HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Flying Dog Hostel Lima Lima Hostel

Diez Canseco 117, Miraflores, Lima, Peru

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 73%

Location 94%

Safety 87%

Staff 82%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 20.00USD
  • Luggage Room 1.00USD

Important Information

Tourists, who are not residents in Peru, do not need to pay the country tax. Please bring your immigration paper (TAM), to ensure you are excluded from the taxes. Residents must pay IGV tax (18%).

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 73%

Location 94%

Safety 87%

Staff 82%

Value 78%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Size and location

Disliked: Kitchen was very small, expensive to get beer

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location and helpful staff

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful, twin room with private bathroom was nice - probably the nicest private bathroom we've had in a while. Good location and included breakfast also one of the cheaper places to stay in Miraflores.

Disliked: Despite there being a large common area with televison, most guests tended to congregate in a smaller sitting area right outside of a few of the private rooms. I suspect this is because the WiFi only worked on that end of the hostel. The walls that end are very thin so sleeping can be hard, if there are people talking it can feel like you are right outside with them! The kitchen is also directly outside the rooms so if you are a light sleeper or prefer early nights you may want to pick elsewhere or choose a room away from the common areas. There are three flying dog locations in Miraflores so this may not be accurate for the others. It appears when booking on hostelbookers you do not get a choice of location.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I admit it might not be the best Hostel in Lima, but there are two things in which it is unbeatable: value for money and staff friendliness. We payed for a 4-bed dorm what other hostels asked for 20-bed dorms (!) and the staff was simply amazing. It helped us throughout our stay, replied to any of our concerns and in the end even helped me getting a cheaper taxi to the airport. My stay was simply amazing thanks to them!

Disliked: There should be a bar at the hostel / it lacks character in the decoration / breakfast could be improved and be available for longer / not all lockers were working (though we could always leave stuff at the reception)

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fab location - right in the middle of Miraflores.

Disliked: I stayed at The Flying Dog Hostel in Arequipa and it was fabulous. I booked here as I assumed it would be of a similar quality, if not better since Lima is the capital. However, there were only 2 showers - one missing a shower curtain and the rooms weren't the cleanest. For breakfast, you're given a voucher that you have to hand in, in a restaurant downstairs (and outside of the hostel) - no going to brekkie in your pyjamas then!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Perfect localization

Disliked: There are three Flying Dog Hostels in Lima, so when you make reservation Ypu don't know to which You will be assigned. However distance between them is short.

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: really good breakfast at a café nearby, very good location

Disliked: We have booked a double room with shared bathroom, but at the check in we were told that due to a booking mistake of the stuff (we were registered for the following night) there were no private rooms left. Instead, we were offered a mixed dorm for 25 instead of 30 soles.The "dorm" was actually a room with 5 beds between another dorm and the bathroom and didn't have any door or curtain to prevent noises and light from the corridor. We met another couple with the same situation, who got the night for free. After returning to the reception to check why we had to pay for sleeping almost on the corridor instead in a private double room, we were fobbed off with the hostel rules - initially the stuff was not helpful and friendly at all. After a long discussion we were offered the night for free, with hardly any word of excuse ...Due to old mattresses, noise from the street (the window looked directly to a main street) and from the corridor, having light shining all night long in our faces we didn't sleep well at all.The only good thing was the included breakfast which we had in a café nearby on the next day.Overall, we were very disappointed with the reaction of the stuff concerning our situation. It seemed that only our persistence lead to a solution that was acceptable for us. In our eyes, this is not the way one should deal with guests!Beside that, WiFi was not working.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very close to centre and easy to get around and also prefect if you do not speak spanish

Disliked: my room was a 5 share but had no door

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is the only plus side

Disliked: Far too expensive for what you get, noise (lots of it), average room,shared bathroom (sometimes you get hot water if you're lucky), blaise staff, better places for less money

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, friendly helpfull staff, great breakfast in a nice restaurant overlooking kennedy park.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability