HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Puno hostels

Reviews of Bothy Hostel

Hostel | Jiron Iquitos 136, Puno, Peru .

82.7% Overall Rating

13 out of 21 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2013)

"We booked our trip through them for a full day to the islands and would highly recommend this."

Read all Bothy Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.00
  • Towel USD 1.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

WARNING about the taxis/cabs of the area: Drivers might claim not to know where the hostel is in order to gain commission from elsewhere, so please, tell them the address and show them the map of the hostel.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puno?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puno

Huchuy Wasi
12.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Maison Del Lago
17.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Intiqa Hotel
33.34 USD

Hotel 89.5% 13 reviews
Kantaya Hostel
8.90 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Quechuas Inka Palace
13.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Tayka Hostel
23.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ollanta Inn
10.50 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 10 reviews
EL INTI BACKPACKER
9.00 USD

Hostel 45.7% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

13 out of 21 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bothy Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.2%
Location
79.1%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
82.9%
Staff
88.6%
Value
82.9%
Safety
89.5%
Refine your results Showing 20 of 21 reviews
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013

Liked: We booked our trip through them for a full day to the islands and would highly recommend this.

Disliked: Breakfast is poor. I had to stand up the whole way through it due to 8 chairs between a hostel of 40+. No coffee, didn't get juice, jam is runny and impossible to spread so you're left with bread and butter. NO HOT WATER, tried showering 6 times over 2 days and was freezing cold. Room stunk of cigarettes and is right next to communal area with window above missing and a 6 inch gap at the bottom of door = very noisy. People up at 5am waking us up and doorbell ringing all night, we got no sleep. Pillows are awful, bed uncomfortable. There are other hostels in better locations, go there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rachel drew

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2013 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel is beautiful. Good place to stay!, the Hostel was very enjoyable. Hot water in the shower. Clean bathroom. Common room with hot and free tea or cofee. Super helpful staff. I recomend you to come to Bothy hostel.

Disliked: All fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ann west

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2013 ann would recommend this property

Liked: We had a Fantastic stay! all was good. The hostel has all the facilites you need. Hot water in the shower. Clean bathroom. Clean kitchen and the staff is very kind and extremly helpful. Would recommend this hostel to everybody!. Because this hostel is Cheap to stay and tours etc... The breakfast is very nice too, pancakes!!!

Disliked: all was ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

evas horst

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 March 2013 evas would recommend this property

Liked: Bothy Hostel was fantastic and we enjoyed our stay. The staff were incredibly helpful, is cheap stay in this place, they have good mattresses and excelent breakfast and they organized excelent tours because when we arrived to Puno the bus station. Many people they offer and sell the tours and we bought the tours Uros Floating Island, they never picked up we don't we could not complain to anyone for the scam, we lost our money then BOTHY is more safe.

Disliked: All was good

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013

Liked: Some of the staff were very nice, it's relatively close to the centre.

Disliked: I arrived during the festival so it was a bit chaotic, no explanation of the facilities or tour. No wifi, two toilets/showers as one was unusable. The room was a bit like a cell with an old sheet on the window and generally the place is scruffy. The details on the description make it sound much better than it is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vicky Bertorelli

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2013 Vicky would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing. So friendly. So helpful. I was there during festival time when the whole town was overrun with visitors and all the hostels & hotels totally maxxed out. The staff at Bothy bent over backwards to avoid turning anyone away, putting mattresses and piles of blankets in the TV room, dining room, anywhere there was spare floor. Also great free internet, free tea and coffee all day, use of a kitchen, pancakes with breakfast, they can book you excursions and also onward bus tickets without you having to go to the terminal (and without charging you extra for the service).

Disliked: One day the hot water in the shower gave out on me halfway through but I think it was just because so many people were showering at the same time.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2013

Liked: Clean kitchen and excellent breakfast.

Disliked: Bathrooms were either disgustingly dirty or put you on public display at the reservation desk. The pillow was the most uncomfortable I have had in over 8 months of traveling.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jedd bior

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 November 2012

Liked: A lovely place,spacious and very clean room,The pancakes were really tasty for breakfast. they offer differents options of the tous in Puno a good price

Disliked: All was good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tom lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

21 November 2012 tom would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel with space to relax, wonderful facilities - decent showers, speed WIFI, comfy beds, fireplace, recent movies with TV, footbol table. Very clean and secure. Staff are very friendly. this Hotel is Cheap stay and awesome experience. :)

Disliked: ...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jan weng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

21 November 2012 jan would recommend this property

Liked: i'ts a nice place, not very far from the main square, Clean toilets, Hot water in the shower,... there is a Common room with hot and free tea or cofee. Great place, not expensive for the night.

Disliked: xxx

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jerome kern

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 jerome would recommend this property

Liked: We had a FANTASTIC STAY. all was excelent. The hostel has all the facilites you need. Hot water in the shower. Clean bathroom. Clean kitchen and the staff is very kind and extremly helpful. Would recommend this hostel to everybody!. Because this hostel is Cheap to stay...

Disliked: all was ok

40.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Joaquim Omura

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2012

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and the movie room.

Disliked: The woman who works there sold us a tour that was terrible. They leaved us in the puno's port in the middle of the night and it was raining. They didn't told us that there's no transfer back to the hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is rally rallt nice, they ll help you with everything. help you out if you don t have a towel, give you a lock and make you fresh pancakes...all without extra charge. there are free internet and hamocks. all day you can get different kinds of tee, as well free of charge. it s about 3 to 4 cuadras from the center. the street is a bit dark, but it is not dangerous. they have a nice yard and a table football. the kitchen and dining room are clean and well equiped. they ll help you out with tours and busses.

Disliked: a bit could, but that s how puno is.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011

Liked: The staff is really nice and helpful. The toilet is very clean. The quality of wifi is good. The kitchen is well-equipped. It's in a quiet street (but easily access to the centre), so you can sleep well.

Disliked: The shower is either very hot or very cold.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2011

Liked: We left the hostel as we found a cheaper one closer to the centre, with a double room and bathroom for 8soles cheaper

Disliked: The smell, the state of the toilets and fact on breakfast menu in reception pancakes were not mentioned

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful staff, free pancakes and free internet

Disliked: Rooms a little noisy, everything a little cramped

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, 5mins walk to main square.clean and tidy very helpful with tours and bookings.staff extremely hospitable Eduardo was awesome and my little friend Nahomy was good to us to

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

28 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff but a basic hostel. Free internet was good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tral BUsnach

14 April 2010 Tral would recommend this property

Liked: the please was great!

Disliked: Tral left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachel Jackson

18 March 2010 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Was really easy to organise trip to the lake and the islands through the hostel.

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.


See all Puno hostels