HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels

Reviews of Flying Dog Hostels

Hostel | Calle Diez Canseco #117, Calle Lima #457, Calle Martir Olaya #280 Lima, Peru 18

76.9% Overall Rating

181 out of 226 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2014)

Mark Adams thinks…

"Staff are very friendly and helpful, twin room with private bathroom was nice - probably the nicest private bathroom we've had in a while. Good location and included breakfast also one of the cheaper…"

Read all Flying Dog Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.00
  • Luggage Room USD 1.00

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Tourists, who are not residents in Peru, do not need to pay the country tax. Please bring your immigration paper (TAM), to ensure you are excluded from the taxes. Residents must pay IGV tax (18%).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lima?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lima

La casa de Gaspar
8.59 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Victor - Lima Airport
18.00 USD

Guesthouse 81.1% 66 reviews
Posada del Rey II Lima Airport
9.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Sauna Acuarius
12.02 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Iquique Lima
11.34 USD

Hostel 80.3% 106 reviews
Casa Ana
15.33 USD

Guesthouse 92.3% 55 reviews
Hostal Las Fresas
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 74.7% 98 reviews
Santa Fe Hostel
18.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 15/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 15/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.9%

Overall Rating

181 out of 226 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Flying Dog Hostels'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
81.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 127 of 136 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mark Adams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful, twin room with private bathroom was nice - probably the nicest private bathroom we've had in a while. Good location and included breakfast also one of the cheaper places to stay in Miraflores.

Disliked: Despite there being a large common area with televison, most guests tended to congregate in a smaller sitting area right outside of a few of the private rooms. I suspect this is because the WiFi only worked on that end of the hostel. The walls that end are very thin so sleeping can be hard, if there are people talking it can feel like you are right outside with them! The kitchen is also directly outside the rooms so if you are a light sleeper or prefer early nights you may want to pick elsewhere or choose a room away from the common areas. There are three flying dog locations in Miraflores so this may not be accurate for the others. It appears when booking on hostelbookers you do not get a choice of location.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresa Rato

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2014 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: I admit it might not be the best Hostel in Lima, but there are two things in which it is unbeatable: value for money and staff friendliness. We payed for a 4-bed dorm what other hostels asked for 20-bed dorms (!) and the staff was simply amazing. It helped us throughout our stay, replied to any of our concerns and in the end even helped me getting a cheaper taxi to the airport. My stay was simply amazing thanks to them!

Disliked: There should be a bar at the hostel / it lacks character in the decoration / breakfast could be improved and be available for longer / not all lockers were working (though we could always leave stuff at the reception)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Nichola Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Nichola would recommend this property

Liked: Fab location - right in the middle of Miraflores.

Disliked: I stayed at The Flying Dog Hostel in Arequipa and it was fabulous. I booked here as I assumed it would be of a similar quality, if not better since Lima is the capital. However, there were only 2 showers - one missing a shower curtain and the rooms weren't the cleanest. For breakfast, you're given a voucher that you have to hand in, in a restaurant downstairs (and outside of the hostel) - no going to brekkie in your pyjamas then!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

pawel klepacz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 pawel would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect localization

Disliked: There are three Flying Dog Hostels in Lima, so when you make reservation Ypu don't know to which You will be assigned. However distance between them is short.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Andrew Powell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013

Liked: Location is the only plus side

Disliked: Far too expensive for what you get, noise (lots of it), average room,shared bathroom (sometimes you get hot water if you're lucky), blaise staff, better places for less money

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 March 2013

Liked: really good breakfast at a café nearby, very good location

Disliked: We have booked a double room with shared bathroom, but at the check in we were told that due to a booking mistake of the stuff (we were registered for the following night) there were no private rooms left. Instead, we were offered a mixed dorm for 25 instead of 30 soles. The "dorm" was actually a room with 5 beds between another dorm and the bathroom and didn't have any door or curtain to prevent noises and light from the corridor. We met another couple with the same situation, who got the night for free. After returning to the reception to check why we had to pay for sleeping almost on the corridor instead in a private double room, we were fobbed off with the hostel rules - initially the stuff was not helpful and friendly at all. After a long discussion we were offered the night for free, with hardly any word of excuse ... Due to old mattresses, noise from the street (the window looked directly to a main street) and from the corridor, having light shining all night long in our faces we didn't sleep well at all. The only good thing was the included breakfast which we had in a café nearby on the next day. Overall, we were very disappointed with the reaction of the stuff concerning our situation. It seemed that only our persistence lead to a solution that was acceptable for us. In our eyes, this is not the way one should deal with guests! Beside that, WiFi was not working.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Richard Mooney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: very close to centre and easy to get around and also prefect if you do not speak spanish

Disliked: my room was a 5 share but had no door

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adam teece

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly helpfull staff, great breakfast in a nice restaurant overlooking kennedy park.

Disliked: adam left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Katherine Liakos

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2012 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, generally helpful staff

Disliked: Very much a backpackers hostel so rather noisy at night due to the bar and tv outside our room... Would be nice if the booking was clear about which flying dog we were booked into since there are three locations ( all close to each other).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the cat and the dog! They are so cute and friendly! The staff was very nice, I like that everyone needs to buzz to be let in, and the front desk is open all night.

Disliked: The travel agency within the hostel booked us a really terrible Colca Canyon 1-day tour. It was just a day of being rushed around by three kids with a van who gave us very little information about what we were seeing, and just blasted crappy pop music the whole time.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2012

Liked: Nice but it is noisy and the general areas (kitchen..bath the bar etc are really smely dirty and not kept well)

Disliked: Nice but it is noisy and the general areas (kitchen..bath the bar etc are really smely dirty and not kept well)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Olav Tarjei Valebjørg

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2012 Olav Tarjei would recommend this property

Liked: Good chilled out atmosphere, good guys in the reception, easy to be understood even in english, good overall connection between the 3 flying dog hostels in Lima.

Disliked: Bathrooms was, as in most hostels, not top notch.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was excellent!

Disliked: A bit noisy because of the street.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location discounts at restaurants nearby

Disliked: cold - walls had gaps in

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location direct at the Kennedy Parc and the atmosphere.

Disliked: The toilets ans showers are not very big so you have to change your clothes in the room or in the small space between door and shower but it's no private atmosphere :)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are helpful, if you get the right one, good location.

Disliked: There are actually 4/5 Flying Dog hostels in Miraflores, so finding the right one can be a challenge. No Wi-Fi in the one I was in, was sent around the corner to another FD hostel to use the Wi-Fi.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Josh Eaton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2011

Liked: rooms were clean. good location in miaflores. right near loads of bars and cafes / restaurants

Disliked: Where do i begin. My wife and I made a list while we stayed there. First they took our booking even though they did not have the correct room for us. While we were there over 4 days, the room did not get cleaned once. The wifi was terrible. constantly dropping out or not working at all. the hot water lasted only 10 minutes, so only 1 person got a hot shower. then had to wait a long period before the other person could take one. Staff were very stand-offish, not really wanting to help with information or making bookings that they offer. They have 3 locations and do not tell you which one you're in until you get there, which is normally very early in the morning. No water sold even though they have a bar. Foyer smelled of cat pee as they have loads of cats running around.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfortable and the location was amazing.

Disliked: The roof was leaking and when we told the guy that there was water on the floor he replied with ´well yes, it´s been raining´. After we left they also emailed us saying that we hadn´t paid for the 2 nights we stayes..which was a bit strange since we only stayed for 1 night and we paid on departure.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: There is one guy in the reception that twice tried to overcharge me and didn't want to accept the price stated on hostelbookers. It took a lot of arguing to not pay more. The first time he was very unfriendly as well. The other people working at Flying Dog are very friendly though. I also don't like that Flying Dog doesn't tell you in the confirmation e-mail for which Flying Dog property the reservation is. Since there are three hostels in the same area this can be a little annoying.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Staight

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff and a very cool cat called Paulo. Very good location next to Park Kennedy Good breakfast free at local cafe/restaurant

Disliked: Showers were a little lackluster...just like standing under a leaking drain!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Raphael Passos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

29 June 2011 Raphael would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good. We could go to many places by only walking.

Disliked: It could have more common places to meet people

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Joseph Graham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly and very helpful staff. We have stayed here every time we come to Lima. They have good rates and the breakfast is excellent. Very good computer hook-up.

Disliked: It could be a little cleaner, but certainly not a problem. The bathrooms are immaculate.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big room with good view, good bar, great sandwich place underneath it

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lianne Murphy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2011 Lianne would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good, it's bang in the centre of the square and near to the supermarkets etc.

Disliked: Not much to say, rubbish pool table..

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed our stay at the hostel, staff were nice and helpful most of the time. At the time we stayed it was very quiet with not many people but the place has a bar and a large area to hang out so I would say that if it was full of people it would be fantastic. We just went at a quiet time. The place is very clean and also has free internet. There is also lots of space with plenty of area to chill out.

Disliked: My only negative point is it didnt feel very safe and secure as the locks on the doors could be unlocked with just about anything, but the front desk is always manned and you have to buzz to get in the front door so that aspect is secure just the room locks not so much. The rooms are also very hot and stuffy, we asked for a fan and it was a bit better but no air con. Overall our stay was good, it was good value, just a couple of negative points


See all Lima hostels
See all Lima hotels