We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Mancora hostels

Reviews of The Point Mancora Beach

Hostel | Playa El Amor, Mancora, Peru 5000

91.0% Overall Rating

73 out of 81 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

"Nice swimming pool and the property is right on the beach (in a not so busy area). Breakfast provided."

Read all The Point Mancora Beach reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mancora?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Mancora

Loki del Mar
10.00 USD

Hostel 79.5% 54 reviews
Kon Tiki Bungalows
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 88.0% 57 reviews
Kokopelli Beachpackers
10.36 USD

Hostel 87.8% 61 reviews
Rio Hotels - Mancora
12.00 USD

Hotel 5 star 90.1% 13 reviews
NAIF Rustic & Ecologic Lodge
23.50 USD

Apartment 61.0% 3 reviews
Eco-lodge ''La Caprichosa''
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
gran hotel mancora
12.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

73 out of 81 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Point Mancora Beach'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 65 of 77 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011

Liked: The beach bungalows are in a fantastic location!

Disliked: The bathroom was filthy and urine all over toilet seat on check in, matress was terrible worst mattress I have ever slept on in 50+ hostels world wide, ants in the bed, breakfast is promoted as starting at 8am but the kitchen staff did not show up until 8:30 and fed themselves and family before opening the kitchen for guests, no hot water in bungalows, bungalows are extremely basic only bed and bins.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice private bugalows on the beach. Perfect party place.

Disliked: Not easy to have a good night's sleep.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Having your own beach in front of the hostel away from the crowds, the pool is kept clean and tidy and all the staff were very friendly. The sunsets right outside the cabena over the horizon and is something that shouldn't be missed even on a slightly cloudy day.

Disliked: Nowhere to put your clothes in the cabena, just a few nails sticking out of the walls would have been nice! The cabena looks a lot nicer from outside than inside which is a bit basic for £10 a night.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: beach

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, beautiful quiet beach right outside the door.

Disliked: Pool table is poor

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ariana Rivadeneira

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011

Liked: Everything!! Most of all that it's really close to the beach, more than we imagine.

Disliked: Only the average (for not writting poor) cleanliness of the pool. That's the only thing that made me rate average that section.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome friendly staff, very welcoming! The place is beautiful, right on the beach and only few minutes away from the center of the village. Great food as well!

Disliked: The 4 cabañas were rented, I would have love to try one!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Syed Raymon Shah

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011

Liked: Closeness to the beach

Disliked: Bedbugs, holes in the bedding, lots of mosquitos with no netting on the windows to stop them getting in to the rooms, flimsy 'secure' lockers that could easily be opened, a 'nightclub' which in reality was the bar - with the speaker facing the dorms - playing loud music till 4am (even though the hostel was supposed to be quiet from 2am according to their own notices. We left after 1 night because it was so bad

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Claudia Hollwey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2011 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: The hostels location being slightly away from the town with a private beach was very nice.

Disliked: The hostel overcharged us significantly (15 soles each) for bus tickets with a company that was not reputable and did not deliver the service we had paid for thus we missed our border crossing to Ecuador. The toilets/showers were flithy and full of bugs, the toilets did not flush properly. The hostel promotes itself as a party hostel however this isn't the case, they make you stay at the hostel where they cannot supply you with even half of the cocktail list. If you buy food at the hostel the chances are that the food will be served 3 hrs later even for a fruit salad!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ewan Will

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 January 2011 Ewan would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxing and chilled out atmosphere. Clean. Right on the beach. Great beach theme. Happy people. Awesome pool and utlities. Hot water and good food.

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

08 November 2010

Liked: The location right by the beach was good. The distance from town was not a problem.

Disliked: The bed in the bungalow we stayed in was of poor quality and the sheets were poor and had holes in. We asked for an extra sheet or blanket but none were available which I found strange.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The atmoshere is great and very familiar with a nice and helpful staff. The hostel is located almost right on the beach but it also has a big and nice pool area, a restaurant with really good food (try the sashimi and ceviche, YUM!) and a chilled out bar area . The bar has drink specials every night and there is always something up for the evening. I also liked that you were allowed to put on your own music if you had an I-pod or Mp3.The dorms are definitely spacious enough and the beds are really comfortable. I stayed during the Full Moon Party and that was really cool as well. I would definitely recommend this hostel to everyone =)

Disliked: Lots of mosquitos as soon as the sun sets so bring loads of repellent!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, don't miss the full moon party, amazing ceviche for lunch!

Disliked: Would be hard to stay at if you wanted peace and quiet, but it IS a party hostel after all...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bradley Whiting

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

06 September 2010 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: Great as it was a little out of town so you could get some sleep while the town carried on with the night life.

Disliked: Bradley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Point is definitely the best hostel to stay at in Mancora! You feel at home here, its like a family. The staff is great, always willing to help you out. There is a pool, a tv room, and hammocks if you just want to chill out and read. Its right on the beach, a perfect place to watch the sunset. I met so many awesome`people here, its one of the the highlights of my time in Peru.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dave Hopper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: It's a hard place to leave. I ended up staying for 10 days and met some really cool people there. It's a really laid-back atmosphere. It's about a 10 min.walk on the beach to town, but a much better location than loki. There is usually beach volleyball every day.... and the food is good....

Disliked: The only thing that would have made it better was if we could use the kitchen and there was hot water and coffee available all day. You can't take our own alcohol, but it's cheap!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its right on the beach, the staff are friendly, helpful and really fun.It was a great place to stay to chill and party.The restuarant and pool are brilliant. We liked it so much we stayed much longer than we planned! The full moon party is not to be missed!

Disliked: edwin

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is much better than Loki! stay at loki of you want an 18 year old frat party, without any sleep. The Point is a perfect mix of fun and exciting atmosphere with a chilled out hammock vibe right on a private beach. The staff is fantastic. A very helpful, fun and entertaining group of people makes this hostel feel like a family. Anything we needed was immediatley attended to by Karina, Diego, Tony and all the others that make up this great group of people. I will definatley be back, and recommend this amazing place to any traveler I meet along my jouney, Thanks for the memories :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

oliver norman

16 June 2010 oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Grat place . Great vibe. Loved it.

Disliked: oliver left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Holizko

06 June 2010 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is the best!!!!!!! absolutely perfect, such a nice hostel, amazing staff from the manager down to the cleaners..and beautifull people. such beautifull people. it has laid back atmosphere combined with mad parties made this the place to be in mancora. close to the centre and a beautifull private stretch of beach. most comfortable bed award in south america goes to the Point!! nice snacks and great pool with volleyball pitch behind for getting the sweat on!truly loved this place!

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

michelle young

27 May 2010

Liked: No running water in the Bungalows even though there are bathrooms in them, making them sadly useless. Shared bathrooms were pretty small, dank, and not clean . The view from the bungalow was awesome, but I didn't feel like our things were very secure. They give you a padlock to lock the bungalow. We choose to stay only one night due to not getting a private bathroom, and it was a pain to walk all the way to main area to pee. Also there is no electricity from midnight to noon. I would say you can get something better paying the same rate down the road.

Disliked: michelle left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! It's located right on the beach.Dorms are clean and spacious and beds are big. There's a large pool and an area for sunbathing. Perfect place to relax and meet people in a laid back atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 April 2010

Liked: Very chilled out hostel with decent beds and good sized rooms.Good place to meet people as it has a very social setup.It is at the far end of town though so is fairly isolated for going to the shops, although it is only a cheap taxi ride away. This is made more frustrating by the fact that the hostel kept running out of cigarros, food items on the menu, chocolate and alcohol!! Not only that but the 'restaurant' closes at 7.30pm so eating after that does mean going into town. The management didn't seem to be well organised as far as that went.Also, events were planned for the evening but then the organiser decided he wanted to go out so the events were cancelled - 20mins after they should have started which left a few people kinda stranded.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jeroen Egbertzen

15 April 2010 Jeroen would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed place, good to get to know other backpackers. lot´s to do, swimmingpool and almost a private beach are super. Breakfast a bit late (9pm) would recommend it for sure.

Disliked: Jeroen left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, quiet beach with not much people is the best, it s not like in the town mancora, nice athmosphere, in the night loud,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Mancora hostels