HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hostal Chaska Wasi

Guesthouse

Plaza de Armas s/n (frente a la municipalidad), Ollantaytambo, Peru

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 69%

Location 96%

Safety 84%

Staff 91%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ollantaytambo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 69%

Location 96%

Safety 84%

Staff 91%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The owner was friendly and helpful. It was in a good location right on the plaza, but you couldn't hear any noise from the plaza which was great.

Disliked: The breakfast was a bit meager with one roll per person and jam. Also the hot water only works in the evening which we didn't find out until the morning when we wanted to have showers.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Loved this hostel! The lady that runs the place is very friendly and will help you in any way. Right on the main square, internet was a little slow but that's typical of the whole area. Our shower was very hot!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location, the lovely staff, the cat!

Disliked: The shower was a little temperamental.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff at Chaska Wasi were very welcoming and friendly. They helped us with any questions we had, and held on to our excess baggage a during our trip to Machu Pichu with no problems. The bunk beds were standard, and the room was kept in a clean state.

Disliked: The only issue we had was the incessant noise from a nearby wedding that kept us up until 3:30am on our first night. Of course, I don't fault the hostel, and Ollantaytambo is so small that I don't know we could have escaped it, but it certainly made our first night unpleasant.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great atmosphere, lovely cats

Disliked: Toilet facilities not great but all good for the few nights.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I LOVED Ollantaytambo, and I loved this hostel too! Perfect location in the main plaza, you can watch all the goings on from your dorm window, and the collectivo buses pick up and drop off from directly outside the front door. It has tonnes of atmosphere, like the village itself, and the staff are constantly smiling and helpful. Dorms are cosy, in fact the whole place can be summed up as cosy. I loved that they had three pet kittens in residence - made it feel like home!

Disliked: The only negative things: there were no lockers and neither were the doors to the rooms locked. This didn't cause me any stress because I have nothing worth stealing that I don't carry on me, but I can see how it could worry people. Hotness of the showers and speed of the wifi was varying, but this is rural Peru - I think anyone who stays in Ollantaytambo should be focusing more on the amazing place that it is and less on the creature comforts they might expect at home.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Located right on the main plaza so access to all town facilities are good. From the balcony there are great views of the archeological site and mountains and the lady manager was very friendly and excellent English speaking. Entry was controlled, so security good.

Disliked: No window in room.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff is very friendly and it's very well located

Disliked: The room confort is not the best, but as we stayed ony one night, it was OK :)

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cats, hole above the door

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cheapest place in town, but still not value for money

Disliked: Average at best - yes its the cheapest place in town but don't expect much. Luckily we had the entire dorm to ourselves, as it would have been a nightmare sharing the 1 toilet/shower with 10 people. There was no toilet paper, the bathroom was not clean, the sheets were old and stained and the entire place smells of cat - we found the cat lying on one of the beds when we arrived. Breakfast was 1 bread with jam plus 1 piece of butter to share, along with some very watered down black coffee - we asked for milk but were refused. Overall, not great, cheap but be prepared

Check Availability