We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mancora hostels

Reviews of Kon Tiki Bungalows

Guesthouse | Av. los Incas Nr. 200, Mancora, Peru 01

89.1% Overall Rating

55 out of 58 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/09/2014)

mathew harling thinks…

"The location is lovely - perched on top of a hill with a gorgeous sea view and out of the touts and taxis. The bungalows are really sweet we stayed in an ensuite and then increased our stay and moved…"

Read all Kon Tiki Bungalows reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Pets allowed
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 90.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mancora?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mancora

NAIF Rustic & Ecologic Lodge
22.00 USD

Apartment 61.0% 3 reviews
Kokopelli Beachpackers
10.17 USD

Hostel 87.8% 61 reviews
Rio Hotels - Mancora
12.00 USD

Hotel 5 star 90.1% 13 reviews
The Point Mancora Beach
9.30 USD

Hostel 91.0% 81 reviews
Loki del Mar
11.00 USD

Hostel 79.5% 54 reviews
Eco-lodge ''La Caprichosa''
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
gran hotel mancora
10.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

55 out of 58 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kon Tiki Bungalows'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 52 of 55 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mathew harling

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

18 September 2014 mathew would recommend this property

Liked: The location is lovely - perched on top of a hill with a gorgeous sea view and out of the touts and taxis. The bungalows are really sweet we stayed in an ensuite and then increased our stay and moved into one with shared bathroom. Both are really comfortable and good value. Paying the higher rate is worth it for the high standard of the ensuite villas but we were really happy with the shared bathroom too which we never had to wait for. The guys working here are just lovely and went out of their way to help us. I had work to do which meant I needed to use skype for up to 3-4 hrs a day at odd times and needed reliable wifi and privacy, a bit of a nightmare to find in smaller towns in SA, so we assumed we'd move after a weekend in the sun. Instead we extended for a week after Jurg gave me 24hr access to a small storage room next to reception ( and the router) which he made up with a little desk and chair - my own little office! It was a good level of sociable too - could always find people for a drink or chat but very easy to retreat to your own hammock or bungalow.

Disliked: Nothing. Some people might not like the walk up and down - make sure you get picked up as it would not be fun with bags.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very helpful with sorting out buses to Sullana and La Loja en Equador.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marc Connell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 February 2014 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely views over Canoa, Set on the hillside overlooking the town. It's a little hike to get up but totally worth it. The large communal outdoor area is a great place to sit and enjoy a beer with lovely views. Big clean rooms with a big double bed, and nice powerful shower. Very nice place

Disliked: The rugged walk uphill to get there!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tatsiana Lapata

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

15 November 2013 Tatsiana would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. You can see whole Mancora and the ocean. The staff is very kind and helpfull. Spacious room and comfortable bed, nice hammocks and excellent view let you have real relax.

Disliked: Wi-Fi is strong only at reception and hot water is only at daytime.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2013 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is on the top of a hill, which gives lovely views of Mancora and the sea. We had a private room with a sea view, they all have balconies that you can sit out on. One afternoon we sat outside in our hammock/deck chair with a beer, and watched while a pod of humpback whales swam past (pretty far out to sea obviously). It was incredibly pleasant. The walk up to the hostel is fine (5mins max) and totally worth it if you want to sleep away from the noise of the town. The owner also came to pick us up from the bus stop, and was there despite the fact that our bus was two hours late. Great service.

Disliked: The water was pretty hit or miss. We either got cold water or no water at all (in both the sinks and showers). We weren't too bothered though, the pros definitely outweighed the cons in this case.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Harris

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2013 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: Great view and value for money

Disliked: Big dusty hill to get up to the beautiful hill, and the alleyway behind the shops to get to the dusty hill

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcus McMahon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2013 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the town but also quiet at night, great views and value for money

Disliked: The front desk was usually unattended

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Brown

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: Great location,great place,stunning view,friendly and helpful staff and owners.couldn't fault the place,came and see for yourself

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice comfortable bungalows. We had a beach view which was lovely with a really nice area outside the bungalow to relax ( hammock + table and chairs). Owners were really nice. We were collected at around 5:30 off our bus and allowed to go straight to the bungalow even though check in is not until 12. We were charged no extra for this.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhys Kingdom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2013 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: The ocean view from the bungalows is amazing. its so nice just sitting there and watching the world. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The dog Lola is just wicked and great fun to play with. The rooms are massive and clean. If your a couple its a great place to stay. It's one of nicest hostels we have come across in 5months in south america.

Disliked: As people have written before the noise does carry up the hill side but atleast you're not in the centre of it. Also it is a big hill to walk, but that makes the view just that much nicer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Farrah Todosichuk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

23 December 2012 Farrah would recommend this property

Liked: I loved my little bungalow! The hammock, the view, the atmosphere! I chose to stay here for 4 additional nights based on my day to day experiences with Kontiki. I really appreciated being outside of Mancora's core. The walk up can feel longer depending on the time and heat of the day, but I appreciated being able to escape the totes, hoots and hollers and to have a place of my own. The water is warmed by the sun/heat of the day so can be warm to start but usually ends up cold. I am a 100% wimp when it comes to cold showers so was not excited about this, but with the heat of Mancora ended up showering more than once per day. So, for my time there, I guess I ended up a cold shower fan!

Disliked: I have read a lot of complaints about the noise at Kontiki. After staying there I agree there is a fair bit of noise that travels up from the town however I can only imagine that staying in the town would be 10 times worse! I really do think these complaints should be contextualized a bit. These noise complaints are not the fault of Kontiki. They are the fault of Mancora. I booked for 1 nights at Kontiki and ended up staying 5. I am so glad! I chose to stay at up and away from the chaos that is Mancora at night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012

Liked: Nice view and good to get away from the loud music in town.

Disliked: I would not recommend this hostel. We had a altercation with the owner and one of her staff accidentally gave us someone else's bill when we checked out. We had no idea and the next day we realized we were being blackmailed by the owner. She said that if we didn't pay more money she would not pay her workers. We were really upset that she used this tactic to make us feel bad for her worker Maria (I think because she knows we are westerners and we hate seeing this). The problem was she wasn't organized and therefore had not recorded the full amount owing. I was absolutely appalled by this and I hope I never see this kind of behavior again.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GABBY QUINN

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2012 GABBY would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place to get away from the hussle and Bussey on the main strip and it has a great view! The bungalows are really well designed, it was great to have our own space with the deck chairs and hammock, especially after staying in hostels for a while. Also the owner came to pick us up, even though we were already in Mancora at another hostel, and he dropped us off at the bus station after our stay free of charge. Showers are great, not hot but not cold, very refreshing after a day on the beach.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything, the only thing I would want that they didn't have was some sort of mini menu offering drinks and snacks throughout the day as therea nothing elae around. It's only breakfast that is offered and ltjough it's not a long walk to the main road it would be nice to have the option of cutting yourself off totally. They do offer menus for takeaway though!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the view was great, it was nice to be a bit away from the hustle and bustle of mancora and it was very romantic!

Disliked: the noise! the noise of mancora travels upwards much more loudly it seems than if youre actually in the town.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in an ocean-facing bungalow and the views were fantastic, but if you're staying in one of the non-ocean facing bungalows you still get great views from the breakfast/lounge area. The breakfast was nothing special but perfectly good and it was nice to be able to have extras such as eggs and bacon available (albeit you have to pay for them) if you want them. The staff were lovely and very helpful.

Disliked: The only real criticism would be the noise - it drifts up from the town below very clearly and until 3am/4am in the morning. The bungalows have a huge insect screen above the doors so there's no way of blocking it out. The walk from the town up to the bungalows passes through what feels like a bit of an iffy backstreet but we didn't have any problems and the bungalows assured us that it was safe. The walk up the hill takes a bit of puff but is worth it for the views.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay, great views, great hosts and away from the noise by the coast but only a 2 minutes walk away for convenience. I strongly recommend staying here!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great views over the ocean from patio areas infront of the bungalows. Spacious rooms with good bathrooms, mosquito nets and a fan. (ask for a fan). We had a very relaxing time there.

Disliked: "Call us for free transfer from the bus station to Kon tiki at your arrival" they claim, but we had to pay for our transfer. The walk up the hill is fine (only the most feeble will struggle) but the alleyway leading up to it is full of dog turd so watch your step!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bungalows are nicely laid out with a modern bathroom. Staff are friendly. No crickets (loads in Mancora during humid season). Good views and bungalows have good area at the front for deckchairs/hammocks. Nice if you are a couple and want to be away from it all.

Disliked: The walk up to the bungalows is not good. In some sections very steep and no steeps - not easy with a backpack. The path would benefit from a rail and better lighting at night. Also not something to look foward to after a hot, sweaty day on the beach. The noise travels up from Mancora and it can be very noisy at night. Our toilet didn't flush very well which is not great with a dodgy stomach, a well known traveller favourite! The pressure was not strong enough so it always took a minimum of 3 flushes!?!!? Too hot in the room, there is not even a fan. Although the staff were friendly, when we asked to check out after 4 nights(3 nights earlier than booked) they refused to take any of our deposit off the bill. We didn't expect the full discount but they could have at least taken 4 nights worth of 10% off the bill.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2012

Liked: Great view

Disliked: Far frim the sea, bad acces way, you have to clim on a dirt mountain to get there

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is beautiful, and the bungalows are good for couples. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: It would have been nice to have someone clean and replace toilet roll etc. each day, and the place doesn't offer any food, which can be a pain because of the bungalows location.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aidan Maguire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: The view over the town. It was really clean.

Disliked: Check your bill. We were charged for an extra breakfast but didn't have the Spanish to explain that it shouldn't apply. The dollar / Soles exchange rate wasn't great. Also, our original bill included the 10% we'd paid on-line, although they were happy to take it out when we noticed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonas Staiger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place for couples, beatiful view to the ocean, big rooms and friendfull staff!

Disliked: In the night a bit noisy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Away from the town. Good view. Nice breakfast (not included) although eggs are extra. Balcony and hammock nice touch.

Disliked: Climb up to hostel would put some people off but it is only 5 minutes. It wasn't a problem for us - we are late 40's/50's No fan or aircon. Noise from town below but that would be the same anywhere in Mancora.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012

Liked: nice bungalow rooms with a private deck

Disliked: it was really noisy, we moved to a different hostel and stayed down on the beach which was much quieter as you couldnt hear the road and suprisingly the noise from the bars was quieter too. I didnt like the dogs roaming around the hostel and a couple of them came and did their buisness right by our rooms and where we were sitting. With the exception of the owner the staff didnt speak any english, and sat around doing nothing for 2 hours after we´d asked for a mosquito net (the owner had earlier said we´d need one) and then reluctantly gave us one to put up for ourselves (a job which took 3 minutes). The location on the hill is also annoying being so far away from everything,-stay down on the beach its loads better!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rebecca Houghton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent views, nice rooms.

Disliked: Rebecca left no negative feedback.


See all Mancora hostels