HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Puno hostels

Reviews of Inka's Rest

Hostel | Pasaje San Carlos 158, Puno, Peru --

81.1% Overall Rating

999 out of 1057 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/10/2014)

"The staff are super nice, super friendly and very knowledgeable about what to do in and around Puno. Somehow our reservation was lost but the receptionist quickly got us a room. We appreciated the hot showers, clean…"

Read all Inka's Rest reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puno?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puno

Hotel Kuntur Inn
29.90 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Qelqatani Hotel
15.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 93.4% 20 reviews
Puma Backpacker Hostel
7.40 USD

Hostel 80.8% 70 reviews
Hostal Helena Inn
15.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
SAN ANTONIO SUITES
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 13 reviews
Hotel Monterrey
13.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Camino Real Turistico Hotel
15.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.7% 84 reviews
Intiqa Hotel
33.34 USD

Hotel 89.5% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.1%

Overall Rating

999 out of 1057 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Inka's Rest'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
85.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 881 of 903 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 35 | 36   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful, room was clean and we got a little lounge area with a tv, compuer etc!

Disliked: The staff helped us book a bus to Copacabana which was great, but we were told the bus would be 2 hours and it was 4 and a half!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff fruit at breakfast

Disliked: very cold in the common areas

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Shribman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: This place is a real winner. The family in charge are amoungst the most characterful people I've met in Peru. The self description of the hostel is very honest. They really do care a lot about promoting good tourism, at the best rates (I know having tried many other places in town for the same tours). It's not often you stay at a hostel where you can totally trust the owners to have your best interests at heart. A real attention to detail that other hostels don't have. there are good showers, comfortable, clean rooms, top notch facilities, ample breakfast, but also there are things like pots of free sweets on the tables of the apartments, hot water for free hot drinks brought to your room every day, much faster internet than you might expect (and numerous computers). Furnishings of the apartments are very homely. It's not a party hostel, but then Puno isn't a party town. Still, the apartment set up means that most guests who stay here will meet new people. Also, this really is a place where they go the extra mile. I showed the woman in charge of the hostel a hole in my new woolen jumper, and she said "you must let me fix this; this is my house, I am the mother!¨"

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Taylor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was chirpy and animated even at 5am! Makes you feel very welcome and very helpful with booking trips... Gets get prices too!

Disliked: couldn't complain

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greg Morley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2011 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: the owner, the crispy morning bread, the clean washrooms, the other guests

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helpful with booking trips to Lake Titicaca, fast wifi.

Disliked: It's a bit confusing as to where you can and cannot go inside the hostel - some common rooms and computers are off-limits, even though no signs say so.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Inka's rest was undoubtedly the best hostel we stayed at in Peru. Alfredo the owner is very nice and truly make you feel at home. The rooms are simple, but nice and clean, the beds are comfortable. The overall atmosphere is colorful and fun.

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit light, as it is the case in every hostel we stayed at. We booked a tour for 90 soles for a 2 days trip to the Islands on the Titicaca and found out some other people in the same group as us got it for 70 soles through another hostel, so we felt kind of ripped off...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shane O'Hara

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: The owners!!! So helpful, nice and welcoming..its like a home away from home..the minute you walk in you feel so welcome. You are immediately made feel like guests...The rooms are great also..Its like staying in a two bedroom apartment, with shared sitting room and bathroom in each..unending selection of dvds, also teas and sweets in the rooms. Great place for anyone, especially couples. If you are not in a hurry, you should try and spend a few days here as you get a real sense of living in the area and this is down to the apartment style rooms..Its a hostel but does not feel like a hostel, in a good way. Alfred will sort out all your needs..He and his lovely wife are so so helpful...

Disliked: nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay in Puno! The owners were very accommodating and they assisted me with all of my requests. The beds/shower/ambiance all exceeded my expectations. I

Disliked: None.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large cleam room with tv and dvd´player. Computer in room. Location excellent. Owners so friendly amd helpful

Disliked: nothing. There isnt much to do in Puno itself but Hostel was amazing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were extremely helpful, especially when there was a strike in Copacabana. They kept us informed and made sure we had a place to stay if we didn't make it.

Disliked: no power points in the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Colin Hallion

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are very helpful!

Disliked: The showers don't work properly!

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good for Couples - Nice relaxing place to stay TV & DVD player within Apartment (2 rooms share one common area/bathroom) Owner (Alfred) was helpful booking tours/bus/info Fruit with breakfast was nice

Disliked: Not party hostel (which could be a good thing)

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner, wifi

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we had a room with a shared bathroom, which you only have to share with one other room, and you get a living room with tv, dvd player and dining table too. there is endless tea and sweets too. alfred ´the big´is very helpful, and can help with anything you need (and recommends some very good restaurants!). Breakfast was ok.

Disliked: we did the floating island and taquile tour, which was rubbish! it wasnt alfreds or incas rests fault, i´m sure all the tours are the same. the floating islands are a fake, and we had about 40 mins on taquile, in which time we had an expensive lunch and were rushed back to the boat. 6 hours on the boat for that!!! i would recommend getting the public boat and exploring yourself!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel, hot water, near the street the owner principal.Alfred excellent person, get good prices on tours, buses, always consult with before making a reserva.Good breakfast and coffee.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nilla Palmer

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Nilla would recommend this property

Liked: Booked 2 nights and stayed 4 nights. Great homely atmosphere, good breakfast (excellent coffee), good location, small well-equipped kitchen available. Alfredo (owner) is extremely helpful and friendly (speaks many languages). Well thought out extras such as free selection of teas day/night, sweets on communal tables, candle in bathroom, and free wifi/internet.

Disliked: Nada.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms wifi breakfast all included

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hendrik Schaefer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011 Hendrik would recommend this property

Liked: clean and safe, good breakfast, kind staff, free wifi, hot showers, comfy beds

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melissa Reyes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: It was just ok. Comfortable bed and good breakfast, but nothing to stay more than a night waiting for your excursion to the islands.. Puno itself doesn't have that much to do.

Disliked: The owners were nice but way too gossipers.. that was kind of annoying.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owners are really helpful and friendly, the breakfast was pretty good and its within walking distance to the plaza.

Disliked: There wasn´t always hot water.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: the apartment style, you basically have your own aprtment with two bedrooms, so your own nice space to chill out and watch TV or have a cup of tea which is always there too. Hot showers hOORAH!! Also Alfred the owner is ace

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elizabeth maffia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay. Owned by a very helpful and friendly family. In a good location, easy walk to main square, market etc. Hostel clean, good facilities. Warm showers, WiFi, Kitchen, coffee/Tea, & Breakfast included. Rooms are well equipped with warm blankets as it get really cold at night. The owners can help organize buses etc.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dhyana Aum

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 Dhyana would recommend this property

Liked: Inkas Rest is truly the best hostel in South America that we have stayed in so far. The bad points (see below) were insignificant compared to the brilliance of the hostel e.g. the hostel seemed to be made of little flats/apartments, each had two rooms (either twins/doubles/dorms) and shared a living room, bathroom, internet access, dining table, and hot tea making facilities. plus a communal kitchen upstairs between all of the flats, and all was very clean. Alfred (the Great), the owner, gave us a great map and invaluable advice on places to visit, shops, places to eat, and tours, including a fab coach company to take us to Cuzco. We spent a much needed night having a chinese (chiffa) take away, at Alfred's sugesstion, and watched a DVD with a bottle of wine in our living room (not our plan but the altitude does knock it out of you.) Loved, loved, loved it, perfect for Puno! I also like the fact that the rooms were locked with our own padlock, therefore our room was a locker in itself! OUR PERSONAL ADVICE: Do not turn up after half nine at night ( 21:30) Tour companies in Ariquipe say that buses run at every hour however, buses after 6pm (18:00) are horrendous and scary. Do the journey in the day time if poss.

Disliked: I'm sure they won't be pleased for us to announce this, however we arrived in Puno at 12:45 (45 minutes after our check-in time) and rang on the door bell and banged on the door (for a considerble amount of time) until they answered, (which, to our relief, they did!!!) Alfred (the owner) the morning after, berated us kindly about us turning up so late, then gave us the best advice possible about everything we needed and wanted to know.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Strasser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

07 August 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing! This was the best place that I stayed in Peru. The water was always hot, the Internet worked perfectly with a strong signal, and they served a wonderful breakfast each morning that included peach nectar! They had tons of great DVD movies to watch on your own, each level (of 3) had tea, coffee and candy out, and the owners were very friendly. I booked the private suite for two nights, so I got the free trip to Lake Tikitaka Uros floating Islands and Taquille Island. It was amazing! I would highly recommend staying here!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Puno hostels