HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Puno hostels

Reviews of Inka's Rest

Hostel | Pasaje San Carlos 158, Puno, Peru --

83.8% Overall Rating

989 out of 1047 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/11/2013)

"Staff were very friendly and booked all our bus tickets for us, rather than having to go to the bus station ourselves. Breakfast was good, and early enough that you could still take advantage of it before early day…"

Read all Inka's Rest reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puno?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Puno

Hotel Kuntur Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Qelqatani Hotel
15.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 93.4% 20 reviews
Puma Backpacker Hostel
7.40 USD

Hostel 80.6% 66 reviews
Maria Angola Inn
12.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Helena Inn
15.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
SAN ANTONIO SUITES
14.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.0% 11 reviews
Camino Real Turistico Hotel
15.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.9% 82 reviews
Intiqa Hotel
33.34 USD

Hotel 89.5% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

989 out of 1047 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Inka's Rest'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 873 of 893 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 34 | 35   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NA RAE NOH

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012 NA RAE would recommend this property

Liked: I haven't got a Bolivia visa in Cuzco because the Bolivia embassy is closed for their national holiday. So, I had to stay one more day in cuzco and I took a night bus to Puno and arrived early morning (before 6 am). It was no matter with friendly staff! We had a breakfast for free. They made a reservation our tour around Titicaca (uros,taqile) It was very good and nice

Disliked: a little noisy aroud the hostel

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a good location, and the room was good for the price. The bed was comfortable, but the shower was very dark.

Disliked: The hostel offered to book our buses for us, but when we came back for the tickets, the hostel staff asked for a tip. It was awkward.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: GREAT hostel. Incredibly helpful staff-- Jan and Ulterio are excellent. Every little thing that you want like tea all day and multiple places to relax. A lot of help with services and tours at a good price. Breakfast is early and good. Fruit and bread. The only minor issue is the internet can be slow, but if youre desperate, just pay a sol down the street.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners with good local recommendations. I booked the Lake tour through them. Hot showers.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2012

Liked: Close to the centre of town. Good at arranging tours.

Disliked: The manager's peculiar behaviour towards me made me feel very uncomfortable. I couldn't stay there again.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet and staff were helpful in teaching me spanish, allowed to bring in own alcohol, coffee in the morning is good. lots of lounging areas for chillaxing

Disliked: pretty empty, no real atmosphere. bathrooms not great but more than adequate. computers very slow.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2012

Liked: Location was spot on for Puno centre, train station. Good for arranging tours to lake etc. and advising best options for travel etc. Having a living room area to watch movies in was really nice, as was having a kitchen area to use - but note that both of these were rather tired and not as comfortable & clean as we had hoped.

Disliked: In places the rooms etc. are very tired, grubby, bare wires coming out in bathroom, just generally wasn't the best environment for us to relax in and it could really do with a refurb and some TLC! Some of the staff were very 'in your face' at times, they were sweet people and helpful (heart in right place) but sometimes you just want a bit of space and it was difficult to get it at times! Breakfast was not good, especially as it was Christmas Day I guess this made us feel more let down than we otherwise would have.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James kennedy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place with little mini-apartments and homely feel. Even got free DVDs available!

Disliked: Only slight thing to improve would be breakfast - it's just fruit and bread

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YIN MUI CHAN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 YIN MUI would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very helpful and friendly. They provided useful information like supermarket, restaurant and shopping place. We lived in Twin Room on 3rd floor, with comfort and large living room and kitchen. And wifi can be used in room.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free tea all the time, helpfulness of owner

Disliked: Dorm people can´t use computer in dining room even if its not being used. Except during breakfast.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked everything about Inka's rest - friendly owners, comfortable rooms with hot showers, nice kitchen facilities, wifi :) We had a room on the third floor, which had a really nice living-room like lounge area, and free tea all day. We arranged two tours (nearby ruins and lake tour/homestay) and onward transport with them, and were really happy with everything. Would DEFINITELY recommend this place!

Disliked: nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice, funny owner

Disliked: towels only for rent

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very comfy common areas with tea/coffee available throughout the day, very friendly and helpful hosts

Disliked: our double ensuite room had no windows except for a ceiling window which cannot be opened - which had the advantage that the room was staying warmat night, but nothing for fresh air fanatics...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Inka`s rest is a great set up with 2 rooms in each apartment which have 2 shared bathrooms, a lounge, computer, tea and free sweets! It doesn't look great from the outside but is lovely inside and not far away from Lima Street which is where all the restaurants/bars etc are. As a single female I felt safe walking from Inka's Rest to there in the dark and the streets were really busy. The owner is very friendly and helpful with booking tours, onward travel etc. This hostel also 'promo' shares with lots of other hostels in Peru e.g Arequpiay Backpackers so if you are coming or going from one of those you can get money off by booking directly with the hostel.

Disliked: The kitchen is tiny and doesnt have many facilities if you are wanting to cook.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

xabier farrauz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

13 November 2011 xabier would recommend this property

Liked: excellent.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Steven Hill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. We emailed them before we arrived and they booked our tours for us. each set of dorms had a living area with tea/coffee, tv and space to relax. the showers are boiling hot. As one of the girls in our dorm said the beds are like sleeping on clouds. 5min walk to the plaza. The hostel is on a cul de sac so is quite at night

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin Mottram

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 November 2011 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: The owner, Alfredo, was very helpful and kind. An excellent host.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful, room was clean and we got a little lounge area with a tv, compuer etc!

Disliked: The staff helped us book a bus to Copacabana which was great, but we were told the bus would be 2 hours and it was 4 and a half!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff fruit at breakfast

Disliked: very cold in the common areas

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Shribman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: This place is a real winner. The family in charge are amoungst the most characterful people I've met in Peru. The self description of the hostel is very honest. They really do care a lot about promoting good tourism, at the best rates (I know having tried many other places in town for the same tours). It's not often you stay at a hostel where you can totally trust the owners to have your best interests at heart. A real attention to detail that other hostels don't have. there are good showers, comfortable, clean rooms, top notch facilities, ample breakfast, but also there are things like pots of free sweets on the tables of the apartments, hot water for free hot drinks brought to your room every day, much faster internet than you might expect (and numerous computers). Furnishings of the apartments are very homely. It's not a party hostel, but then Puno isn't a party town. Still, the apartment set up means that most guests who stay here will meet new people. Also, this really is a place where they go the extra mile. I showed the woman in charge of the hostel a hole in my new woolen jumper, and she said "you must let me fix this; this is my house, I am the mother!¨"

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Taylor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was chirpy and animated even at 5am! Makes you feel very welcome and very helpful with booking trips... Gets get prices too!

Disliked: couldn't complain

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greg Morley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2011 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: the owner, the crispy morning bread, the clean washrooms, the other guests

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff helpful with booking trips to Lake Titicaca, fast wifi.

Disliked: It's a bit confusing as to where you can and cannot go inside the hostel - some common rooms and computers are off-limits, even though no signs say so.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Inka's rest was undoubtedly the best hostel we stayed at in Peru. Alfredo the owner is very nice and truly make you feel at home. The rooms are simple, but nice and clean, the beds are comfortable. The overall atmosphere is colorful and fun.

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit light, as it is the case in every hostel we stayed at. We booked a tour for 90 soles for a 2 days trip to the Islands on the Titicaca and found out some other people in the same group as us got it for 70 soles through another hostel, so we felt kind of ripped off...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shane O'Hara

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2011 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: The owners!!! So helpful, nice and welcoming..its like a home away from home..the minute you walk in you feel so welcome. You are immediately made feel like guests...The rooms are great also..Its like staying in a two bedroom apartment, with shared sitting room and bathroom in each..unending selection of dvds, also teas and sweets in the rooms. Great place for anyone, especially couples. If you are not in a hurry, you should try and spend a few days here as you get a real sense of living in the area and this is down to the apartment style rooms..Its a hostel but does not feel like a hostel, in a good way. Alfred will sort out all your needs..He and his lovely wife are so so helpful...

Disliked: nada


See all Puno hostels