We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mancora hostels

Reviews of Loki del Mar

Hostel | Avienda Piura #262, Mancora, Peru 73

79.5% Overall Rating

47 out of 54 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/06/2014)

"Good beds with lockers right by them that had chargers inside. Great showers. Food is OK if a little overprices. Right in the middle of town."

Read all Loki del Mar reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mancora?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mancora

The Point Mancora Beach
8.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 81 reviews
Kon Tiki Bungalows
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.1% 58 reviews
Kokopelli Beachpackers
10.22 USD

Hostel 87.8% 61 reviews
Rio Hotels - Mancora
12.00 USD

Hotel 5 star 90.1% 13 reviews
NAIF Rustic & Ecologic Lodge
22.00 USD

Apartment 61.0% 3 reviews
Eco-lodge ''La Caprichosa''
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
gran hotel mancora
12.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.5%

Overall Rating

47 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Loki del Mar'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
72.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2014

Liked: Good beds with lockers right by them that had chargers inside. Great showers. Food is OK if a little overprices. Right in the middle of town.

Disliked: Too much like a holiday in Malia, attracts a bit of an idiot crowd. Over zealous security who won't let you relax I.e. they take away the hammocks at night - why? Personally not keen on the music they play. Bar staff are poor as they are just other travellers more concerned with getting pissed themselves. Drinks are overpriced.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great atmosphere. I really enjoyed the free yoga and other activities that were on offer. Nice that some fruit was included for breakfast. The food at the bar and the slushies were delicious.

Disliked: The wifi was not good for apple devices for the whole stay. More hammocks pr day beds would have been good. I didn't see the pool being cleaned at all for 4 days!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The activities they offer, the pool, the staff.

Disliked: Too much noise all the time, not enough chairs near the pool, dorms expensive in comparison to other hostels and the rooms are not that good...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, steps from the beach. Clean pool, cheap drinks

Disliked: Had a slight 'Benidorm' feel to it at times. Wifi hit and miss, food overpriced and not great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

tara peat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

17 March 2014

Liked: Its more like a resort with the pool and location to the beach. Molly at the front desk is friendly and helpful

Disliked: There was a local lady doing breakfast in the morning who was NOT pleasant.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security and clean

Disliked: Too loud

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Ladomirski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Big hostel but still plenty of room for everyone. The food from the kitchen is really good and reasonably priced.

Disliked: Philip left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Food in the bar was excellent and good value. Especially tuna steak! Nice pool and fun atmosphere. Staff were overall great!

Disliked: Wifi was down a lot and sometimes Internet was also not working during stay. One of the bar guys was always grumpy - unlike other staff - grumps shouldn't work at bar!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, nice pool and bar area - more like a resort than a hostel! The rooms were big and each had a locker, although some of the rooms were nicer than others. When I was ill, the owner gave me a room for the day for free even though we had checked out.

Disliked: The room had was meant to be a 6 bed dorm but was actually 8. They moved the beds in there after we had checked in. Its a party hostel, but some of the rooms are also quieter than others.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Buena ubicaciòn, fiestas temàticas, buen staff.

Disliked: No se podìa dormir bien, habìa mucho ruido que provenia de una discoteca cercana, por lo demas todo ok.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Adam Teece

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2013

Liked: On the beach.

Disliked: The swimming pool was not in use, in the busiest time of year. Sacrilege. Boasts partys yet there was no music, no dancing and definatley no atmosphere.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome place to visit. all in the hostel. dont need to leave

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristobal Alarcon

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

08 August 2012 Cristobal would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Atmosphere in the pool and bar area. Very nice afternoons and parties. Good food, drinks and activities in the bar.

Disliked: You don't realize how much you spend in the drinks! Security should be improved, they should give keys to the people staying the rooms so the door can be kept closed... at least at night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Torge Froehlich

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Torge would recommend this property

Liked: very good hostel, looks almost like a hotel. very nice people, food is good, right at the beach. rooms are clean, nice place to go since there is not much nightlife in the city. highly recommended to stay here, one of the best hostels i stayed in on my 3month trip through SA

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Emma McInnes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

15 July 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly to us and we were welcomed to stay and hang out by the pool and use the facilities until our room was ready. They have a fantastic pool. However to secure a day lounge by the pool you need to wake up around 10am and put a towel one! The property has steps which allow access to the beach. (2 min walk). Continental breakfast is buns and a hot drink, however they do have other options which you can purchase. They always had activities on each day.

Disliked: Music starts at 11am and goes until 1am but then you have the music from the bars next door and they blast music until 5am. (No lie!) Fortunately there is tons of ventilation in the rooms which mean no windows - just screens and well the music and thumps are always there. We found that this hostel was just so big that is was difficult to meet others as most individuals were singles and well.... no one is interested in meeting someone they can't possibly get with. After a week we left - we weren't interested in partying EACH night and thus we had a lack of sleep by the end and needed some rest.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of fun to drink and party and relax by the pool and meet people. Nice slushies. nice activities. The food was generally relly good and not bad value.

Disliked: (the free breakfast is a waste of time and often things are finished and then its done). The only thing was the food wasnt very consistent. we had three greek salads while we were there, one had one olive in and too much feta, the other had no feta and 5 olives, one day the burger would be tasty and another day stale and not so great. its a fun place nevertheless. also some staff were really friendly and helpful while others seemed annoyed that you needed something.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

30 April 2012

Liked: The pool area is excellent, and the parties at night are really fun. Food at the bar is also decent and fairly priced. Some bar staff were extremely friendly and good fun to be around.

Disliked: In comparison to other Lokis, Del Mar felt very unsafe and verged on the wrong side of wild. Management seemed to have no power at all to control guests who were out of control or in a group - a large group of Israelis stayed during my stay who blasted music from huge speakers pretty much 24/7, clashing with the bar's music during the day and keeping people awake at night. Management and security tried to intervene but as soon as the group argued back, management backed down! I did not like being in a hostel where the management were clearly not in control - additionally there were countless reports of things being stolen which the receptionists didn't take seriously at all and actually found quite amusing. One lady on reception was exceptionally rude to the point where she would refuse to help you if she didn't like your greeting to her... Additionally a lot of the bar staff were more interested in getting drunk themselves than serving customers, with some in particular being quite arrogant if approached. I understand it is a party hostel but Del Mar felt completely unsafe and quite seedy at times. The La Paz Loki had the balance correct but this one verged on feeling dangerous to stay in at times. It is a huge shame when the pool area itself and the bar are good fun, and some of the staff really did work hard.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Martin Fernando Mora

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Martin Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is at the heart of Mancora Beach and its commercial center. The pool, facilities and the beach as the hostel's backyard are really amazing. Together with my wife, we have spent beautiful sunny days at the beach and nice dinners all over the area at night.

Disliked: Sometimes too noisy at night. First of all, the staff couldn't come out with my reservation when I tried to do my check out, and then they aimed to charge me with an amount different from the one expected as my balance (extra U$S 5).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, fun bar, clean rooms and nice beds.

Disliked: Some of the people in the reception should work on their friendliness. There was not really that many optiones on the menu.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Foesenek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Great spacey dorms with good beds, lovely swimming pool and close to the beach. Organize a lot of activities and serve food all day.

Disliked: It was maybe a little too big (more like a resort with around 150 backpackers). If you are travelling alone, it's not the easiest place to meet people, just cause there are so many and it's sometimes difficult to find them.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Es lo que prometen. Un party hostel. La verdad es que conoces a muchas personas, si vas sólo, es un buen lugar en Máncora.

Disliked: La habitación 132 tienen las mejores vistas a la playa, y es un lugar de reunión para staff y otros clientes del hotel aunque no sea su habitación. Increible! Era una pasarela de gente contínuamente y en mitad de la noche, hasta que lo comentamos con ellos, porque eran parte del staff, y casi nos amenazan. A una chica le robaronn el Ipod y conocimos de otros casos de robo. Cuidad mucho vuestras cosas.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Like a hostel beach resort! Pool, bar, good restaurant, and great location between the beach and the best restaurants in Mancora.

Disliked: BED BUGS!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

amalia berastegui

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 amalia would recommend this property

Liked: the food is good, and i felt i as staying in a resort... lockers with plugin inside, that was great.. good wifi, cool ppl, deff recomended.

Disliked: amalia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Piriz

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

01 February 2012 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. I think it´s one of the best hostel I´ve ever been... The facilities were awesome, the location the same, and the Loki guys are amazing... Worm and fun people, and you can feel that on the Hostel atmosphere... I would try so hard to come back...

Disliked: Nothing at all...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was blown away by this place . The location , the pool , the hammocks , the great on site restaurant , the power showers , plugs in lockers and late check out .

Disliked: Nothing


See all Mancora hostels