We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Open Guest House

Guesthouse | Calle Dos de Mayo 1046, Miraflores, Lima, Peru Lima 18

87.1% Overall Rating

96 out of 101 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Frances Aucutt thinks…

"We felt really comfortable, safe and welcome at Open. Hot showers! The breakfast is brilliant - thank god no eggs! We received a beautifully presented and delicious fresh fruit salad, cereal AND…"

Read all Open Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 25.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Wayruros Backpackers
65.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Kokopelli
10.90 USD

Hostel 88.5% 51 reviews
Pirwa Bed & Breakfast Inclan
11.00 USD

Hostel 84.7% 57 reviews
Hostal Pucllana
17.03 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Pucllana Lodge
24.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.5% 26 reviews
Pariwana Backpacker Hostels
11.03 USD

Hostel 93.5% 166 reviews
The House Project
11.92 USD

Hostel 92.3% 10 reviews
Loki Backpackers Lima
11.50 USD

Hostel 91.4% 96 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

96 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Open Guest House'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 91 of 99 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frances Aucutt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2014 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: We felt really comfortable, safe and welcome at Open. Hot showers! The breakfast is brilliant - thank god no eggs! We received a beautifully presented and delicious fresh fruit salad, cereal AND fresh bread and endless teas/coffee(decent!). It's immaculately clean here and you have everything you need and more - a great computer, for example. Lovely spot in Miraflores. We found bars, supermarket and shops easily within walking distance - we felt like locals staying here. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Although this was actually a plus point for us, it was very quiet when we were there so if you're looking for a party hostel, go somewhere else!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Josh Pearse

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

19 August 2014 Josh would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 June 2014

Liked: Very small and personal hostel. Nice and helpful staff, booked our tickets etc. The breakfast was very good: bread, jam, cereal, fruit, coffee. It is one street off the main road, so very quiet but easy to shop or get the the cliff walk. Hot water and always a clean bathroom.

Disliked: Not very comfortable bed and pillows in the budget double room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly owner, they kept my bags afe for 3 weeks, clean, free use of kitchen, safe nieghbourhood

Disliked: small detail, but the rooms are very small. They have two pick-up services for the airport: one of 20 dollars and one of 45 soles.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfectly clean and felt lovely. Really nice staff as amazing value for this area of town. Great kitchen stocked with everything you need.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

güde folger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2014 güde would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the peruvian athmosphere. It was very very clean and the sruff us so friendly. The breakfast is really good.

Disliked: It is a little noisy at night because the street is right in front of the hostel

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean room. security is good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

joanne coxage

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 joanne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are the most helpful friendly staff you will come across in any hostel or guest house! We stayed for two weeks, originally we thought we were far away from the centre, but thats the beauty of it, Miraflores is the best place to stay, with lovely coastal parks just a couple of blocks away (where i saw dolphins), close to a supermarket and Miraflores centre, and easy to get a bus to Lima centre. We stayed for two weeks and would definitely go back! Breakfast was rolls and jam and fruit, tea, coffee etc...this sounds minimal but this is a great breakfast by Peru standards!The most enjoyable stay on our trip

Disliked: Our room was quite small as we had the budget room, and the bathroom was often dirty at the fault of the guests, as in all shared bathrooms!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Spotty hot water, wifi didnt work in the room, lumpy mattress, comforter smelled like armpit, bathroom kept running out of toilet paper (no extra rolls were left in the bathroom), told us check out was 2 and then changed it to 12 (I think this was just a communication error, but it still created problems for us.)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice, comfortable and calm place, especially for couples, but also for people preferring to relax and not to stay in the middle of the nightlife.

Disliked: The street can be a little noisy in the morning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Marco is the best! He is from Italy but moved to Peru because he loved it so much. He really likes the culture and has a lot of suggestions of things to do. It was always a pleasure to interact with him.

Disliked: It is pretty noisy because of the street that it is situated in. Ask for a room that does not face the road or sleep can be difficult to come by...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Fernando Mori

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 October 2012

Liked: Nice and calm stay, staff are friendly in a good location.

Disliked: It could be cleaner, wireless internet didn't work in 3 days.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Isabel Mattick

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was plentiful, the staff were really helpful and friendly, and it was only a 10 minute walk or so to the bars and restaurants around Kennedy Square.

Disliked: We had booked a double room for the duration of our stay, but the previous occupants stayed longer, so we had a twin room for the first night. There seemed to be some confusion around what had happened and we were told we had not booked a double initially.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012

Liked: The hostal was very secure with an outer gate and door.

Disliked: We paid more than usual for this hostal as it promised amore luxurious stay, and it was for the last 2 nights of our trip. However when we went to shower there was no hot water in the downstairs shower and no hot water coming out at all in the upstairs. When I complained to the staff he felt the water and said it was hot. I laughed and complained that it was luke warm at best. He then promised to have hot water in the next hour. To make an even longer story short, one person could shower per day and the other 3 people in our group had cold showers afterwards. Our shower upstairs had no hot water coming out if someone was in the shower downstairs. After complaining several times it just wasn't worth the aggrevation for our second nights stay to leave. Also the hostel wasn't really near many restaurants, when we asked reception staff he advised us to walk 10 blocks to the main area! Very disappointed overall.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, small guest house in a quiet and safe area in Miraflores. 6 or 7 rooms, upper level deck and a bottom floor courtyard. Nice living area and kitchen.

Disliked: I was in an interior private room with no exterior windows or air flow. So, my room kinda sucked...but that one seemed to be an anomaly. All of the other rooms (for 2-3 people) were large and had huge windows.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cathy Tuke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 August 2012 Cathy would recommend this property

Liked: Open Guest House is fantastic. Marco is so friendly and helpful, he lent us a bus card so we didn't have to buy one, he provided us with all the information we could have asked for about Lima, and even once we'd checked out allowed us to come back and shower before our flight home - even providing us with towels! Kitchen to use and free internet/wi-fi.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, staff were friendly.

Disliked: Bed was not comfy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Couldwell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful and the location was convenient for seeing the City. The lounge, TV and library were good and the breakfasts were nice too.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012

Liked: Breakfast was simple but OK. Nice entrance and breakfast area. The room had a TV with a lot of channels.

Disliked: Rooms to the street were very very noisy. People who are sensitive to noise should avoid this hostel if they do not get a room facing the backyard. Towels smelled like a wet dog which was disgusting. WIFI was not working. Bathroom was very dirty and so was the furniture on the balkony. I would not go there again.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melissa Brookes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Based in a nice area of miraflores. Breakfast included fruit, cereal and bread. We stayed in the twin room which was spacious with a large LCD tv and plenty of wardrobe space.

Disliked: Internet was slow at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Peeney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Marco the owner and his staff moses and Oliver are just soo friendly and fun. We stayed for another 2 days as we just felt so relaxed,. We all cooked food together each evening. There was such a family, cosy feeling to the place. Just what you need after a 30 hours bus joureny from Ecuador. If you want somewhere chilled and friendly you must stay here! Marco cannot do enough for you.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked it here. Given what we heard about Lima it felt really safe and the staff were great. A lovely place to chill out and relax. We had chosen the superior double based on another person's review and we agree - for not too much more money the double room is really nice. Great tv, spacious, view over the street, safe in the room. Really nice. About a 15 minute walk to the main part of Miraflores. Kitchen you can use. Safe area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROLANDO BELTRAMINI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2012 ROLANDO would recommend this property

Liked: Great position, very friendly and clean......

Disliked: ROLANDO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like everything. Good atmosphere, good place.

Disliked: It qas everything ok.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice place to stay. We liked the fact that there were only a certain number of rooms, so more like a homestay/B&B than a hostel. A bit of a walk into town, but mostly on main road. Marco and his boys are great - very helpful and always up for a laugh. Our room was nice, albeit a little noisy being right next to a road, and the bathroom was small but sufficient. Recommended!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels