We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Munay Bed & Breakfast

Hostel | 470 Av. De La Aviacion, Lima, Peru 15074

80.7% Overall Rating

12 out of 16 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/05/2015)

Ana Nunes thinks…

"The location was in a very affluent part of Lima. Munay is in a quiet residential area across from a school and just a block away from the coastal walking paths. It's about a 10 minute walk to…"

Read all Munay Bed & Breakfast reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel
11.50 USD

Hostel 87.8% 36 reviews
Dragonfly Hostels
10.14 USD

Hostel 87.9% 55 reviews
Hitchhikers Backpackers Hostel Lima
10.00 USD

Hostel 83.5% 9 reviews
Quincha House
13.83 USD

Guesthouse 86.6% 10 reviews
151 Backpacker Hostel B&B
10.99 USD

Guesthouse 88.9% 78 reviews
Runa Wasi Student House
25.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Loki Backpackers Lima
11.50 USD

Hostel 90.4% 100 reviews
The House Project
2.15 USD

Hostel 84.8% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.7%

Overall Rating

12 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Munay Bed & Breakfast'

Atmosphere
65.0%
Location
86.3%
Facilities
70.0%
Cleanliness
92.5%
Staff
85.0%
Value
71.3%
Safety
95.0%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 16 reviews
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ana Nunes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2015 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: The location was in a very affluent part of Lima. Munay is in a quiet residential area across from a school and just a block away from the coastal walking paths. It's about a 10 minute walk to Kennedy park and some nice shopping/restaurants. It was very clean and very well kept. The traditional lunch prepared fresh everyday was delicious and very affordable! This B&B was also very safe, we felt very comfortable leaving our valuables in our (private) room.

Disliked: While the staff were friendly and helpful there was definitely a lack of ambience here. Other than the music that played on the main floor this B&B was kind of dull. There is a bar however you can only buy bottled beer, none of the other advertised drinks were available. It has a very quiet and chilled atmosphere; if that's what you're looking for then this is a perfect place. We just felt that the vibe was a little more mellow than what was advertised. We also expected the staff to speak a bit better English; only a couple of the staff were able to communicate with us, even on the basics. This made it difficult to get advice on where to go and what to see. No one seemed to offer much in recommended places to see, or things to do. All in all however, It really was a nice place, it simply lacked in atmosphere.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

06 May 2015

Liked: The bed was comfortable & the sheets were clean and good quality & the room was clean. The location is nice and quiet but quite a long walk from restaurants etc.

Disliked: Our room did not have hot water, it was luke-warm and then cold, when we asked about this we were told this was just the way it is and they made no attempt to fix the problem. The breakfast was terrible, only bread and tea on the first day and they weren't even going to serve us a juice. When we wanted to stay in the hostel for the afternoon they then increased the price from what was offered on hostebookers.com before charging us half. The hostel does not have a nice, inviting atmosphere and definitely wasn't worth the price.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2015

Liked: It{s nice from outside and has a good location

Disliked: The hostel describes itself as a friendly B&B, but the female owner is unfriendly and money focused. Unfortunalety our rooms were full with ants and the continental breakfast was the worst so far in whole southamerica. There was no Bar and Resataurant service at all, there is a huge kitchen which you can´t use as a guest. There are lockers in the room but no keys for it. Also towles are not included.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2015

Liked: Great location, 2 blocks away from the coast. Clean.

Disliked: Extremely small shower. Thin walls so you hear everything, and i mean everything. Room is too hot, no a/c nor fan.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Titta-Maria Kettunen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Titta-Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the staff really friendly and helpful and always available. The breakfast is great and cooked for each customer separately.

Disliked: Sleeping with ear plugs is necessary because of the door bell ringing also at night and the soundproofing being the worst ever.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anil Jain

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Anil would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, reasonable price, friendly staff

Disliked: Very well kept, modern property

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

colin raymond

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 colin would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean & bathrooms were excellent (newly renovated with great, hot showers). Staff were helpful and friendly, giving me free coffee upon arrival in the evening and breakfast after the posted ending time. All in all, a great place in a quiet neighborhood of Miraflores that I can't recommend highly enough.

Disliked: colin left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Wan-Hwa Chao

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Wan-Hwa would recommend this property

Liked: clean bathroom

Disliked: There is no ladder for the upper bed for in the triple room. It is difficult to climb to the upper bed with a chair. For the late flight travellers, this hostel cannot provide a share bathroom for a shower after checkout. We can do that when we stayed in Ariquipa as there are a lot of late flights or bus in Peru.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Smith

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Sandra and her staff are very friendly and helpful. She did everything possible to make our stay pleasant and comfortable.

Disliked: We found the room (double bed ensuite) a little small but it wasn't really a problem.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Cristián Crespo Rojas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013

Liked: The location and security of the place was good. Also, the staff was very kind.

Disliked: The private was very basic. The matress of the bed was really uncomfortable. And breakfast was poor: Even that it had the things of a continental one, the portions were extremely small. It doesnt worth the money in general.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marcelo Aldenucci

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2013 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: Quite clean and confortable. Very quiet and in a nice location.

Disliked: The breakfast is not worth.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Adam Scholes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet and secure in a nice upmarket neighbourhood. Staff spoke good English and were very helpful.

Disliked: lacking in atmosphere and a bit far from the cafes and bars of parque Kennedy. Whilst it wasn't expensive, you could probably find something similar for a bit less if you shopped around.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Charlotte Verbeek

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: It was really clean!!! The rooms/bathrooms are cleaned every day. And the manager, Sandra, is really really kind! The other personel is also really nice, their English is good and they are always interested. And it's really safe, you can leave everything there without doubts about if it's safe or not, and that's nice in Lima, not the safest town in the world.

Disliked: The shower was really crap in the upstairs double ensuite room. But Sandra called an electrician, and when he couldn't fix anything, we could use the shared bathroom on the 2nd floor and got a free taxi ride to the airport (20 dollars), so that made it up. But the really bad thing about this property is the breakfast! You cannot call yourself a bed and breakfast and serve a really small and poor breakfast! You get two small breads, a little bit of marmelade, tea and 1 cup of juice. Almost everyday we didn't make it to lunchtime because we were so hungry, we had to buy a 'second' breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing! I've stayed at a lot of hostels before and hands down the staff here are the best!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels