HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Kon Tiki Bungalows Guesthouse

Av. los Incas Nr. 200, Mancora, Mancora, Peru

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 81%

Location 85%

Safety 94%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Currency Exchange
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 90.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 14:00

Policies

  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mancora?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 81%

Location 85%

Safety 94%

Staff 91%

Value 91%

Showing 11-8 of 8 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location,great place,stunning view,friendly and helpful staff and owners.couldn't fault the place,came and see for yourself

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Really nice comfortable bungalows. We had a beach view which was lovely with a really nice area outside the bungalow to relax ( hammock + table and chairs). Owners were really nice. We were collected at around 5:30 off our bus and allowed to go straight to the bungalow even though check in is not until 12. We were charged no extra for this.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The ocean view from the bungalows is amazing. its so nice just sitting there and watching the world. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The dog Lola is just wicked and great fun to play with. The rooms are massive and clean. If your a couple its a great place to stay. It's one of nicest hostels we have come across in 5months in south america.

Disliked: As people have written before the noise does carry up the hill side but atleast you're not in the centre of it. Also it is a big hill to walk, but that makes the view just that much nicer.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice view and good to get away from the loud music in town.

Disliked: I would not recommend this hostel. We had a altercation with the owner and one of her staff accidentally gave us someone else's bill when we checked out. We had no idea and the next day we realized we were being blackmailed by the owner. She said that if we didn't pay more money she would not pay her workers. We were really upset that she used this tactic to make us feel bad for her worker Maria (I think because she knows we are westerners and we hate seeing this). The problem was she wasn't organized and therefore had not recorded the full amount owing. I was absolutely appalled by this and I hope I never see this kind of behavior again.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: I loved my little bungalow! The hammock, the view, the atmosphere! I chose to stay here for 4 additional nights based on my day to day experiences with Kontiki. I really appreciated being outside of Mancora's core. The walk up can feel longer depending on the time and heat of the day, but I appreciated being able to escape the totes, hoots and hollers and to have a place of my own. The water is warmed by the sun/heat of the day so can be warm to start but usually ends up cold. I am a 100% wimp when it comes to cold showers so was not excited about this, but with the heat of Mancora ended up showering more than once per day. So, for my time there, I guess I ended up a cold shower fan!

Disliked: I have read a lot of complaints about the noise at Kontiki. After staying there I agree there is a fair bit of noise that travels up from the town however I can only imagine that staying in the town would be 10 times worse! I really do think these complaints should be contextualized a bit. These noise complaints are not the fault of Kontiki. They are the fault of Mancora. I booked for 1 nights at Kontiki and ended up staying 5. I am so glad! I chose to stay at up and away from the chaos that is Mancora at night.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a great place to get away from the hussle and Bussey on the main strip and it has a great view! The bungalows are really well designed, it was great to have our own space with the deck chairs and hammock, especially after staying in hostels for a while. Also the owner came to pick us up, even though we were already in Mancora at another hostel, and he dropped us off at the bus station after our stay free of charge. Showers are great, not hot but not cold, very refreshing after a day on the beach.

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything, the only thing I would want that they didn't have was some sort of mini menu offering drinks and snacks throughout the day as therea nothing elae around. It's only breakfast that is offered and ltjough it's not a long walk to the main road it would be nice to have the option of cutting yourself off totally. They do offer menus for takeaway though!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the view was great, it was nice to be a bit away from the hustle and bustle of mancora and it was very romantic!

Disliked: the noise! the noise of mancora travels upwards much more loudly it seems than if youre actually in the town.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We stayed in an ocean-facing bungalow and the views were fantastic, but if you're staying in one of the non-ocean facing bungalows you still get great views from the breakfast/lounge area. The breakfast was nothing special but perfectly good and it was nice to be able to have extras such as eggs and bacon available (albeit you have to pay for them) if you want them. The staff were lovely and very helpful.

Disliked: The only real criticism would be the noise - it drifts up from the town below very clearly and until 3am/4am in the morning. The bungalows have a huge insect screen above the doors so there's no way of blocking it out. The walk from the town up to the bungalows passes through what feels like a bit of an iffy backstreet but we didn't have any problems and the bungalows assured us that it was safe. The walk up the hill takes a bit of puff but is worth it for the views.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent place to stay, great views, great hosts and away from the noise by the coast but only a 2 minutes walk away for convenience.I strongly recommend staying here!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great views over the ocean from patio areas infront of the bungalows.Spacious rooms with good bathrooms, mosquito nets and a fan. (ask for a fan).We had a very relaxing time there.

Disliked: "Call us for free transfer from the bus station to Kon tiki at your arrival" they claim, but we had to pay for our transfer.The walk up the hill is fine (only the most feeble will struggle) but the alleyway leading up to it is full of dog turd so watch your step!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability