We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel

Hostel | Porta street 461, Lima, Peru lima 18

88.5% Overall Rating

25 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/11/2014)

tom coulon thinks…

"Friendly and helpful staff, beautiful and cozy patio painted in red, WIFI access, clean toilets and bathroom"

Read all KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Payment by Visa or Cash only on arrival . We do not accept Mastercard.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Dragonfly Hostels
10.22 USD

Hostel 88.5% 53 reviews
151 Backpacker Hostel B&B
10.50 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 77 reviews
Quincha House
11.92 USD

Guesthouse 87.6% 9 reviews
Runa Wasi Student House
25.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Munay Bed & Breakfast
12.00 USD

Hostel 86.4% 12 reviews
Inka Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel 78.4% 7 reviews
The House Project
11.24 USD

Hostel 92.3% 10 reviews
Kusillu's Backpackers Hostel
7.00 USD

Hostel 80.3% 423 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

25 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'KACLLA, The Healing Dog Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 23 of 29 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tom coulon

Con mi pareja

De mochilero / Año sabático

05 November 2014 tom would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, beautiful and cozy patio painted in red, WIFI access, clean toilets and bathroom

Disliked: tom left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Con mi pareja

De mochilero / Año sabático
Turismo cultural

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: looks very good, good price and location, very helping staff

Disliked: no private bathrooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Con mi pareja

De mochilero / Año sabático

27 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and very helpful. The cleaning lady was doing a very good job. There was a great atmosphere, and the location was pretty good. It is not at the center of Miraflores, however within a few minutes of walking you can get there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tuncay Kilic

Con mi pareja

De mochilero / Año sabático

02 August 2014 Tuncay would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen facilities, location, nice breakfast and friendly staff

Disliked: our room smelled very bad (like wet and moldy) after one night all our clothes and hair smelled same...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Con mi pareja

De mochilero / Año sabático

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In a good location, the staff spoke English and were helpful at arranging a taxi to pick us up from the airport and the next day to a bus terminal. We have just booked to go again on our return to Lima.

Disliked: The breakfast was quite small

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Con mi pareja

De mochilero / Año sabático
Turismo cultural
Deporte, aventura o actividades al aire libre

27 June 2014

Liked: Good location, staff very helpful.

Disliked: The wifi was very inconsistent. Most times, I couldn't connect to either wifi. We were given bunk beds instead of a matrimonial room. In the female toilets, one toilet door didn't close, and the other two didn't have toilet paper for more than 24 hours.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ravi Prakash

Con amigos / otros viajeros

De mochilero / Año sabático
Playa / Tomar el sol
Eventos / festivales
Fiesta / Ambiente nocturno
Turismo cultural
Deporte, aventura o actividades al aire libre

16 June 2014

Liked: Clean and friendly staff, location was good and seemed secure

Disliked: Hot water was rare.they didn't have my hostelbookers booking.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Con mi pareja

De mochilero / Año sabático

12 June 2014

Liked: Common area had nice vibe.

Disliked: Rooms wreak of mold. Another guest had passport and laptop stolen so never felt safe even leaving everything locked up. People constantly smoking pot.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Crystal Atkinson

Con mi pareja

De mochilero / Año sabático
Compras
Turismo cultural

06 June 2014 Crystal would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice vibe here. Exceptionally clean hostel. Staff is lovely. My Husband and I ended up with a private room that has two bunk beds--all twin, so that was a bit of a surprise. They offered to switch our room on the second day but we opted not too--too much hassel. Breakfast is quite nice and it's easy to walk to several Lima neighborhoods from here.

Disliked: The sound in the common outdoor hallway really carries. There were folks up talking until well past 2am last night. I eventually resorted to ear plugs, but the 10pm "quiet time" wasn't enforced. Otherwise, all was good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Con mi pareja

Vacaciones en familia

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great We got a wonderful breakfast pack It was very clean and great for the value!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Con amigos / otros viajeros

Deporte, aventura o actividades al aire libre

21 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and accommodating property. As a hostel the expectation cannot be to step into a hotel, but living quarters, bathrooms, and kitchen were all very nice.

Disliked: None

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Erratt

Con mi pareja

De mochilero / Año sabático

16 February 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Friendly staff. Good wifi. Hot showers. Decent breakfast included.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Perisa Weydahl

Con amigos / otros viajeros

De mochilero / Año sabático

04 January 2014 Perisa would recommend this property

Liked: Placed in sentrum of the town with good location. The staff helped with everything! Finding different busses and new hostels, and they were friendly, and very open. The place was nice and we had all we needed of sleeping sheets and blanckets. It was great security with a grind that had to be unlocked every time we wanted to get inn or out.

Disliked: Perisa left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Con mi pareja

De mochilero / Año sabático

26 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi is the best we have had in all of S/A so far, could get it in our room. Showers and bathrooms are clean and the water is hot. Close to the main square of miraflores, which is only a 5 minute walk.

Disliked: Breakfast is average it's in a bag at the front desk, bread and jam and oranges (the oranges sometimes had mould on them). There are no numbers on the doors so one morning we got woken up at 6 45 am because the receptionist knocked on the wrong door for the wake up call.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Con amigos / otros viajeros

De mochilero / Año sabático

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the main square

Disliked: Can be hard to get the attention of the person at reception when stuck outside early in the morning

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Con amigos / otros viajeros

De mochilero / Año sabático
Turismo cultural

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff.

Disliked: Cleanliness.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Con amigos / otros viajeros

De mochilero / Año sabático

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome rate and good breakfast

Disliked: Distance to city centre

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Krzysztof Wysocki

Con amigos / otros viajeros

Turismo cultural

15 May 2013 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: Centraly located in the miraflores district. Lots of shops, supermarket chains around. Good internet, good breakfast.

Disliked: Krzysztof left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Con mi pareja

De mochilero / Año sabático

21 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a very convenient location, close to the beach but also not too far from Parque Kennedy and Calle Berlin. Also there are lots of showers and toilets, separated by gender. Breakfast was better than average, since it also included cereal and juice, not only bread, butter and jam. The kitchen was rather well equipped, and definitely good enough to whip up a quick pasta or something. All the staff were friendly and also told guests to be quiet at night. It's also a rather social place where it's easy to meet other travelers.

Disliked: They forgot to reserve the taxi we asked them for, which is a bit inconvenient in the morning when you are in a hurry.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jozef Papcun

Viajero independiente

De mochilero / Año sabático

17 March 2013 Jozef would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location close to ocean and centre. Staff was really helpful in all I needed. They even completely arranged my bus ticket - booked, made delivered and payed, and without extras - while I was enjoying ocean and town. When I came to hostel I just payed them for ticket and got it. Great! For that price all is OK.

Disliked: Jozef left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Viajero independiente

De mochilero / Año sabático

01 March 2013

Liked: I had a good time at the hostel. It was in a good location within Miraflores, close to the beach (for surfing, not swimming) and Central Park. The facilities were old looking, but clean for the most part (some areas, like the top of the lockers in my dorm looked like they haven't been dusted in months). The breakfast was nice.The staff was helpful and friendly.

Disliked: There was a window at the top of the dorm that helped to keep the room cool, but at night insects drawn to the light in the room were plentiful. Like I said before the staff was friendly, but a little too friendly for me. They were so comfortable with the guests that they felt it was okay to sleep in the rooms at night when their shift was over, which was especially awkward for me because they were all male and I had specifically booked a female dorm. If they had asked it would've been better than just waking up and seeing two dudes sleeping in your female-only room. If this doesn't bother you, then I would recommend it. Otherwise, you might want to find something else.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Miguel Diaz

Con mi pareja

Playa / Tomar el sol
Fiesta / Ambiente nocturno
Relajación/Spa
Turismo cultural
Deporte, aventura o actividades al aire libre

18 January 2013 Luis Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: The easy and relaxing atmosphere. Was a lovely house, the traditional appearence seemed to take us to another century. there was very friendly people and facilities looked fairly clean and safe. we enjoyed our stay very much!!

Disliked: no complaints

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Con amigos / otros viajeros

De mochilero / Año sabático

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big kitchen and patio.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels