We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Bright Hostels Machu Picchu

Hostel | Calle Willku 107, Barrio las Orquidias, Aguas Calientes Machu Picchu, Peru n/a

72.6% Overall Rating

32 out of 45 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2013)

"This hostel is conveniently located in AGUAS CALIENTES. Its quite big and has many rooms available. Considering we arrived at 11pm during a blackout in the entire town, the staff were helpful and accommodating!"

Read all Bright Hostels Machu Picchu reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Machu Picchu?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Machu Picchu

Machupicchu ByB
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 55.7% 4 reviews
Machu Picchu Green Nature
31.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 78.6% 12 reviews
Hostal Pakarina
15.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Inti wiñaywayna hotel - Grupo Inti Machu Picchu
40.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Pirwa Hostels Machu Picchu
12.70 USD

Hostel 75.7% 338 reviews
Hatun Inti - Grupo Inti Machu Picchu
145.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Marco Wasi Machu Pichu
30.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Ecopackers MachuPicchu Hostel
15.50 USD

Hostel 77.1% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.6%

Overall Rating

32 out of 45 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bright Hostels Machu Picchu'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Franklin Torres

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 November 2014 Franklin would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place

Disliked: none

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Camadas cómodas calientes

Disliked: Tardaron mucho n servir el desayuno y cobrar a los que queríamos salir pronto

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Isaque Sales Soares

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 August 2013

Liked: Even the bad conditions, The staff try to help us

Disliked: They haven't offered a proper breakfast, the sheets, pillows etc... were completely stinky and dirty, there were until blood drops in the sheets

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2013

Liked: This hostel is conveniently located in AGUAS CALIENTES. Its quite big and has many rooms available. Considering we arrived at 11pm during a blackout in the entire town, the staff were helpful and accommodating!

Disliked: I was in a private room (double), and the bathroom was in the same room, and the wall didnt quite extend to the ceiling, so you could hear everything. Otherwise, this hostel seemed to be pretty average in the town.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, relatively cheap.

Disliked: Staff didn't speak any English.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

aoife mahony

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The place was dark and musty. The douvet had no cover was smelly and stained. There was only hot water after we went to ask for it. Overall horrble.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

TAM HUYNH

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 TAM would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendly staff

Disliked: Lack of wifi in room Sheet had damp smell Need to verify if you prepaid small amount ahead of time with hosyelbook mm e luckiily she refunded my amount bc i forgot to mention i prepaid small amount

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Darren Stott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2013 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: The Lady owner! Probably the nicest person I met in South America. She is a gem and makes your stay the best possible. She works really hard and is always available to help guests. A lifesaver when I got into difficulty arriving into Aguas Calientes very late on. I will always remember that. Thank you! Great location to chill. Clean beds and clean showers! Excellent value for money! Stayed an extra 2 days! Defo would stay again without doubt. Can organise your MP tickets entrance and bus tickets to get there with ease! Thanks once again! Excellent!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Rooms and bathrooms were clean although the first room had a broken toilet but we were given a new room immediately. Front lady was nice but barely spoke english so it was a little difficult checking in.

Disliked: For some reason, our room was the only one that didnt have a lock on the window so we were really nervous about leaving our belongings there. The walls are very very thin so you can hear people walking and talking and coming in late and waking up early, it was hard to get a good nights sleep before our trek up to machu picchu. Check out was too early - 9am!!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013

Liked: Close to the city centre

Disliked: it was noisy, there is only one computer to be used which is at the reception desk

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luis Aurelio Ronzon Villegas

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Luis Aurelio would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness

Disliked: The breakfast

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

joanne coxage

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Aguas Calientes is not great, so we didnt expect much. The hostel was just fine, the lady was polite and helpful, it was close to all restaurants and we happened to find it straight away once coming out of the train station. The room was nice and quiet and the shower worked well.

Disliked: We didnt get our pick up from the station. The bed sheets were very damp, but then all of Aguas Calientes was damp so im not sure if they could have avoided this. The breakfast was rolls and jam as usual in Peru, but it was disappointing, especially as we needed the energy for the machu pichu climb! It was the cheapest private room we could find and if its value for money you are going for then this hostel is just fine.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was quiet

Disliked: I wanted to pay by credit card but they said they had to charge 6% more (never seen it...)§

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good room for cheap price

Disliked: The room was a bit humid

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rasmus Andersen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2013 Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff that helped us out buying tickets to the bus to MP etc. Breakfast is served from 5am which is great as many other travellers have to buy expensive coffee and bread on the street before leaving early for the site. Hot shower, great wifi, even in room!! and towells provided

Disliked: Due to the location of our room on second floor there was a lot of noice which made it difficult to get a good nights sleep before waking up at 4.45

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rosario Donoso

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Rosario would recommend this property

Liked: Esta bien ubicado y la gente era muy amable.

Disliked: Estaba cerca de pubs y discoteques, se escuchaba mucho ruido de noche y la red de wifi no era muy buena en las piezas.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, early breakfast

Disliked: -

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

VALERIE L ABBEE

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2013 VALERIE would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Very humide room!!! Simple breakfest. The exange rate is very hight!!! But wend they have to give you some money back, the rate change is suddenly low!!!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013

Liked: not realy like it

Disliked: It is poorly managed hostel. flies and mosquito fliy everywhere at the first floor close to the breakfast area. It is discusting! Feel very bad about it. Will not go again. The bad thing is the staff ignor it and did not try to get rid of the fkies and mosquitos.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: solo nos quedamos una noche para ir a día siguiente a machu picchu, el desayuno es como todos mas una banana, la habitación estaba muy limpia y la cama super cómoda.

Disliked: paso

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was amazing, excellent service. Tea service available throughout the day. Wake up calls, when and if you need it. Beds were really comfortable especially after 4 days hiking. Customer service was fantastic. Couldn't rate a hostel higher. Even let my friends hang out while waiting for the train (as they were not comfortable at their hostel).

Disliked: N/A

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013

Liked: location and cost

Disliked: room only had window on to corridor, bedding seemed damp, 3 slats fell out of one of the bed during the night. wi.-fi only works in reception.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, wonderfully hot showers and pretty comfy beds.

Disliked: I was glad only five or six other people were there besides me: the sound carries and it's pretty loud. The windows in my room didn't lock into place so anyone could have entered whenever. Breakfast was bread and butter.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013

Liked: We had a private bathroom.

Disliked: Our room just had a window to the dark and loud staircase and there was no ventilation in the whole room, so our stuff never dried. When we wanted to pay, we were told that there was a special exchange rate in Aguas Calientes different to the one in Cusco or the official one - we decided to pay in dollars instead of Soles.