HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of KB Tambo Hostal

Guesthouse | Taca, 28, Ollantaytambo, Peru .

87.8% Overall Rating

123 out of 140 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2013)

"The staff is amazing! Felipe, who I think no longer works there, is truly caring and accommodating! He helped us through a complicated situation (unrelated to this hotel) and refused to accept tips from us afterwards.…"

Read all KB Tambo Hostal reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 40.00
  • Breakfast USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Ollantaytambo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Ollantaytambo

Hostal Chaska Wasi
8.29 USD

Guesthouse 82.7% 100 reviews
Hostal Iskay
22.50 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 43 reviews
Mama Simona Ollantaytambo
16.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Apu Lodge
37.33 USD

Hostel 89.8% 19 reviews
Full Moon Lodge
17.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 4 reviews
INKA PARADISE
19.50 USD

Hostel 84.7% 14 reviews
Hotel Sol
21.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal los Andenes
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 76.7% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

123 out of 140 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'KB Tambo Hostal'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 112 of 122 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, clean & bright rooms, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing! Felipe, who I think no longer works there, is truly caring and accommodating! He helped us through a complicated situation (unrelated to this hotel) and refused to accept tips from us afterwards. The rest of the staff are excellent too. They all speak English.

Disliked: Nothing. The furniture might be a little worn out, but for the price, what do you expect?

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kathleen Clark

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 July 2013 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was fantastic. The food was delicious. We met very friendly people from all over the world.

Disliked: Kathleen left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Perez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Big room and great location

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice room and breakfast. Hot shower was also nice with a normal water pressure. Easy to find from the train station

Disliked: Internet didn't work in our room and was slow in common area. The only option for juice in the morning was papaya juice, which neither of us liked.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pimluck Suvitsakdanon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Pimluck would recommend this property

Liked: 2nd floor bedroom with a mountain view, 2 mins walk to the living Inca town, packing breakfast for 5am check out, nice bakery as a reception, 2 mins by taxi (and only cost 1SOL) to the train station

Disliked: Pimluck left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. The staff were wonderful, the home made calzones were so yum, the mountain bike tour we booked with them was amazing, safe and fun, and most of all the rooms were clean, comfortable and had lovely hot showers. This place was recommended to us by three seperate people we met on our travels and it certainly didn´t dissapoint. We would recomend this to anyone wanting a hassle free stay in Ollantaytambo. They even held our luggage for us for the nights we went up to Machu Picchu.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honestly, KB Tambo hostel is the best one I have stayed in during my trip to Peru. I loved the laid back atmosphere, the friendly Italian girls serving great coffee and calzones with a smile. They really made my stay an enjoyable one. The view from our window was breath taking/ the mountains, the ruins and a wonderful courtyard with flowers and chairs. Guys, please keep up the good work!

Disliked: We booked a queen/size bed but were offered a small double bed. However, we slept well. I wish I could have stayed there longer but our flight back to Lima was around the corner.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

HANYUN CHANG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 HANYUN would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice location

Disliked: No

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Hann

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 December 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find, accomodations were nice. The staff were very friendly. Food was good.Very nice garden area.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pamela Scott

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: You could walk to everything the village was very sweet.

Disliked: Pamela left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amanda Sofia ramirez Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Amanda Sofia would recommend this property

Liked: Location they changed us to hotel infront because they wher full but ok!

Disliked: They did not have opened in morning when we wher going to take the train so we had to force the door a little to catch the train!!! But we did no chek out reception. simply that town is magical beatifull!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good. Great location.

Disliked: Hot water shower was hit and miss.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Il giardinetto, ma e' veramente piccolo

Disliked: Rapporto qualita prezzo non e' assolutamente corretto. Devono mettere una stufetta nelle stanze per la notte, in quella con giardino non batte mai il sole.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2012

Liked: Quiet rooms and very well located

Disliked: Wifi only worked in the restaurant area. Rooms were very cold and there is no heat. The Peruvian staff and their children were almost always occupying the few seats in the 'garden' area.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Fernando Mora

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Martin Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and makes every visitors feels very comfortable with an eagerness of coming back to "Ollanta" someday.

Disliked: Maybe the breakfast included in the accomodation rate could be a little more blunt.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: KB is great! (both the guy and the hostel). He was packing up for a big trip and took the time to sit with us at breakfast and recommend some local hikes and sites. He lined us up a cab for a really reasonable price

Disliked: The other front desk staff were hit-and-miss. I definitely recommend booking and paying online so you don't end up with last minute "deals" by paying cash to the staff. Stick with the standard free breakfast or be ready to pay full price on the menu. The signs all say that you can take the free breakfast or take $7 off any menu item but its a different story when you're paying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jordan Clay

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 January 2012 Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty of hot water in shower. Room was cozy and had nice character.

Disliked: Jordan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location and overall very good value for money

Disliked: The distribution of rooms is a little confusing as you will stay in Hotel Sol which is right next door when booking a private double or matrimonial.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alice Royer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 October 2011 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of flowers

Disliked: continental breakfast was poor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Ardron

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: We had a view of the inka ruins. The hostal sold very good food

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Garden and Restaurant

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eliseu Cardoso

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Eliseu would recommend this property

Liked: The KB Tambo has an excellent location and the room was very clean. We stayed in a private triple bedroom, with private bath.

Disliked: There was no heating in the rooms, like all the other hostals we've stayed in Peru.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Grounds and rooms are very pretty.

Disliked: Price for breakfast included with room is not translated well

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

scott jeppesen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 scott would recommend this property

Liked: great locatin and great staff. They have a European guy on the front desk who is also a guide and is very knowledgeable

Disliked: They advertised WI-FI yet it only works in the reception/restaurant area. The restaurant was a little pricey but they have an AWESOME, great value restaurant right across the road (Chasqui´s which is run by a father and son).