HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Open Guest House

Guesthouse | Calle Dos de Mayo 1046, Miraflores, Lima, Peru Lima 18

87.1% Overall Rating

96 out of 101 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

Frances Aucutt thinks…

"We felt really comfortable, safe and welcome at Open. Hot showers! The breakfast is brilliant - thank god no eggs! We received a beautifully presented and delicious fresh fruit salad, cereal AND…"

Read all Open Guest House reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 25.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

Wayruros Backpackers
65.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Kokopelli
10.90 USD

Hostel 88.5% 51 reviews
HosteLima
6.27 USD

Hostel 87.1% 24 reviews
Pirwa Bed & Breakfast Inclan
11.00 USD

Hostel 84.7% 57 reviews
Hostal Pucllana
17.03 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Pucllana Lodge
24.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.5% 26 reviews
Pariwana Backpacker Hostels
12.08 USD

Hostel 93.8% 165 reviews
The House Project
11.92 USD

Hostel 91.4% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

96 out of 101 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Open Guest House'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 91 of 99 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great location. New Owner, Marco, is great. Very friendly and helpful with what to do around the area. Arranged for taxi to and from the airport. I thought the price for the taxi was a little high, but probably competitive with the rest....and it was convenient.

Disliked: The property is located on a road that is somewhat loud early in the morning, but it may have due to some road construction near by. Not other complaints

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alex Walker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Not a bad location - about 10 blocks from Kennedy Park and about 5 from the sea. Good breakfast - cereal, fruit, fruit juice, bread, jam, tea, coffee. Friendly and helpful English-speaking staff. Easy to book airport transfers which seemed to be priced in line with expectations.

Disliked: Not much in the immediate area. Budget double room is very small - just enough space for the bed, wardrobe and 2 people to stand in - struggled for space to put our bags down and access to bed from one side only. Bedding was well used and not as nice as in the photos. Room got hot and stuffy at night - fan was provided and windows opened but no mosquito screens. Not sure it was great value - the superior one was twice the size and had TV... but shared the same dated bathroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, nice staff, and everyone was very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice place with amazing stuff!! guys were so great that they helped me with even crazy ideas such looking for a specific movie in the city center (the hostel is in Miraflores). Breakfast was delicious (including fresh fruit salad)! the hostel has balkony, wifi in the rooms, DVD, books you can borrow, computer you can use. They do really good job there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, Moses was really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed in a private room with a tv which was really good, rooms were clean and location wasnt bad. bathrooms were just ok

Disliked: not sure if the reception was 24hrs, we came back late one night and there was no one there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrea Robinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2012 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so helpful - would go out of their way to print off maps, recommend Places to visit, etc. Felt like a home away from home.

Disliked: Street noise from the room during the day - but that's because or the great location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christiane Koch

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2012 Christiane would recommend this property

Liked: First of all, the staff is really brilliant, and the location is very close to the beach which I appreciated. Then you get a lovely breakfast, extra coffee and tea, and if you really want to get pampered - go for it. They help you in any case and try to please you as much as you want. It is absolutly clean and if you go their you'll find a real: secure, quiet and comfortable place in a overcrowed 10.000.000 habitants city. Do you really wanna miss that? Go there, it is a very good choice but it is hard to get a room.

Disliked: Their is nothing to complain about !

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Benjamin scrivener

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Television was good, cable, loads of channels. Very quiet, staff patient in explaining things but contary to what they said we found it easy to walk to beach and cafes, 15-20min walk

Disliked: thought it could be cleaner for price you paying, moul on shower curtain, same hairs left on shower for 3days, bedroom very comfortable. Again considering the price thought could have made more effort on breakfast, cheap cereal and white roll and cheap marmalade bit boring!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was great and good value for money. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Was located in a quiet part of Miraflores.

Disliked: Was a little bit of a walk to the shops and restaurants - but was worth it for the quieter location.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff are fantastic, the property is clean, cheap for the area and the breakfasts are nice.

Disliked: Nothing serious. However, the property is further away from Ovalo Miraflores/ Park Kennedy than it looks on the map. Said that, you can take bus 101 or 211 (any of two larger busses) to and from Ovalo for 50 cents each way. ...and some of the walls seem to be thin like paper, so if you are unlucky to get someone snoring in the next room, you WILL hear him/her!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone working there was welcoming and very helpful with directions and helping me get around Miraflores.

Disliked: Nothing, it was one of the best stays I had in Peru.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guest house is in a really good location, close to the beaches and main streets in Miraflores but it's in a slightly more neighborhoody area so it's a bit more quiet. Everything was really clean. The breakfast was nice, including cereal and fresh fruit which is a nice change from only bread and butter. Robert, the owner, is wonderful. He's friendly and extremely helpful, offering advice on restaurants, things to do, how to get around, and even offered to help us with our spanish. He really brought our experience to the next level.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are basic but everything you need is available or will/can be arranged by the staff of the hostel. Furthermore you can go to the staff with all your questions about the city or travelling further. They even bought me bustickets for my journey to Arequipa and looked for reservations for the Inca Trail expedition.

Disliked: The bedrooms and bathrooms are basic but everything you need is available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luis cesar palma

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2011 luis cesar would recommend this property

Liked: la ubicacion y el trato de moses, yahir y oliver!!! estos chicos saben de todo sobre lima asi que nos facilitaron la estancia.

Disliked: la ubicacion es excelente!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wong Sow Moy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2011 Wong would recommend this property

Liked: The manager is very friendly and is more than willing to help us in purchasing of bus tickets, to guide us to the place of interest and many tips what to do in Lima. He is certainly a big asset to the hostel.

Disliked: Location is good, only a few minutes walk to the beach and is walkable to shopping complexs, restaurant and many other place of interest. Shower room and toilet is clean and spacious.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Robert is absolutely lovely and sooo helpful and ready at hand at any moment. All the staff are lovely, there is a lot of attention to detail and good breakfast! A great place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Reinecke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2011 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: Really great boutique hostel in the safe neighborhood of Miraflores. The staff and owner are very helpful, friendly and fun. The rooms and the hostel are in fantastic shape, i would highly recommend this place.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joseph Clark

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, quiet hostel. Clean basic rooms. Clean bathrooms.

Disliked: Not the best location, but not too far to walk to be where the action is.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and owner, good location, nice breakfast, fast internet, nice common area and fully equiped kitchen.

Disliked: Nada

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff and owner, good location especially for arranging your brazilian visas, great breaky and superfast internet.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely rooms and common areas. Good breakfast. Very helpful and friendly staff. The owner spent loads of time with us making sure we had all the information for getting around town safely and cheaply. We really enjoyed the time we spent here.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Moores

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff that give a warm welcome and provide an enjoyable stay. Nothing is too much trouble and the manager and the staff work hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Good quiet location just a short walk from the centre of Miraflores and also just a short walk from the coast.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paraschiva mirela grigore

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 November 2011 paraschiva mirela would recommend this property

Liked: the staff there are very friendly and nice , they speak english and they look after you. Very good location , clean room and good breakfast....also good value for money. They can also arange for a pick up from airport , but Alex, a local tour operator can do that cheaper, email him at guerrero_251@hotmail.com to arrange it.

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Open Guest House were very friendly, offered great suggestions for things to do in Lima, and were very helpful in coordinating pickups and transfers to and from the bus station and airport. The hostel is conveniently located in the Miraflores neighborhood and is walking distance to the attractions in that area.

Disliked: This hostel is not a great place to stay if you are looking to meet people. The bathroom facilities are average, and while it is located in a safe neighborhood, there is quite a lot of street traffic outside at night, making it fairly noisy.


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels