We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of 1900 Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Av. Garcilazo de la Vega 1588, Lima, Lima, Peru L1

84.9% Overall Rating

115 out of 126 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/06/2015)

Tan Guek Li thinks…

"I am happy that they sent a helpful taxi driver to pick me up from the airport , he just parked his car along the street and run to the boot to carry my luggage , pressed the door bell and darried my…"

Read all 1900 Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00
  • Towel USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Happy Up Here Guesthouse
6.00 USD

Guesthouse 86.5% 140 reviews
Youth Hostel Malka
12.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 75 reviews
Hostal Martinika
22.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Miraflores Suites Centro
62.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Red Psycho Llama Eco Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 92.5% 52 reviews
Hostelling Lima Peru
17.00 USD

Hostel 63.3% 6 reviews
Puriwasi hostels
9.96 USD

Hostel 89.0% 178 reviews
Hotel Esperanza
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.2% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

115 out of 126 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '1900 Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 97 of 123 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2015

Liked: Location Staff tryed to help, though not always succeded

Disliked: Theres is a lot of noise all the time, not a place to rest properly. The linen was dirty the day I arrived, they were out of toilet paper almost all the time in the girl's restroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tan Guek Li

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2015 Tan would recommend this property

Liked: I am happy that they sent a helpful taxi driver to pick me up from the airport , he just parked his car along the street and run to the boot to carry my luggage , pressed the door bell and darried my stuff to the second floor of the building. A star service

Disliked: Zero

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location (nice that it's not in Miraflores), beautiful old building in front of the national museum and big dorms. Free walking tours offered by the hostels, enough (hot) showers, overall pretty good.

Disliked: Loud spotify-playlist music at nights but without the good atmosphere you would hope for - nothing unusual for such a big hostel, still not nice if the walls are thin. Staff is not unfriendly although you can feel that its maybe too many people they have to help with something; again nothing dramatic but nothing to get excited about either.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No curfew, someone is there to open the the door in the night

Disliked: Price of the bar too expensive

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

23 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, high ceiling, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mark Candey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2015 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Price. Location is OK. Includes breakfast. Has bar.

Disliked: Wifi does not reach rooms. That is terrible in this day and age! Put another router in for crying out loud. Tiny kitchen. 8 showers for men. Only 4 work. Not always hot water.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Astrid Reuber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2015 Astrid would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool building, walking distance to lots of sites, cool bar area, give you a good map on arrival!

Disliked: Could use More working shower stalls

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mark Galbraith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 mark would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty rad joint, definitely recommend. Super nice staff, sweet little bar that's affordable and my room was cleaned exceptionally well every day. Really just nothing to complain about

Disliked: Only thing I didnt like was that you can't bring in your own alcohol, but that's not too terrible overall.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Yates

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The mansion is beautiful, the location is great if you are going to be in downtown Lima.

Disliked: I have no complaints about 1900 Backpackers Hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leslie thompson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2014 leslie would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel is ideal as it is in easy walking distance to supermarkets, malls and historic sites.the staff are so freindly that you feel like you are home when you stay there. The in house travel agency makes travel accross Peru so much easier as they have amazing deals. All in all 1900 backpackers is the perfect hostel to stay in when in Lima Peru

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything. location was awesome. the building itself was unbelievable ...its amazing that you are in a hostel but in a 1800´s king of mansion at the same time. i found many nice people in it travelling from different parts of the world. wifi was reliable and bar was fun.

Disliked: there was some street noise but nothing to be worry about. you are in the center of lima and a bit of noise is understandable. lima is a very nice and interesting city.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very spacious and the staff were helpful. The location was fairly convenient.

Disliked: There were a lot of beds in each room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Catriona Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2014 Catriona would recommend this property

Liked: Travel desk located IN the hostel was great - I went on a sandboarding tour which I probably wouldn't have got round to organising if it wasn't there. Bar area was nice to hang out in, and beds were big and comfortable.

Disliked: If you wanted to have a warm shower you had to do it before 10am - the hot water had run out by about then. Wifi access was sporadic, and the location is a very noisy area, especially if you have a room at the front of the hostel. However, none of this really impacted negatively on my stay. When you see some parts of Lima you'll understand how lucky you have it!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014

Liked: Clean bathrooms.

Disliked: This place is an OK location if you really want to be NEAR downtown. However the noise at night is unacceptable - and it is not even a party hostel. We stayed 3 nights and tried to sleep with ear-plugs. With high ceilings and stone/wooden floors noise carries and there is no attempt by management to stop people having TVs on at 1-30a.m. with the volume up and door open - even when we have already complained about the noise. The kitchen consist of one 2-ring burner, fridge and a microwave. No toaster. All this shared between 100 beds. The staff during the day are OK, but at night there was no attempt to ask people to be quiet - even up until 4-00 am and after we had asked. The night manager was particularly unhelpful and rude If you are planning to stay in Lima, choose somewhere else.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the evening diners the staff, great bar. help with touring and location is around all the museums

Disliked: cant think of any oh the stairway up stairs is long

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014

Liked: The location was good & I liked having an ATM onsite as felt safe withdrawing money

Disliked: It was really dirty, the communal kitchen was tiny & didn't have enough of any utensils or any tea towels, the cooking facilities were a 2 burner camping cooker. The wifi didn't work most of the time & the rooms smelt terrible. Everything in general needs a good scrub!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristian Waller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014 Kristian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly staff, decent beds and hot showers. Has a cook feel to the place too..

Disliked: Kristian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liberty Wickman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 April 2014 Liberty would recommend this property

Liked: In a beautiful building and a great location. The staff is tons of fun and the breakfast is delicious.

Disliked: Our only issue was with the Wi-Fi. It wouldn't work in our Samsung devices but it would work on Apple. ... we asked for help every day twice a day and the staff was never able to help. Other than Wi-Fi we loved our stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emilie Bouchard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: It's set in an old manor, the architecture is amazing. The staff is very chill and will accommodate your needs and they are very friendly. As soon as I asked them to clean the showers it was done.

Disliked: The location is very noisy but it was expected from the reviews

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandria Wilding

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Alexandria would recommend this property

Liked: Great old building. Helpful friendly English speaking guy on reception. Secure and Central

Disliked: My boyfriend found that the communal mens shower and toilets were always locked, even though each toilet had its own door and the showers had their own curtains. Not great if you have a delicate stomach. Very small kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common area, bar, and pool room.

Disliked: Kitchener was dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego De la Barra

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostal, secured and clean room. Hot showers. Great location, in the historic center of Lima, great staff, friendly and helpfull. Bar and travel agency in the hostal. I had great time there :)

Disliked: Diego left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Vermulst

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time staying at this hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful especially Victor, he explained us about the city and gave us some good tips. I enjoyed the comfortable beds and comforters. The place has a nice home away from home feeling to it, with hot showers, light breakfast and bar with a cool balcony.

Disliked: Everything was perfect!.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot showers, reliable Internet. No locked storage but left bag for 2 weeks and it was still there upon my return. Big bar area with happy hour. Staff at desk 24 hours and offered a wake up call.

Disliked: In a very busy part of town, don't feel safe at night. Open ceilings made it very cold at night. Some of the staff spoke very little English.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels