HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of 1900 Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Av. Garcilazo de la Vega 1588, Lima, Lima, Peru L1

85.4% Overall Rating

95 out of 101 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

Liberty Wickman thinks…

"In a beautiful building and a great location. The staff is tons of fun and the breakfast is delicious."

Read all 1900 Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00
  • Towel USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Happy Up Here Guesthouse
6.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.4% 132 reviews
Inti Wasi Guesthouse
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 55 reviews
Youth Hostel Malka
12.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 75 reviews
Pirwa Backpackers Prada
10.00 USD

Hostel 83.7% 34 reviews
Hostal Martinika
26.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HQ Villa Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 85.3% 78 reviews
Miraflores Suites Centro
62.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Red Psycho Llama Eco Hostel
15.60 USD

Hostel 91.5% 47 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

95 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '1900 Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 79 of 98 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aidan Maguire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: everything. It's got loads of character and I preferred staying in central Lima as it's much more interesting than Mira Flores

Disliked: It made me annoyed that all other hostels couldn't work to these standards

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect, great location in the city center, clean, awesome building and the best staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Noisy in rooms around central void as open onto a patio, also with bright fluorescent light shining in your window if you open the shutters. If you are in the external rooms it seems you wont have a window at all. No fans to compensate for this. Therefore we did not get much sleep. Kitchen is small and almost impossible to cook in with the facilities available. Though fantastic supermarket nearby and mall therefore plenty of cheap food alternatives than cooking..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan O'Hanlon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: no private bathrooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Natalie Candarakis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, the hostel was enjoyable. The private room we had was large, and was an enjoyable place to sleep. Ours backed out into the breakfast area so was pretty noisy in the mornings, but not unbearable. The bathrooms were kind of, well actually, pretty dirty about 50% of the time. It just depended on the hour of the day. Free breakfast was great. I'd stay here again. It's a big hostel, so is lacking a bit of personality, depute the good decor and gorgeous mansion. The maps and info about things to do in Lima and Peru were great!

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wai ling au

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 wai ling would recommend this property

Liked: staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. also very patient. bathroom was clean. breakfast was simple but adequate.

Disliked: we got a private room that was near the foyer and bar. very noisy. however, i understand the location of the room doesn't help. however, we had to keep the upper windows open due to the lack of air in the room. if they introduced fans into the room, we would be able to close the windows which would decrease the noise level.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good showers with water pressure and heat!! Huge building, most areas r clean, friendly staff. There is so much potential to make a really good hostel.

Disliked: Some things werent cleaned daily such as the wash basins which accumlated hair and tooth paste. The dorm floor wasnt cleaned at all while we were there which got pretty gross, especially under the beds. Also when ppl left the hostel their dirty sheets were not changed right away but left maybe a day as it was quiet. If it was cleaned thoroughly daily the hostel would b great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful hostel with nice spacious rooms and comfortable beds. It is in an area of Cuzco that felt safe to walk around, even at night, and very close to a large shopping mall which is handy. The staff are very, very friendly and helpful. It seemed pretty quiet and I dont think there are many people staying here but it was still reasonably easy to meet the people that were.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very and quait in det middel of madding siziling citycenter

Disliked: Always you can do it better ,In this case bath and toilets.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool big old building. Good areas to relax in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean hot showers, large dorms with lockers that fit your big bag, nice alternative to staying in Miraflores

Disliked: Breakfast is the standard peruvian bread and jam but other than that its a great hostel to stay in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great service from the airport. It's right in the center of everything and in front of a beautiful park and the Mila Museum. You can visit Lima Centro within a walk. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The place is an old building totally restored with a lot of light and incredibles pavements: more an hotel than a hostel. Clean and safe. The best hostel that I found in South America.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had everything I`d expect in a good hostel: lockers in rooms, hot (and powerful!) showers, very central location (don`t believe taxi drivers who tell you it is in a dangerous area - they just want to pick up the extra fare to Miraflores - I felt safe even after dark), kitchen, fast computers for internet, excellent staff (very helpful).

Disliked: Nothing. It was excellent. GO THERE!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice and friendly staff. Good water pressure and very close to the Main plaza.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francisco Velasquez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2011 Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: Safe location, amazing old mansion, clean, nice bar. The best overall hostel I have been to.

Disliked: Francisco left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ian Thistlewood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: stunning restored building, worthy of a boutique hotel. Good bar. Hot and powerful showers. Comfortable beds with good bedding. Extremely large and airy private rooms. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, especially Vincent. Great location for exploring historic old town.

Disliked: Nothing worth commenting on.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Balazs Varga

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 November 2011 Balazs would recommend this property

Liked: 1900 feels like a secure oasis in the hectic centre of Lima. Victor, Caesar & Marciel are easygoing, _always_ go out of their way to help or advise you (travel in Peru, local amenities, taxis, etc). I felt as secure as being in my own flat. The hostel is meticulously cleaned every day. Coffee at breakfast is really tasty, and breakfast itself (buns, butter & jam) is really nice, too. 1900 is new and it's not a party hostel at all, which I really liked. I still met a myriad of inspiring people from all walks of life. There was always hot water & toilet paper in the bathrooms, the beds were comfortable and every night I slept like a log. There are cheap, local eateries dotted around the block and buses stop right outside the front door. By the way it's really easy to get back to the hostel (ask for Wilson or MALI). People say that the area is very dangerous, but don't fall completely for this. The Center of Lima (old quarter) can't be compared to Miraflores (newer, touristic quarter). I enjoyed exploring the Center more than Miraflores. Exercise caution if you're in the street, but don't be paranoid. By the way, this goes for the whole of Peru.

Disliked: You may find the traffic noise in some rooms too loud, but this is Lima Central and can't be helped. Anyway, if you're travelling without earplugs, you're a fool!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: not that many travellers

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christopher Simkiss

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: A huge building, loads of space, really friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: The noise echoes around a bit, as the place is so big, the breakfast area is right outside the dorm rooms, which can be disturbing in the morning. Earplugs.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the place for the person who has done all the partying they can do and is looking for a more quiet place. I loved the ambiance of the place, the friendly staff, and (almost) kicking my partner's butt at pool.

Disliked: water was a bit unpredictable, alternating between hot and cold.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nina Persson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely colonial building with heaps of character.

Disliked: The room was quite run down, and it had no windows, only shutters. Hence it got quite noisy from the traffic.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice property in a great location, nice bar and areas to relax. The staff are so helpful and will tell you great places to eat and drink in Lima. One of the nicest hostels I have stayed in.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Steven Hill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is a nice 15min gentle walk to the main plaza past other plazas and along pedestrianised shopping streets. There is a good laundrette just around the corner and lots of good cheap sandwich shops. The big supermarket is a 2min walk. The hostel itself is newly opened. It has high ceilings with lots of original features, the rooms are spacious and the beds have thick comfy matresses (we slept in a dorm). There are plenty of showers so no wait. Just turn the hot water on for a minute before you get in. I thought it was cool so jumped in a minute later and nearly burnt myself. The staff are great. very friendly, speak english, and can give you loads of ideas what to do.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Connie Sturgess

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

20 October 2011 Connie would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, clean, helpful, kitchen facility, free computers, hot showers

Disliked: Everything was good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome building, huge spacious communal areas, great friendly staff, walk to all the main sites from here. Stop searching and book this one, you won't regret it.

Disliked: Not enough hooks to hang stuff in the showers.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels