We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mancora hostels

Reviews of Kokopelli Beachpackers

Hostel | Av. Piura 209, Mancora, Peru 073

87.8% Overall Rating

57 out of 61 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/05/2014)

Kiara Gallop thinks…

"Loved the friendly, relaxed vibe of the place most of all. The rooms are tastefully decorated and spacious, and there's little ads of chill out areas (incl hammocks) and colourful art on the walls.…"

Read all Kokopelli Beachpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mancora?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mancora

NAIF Rustic & Ecologic Lodge
22.00 USD

Apartment 61.0% 3 reviews
Rio Hotels - Mancora
12.00 USD

Hotel 5 star 90.1% 13 reviews
Kon Tiki Bungalows
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 58 reviews
Eco-lodge ''La Caprichosa''
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Point Mancora Beach
8.80 USD

Hostel 91.0% 81 reviews
Loki del Mar
11.00 USD

Hostel 79.5% 54 reviews
gran hotel mancora
12.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

57 out of 61 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kokopelli Beachpackers'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
81.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 57 of 60 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliana Graca Freitas

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2012 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicacion, la atencion, el buen ambiente de gente, la higiene y seguridad.

Disliked: No tengo críticas

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent, across the road from the beach and close to restaurants, bars and nightlife - it felt safe walking back to the hostel late night/early hours. We stayed in a private room for one night, then a dorm for 3 nights. The rooms/bathrooms were very clean (thanks to the very thorough cleaning staff!) and Kokopelli was about the only place in Mancora where we did not see cockroaches! Breakfast was of a higher standard than other places we stayed in Peru. Would highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2012

Liked: The pool and other outside area were both really well done with lots of seats. If you want a party hostel, this is a great choice.

Disliked: Be under no illusion this is a party hostal. You know as soon as you arrive as they give you a wristband! I also wasn't impressed that a tattooist sat tattooing all day in one of the two areas you could sit. Breakfast was horrid, there were wasps all over everything. They also tried to overcharge me when I checked out (my bill said I had changed rooms and needed to pay for the other room!), the staff were nice though and accepted that I hadn't changed rooms. There are lots of lovely places on the beach which are a lot cheaper.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean new hostel, the cleaning team is cleaning a lot the rooms, toilets... Nice swimming pool, good chill out area where the breakfast is served, eggs included in the breakfast. Only 100m from the beach.

Disliked: The restaurant is not good, too expensive for the quality you get. Better walk outside, a lot good restaurants on the street. When we stayed there, there was a problem between the boss en the bar staff. The athmosphere was strange in the bar in the evening. Advice to the boss; Talk in private to the staff so the travellers dont notice it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Hawker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything, great pool, bar, breaky, staff, bathrooms

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nick gallagher

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

05 January 2012 nick would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely epic. came for 4 days stayed for 10... great staff, great bar, great hostel.

Disliked: nick left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great helpful reception staff, really friendly and great. Good pool areas.

Disliked: Not enough 'relaxing space' around the pool. The rooms are very warm, could use fans. Some Of the bar staff were rude, but overall were good. Bar is also a bit pricey.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

MIke MacDonald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2011 MIke would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean, chilled out place. Pool & hammocks. Friendly staff. The under-bed lockers are a good idea and keep the dorms tidy. Has everything you need. Suitable for partying or just to chill.

Disliked: Getting ripped off on Christmas day. Their Christmas dinner cost 40 soles for what turned out to be just one plate of food. Aside from some turkey is was predominantly potato salad and rice salad. When we asked for seconds we were told there was no more. Then the following day they were selling the leftovers for 12 soles a plate. I'd also agree with some of the other reviews about the staff not being particularly organised, but they were pleasant people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel i have stayed on during my southamerica trip!! everything was perfect!

Disliked: nothing!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Maryanne Gul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2011 Maryanne would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were fairly friendly.

Disliked: Can get pretty packed with 8 ppl in a room!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the proximity to the beach, the friendlyness of the staff and the fun-driven facilies (ping-pong table, swiming pool, etc)

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kerry Lawlor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Kerry would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel. Nice pool and ping pong table

Disliked: Wifi wasnt working the first day but then worked fine

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great social environment, pool, bar. close to everything. clean rooms. great place to stay!

Disliked: nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Evelyn Priesch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011

Liked: The hostel was OK but we had a very bad experience there as money was stolen from our room twice >> and it must have been a member from the cleaning stuff as it was a private room!

Disliked: TAKE CARE OF YOUR BELONGINGS!!! Money was stolen twice from our locked room >> there are no lockers in privat rooms.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Reyes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: The place itself.

Disliked: Nothing particullary.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

charlotte hawkins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2011 charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: it was pretty clean, and the showers are really good. Nice pool area with sunbeds with a relaxed atmosphere. good free breakfast too.

Disliked: the dorms are very small and cramped, and there are some holes in the mosquito nets on the windows. two of the dorms also are right by the main road, so they are pretty noisy. lastly, we had a RAT in our room! he came out to say hi even when the light was on, maybe not so good if you have a phobia!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne katrine joensson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

12 August 2011 Anne katrine would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere and really nice dorms with individual bathrooms..

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Binet

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

03 August 2011 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay at; the staff and facilities are great.

Disliked: If you are not planning to party every night until the wee hours, try and get a room in the building that is furthest away from the bar, as it makes for difficult sleep!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, friendly staff, good facilities, comfortable beds

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Willem Schrama

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 July 2011 Willem would recommend this property

Liked: Swimmingpool, staff, clean!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KELLY PEACHEY

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 KELLY would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent coffee, Scrambled eggs for breakfast!! Mature relaxed homely vibe. Perfect hostel great value for Money!! Great location. Very safe.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, good beds, great facilities, swimming pool but very close to the beach

Disliked: the welcoming was not great and the dorm and showers were not clean at all

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Charlotte Cottrell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 June 2011 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: It's beautiful. It's near the beach. The owners are awesome. There are puppies!

Disliked: There were reports of people being held up at gunpoint a few metres down the road, but i think that's part of Mancora, and not Kokopelli

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

13 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent setting, the hostel is really well laid out and nicely decorated. A good atmosphere, good food/drinks in the bar and chilled out pool area. Clean and simple.

Disliked: The breakfast wasn't great, dont expect to be fed after half 9. One member of staff didnt acknowledge us for 5 days despite seeing him everyday, asking questions and handing in our key to him (others were lovely, especially the evening staff)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great pool!, bar, hammocks, nice staff, relatively quiet, lockers in dorms, bathroom en suite

Disliked: the mosquitos :-) not so many deckchairs at the pool


See all Mancora hostels