HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mancora hostels

Reviews of Kokopelli Beachpackers

Hostel | Av. Piura 209, Mancora, Peru 073

87.8% Overall Rating

57 out of 61 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/05/2014)

Kiara Gallop thinks…

"Loved the friendly, relaxed vibe of the place most of all. The rooms are tastefully decorated and spacious, and there's little ads of chill out areas (incl hammocks) and colourful art on the walls.…"

Read all Kokopelli Beachpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mancora?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mancora

NAIF Rustic & Ecologic Lodge
23.50 USD

Apartment 61.0% 3 reviews
Rio Hotels - Mancora
12.00 USD

Hotel 5 star 90.1% 13 reviews
Kon Tiki Bungalows
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 88.0% 57 reviews
Eco-lodge ''La Caprichosa''
40.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Point Mancora Beach
9.30 USD

Hostel 90.9% 79 reviews
Loki del Mar
10.00 USD

Hostel 79.5% 54 reviews
gran hotel mancora
12.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

57 out of 61 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kokopelli Beachpackers'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 57 of 60 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar, pool and very helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Simon Masshardt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: The Common Area with the Pool and the Baar Surferstyl

Disliked: No free tea or water

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kiara Gallop

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 May 2014 Kiara would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the friendly, relaxed vibe of the place most of all. The rooms are tastefully decorated and spacious, and there's little ads of chill out areas (incl hammocks) and colourful art on the walls. There's a pool area and bar right next door with reasonable prices and happy hours. Staff are all friendly and helpful, one of the guys even came down to the bus station with us to help us book our onward ticket. Breakfast is free, and consists of bread, scrambled eggs, coffee and juice; easily enough to fill you up for the day. We ended up extending our stay because we loved it so much.

Disliked: The only issue we had was with the wifi. Sometimes it worked and sometimes it didn't. Also signal wasn't great in the room. Also, although not an issue for me as I had earplugs - the music at the bar doesn't get switched off until around 4am so pack earplugs if you want to sleep before then!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 February 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Wifi service

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was ok, regular party hostel

Disliked: Not so clean

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the beach (just cross the road and walk down a little track and you are there), clean hostel.

Disliked: the pool is not great (not the cleanest water, and some strange built in table & chair arrangement at one end), but with the ocean so close to take a nice refreshing dip in, its not really an issue.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nichola Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Nichola would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are super friendly and get to know you by name (or room number at least!), good breakfast with eggs, hot showers, large under-bed lockers, nice security guard, you can rent surfboards, okay wifi (when it works!), swimming pool and a generally nice, relaxed atmosphere.

Disliked: The bathrooms could have been cleaner at times, although they were fine!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Bronwen Cottle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2013 Bronwen would recommend this property

Liked: The bedrooms and bathrooms were cleaned everyday, the majority of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Although it was quite loud (music coming from the bar) the music was turned off around midnight which made it bearable.

Disliked: One of the guys working there (tall german dude) was rude bordering on obnoxious on several occasions. Requested that we speak in english, even to spanish speaking employees and simply refused to speak in spanish to us when he could speak fluently. He never smiled, never made us feel welcome and showed absolutely no sign of having a sense of humor. It did make me wonder what he was doing in a customer service role. Hopefully you'll have more luck with him.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael McMahon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Nice pool, very relaxed atmosphere. Good place to chill out.

Disliked: Got a burger on our last day and it was awful. No kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Sawtell

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, nice pool and bar area and all facilities are well maintained.

Disliked: showers were always cold while we were there and the windows on the double room were just a fly screen, no glass so there was no way to shut out the noise (although the hostel wasnt noisey, just the passing traffic ). we only booked one night on hostel bookers and when we arrived we asked to book an extra night and were told there was none available, we looked on hostelbookers and saw rooms available so had to book on there.... strange.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Atmosphere. Safe.

Disliked: The scrambled eggs

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

17 February 2013

Liked: The facilities are pretty good, nice bar, nice swimming pool. Lockers in the room. If you don't like sleeping and want to party this is the place to go. Breakfast was included.bar prices ok.

Disliked: All rooms are built around the common area so if you want quiet or some sleep this is not the place to stay. Music was on for quite long and even afterwards people partying. You also hear the and trucks and mototaxis from the main road.there are no windows, only mosquito net. eight people in the room means basically no place for lugage and very hot at night. One fan on the wall. Rooms are never locked. When I stayed there hardly any english speaking tourists there. More of them at Loki apparently.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Holly Osmond

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

27 December 2012 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: Great mix of spaces to hang without being too big that you can't meet people... Beds are super comfortable Ad the bathroom in the girls dorm is amazing :)

Disliked: No kitchen for backpackers on a budget to cook is a real downer, having to eat from the restaurant in the hostel adds up when you are running a tab but there are plenty of menu del dia places to eat at near the beach...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicole Kuhnke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

13 November 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Property was very quiet as compared with other hostels in Mancora. Very calm, relaxed vibe.

Disliked: A little too quiet and small for me. I was looking for a slightly more lively scene.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel in a great location....The staff are friendly and helpful....perhaps one of the best I've ever encoutered....The food and drinks are awesome and really inexpensive. Definitely i recomend this hostel!

Disliked: i can't think of anything negative about this hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luisa Margiotta

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 October 2012 Luisa would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel!! By far the most sociable (yet very chilled) place I have stayed in South America. All the staff are cool and socialise with the guests who are either surfing at the beach, playing ping-pong or just chilling by the pool. It was a busy but not party hostel and there were no cliques to divide everyone. The breakfast was pretty good and there was good food that could be ordered throughout the day. Plus 3 different happy hours. We went to see hostel Loki and were so glad we stayed in Koko!! The atmosphere was perfect for us and there was no noise after midnight. Definitely stay here! It made our trip to Mancora!!

Disliked: The breakfast eggs weren't the best.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ciara Hargreaves

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

22 October 2012 Ciara would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Taylor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Prices were quoted wrong on here, but the staff were great in fixing the problem - gave us bed at advertised rate.

Disliked: Nothing :)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ,

Disliked: ,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, social but really not to party at all and was there Fri and Sat night. Comfy beds, really nice clean bathroom. Really helpful and friendly staff. Great location. Would stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jorge Martires

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 Jorge would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice party and sociable hostel. 5 min walk to the beach, and close to everything in this small town. I ended up not staying the night since I booked a flight next day from Guayaquil, and did not pay for the bed - custom oriented owner. I enjoyed the day I stay there very much and would have liked to stay for a little white had I not been short in time.

Disliked: Jorge left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samantha Kapaun

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The food was really good and the people were super friendly. Very laidback atmosphere. The location was good and there are HAMMOCKS! There are a bunch of chill animals running around, dogs and kitties.

Disliked: Staff should be more informed about the activities available in the area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, excellent layout, cool fresh decor, large comfy bunks, great storage lockers, beautiful pool area etc with lots of cats and dogs helping to make things interesting! Food is OK and drinks quite cheap, and best of all, most nights there's the option to have dinner from Alejandro who cooks all sorts (BBQ, pizzas, lasagne etc) in an oil drum BBQ - muy rico!

Disliked: Would perhaps be nice to have a TV with DVDs in the lounge area so you're not forced to sit in the bar ALL the time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere at the hostel is really good and the staff are really helpful. Just chill out by the pool in the day or sit by the bar. Then everyone heads out at night. The beds were comfortable and got a good nights sleep. The rooms and bathrooms were clean too.

Disliked: Nothing really to dislike, the only thing is the water pressure was not always great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff. clean rooms and very good bathrooms.

Disliked: it says breakfast is until 10am, but if you are not one of the first who stands up, you don´t get a breakfast, because everthing is gone.


See all Mancora hostels