HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Tarantula Eco-Hostel Guesthouse

Avenida Aeropuerto s/n, Puerto Maldonado, Peru

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 60%

Location 62%

Safety 76%

Staff 69%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Café
  • Ceiling fan
  • DVDs
  • Free Airport Transfer
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Mini-bar
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Puerto Maldonado?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 60%

Location 62%

Safety 76%

Staff 69%

Value 73%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to the airport, basic cheap place to stay.

Disliked: Only the owner spoke basic English non of the staff did which lead to many mis communications. It was like staying in someones actual house and you were an inconvienience rather than a guest. We had one of the best rooms so I dread to think what the others were like. The manager really could not be bothered, we felt like he did not want us there.Rooms had not been cleaned to even a basic standard.


The property's response is

Hi:
if all my staff speaks English surely would have to pay a lot more to them, and surely the price of our hostel, would be more expensive. Sorry if the room was not clean, I always make sure that the rooms are clean although our hostel is the most humble and cheap, with all the services we offer.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Monkeys and tarantulas!

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very near the airport

Disliked: very, very dirty! old, swimming pool not usuable because very old water


The property's response is

Hi.

Sorry for the pool, is not easy to change the pool water every week, but we use chlorine to clean the water in the pool, maybe the day you were in our hostel had not miss chlorine excuse for that.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Close to airport, good for transit to jungle.

Disliked: Bathroom could be a little cleaner.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Near the airport. We actually had a tarantula in our room but the front desk staff removed it for us.

Disliked: Far from the city center (just a 10 soles taxi ride away)

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We had a private double and the bathroom was the cleanest I've come across in Peru. Also free airport pickup was great.

Disliked: it was outside of town, the room we stayed in was a wooden hut, no glass in window instead there was a mosquito mesh, so didn't feel too secure. Bathroom in mind building left a lot to b desired. But staff were nice and the macaws were beautiful.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We liked that we were not directly in Puerto Maldonado. It was nice to feel like we actually in the jungle and not in the city. The staff was very helpful and spoke basic english.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Near the airport and large rooms

Disliked: A taxi ride into town and the road was quiet at night so a little wait for a ride

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability