HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Iskay

Guesthouse | Patacalle s/n, Cusco, Ollantaytambo, Peru -

96.2% Overall Rating

43 out of 43 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/06/2014)

WESLEY HUUPPONEN thinks…

"Beautiful courtyard outside our room with a very warm bed. Also lovely to hear the sound of the river flowing nearby"

Read all Hostal Iskay reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.50

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ollantaytambo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ollantaytambo

Mama Simona Ollantaytambo
15.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Chaska Wasi
8.52 USD

Guesthouse 82.3% 102 reviews
KB Tambo Hostal
21.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 140 reviews
INKA PARADISE
19.50 USD

Hostel 84.7% 14 reviews
Full Moon Lodge
17.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 4 reviews
Apu Lodge
37.33 USD

Hostel 89.8% 19 reviews
Hotel Sol
21.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal los Andenes
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 77.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.2%

Overall Rating

43 out of 43 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Iskay'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
97.6%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 39 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

WESLEY HUUPPONEN

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2014 WESLEY would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful courtyard outside our room with a very warm bed. Also lovely to hear the sound of the river flowing nearby

Disliked: WESLEY left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melinda Ha

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Melinda would recommend this property

Liked: Cute lodgings, clean facilities, free towel and body soap, access to hot water, free filtered water, free tea, access to kitchen, friendly staff, nice garden and pretty view of Ollantaytambo ruins

Disliked: Difficult to find, stayed there on Saturday night (could hear locals on the street late at night)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nutan Arora

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Nutan would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable room. Beautiful garden. Good Breakfast. Helpful Staff.

Disliked: It was hard to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Atalya Peritz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014 Atalya would recommend this property

Liked: It is one of the nicest hostels I've been at with beautiful garden and view of the ruins of Ollantaytambo. The rooms are awesome and clean, its safe, quiet and cozy, and their breakfast is really good.

Disliked: Atalya left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel with exemplary service staff. Really good and interesting food.. Nice gift shop. STaff could not have been more helpful or friendly - OUTSTANDING service

Disliked: A bit higher than other hostels we found

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely location, an attracitve garden setting, and our room was roomy and comfortable. Staff were very friendly. Good value for money.

Disliked: Our forward transport did not arrive, and we had to get a local taxi--the price was reduced by $10 by the hotel, but the experience did not impress. Nor was the message that we wanted outward tansport acted on ahead of time, despite leaving the message 3 times. The staff did finally find a mototaxi, but the delay caused unnecessary stress--we were catching the train. The room could have been cleaned more thoroughly. The breakfast was adequate, but basic. This is a hotel that is trying to suit Western tastes and standards, but doesn't quite make it yet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastien FERENCZI

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Sebastien would recommend this property

Liked: very pleasant place, everything perfect provided you ask for a heater in the room

Disliked: Sebastien left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christel andy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2013 christel would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful property, beautiful view, comfy beds, delicious breakfast, and friendly staff. best place to stay in ollantaytambo!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a beautiful place, surrounded by magnificent mountains. It was cosy, comfortable and very relaxed. The pleasure was in all the little details.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff, good breakfast and good advice. Nice touch with the fresh flowers from their garden

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are so many things I can say about this property and all of them are good. Lets start with the service: Everyone was incredibly nice even the cats! The restaurant was not only delicious but reasonably priced and we felt safe eating there. The food was fresh and the ambient was romantic, relaxing and family friendly depending on the night, company and where you decided to sit for the night. We did not get to try the guinea pig but if you wanted one you could see how well they were treated before they end up in your plate ;). There are also vegetarian options if you are like me and like to veg sometimes.

Disliked: If you are walking from/to the main square early in the morning or late at night make sure you have a flashlight because even thought the street leading to the Hostel has illumination there are some sections where you wont see much. That will be true for any other hotel in Olly and the town (form what I gathered) is very safe and we made the short walk to the train station and the main square in the dark many times without issues or a flashlight but it would have been good to have one. This is not a reflection of the Hostal Iskay but I think it is good to know.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff & cleanliness were all fantastic

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly & helpful

Disliked: Wi-fi very bad

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the view, atmosphere, friendly staff, relaxing location, and I could keep going on... Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ciaran Quinn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2012 Ciaran would recommend this property

Liked: Great views of the ruins (We stayed in room 3) 5 minute walk from Plaza de Armas Comfortable beds No issues with the hot water Free buffet breakfast Friendly knowledgable staff especially Cristina Associated with Hotel Sol which looked very nice

Disliked: Poor breakfast which was provided in an adjacent restaurant. Scrambled eggs were cold and these could have been cooked to order. Rooms are on the small side but adequate.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathon Rose

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 Jonathon would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing value! Fabulous view, private patio, very helpful and efficient staff.

Disliked: No access by car -- don't bring more luggage than you can carry for a block.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the ambience and how friendly the staff was.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was pleasant and relaxing. After a miserable night in Cusco and two wonderful, but tiring days at Machu Picchu, we arrived at Iskay exhausted and hungry. The staff was very helpful and recommended an excellent restaurant. We were so taken with Iskay and Ollyantaytambo, we blew off the awful Cusco Hostal and spent 4 additional nights at Iskay and then at the owner's other property--Hotel Sol. All 5 of us highly recommend Hostal Iskay, "Ollanta," and the surrounding area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sylvie Davignon

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Sylvie would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the grounds are beautiful and wonderfully kept. The owners Lucas and Christine are wonderful people. Everyone was helpful.

Disliked: Sylvie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Hickinbotham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2012 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing. Perfect views over the mountains, river and ruins. The owners & staff really made me feel at home. Rooms were nicely decorated and spotless, it was really nice to sleep under a quilt rather than heavy blankets in Peru! Lovely garden and really quiet. A few minutes walk from the main square. Buffet breakfast included pancakes and eggs. Highly recommended. I was on a budget but this place sounded so nice I thought it would be worth sending a little more for the room and it was definately worth it.

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful views out the window, warm shower, comfortable bed

Disliked: breakfast is cold, no chairs and/or closet in the room (no big deal if staying one night)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy place to stay when you arrive at the airport late and need to leave the airport again the next morning. The staff was very friendly and the place is clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, friendly staff, good rooms, nice breakfast.... 5 stars all the way!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming place with a lovely terraced garden to relax in. Our rooms looked out over the ruins - gorgeous! We stayed one night before going to Machu Picchu but wished we had been able to stay longer in Ollantaytambo and Hotel Iskay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place, lovely simple room, (new, clean and big) with views of the ruins. Staff were super friendly and helpful. Loved our stay here and highly recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.