We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of 1900 Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Av. Garcilazo de la Vega 1588, Lima, Lima, Peru L1

86.9% Overall Rating

115 out of 125 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/06/2015)

Tan Guek Li thinks…

"I am happy that they sent a helpful taxi driver to pick me up from the airport , he just parked his car along the street and run to the boot to carry my luggage , pressed the door bell and darried my…"

Read all 1900 Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00
  • Towel USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Happy Up Here Guesthouse
6.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 138 reviews
Youth Hostel Malka
12.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 75 reviews
Hostal Martinika
23.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Miraflores Suites Centro
62.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Red Psycho Llama Eco Hostel
19.00 USD

Hostel 92.5% 52 reviews
Hostelling Lima Peru
17.00 USD

Hostel 63.3% 6 reviews
Puriwasi hostels
9.56 USD

Hostel 89.5% 171 reviews
Hotel Esperanza
25.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 71.2% 22 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 07/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

115 out of 125 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '1900 Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
85.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 96 of 122 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wow amazing marble stairs;-) 12 ft high ceiling, amazing bes covers makes it so comfy you dont want to get out of bed...

Disliked: Its like an amazing hotel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: NIce atmosphere and perfect location. I liked the bar. Even the cleaning staff was nice. They gave us free admission to nice club (3000 people capacity!) close to the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

abelardo aramburu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 abelardo would recommend this property

Liked: liked everything. Nice building and very interesting area. You should try the street food around.

Disliked: abelardo left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

peter halil

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2012 peter would recommend this property

Liked: nice big old mansion house in the center of town ,not far from all the sites.free dvds to watch, free internet,

Disliked: breakfast was ok but just basically bread rolls and jam

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, staff is super friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Wasn't there long enough to complain!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Tomko

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location close to the historic centre of Lima, and a few blocks from a supermarket and mall. Clean facilities and friendly staff, plus cheap drinks in the bar at happy hour.

Disliked: The breakfast was pretty crappy - two stale buns and instant coffee.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Kennedy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: This was a very nice, conveniently located hostel. The beds were really comfy, the common room has a nice big pool table, and the have a happy hour at the bar every night. The staff are really good & will help you with anything you need. The building is huge with plenty of travellers to meet & swap stories with. Definitely one of the better hostels we've stayed in during our South America trip!

Disliked: Alan left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpful staff, good location that is within walking distance of the main attractions and shops.

Disliked: The door to the room didn't lock properly.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Silvia Baumann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 June 2012 Silvia would recommend this property

Liked: Spent my first night in Peru here so have little to compare it to in this country, but I thought it was a very good place to stay. It is very easy walking distance to the cathedral etc. there are shops and museums very nearby. The breakfast was decent, big lockers, comfy beds, wifi (though cuts out sometimes) and 2 computers, there's a little bar, friendly people... so overall a really good hostel to stay in.

Disliked: Overall really good, I would have liked them to have had more information on Peru, how to move on, where to go etc especially given Lima is often the place people first arrive. The guys at the reception did tell me where to get the bus from though, so that was good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Zas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: i liked everything..from the bar with the happy hour to the cleanliness. the staff is the best i have known. Plenty of places to have lunch around. You can eat for only 6 sole. very good location.

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is within walking distance of historical centre of the city. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. Beautiful old building with mosaic tiles floors, marble staircase and high ceilings.

Disliked: It was fairly noisy and light from the halllway came into the room from windows above the door. Breakfast was basic, a breadroll with butter and a small amount of jam, with coffee or tea and no milk. WiFi only worked some of the time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I have stayed in South America so far. Double room was very spacious with nice high ceilings. Plenty of showers and toilets. Hot water. Fast internet. Good breakfast. Nice, clean kitchen. Close to big shopping mall with food court, supermarket and cinema. Will definitely stay here again when we come back through Lima.

Disliked: The internet cuts off quite regularly which be quite annoying as you have to reconnect. Could do with some more pots and pans in the kitchen. Other than that it's awesome!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful and friendly, property felt safe and secure.

Disliked: Bathrooms need more maintenance, they were not cleaned during the day, there were missing toilet seats and frequently no toilet roll. Showers were unpredictable, freezing one moment then scalding hot the next.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff especially Luis and Martial. They were able to provide us with a fan on an exceptionally hot night. There was no window in the room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Clean and tidy!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: This is a grand old apartment that belonged to the owner's grandfather so it has much character. It is conveniently located to a giant mall, museums, public transportation. Easy walking distance from the bus terminal I arrived at.

Disliked: Although no fault of their own, I chose this hostel because it was across the street from two major museums I expected to visit. Unfortunately one is way behind in its renovation and the other had no English language accommodation. I was able to get to other smaller museums although their directions to one were way off.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and friendly staff!

Disliked: a bit noisy at night as its in central lima. bring earplugs!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aidan Maguire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: everything. It's got loads of character and I preferred staying in central Lima as it's much more interesting than Mira Flores

Disliked: It made me annoyed that all other hostels couldn't work to these standards

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect, great location in the city center, clean, awesome building and the best staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Noisy in rooms around central void as open onto a patio, also with bright fluorescent light shining in your window if you open the shutters. If you are in the external rooms it seems you wont have a window at all. No fans to compensate for this. Therefore we did not get much sleep. Kitchen is small and almost impossible to cook in with the facilities available. Though fantastic supermarket nearby and mall therefore plenty of cheap food alternatives than cooking..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan O'Hanlon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: no private bathrooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Natalie Candarakis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, the hostel was enjoyable. The private room we had was large, and was an enjoyable place to sleep. Ours backed out into the breakfast area so was pretty noisy in the mornings, but not unbearable. The bathrooms were kind of, well actually, pretty dirty about 50% of the time. It just depended on the hour of the day. Free breakfast was great. I'd stay here again. It's a big hostel, so is lacking a bit of personality, depute the good decor and gorgeous mansion. The maps and info about things to do in Lima and Peru were great!

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wai ling au

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 wai ling would recommend this property

Liked: staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. also very patient. bathroom was clean. breakfast was simple but adequate.

Disliked: we got a private room that was near the foyer and bar. very noisy. however, i understand the location of the room doesn't help. however, we had to keep the upper windows open due to the lack of air in the room. if they introduced fans into the room, we would be able to close the windows which would decrease the noise level.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good showers with water pressure and heat!! Huge building, most areas r clean, friendly staff. There is so much potential to make a really good hostel.

Disliked: Some things werent cleaned daily such as the wash basins which accumlated hair and tooth paste. The dorm floor wasnt cleaned at all while we were there which got pretty gross, especially under the beds. Also when ppl left the hostel their dirty sheets were not changed right away but left maybe a day as it was quiet. If it was cleaned thoroughly daily the hostel would b great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful hostel with nice spacious rooms and comfortable beds. It is in an area of Cuzco that felt safe to walk around, even at night, and very close to a large shopping mall which is handy. The staff are very, very friendly and helpful. It seemed pretty quiet and I dont think there are many people staying here but it was still reasonably easy to meet the people that were.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels