HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mancora hostels

Reviews of Kon Tiki Bungalows

Guesthouse | Av. los Incas Nr. 200, Mancora, Peru 01

88.0% Overall Rating

54 out of 57 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/06/2014)

"The owner was very helpful with sorting out buses to Sullana and La Loja en Equador."

Read all Kon Tiki Bungalows reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Pets allowed
  • Sofa

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 90.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mancora?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mancora

NAIF Rustic & Ecologic Lodge
23.50 USD

Apartment 61.0% 3 reviews
Kokopelli Beachpackers
10.36 USD

Hostel 87.8% 61 reviews
Rio Hotels - Mancora
12.00 USD

Hotel 5 star 90.1% 13 reviews
The Point Mancora Beach
9.30 USD

Hostel 90.9% 80 reviews
Loki del Mar
11.00 USD

Hostel 79.5% 54 reviews
Eco-lodge ''La Caprichosa''
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
gran hotel mancora
12.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

54 out of 57 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kon Tiki Bungalows'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 51 of 54 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful views of Mancora and the ocean, friendly and helpful staff. Complimentary continental breakfast with other items available for purchase.

Disliked: Slightly further from the beach because the location is on a hill overlooking Mancora, but there is easy access to the main strip in town and to the ocean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael keightley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2011 michael would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms had good views over the town and we could watch the surfers out in the early morning. The town is a bit noisy at weekends but the hostel is well above and away from the street so it is probably the quietest place to stay in Mancora.

Disliked: It would be nice to have access to boiling water to make a cup of tea.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Leah Kennedy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 September 2011 Leah would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely location on top of a hill overlooking the sea. Nice to be away from the hustle of the main drag. Lovely little bungalows, with deck chairs and hammocks and a great view of the sunset. Ignore negative comments about the hill - it's really nothing to worry about if you're able bodied.

Disliked: Showers weren't the warmest but after a day on the beach you'll be glad of a cold shower! The town is noisy at night but the only way to get away from this is to stay out of town - or join in!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Gilbert

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: The view from the top of the hill, and from our bungalow balcony was amazing. Great place to chill in a hammock and view the whole town below. Staff were awesome, even gave us a lift to the bus station when we left.

Disliked: Can get very noisy at night, but that is Mancora for you I suppose. Yes, there is a small hill to walk up and down, but it is not that bad, 5 min walk if that, and it is worth it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Newton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: The couple running the hostel were extremely helpful and the hostel overlooked the whole of Mancora

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

JONATHAN ANDERSON

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2011 JONATHAN would recommend this property

Liked: peaceful, the views are amazing, the best views in Mancora

Disliked: not a problem for us or other guests at the time, but you need to be able bodied to climb up and go down to the town centre, a 5 minute walk each way.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

todd dawson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 June 2011 todd would recommend this property

Liked: kon tiki banglaows has been the best place so far to stay in are 5 month adventure of sth america, juerg and Patricia were very nice and friendly, the views from the rooms are the best you can see the surf and the town and all the way up the coast, breakfast was fresh every morning, and the hammocks were great to relax in after surfing, you can order dinner from the town and they bring it up to you so you can watch the sunset and have dinner at the same time!!! we are coming back to stay here on the way back through peru, cant recommend this place enough. Thanks juerg and Patricia for making our stay so comfortable in mancora.

Disliked: nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

06 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfulness of owner, good view.

Disliked: The restaurant was only open for breakfast., and as it was up a hill, was sometimes an effort to go out.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patrick Robertson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2011 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place above town, friendly staff. Not a party place by any means.

Disliked: Can hear noise from town at night, shower head didnt work particularly well, and hot water was pretty rare (although the air was hot enough, a cool shower wasn't so bad).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location above the town was very relaxing with great views of the beach and sunset. It also meant it was quieter than elsewhere in town. Jurg the owner was very kind and helpful too.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ben Dudley

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: great view, good breakfast, friendly owner, free lift to bus station

Disliked: unable to lock our door from the inside

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sooo nice place, great view, calm cause mancora is quite busy so good to escape the crowd. nice owners!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: BEst views and attention

Disliked: everythig is very nice, nothing to complain of

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, terrific views and clean, comfortable rooms. A greatNoth place to chill out if the noisy hostel scene is not your thing.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful locations with stunning views. Staff were typically very helpful. The rooms are great too for three of four people. It is very close to town and the beaches, just a five minute walk. I would highly recommend staying here unless you only wanted to party.

Disliked: At one stage we were locked out of our room at 10pm and no one was around the complex to help. We managed to break into our room otherwise it would have been a long night in the cold.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melanie Heaven

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Work / volunteering

28 October 2010 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: It had wonderful views, the chalets were full of character and very comfortable and the owners and staff were lovely.

Disliked: The noise from the town does carry up the hill, but that is Mancora!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Dawn McKay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

30 September 2010 Dawn would recommend this property

Liked: The people are nice and the views are amazing. It was a relaxing place, with hammocks to chill out on.

Disliked: For the price I would have expected a comfortable bed and a hot shower. Its also located up a steep hill. The path is not paved and does not have steps and can be slippy and its not well lit so a little dangerous at night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked it here. Its a great place to chill out. The hostel is 50 metres from the main street of town but perched on a cliff top that has awesome views over the village and out to the surf. You can see the sunsets and the waves all day long. The continental breakfast is free and includes good strong coffee and nice bread and juice. You can pay a little extra for eggs and bacon. Good wifi. Good Bungalows.We were in a double room with a bathroom and the rooms have a little patio with deckchairs and a hammock that looks out to sea. Definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Hay

20 April 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing views of the town and beach! Bungalows were very nice and also had terrific views! Very friendly staff and a very good breakfast! Would definitely recommend staying!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located on a clifftop overlooking the main strip, which is good for a quiet night's sleep but not ideal for accessing bars/restaurants/beach etc. There's a path down the cliff which takes about 5 minutes but it's very steep, mostly unlit and very quiet (although the owners assured us it was safe and we had no problems). Hostel is pretty new and owners are very helpful: only real complaint is that when we arrived back at night, not particularly late (9:30ish) the communal areas were locked up and all the outside lights were switched off which meant no more beer/internet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manja Straßburger

27 March 2010 Manja would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to be... We highly recommend it !!!Best place in Mancora thats for sure ....

Disliked: Manja left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benedetta D'Alessandro

26 December 2009 Benedetta would recommend this property

Liked: The best choice by far in Mancora!The location is stunning, on a hill overlooking Mancora. The owners are really really nice and super helpful!The bungalows are lovely decorated and you feel at home at once. I definitively recomend this hostel.

Disliked: Benedetta left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely cliff top position overlooking town & Beach. Juerg & Patty very friendly if you let them know when you arrive/leave they will give you a lift from /to bus stop. They serve a good breakfast (great coffee) on super terrace overlooking sea. As usual in remote locations water´s a bit hit & miss. Make sure you take some mosquito spray.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

justin perry

01 August 2009 justin would recommend this property

Liked: Kon Tiki is a great place with lots of character situated on a hill above the craziness (and loud discos) of Mancora town. Juerg and Pati were very welcoming hosts who literally couldn´t do enough for me. The guests even went out with them for dinner the first night to celebrate Peru´s indepence day. The dorm has 4 bunk beds and 1 single bed and are quaint bungalows have lots of character with bamboo fittings. Good place for solo travellers.One final point, have the Kon Tiki breakfast (additional cost). It is a 5 star feast to behold and you´ll probably struggle to finish it.

Disliked: justin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the bungallows are very cute, airy and spacious and the view is nice. It is quiet and peaceful, away from the caos down the road. The owners are a wonderful couple. Very friendly and helpful. There is only a problem in the dirt road getting there. It is unconvenient and without a car it is frightening with dogs attacking the passers.Also there is no hot water in the shower.Inspite of that we liked it a lot.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Mancora hostels