%

Value 78%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The family that runs this hostel is incredibly nice! They went above and beyond for us during our stay. They cooked a great breakfast…checked in on us to make sure we were happy and made hot water for us whenever we asked. They are very hardworking and our stay in their hostel was a positive experience. They also set us up with a great tour of Islas Flotantes de Los Uros and Isla de Taquile for a very reasonable price. We had a great stay and still can't get over how nice the family that runs this place was to us!

Disliked: At first, the place looks slightly run down because they are working on fixing it up but looks aren't everything! We didn't dislike anything in particular except there wasn't much hot water for showers - but that is typical for practically any hostel. We would definitely recommend this hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We booked our trip through them for a full day to the islands and would highly recommend this.

Disliked: Breakfast is poor. I had to stand up the whole way through it due to 8 chairs between a hostel of 40+. No coffee, didn't get juice, jam is runny and impossible to spread so you're left with bread and butter. NO HOT WATER, tried showering 6 times over 2 days and was freezing cold. Room stunk of cigarettes and is right next to communal area with window above missing and a 6 inch gap at the bottom of door = very noisy. People up at 5am waking us up and doorbell ringing all night, we got no sleep. Pillows are awful, bed uncomfortable. There are other hostels in better locations, go there.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The Hostel is beautiful. Good place to stay!, the Hostel was very enjoyable. Hot water in the shower. Clean bathroom. Common room with hot and free tea or cofee. Super helpful staff. I recomend you to come to Bothy hostel.

Disliked: All fine

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We had a Fantastic stay! all was good. The hostel has all the facilites you need. Hot water in the shower. Clean bathroom. Clean kitchen and the staff is very kind and extremly helpful. Would recommend this hostel to everybody!. Because this hostel is Cheap to stay and tours etc... The breakfast is very nice too, pancakes!!!

Disliked: all was ok

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Bothy Hostel was fantastic and we enjoyed our stay. The staff were incredibly helpful, is cheap stay in this place, they have good mattresses and excelent breakfast and they organized excelent tours because when we arrived to Puno the bus station. Many people they offer and sell the tours and we bought the tours Uros Floating Island, they never picked up we don't we could not complain to anyone for the scam, we lost our money then BOTHY is more safe.

Disliked: All was good

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Some of the staff were very nice, it's relatively close to the centre.

Disliked: I arrived during the festival so it was a bit chaotic, no explanation of the facilities or tour. No wifi, two toilets/showers as one was unusable. The room was a bit like a cell with an old sheet on the window and generally the place is scruffy. The details on the description make it sound much better than it is...

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were amazing. So friendly. So helpful. I was there during festival time when the whole town was overrun with visitors and all the hostels & hotels totally maxxed out. The staff at Bothy bent over backwards to avoid turning anyone away, putting mattresses and piles of blankets in the TV room, dining room, anywhere there was spare floor. Also great free internet, free tea and coffee all day, use of a kitchen, pancakes with breakfast, they can book you excursions and also onward bus tickets without you having to go to the terminal (and without charging you extra for the service).

Disliked: One day the hot water in the shower gave out on me halfway through but I think it was just because so many people were showering at the same time.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean kitchen and excellent breakfast.

Disliked: Bathrooms were either disgustingly dirty or put you on public display at the reservation desk. The pillow was the most uncomfortable I have had in over 8 months of traveling.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: A lovely place,spacious and very clean room,The pancakes were really tasty for breakfast. they offer differents options of the tous in Puno a good price

Disliked: All was good

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: A great hostel with space to relax, wonderful facilities - decent showers, speed WIFI, comfy beds, fireplace, recent movies with TV, footbol table. Very clean and secure. Staff are very friendly. this Hotel is Cheap stay and awesome experience. :)

Disliked: ...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability