HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Chaska Wasi

Guesthouse | Plaza de armas de ollantaytamb, Next to the mayor building., Proximo a la municipalidad Ollantaytambo, Peru 84

81.9% Overall Rating

77 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2013)

"owner was lovely and very helpful. rooms were clean, beds comfortable. a nice hostel for a night or two."

Read all Hostal Chaska Wasi reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ollantaytambo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ollantaytambo

Full Moon Lodge
17.00 USD

Guesthouse 82.9% 3 reviews
INKA PARADISE
19.50 USD

Hostel 84.4% 11 reviews
Hostal Iskay
21.00 USD

Guesthouse 96.7% 39 reviews
Apu Lodge
30.00 USD

Hostel 89.8% 19 reviews
KB Tambo Hostal
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 140 reviews
Hotel Sol
21.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal los Andenes
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 74.3% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.9%

Overall Rating

77 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Chaska Wasi'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
85.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 84 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mishell Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Mishell would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cats, hole above the door

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Andrew Ball

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2013

Liked: Cheapest place in town, but still not value for money

Disliked: Average at best - yes its the cheapest place in town but don't expect much. Luckily we had the entire dorm to ourselves, as it would have been a nightmare sharing the 1 toilet/shower with 10 people. There was no toilet paper, the bathroom was not clean, the sheets were old and stained and the entire place smells of cat - we found the cat lying on one of the beds when we arrived. Breakfast was 1 bread with jam plus 1 piece of butter to share, along with some very watered down black coffee - we asked for milk but were refused. Overall, not great, cheap but be prepared

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: owner was lovely and very helpful. rooms were clean, beds comfortable. a nice hostel for a night or two.

Disliked: not enough plug sockets to charge stuff. curtains very thin, let a lot of light into the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean Pierre Redeuilh

As a family with children

Family Holiday

14 July 2013 Jean Pierre would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!. Good value, excellent location and the owner is dedicated to help. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff cat

Disliked: seems not

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

annie malo-comtois

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013 annie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very nice, I was sick and they prepare me herbs tea for my digestion, thanks you :) and they give good information about buses and the ruins.

Disliked: annie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location. Spotless.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sebastian Tünnerhoff

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel feels like your home. The owner is very helpful and nice. Rooms are good and comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing. Was great.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Hornacek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: - staff - tourist informations

Disliked: - no negative feedback

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right off the main square, good cheap place to explore this cute town from. Room was big and cosy.

Disliked: Breakfast was the common basic jam and bread as in most places in Peru.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just around plaza, easy to find, outside you can eat around, walking 10 min to train station to mp, 5 min to famous Ollantyambo ruin, easy and best gather place for hiking

Disliked: Nil

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind and helpful host. Location is perfect and rooms are nicely decorated.

Disliked: No access to kitchen.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

09 July 2012

Liked: It was in a great location- opposite the town square.

Disliked: Nothing seemed to work properly in the hostel. The breakfast was unorganized and below standard. There were cats lying on the beds and in the breakfast whilst you were eating. There was no kitchen for the guests which was fustrating.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Samir Goel

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012

Liked: The staff was friendly and it is located right on the main square of Plaza de Armas.

Disliked: The room was dark and dingy. The window in our room had a slightly broken pane letting all the cold air in with no heaters. Also, one of our top comforter sheets had blood stains on it. The shower took forever to heat up but did heat up. No breakfast.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Aurelie Legrand

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Aurelie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and confortable, nice situation

Disliked: They invited us to sit for breakfast, and then asked us to pay for the breakfast...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Christie Gohl

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2012

Liked: The lady was nice the next morning and you could drink as much tea as you wanted for breakfast. She liked to talk to the people in the morning.

Disliked: The lady pretty much freaked out about everything...was running around and doing other things instead of paying attention to a request I had made to get the microwave to work...and it seemed like a big deal to even let me use the microwave to heat ramen noodles! She didn't want anyone in the kitchen. She told me that I could go in the living room to use internet but when I plugged in my computer that shut the internet off. When I asked her if she could check her internet because it wasn't working she wasn't real nice about it and when she did check it she told me it was my fault because I had plugged in my computer!!!! How would I know? Maybe a SIGN would be helpful if you aren't allowed to plug electronics in (this was with an adaptor mind you, it was done the right way) Also, no light in the living room and there was a tv but it was tucked away in another room, not to be used. Weird. Oh, and I asked the night before if there was breakfast...and the answer was: lets see, maybe. For real, kid you not, that was the answer. Luckily, turns out there was breakfast.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Veronica Pancheri

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2012 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: Esta justo en la plaza.

Disliked: Me ofrecieron el desayuno y despues me lo cobraron. El precio era adecuado, solo me habrìa gustado que me avisaran que era pago, lo habrìa consumido igual pero sin sentirme un poco engañada.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

STEPHEN MCKENZIE

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012 STEPHEN would recommend this property

Liked: Owner and staff were very friendly and helpful, great location right on the Plaza de Armas and room was clean.

Disliked: There was a big window in our room looking out to ainner courtyard, which would have been great to have the natural light but there were no curtains and one of the windows would not lock.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jiri Koudelka

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 May 2012 Jiri would recommend this property

Liked: OK. Goog advices.

Disliked: Jiri left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Naomi Cooper

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very very friendly. Good communal area. Private room was good with it's own bathroom. Great location, right on the main square.

Disliked: There was always a problem with the water pressure so it was hard to get a shower that was both hot and more than a trickle. The map on Hostelbookers is wrong. The hostel has been moved to the southern end of the main square. We walked up and down the indicated street for 15mins before we found out it had moved.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Luisa Alzate

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Luisa would recommend this property

Liked: Muy amable Katie.

Disliked: Es ruidosa en las noches.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool staff, comfi beds, good location (just at the main square), all clean. great value for money! ollantaytambo is super cute, if i ever return to machu picchu i would stay there and take the morning train to aguas calients, is more chillax place and full of character!

Disliked: the toilet had no seat.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joel Fitzgerald

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Joel would recommend this property

Liked: A nice neat place in the centre of Ollanta, close to the nice ruins and lots of small restaruants offering good food at much cheaper prices than in central Cusco. Rooms are big and tidy and showers hot. Kattie the owner is lovely and helpful.

Disliked: Joel left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dawn Shaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2012 Dawn would recommend this property

Liked: It was very quiet when I was there so I had a whole dorm to myself! Very clean and comfy beds. Good location on Plaza de Armas. Views of the mountains from the indoor balconey.

Disliked: Dawn left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

michael cherian

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: The proprieter Kathy was always helpful and energetic. She even gave me a tour of the local ruins. This place has character and I would recommend it highly for the price.

Disliked: 2 Cats.....I hate cats