HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of 1900 Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Av. Garcilazo de la Vega 1588, Lima, Lima, Peru L1

85.7% Overall Rating

97 out of 106 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2014)

"the evening diners the staff, great bar. help with touring and location is around all the museums"

Read all 1900 Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00
  • Towel USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Happy Up Here Guesthouse
6.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 135 reviews
Inti Wasi Guesthouse
9.50 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 55 reviews
Youth Hostel Malka
13.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 75 reviews
Hostal Martinika
26.56 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HQ Villa Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 85.3% 78 reviews
Miraflores Suites Centro
62.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Red Psycho Llama Eco Hostel
15.60 USD

Hostel 92.2% 49 reviews
Hostelling Lima Peru
17.00 USD

Hostel 63.3% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

97 out of 106 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '1900 Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 83 of 103 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2014

Liked: Clean bathrooms.

Disliked: This place is an OK location if you really want to be NEAR downtown. However the noise at night is unacceptable - and it is not even a party hostel. We stayed 3 nights and tried to sleep with ear-plugs. With high ceilings and stone/wooden floors noise carries and there is no attempt by management to stop people having TVs on at 1-30a.m. with the volume up and door open - even when we have already complained about the noise. The kitchen consist of one 2-ring burner, fridge and a microwave. No toaster. All this shared between 100 beds. The staff during the day are OK, but at night there was no attempt to ask people to be quiet - even up until 4-00 am and after we had asked. The night manager was particularly unhelpful and rude If you are planning to stay in Lima, choose somewhere else.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the evening diners the staff, great bar. help with touring and location is around all the museums

Disliked: cant think of any oh the stairway up stairs is long

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014

Liked: The location was good & I liked having an ATM onsite as felt safe withdrawing money

Disliked: It was really dirty, the communal kitchen was tiny & didn't have enough of any utensils or any tea towels, the cooking facilities were a 2 burner camping cooker. The wifi didn't work most of the time & the rooms smelt terrible. Everything in general needs a good scrub!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristian Waller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2014 Kristian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice friendly staff, decent beds and hot showers. Has a cook feel to the place too..

Disliked: Kristian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liberty Wickman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 April 2014 Liberty would recommend this property

Liked: In a beautiful building and a great location. The staff is tons of fun and the breakfast is delicious.

Disliked: Our only issue was with the Wi-Fi. It wouldn't work in our Samsung devices but it would work on Apple. ... we asked for help every day twice a day and the staff was never able to help. Other than Wi-Fi we loved our stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Emilie Bouchard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Emilie would recommend this property

Liked: It's set in an old manor, the architecture is amazing. The staff is very chill and will accommodate your needs and they are very friendly. As soon as I asked them to clean the showers it was done.

Disliked: The location is very noisy but it was expected from the reviews

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandria Wilding

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Alexandria would recommend this property

Liked: Great old building. Helpful friendly English speaking guy on reception. Secure and Central

Disliked: My boyfriend found that the communal mens shower and toilets were always locked, even though each toilet had its own door and the showers had their own curtains. Not great if you have a delicate stomach. Very small kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common area, bar, and pool room.

Disliked: Kitchener was dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego De la Barra

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostal, secured and clean room. Hot showers. Great location, in the historic center of Lima, great staff, friendly and helpfull. Bar and travel agency in the hostal. I had great time there :)

Disliked: Diego left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Vermulst

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time staying at this hostel. The staff was friendly and helpful especially Victor, he explained us about the city and gave us some good tips. I enjoyed the comfortable beds and comforters. The place has a nice home away from home feeling to it, with hot showers, light breakfast and bar with a cool balcony.

Disliked: Everything was perfect!.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot showers, reliable Internet. No locked storage but left bag for 2 weeks and it was still there upon my return. Big bar area with happy hour. Staff at desk 24 hours and offered a wake up call.

Disliked: In a very busy part of town, don't feel safe at night. Open ceilings made it very cold at night. Some of the staff spoke very little English.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Caroline Ashmele

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Best thing was friendly helpful staff, and got some great tips from the knowledgeable owner on how to plan my trip across Peru. Good location just 10 min walk from Plaza Del Armes, with its cafes and historical attractions. Need to take bus into Mira Flores and the beach (or walk 1.5 hours). Lovely colonial property, with great bar and balconies overlooking main street, park and art museum. Shared bathroom was fine and cleaned regularly. Adequate kitchen and nearby supermarket.

Disliked: Located on a very noisy main street. My private room was a little shabby and smelt damp, and had no lamp, just harsh fluoro light. WiFi only works in lobby, but at least there are comfy sofas!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the character of the building. It has a bar with a good selection of cocktails for happy hour. The owner was really welcoming and friendly. The computers had the best braodband in all the places we stayed in Peru.Rooms were clean and beds confortable. Would recommend this hostel for someone wanting to stay close to the city centre.

Disliked: One of the receptionist was vey unhelpful and made every request a chore.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

annie malo comtois

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 annie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, safe, hot shower

Disliked: annie left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

07 July 2013

Liked: This was a great place to meet people! Lots of people coming in and out from all over and the location was very central. The staff were helpful and friendly

Disliked: This hostel has a long way to go with security. There are no locks on dormitory rooms so your things are kept in lockers. While I was here, someone got into the building and easily broke into 5 lockers in 2 different rooms. The best bet is just don't leave valuables of any kind in the hostel, even if they are locked up. Still, the security is below par for what it should be in a city such as Lima. Also, the breakfast is two pieces of bread and tea. There is a grocery store close by thankfully. However, even though the location is good it is very noisy at night. If your looking for a solid night's sleep I would go outside the city centre or to a hotel. It was loud here!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

30 June 2013

Liked: The bar was done out well, free pool table. Helpful and friendly staff. Lockers were big and secure so could fit in everything.

Disliked: Music was really loud, people running up and down corridors all night, no privacy in the bathroom, for either toilet use or shower. If your room is by the TV lounge, it echoes. Room was not clean, bed covers were stained and looked like they had not been washed for a while, room was always cold. Room was not as described, paid for a twin and got bunk beds and another single bed and 4 lockers. Was a really small room and had no floor space.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: interior and friendliness

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Gregory

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably one of my favourite hostels in South America. I've been back 3 times now and recommend it to anyone I meet on route to Lima. The location is perfect, while most of the hostels in Lima are in miraflores (boring, touristy and void of any character), 1900 has a great central location and its so easy to walk and see the spectacular historic city of Lima. The hostel itself is a beautiful old mansion boasting high ceilings and delicate detailings, while its ethereal beauty remains, the building has been transformed into a friendly and comfortable hostel. The bathrooms always have HOT SHOWERS, which is not the case in many of the places I've stayed! The staff are probably the best thing about the hostel. They are knowledgeable, friendly and extremely helpful, giving great advice on the top picks for what to see for what to see in the beautiful city. This time around I was supposed to just stay a few days but after almost a year of travelling I've found my home away from home and I think I'm going to stay a little while longer...

Disliked: Catherine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, hot showers, clean rooms, comfy beds, continental breakfast, helpful staff, home away from home atmosphere and close to center of Lima, clubs and food and entertainment.

Disliked: Everything was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a cool historic building in Lima. I felt very safe in this location and the hostel had various areas for hanging out and wifi access was throughout the building. It was nice to get a breakfast and hot shower and be centrally located to anywhere. The bar has a nice night vibe to it, music, balcony to see the city and good looking men! I will plan to come back and stay here on my way back.

Disliked: I didn't stay longer to hang with all the great staff and people I met.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ryan Smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2013 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Safe secure building, plenty of lockers available. Competent friendly staff who's English seems to be flawless.

Disliked: My main concern was the noise (by other guests, not the hostels fault) at night. It wasn't ridiculous but often people were shouting til after 1am, with others watching movies on their laptops with the volume seemingly up full blast. Not ideal to stay here if you plan to wake up early each morning. The toilets also could do with a more routine cleaning.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013

Liked: Nice old colonial building with high ceilings. Good and friendly athmosphere. Friendly staff, cental located, free wifi, nice breakfast. Great if you want to make party all night, they have a bar with pool billard and loud music untill 2am every night.

Disliked: Toilets could be much cleaner, kitchen too. The kitchen is a huge mess, there are almost no pots what makes cooking quite difficult. One night there was a big cockroach in our room. If you want to sleep during the night and use the day, this is for sure not the right hostel. There is loud music at the bar untill 2am every night and people are quite loud....if you dont have ear plugs, just forget sleeping.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great building, high ceilings, wood panelling and tiled floors. Good wi-fi although no coverage in the room I was in. A bar with pool and football table, cheap beer and some atmosphere. There's a travel desk and the showers are hot and powerful. Beds are good too. There's a small kitchen that I didn't use. The staff are very nice and helpful. Check out the English guy who can take you surfing... woof.

Disliked: The breakfast isn't generous, two bread rolls and one packet of instant tea/coffee and squash, not juice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Freddie de Giles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Freddie would recommend this property

Liked: loved the rooftop.

Disliked: Freddie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Seungwoon Park

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

31 January 2013 Seungwoon would recommend this property

Liked: good Wi-Fi and free break was good

Disliked: .


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels