We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of 1900 Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | Av. Garcilazo de la Vega 1588, Lima, Lima, Peru L1

85.9% Overall Rating

102 out of 111 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/09/2014)

"everything. location was awesome. the building itself was unbelievable ...its amazing that you are in a hostel but in a 1800´s king of mansion at the same time. i found many nice people in it travelling from different…"

Read all 1900 Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00
  • Towel USD 5.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Happy Up Here Guesthouse
6.00 USD

Guesthouse 89.0% 136 reviews
Inti Wasi Guesthouse
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.4% 56 reviews
Youth Hostel Malka
12.00 USD

Hostel 78.6% 75 reviews
Hostal Martinika
25.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
HQ Villa Hostel
6.00 USD

Hostel 85.3% 78 reviews
Miraflores Suites Centro
62.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Red Psycho Llama Eco Hostel
15.60 USD

Hostel 91.4% 50 reviews
Hostelling Lima Peru
17.00 USD

Hostel 63.3% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

102 out of 111 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend '1900 Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
87.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 86 of 108 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is within walking distance of historical centre of the city. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. Beautiful old building with mosaic tiles floors, marble staircase and high ceilings.

Disliked: It was fairly noisy and light from the halllway came into the room from windows above the door. Breakfast was basic, a breadroll with butter and a small amount of jam, with coffee or tea and no milk. WiFi only worked some of the time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I have stayed in South America so far. Double room was very spacious with nice high ceilings. Plenty of showers and toilets. Hot water. Fast internet. Good breakfast. Nice, clean kitchen. Close to big shopping mall with food court, supermarket and cinema. Will definitely stay here again when we come back through Lima.

Disliked: The internet cuts off quite regularly which be quite annoying as you have to reconnect. Could do with some more pots and pans in the kitchen. Other than that it's awesome!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful and friendly, property felt safe and secure.

Disliked: Bathrooms need more maintenance, they were not cleaned during the day, there were missing toilet seats and frequently no toilet roll. Showers were unpredictable, freezing one moment then scalding hot the next.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff especially Luis and Martial. They were able to provide us with a fan on an exceptionally hot night. There was no window in the room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Clean and tidy!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: This is a grand old apartment that belonged to the owner's grandfather so it has much character. It is conveniently located to a giant mall, museums, public transportation. Easy walking distance from the bus terminal I arrived at.

Disliked: Although no fault of their own, I chose this hostel because it was across the street from two major museums I expected to visit. Unfortunately one is way behind in its renovation and the other had no English language accommodation. I was able to get to other smaller museums although their directions to one were way off.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and friendly staff!

Disliked: a bit noisy at night as its in central lima. bring earplugs!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aidan Maguire

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2012 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: everything. It's got loads of character and I preferred staying in central Lima as it's much more interesting than Mira Flores

Disliked: It made me annoyed that all other hostels couldn't work to these standards

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect, great location in the city center, clean, awesome building and the best staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Noisy in rooms around central void as open onto a patio, also with bright fluorescent light shining in your window if you open the shutters. If you are in the external rooms it seems you wont have a window at all. No fans to compensate for this. Therefore we did not get much sleep. Kitchen is small and almost impossible to cook in with the facilities available. Though fantastic supermarket nearby and mall therefore plenty of cheap food alternatives than cooking..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan O'Hanlon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: no private bathrooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Natalie Candarakis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2012 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, the hostel was enjoyable. The private room we had was large, and was an enjoyable place to sleep. Ours backed out into the breakfast area so was pretty noisy in the mornings, but not unbearable. The bathrooms were kind of, well actually, pretty dirty about 50% of the time. It just depended on the hour of the day. Free breakfast was great. I'd stay here again. It's a big hostel, so is lacking a bit of personality, depute the good decor and gorgeous mansion. The maps and info about things to do in Lima and Peru were great!

Disliked: Natalie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wai ling au

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 wai ling would recommend this property

Liked: staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. also very patient. bathroom was clean. breakfast was simple but adequate.

Disliked: we got a private room that was near the foyer and bar. very noisy. however, i understand the location of the room doesn't help. however, we had to keep the upper windows open due to the lack of air in the room. if they introduced fans into the room, we would be able to close the windows which would decrease the noise level.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good showers with water pressure and heat!! Huge building, most areas r clean, friendly staff. There is so much potential to make a really good hostel.

Disliked: Some things werent cleaned daily such as the wash basins which accumlated hair and tooth paste. The dorm floor wasnt cleaned at all while we were there which got pretty gross, especially under the beds. Also when ppl left the hostel their dirty sheets were not changed right away but left maybe a day as it was quiet. If it was cleaned thoroughly daily the hostel would b great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful hostel with nice spacious rooms and comfortable beds. It is in an area of Cuzco that felt safe to walk around, even at night, and very close to a large shopping mall which is handy. The staff are very, very friendly and helpful. It seemed pretty quiet and I dont think there are many people staying here but it was still reasonably easy to meet the people that were.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very and quait in det middel of madding siziling citycenter

Disliked: Always you can do it better ,In this case bath and toilets.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cool big old building. Good areas to relax in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean hot showers, large dorms with lockers that fit your big bag, nice alternative to staying in Miraflores

Disliked: Breakfast is the standard peruvian bread and jam but other than that its a great hostel to stay in

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great service from the airport. It's right in the center of everything and in front of a beautiful park and the Mila Museum. You can visit Lima Centro within a walk. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The place is an old building totally restored with a lot of light and incredibles pavements: more an hotel than a hostel. Clean and safe. The best hostel that I found in South America.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had everything I`d expect in a good hostel: lockers in rooms, hot (and powerful!) showers, very central location (don`t believe taxi drivers who tell you it is in a dangerous area - they just want to pick up the extra fare to Miraflores - I felt safe even after dark), kitchen, fast computers for internet, excellent staff (very helpful).

Disliked: Nothing. It was excellent. GO THERE!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, nice and friendly staff. Good water pressure and very close to the Main plaza.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francisco Velasquez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2011 Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: Safe location, amazing old mansion, clean, nice bar. The best overall hostel I have been to.

Disliked: Francisco left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ian Thistlewood

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: stunning restored building, worthy of a boutique hotel. Good bar. Hot and powerful showers. Comfortable beds with good bedding. Extremely large and airy private rooms. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, especially Vincent. Great location for exploring historic old town.

Disliked: Nothing worth commenting on.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Balazs Varga

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 November 2011 Balazs would recommend this property

Liked: 1900 feels like a secure oasis in the hectic centre of Lima. Victor, Caesar & Marciel are easygoing, _always_ go out of their way to help or advise you (travel in Peru, local amenities, taxis, etc). I felt as secure as being in my own flat. The hostel is meticulously cleaned every day. Coffee at breakfast is really tasty, and breakfast itself (buns, butter & jam) is really nice, too. 1900 is new and it's not a party hostel at all, which I really liked. I still met a myriad of inspiring people from all walks of life. There was always hot water & toilet paper in the bathrooms, the beds were comfortable and every night I slept like a log. There are cheap, local eateries dotted around the block and buses stop right outside the front door. By the way it's really easy to get back to the hostel (ask for Wilson or MALI). People say that the area is very dangerous, but don't fall completely for this. The Center of Lima (old quarter) can't be compared to Miraflores (newer, touristic quarter). I enjoyed exploring the Center more than Miraflores. Exercise caution if you're in the street, but don't be paranoid. By the way, this goes for the whole of Peru.

Disliked: You may find the traffic noise in some rooms too loud, but this is Lima Central and can't be helped. Anyway, if you're travelling without earplugs, you're a fool!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: not that many travellers


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels