HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Chaska Wasi

Guesthouse | Plaza de armas de ollantaytamb, Next to the mayor building., Proximo a la municipalidad Ollantaytambo, Peru 84

82.7% Overall Rating

84 out of 100 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

Catriona Brown thinks…

"I LOVED Ollantaytambo, and I loved this hostel too! Perfect location in the main plaza, you can watch all the goings on from your dorm window, and the collectivo buses pick up and drop off from…"

Read all Hostal Chaska Wasi reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ollantaytambo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ollantaytambo

Full Moon Lodge
17.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 4 reviews
INKA PARADISE
19.50 USD

Hostel 84.7% 14 reviews
Hostal Iskay
22.50 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 43 reviews
Apu Lodge
37.33 USD

Hostel 89.8% 19 reviews
KB Tambo Hostal
27.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 140 reviews
Mama Simona Ollantaytambo
16.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Sol
21.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal los Andenes
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

84 out of 100 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Chaska Wasi'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 92 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Catriona Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2014 Catriona would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED Ollantaytambo, and I loved this hostel too! Perfect location in the main plaza, you can watch all the goings on from your dorm window, and the collectivo buses pick up and drop off from directly outside the front door. It has tonnes of atmosphere, like the village itself, and the staff are constantly smiling and helpful. Dorms are cosy, in fact the whole place can be summed up as cosy. I loved that they had three pet kittens in residence - made it feel like home!

Disliked: The only negative things: there were no lockers and neither were the doors to the rooms locked. This didn't cause me any stress because I have nothing worth stealing that I don't carry on me, but I can see how it could worry people. Hotness of the showers and speed of the wifi was varying, but this is rural Peru - I think anyone who stays in Ollantaytambo should be focusing more on the amazing place that it is and less on the creature comforts they might expect at home.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located right on the main plaza so access to all town facilities are good. From the balcony there are great views of the archeological site and mountains and the lady manager was very friendly and excellent English speaking. Entry was controlled, so security good.

Disliked: No window in room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vinicius Almeida

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 May 2014 Vinicius would recommend this property

Liked: We got at the hostel late at night and it was raining, but the staff was welcoming. We did not get the chance to use much of the hostel services, since we stayed for just one night and most of the time we were out.

Disliked: Vinicius left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and it's very well located

Disliked: The room confort is not the best, but as we stayed ony one night, it was OK :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mishell Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Mishell would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cats, hole above the door

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Andrew Ball

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013

Liked: Cheapest place in town, but still not value for money

Disliked: Average at best - yes its the cheapest place in town but don't expect much. Luckily we had the entire dorm to ourselves, as it would have been a nightmare sharing the 1 toilet/shower with 10 people. There was no toilet paper, the bathroom was not clean, the sheets were old and stained and the entire place smells of cat - we found the cat lying on one of the beds when we arrived. Breakfast was 1 bread with jam plus 1 piece of butter to share, along with some very watered down black coffee - we asked for milk but were refused. Overall, not great, cheap but be prepared

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: owner was lovely and very helpful. rooms were clean, beds comfortable. a nice hostel for a night or two.

Disliked: not enough plug sockets to charge stuff. curtains very thin, let a lot of light into the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean Pierre Redeuilh

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 July 2013 Jean Pierre would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!. Good value, excellent location and the owner is dedicated to help. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff cat

Disliked: seems not

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

annie malo-comtois

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013 annie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very nice, I was sick and they prepare me herbs tea for my digestion, thanks you :) and they give good information about buses and the ruins.

Disliked: annie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location. Spotless.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sebastian Tünnerhoff

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel feels like your home. The owner is very helpful and nice. Rooms are good and comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing. Was great.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Hornacek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: - staff - tourist informations

Disliked: - no negative feedback

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right off the main square, good cheap place to explore this cute town from. Room was big and cosy.

Disliked: Breakfast was the common basic jam and bread as in most places in Peru.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just around plaza, easy to find, outside you can eat around, walking 10 min to train station to mp, 5 min to famous Ollantyambo ruin, easy and best gather place for hiking

Disliked: Nil

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind and helpful host. Location is perfect and rooms are nicely decorated.

Disliked: No access to kitchen.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

09 July 2012

Liked: It was in a great location- opposite the town square.

Disliked: Nothing seemed to work properly in the hostel. The breakfast was unorganized and below standard. There were cats lying on the beds and in the breakfast whilst you were eating. There was no kitchen for the guests which was fustrating.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Samir Goel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012

Liked: The staff was friendly and it is located right on the main square of Plaza de Armas.

Disliked: The room was dark and dingy. The window in our room had a slightly broken pane letting all the cold air in with no heaters. Also, one of our top comforter sheets had blood stains on it. The shower took forever to heat up but did heat up. No breakfast.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Aurelie Legrand

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Aurelie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and confortable, nice situation

Disliked: They invited us to sit for breakfast, and then asked us to pay for the breakfast...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christie Gohl

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2012

Liked: The lady was nice the next morning and you could drink as much tea as you wanted for breakfast. She liked to talk to the people in the morning.

Disliked: The lady pretty much freaked out about everything...was running around and doing other things instead of paying attention to a request I had made to get the microwave to work...and it seemed like a big deal to even let me use the microwave to heat ramen noodles! She didn't want anyone in the kitchen. She told me that I could go in the living room to use internet but when I plugged in my computer that shut the internet off. When I asked her if she could check her internet because it wasn't working she wasn't real nice about it and when she did check it she told me it was my fault because I had plugged in my computer!!!! How would I know? Maybe a SIGN would be helpful if you aren't allowed to plug electronics in (this was with an adaptor mind you, it was done the right way) Also, no light in the living room and there was a tv but it was tucked away in another room, not to be used. Weird. Oh, and I asked the night before if there was breakfast...and the answer was: lets see, maybe. For real, kid you not, that was the answer. Luckily, turns out there was breakfast.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Veronica Pancheri

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: Esta justo en la plaza.

Disliked: Me ofrecieron el desayuno y despues me lo cobraron. El precio era adecuado, solo me habrìa gustado que me avisaran que era pago, lo habrìa consumido igual pero sin sentirme un poco engañada.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

STEPHEN MCKENZIE

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 STEPHEN would recommend this property

Liked: Owner and staff were very friendly and helpful, great location right on the Plaza de Armas and room was clean.

Disliked: There was a big window in our room looking out to ainner courtyard, which would have been great to have the natural light but there were no curtains and one of the windows would not lock.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jiri Koudelka

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 May 2012 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: OK. Goog advices.

Disliked: Jiri left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Naomi Cooper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very very friendly. Good communal area. Private room was good with it's own bathroom. Great location, right on the main square.

Disliked: There was always a problem with the water pressure so it was hard to get a shower that was both hot and more than a trickle. The map on Hostelbookers is wrong. The hostel has been moved to the southern end of the main square. We walked up and down the indicated street for 15mins before we found out it had moved.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Luisa Alzate

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Luisa would recommend this property

Liked: Muy amable Katie.

Disliked: Es ruidosa en las noches.