We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Lima Backpackers

Hostel | Albacete 293, Urb Los Jazmines, Santiago de Surco, Lima, Peru 33

96.9% Overall Rating

33 out of 33 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2015)

Jane Fletcher thinks…

"Really friendly and kind host and a really relaxed vibe in the hostel. A perfect bard to start exploring from."

Read all Lima Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Casa Nuestra B&B
30.00 USD

Apartment 100.0% 3 reviews
Studio Apart. Miraflores
19.50 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
hostal pukara
10.07 USD

Guesthouse 79.0% 6 reviews
Hostelling Lima Peru
17.00 USD

Hostel 63.3% 6 reviews
Kaminu Hostel - Barranco
9.90 USD

Hostel 82.4% 34 reviews
HOSTAL GEMINA
20.38 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Miraflores Suites Centro
62.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Lima Wari Suites
14.68 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.9%

Overall Rating

33 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lima Backpackers'

Atmosphere
97.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
99.2%
Value
99.2%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 31 of 33 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Woods

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic host. Good location, clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Fletcher

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2015 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and kind host and a really relaxed vibe in the hostel. A perfect bard to start exploring from.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Marco Antonio Perez was a great host, gave tips on how to explore lima inexpensively and safely with great restaurant recommendations. He speaks pretty good English. he even opens up his own little bar on the rooftop for guests. Hostel is clean and quiet. Small but amenable to meeting fellow travellers. Highly recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Mahoney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Marco was great! Small hostel, he taught us how to make pisco sours and toured us around the city. Beautiful area, very safe, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here!

Disliked: N/A

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allen Crew

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2015 Allen would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean...quiet late night..hot water..lockers with locks...breakfast..helpful info about travel..towels..short walk to restaurants..nice safe part of city..

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2015 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Marco is a truly incredible host who has created an amazing little hostel. Highly recommend that you book!

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Althorp-Bellchambers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel was friendly safe and went extra mile helped everyone all get to know each other and comfy and very well organised

Disliked: the taxi driver had trouble finding it!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Simpson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2014 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: It felt just like staying in a flat on the edge of Miraflores and Barranco. The neighbourhood feels safe and the metroline is a 10 minute walk away. Marco was incredibly friendly and helpful and was always willing to answer questions about where to eat, what to do and general advice for Lima. It was the perfect place to get away from the party atmosphere of so many hostels in South America.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen James

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2014 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel & host. Marco supplies a wealth of information - maps, bus cards etc., plus the best pisco sour in Peru (& Chile). Spends time taking you to the best places in Lima. Good common room and fast internet. Constant supply of free coffee, large selection of different teas and great breakfast.

Disliked: Dorm is a little small when people have many bags.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Brenda Lee

Alone

Events / festivals

11 July 2014 Brenda would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Poor Wifi

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place if you want somewhere a little quieter and feels more like a guests in someone's home rather than staying in a hostel. Marco goes out of his way to help you with personalised maps and restaurant recommendations as well as phoning places to help get cameras fixed and even coming with me to help with translation. When he can he loves to get out and show guests his city/favourite places to eat

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I wish i could have stayed longer. Staff very helpful! Small and cozy. Very clean, safe and secure.

Disliked: Hard to find in the dark, poor signage.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma mulcahy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: I never get round to writing a review for the hostels I stay in but I've made a specisl effort for this one. The hostel is small and homey, a great wqy to get to lnow everyone that stays there. Marco is a lovrly guy and really helpful! He make brilliant pisco sours. I really enjoyd my stay here. Thanks Marco.

Disliked: Its not in the centre of everything but is great to be away from.the noise of the busy city.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Findley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Marco is the best hostel owner/host I've met. He's friendly and knowledgeable, and he makes the best pisco sours. The hostel is cozy, the kitchen well equipped, the showers great, the wifi decent. I met great people here and saw some great parts of Lima. It's located close to Barranco, my favorite neighborhood in the city. It's a ten-minute walk to the metro station, and then it's an easy ride to the center or Miraflores.

Disliked: Lisa left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claudia Tavani

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 March 2014 Claudia would recommend this property

Liked: Loved all of it. The hostel is in a great location, close enough to all the main attractions of the city, yet in a safe and quiet area so you get proper rest at night. Beds are super-comfortable, with nice bunks that all have their individual light and plugs, great lockers, nice showers and HUGE soft towels. The kitchen is very well equipped so any meal can be cooked. The living room/common area is cozy, comfortable and homey. What makes this place a real gem is its owner and manager, Marco, who is friendly, helpful, caring and knowledgeable. He somehow manages to creat a very nice atmosphere so you really do feel like you are at home.

Disliked: Claudia left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Less like a hostel and more like staying at a friend's house. The best hostel I've been to.

Disliked: A little off the beaten track but taxis are cheap in Lima.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Croker

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2013 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely the best place to stay in Lima!! We couldn't believe how beautiful this place was, and Marco was so lovely. If you're travelling to Lima stay here and. Ate the most of it...we only got one night here but wished we could have stayed more

Disliked: S,igntly difficult to find, but call Marco and he will give you or the taxi driver directions

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staying at Lima Backpackers is like visiting a good friend. Small, homey feel. A tiny bit out of the way but the trade.off is quiet atmosphere and safe streets for walking. Marco was very, very helpful in making sure I knew what to see and how to get there. I highly recommend this hostel! Do be sure you have the address and directions for the taxi driver, as this is not a place all of them know. But they will....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah de Wit

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

25 September 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: From the moment I booked I knew this would be a pleasant stay. Marco immediately emailed me confirming my booking and giving me thorough information on how to get to the hostel. He greeted me as warmly as if we were old friends when I arrived, even though that was very late at night. It feels more like you're staying at a friends house rather than a hostel, as there are only 8 available beds, and Marco is just so friendly! The breakfast was sufficient and the orange juice lovely. I highly reccommend this hostel.

Disliked: It was a tiny bit difficult to find late at night, but once I knew where it was it became easier. Not very close to the city centre, but only a 5-7 sole ride to miraflores.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TAMARA RIOS RODRIGUEZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013 TAMARA would recommend this property

Liked: This place is just PERFECT and Marcos too!

Disliked: NOTHING

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It feels like home here! Perfect place to take a rest. Facilities are awesome, the house is clean. Everything is perfect.

Disliked: Just a little thing: the female toilet is a bit too small.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The only complaint I might have is that I don't think he is charging enough! What a fantastic stay in Lima!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fernando regalado

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 June 2013 fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Quedarse en este hostel fue como ser hospedado por un amigo. Marco es un excelente anfrition y barman. Si buscan un ambiente tranquilo y acogedor no lo duden un instante. Un gran lugar para quedarse en Lima. A y el desayuno es muy bueno.

Disliked: fernando left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Abigail Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2013 Abigail would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner, Marco, and very clean facilities.

Disliked: It is a bit far from the airport

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Immaculate facilities, felt like home

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels