HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Tarantula EcoHostal

Hostel | Avenida Aeropuerto s/n, Puerto Maldonado, Peru n/a

65.7% Overall Rating

5 out of 9 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/12/2012)

"We liked that we were not directly in Puerto Maldonado. It was nice to feel like we actually in the jungle and not in the city. The staff was very helpful and spoke basic english."

Read all Tarantula EcoHostal reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Maldonado?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.7%

Overall Rating

5 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Tarantula EcoHostal'

Atmosphere
62.2%
Location
62.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
57.8%
Staff
68.9%
Value
73.3%
Safety
75.6%
Refine your results Showing 8 of 9 reviews
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2013

Liked: Close to the airport, basic cheap place to stay.

Disliked: Only the owner spoke basic English non of the staff did which lead to many mis communications. It was like staying in someones actual house and you were an inconvienience rather than a guest. We had one of the best rooms so I dread to think what the others were like. The manager really could not be bothered, we felt like he did not want us there. Rooms had not been cleaned to even a basic standard.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Sherwood

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Monkeys and tarantulas!

Disliked: Samuel left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2013

Liked: very near the airport

Disliked: very, very dirty! old, swimming pool not usuable because very old water

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked that we were not directly in Puerto Maldonado. It was nice to feel like we actually in the jungle and not in the city. The staff was very helpful and spoke basic english.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near the airport. We actually had a tarantula in our room but the front desk staff removed it for us.

Disliked: Far from the city center (just a 10 soles taxi ride away)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Brian Nolan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 November 2012 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Close to airport, good for transit to jungle.

Disliked: Bathroom could be a little cleaner.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2012

Liked: We had a private double and the bathroom was the cleanest I've come across in Peru. Also free airport pickup was great.

Disliked: it was outside of town, the room we stayed in was a wooden hut, no glass in window instead there was a mosquito mesh, so didn't feel too secure. Bathroom in mind building left a lot to b desired. But staff were nice and the macaws were beautiful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

christopher coleman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Near the airport and large rooms

Disliked: A taxi ride into town and the road was quiet at night so a little wait for a ride